Skip to content

Designer Spotlight; Elizabeth Allan

August 20, 2012
by

Welcome back!  We will be spotlighting our Designers and Contributors during the next few weeks here at the Penny Black Blog. We are thrilled to re-introduce you to our magnificent team of Penny Black artists. We’ll ask a few nosey questions to get to know them better, as well as feature brand new projects using our newest Halloween/Christmas stamps. Feel free to comment with your questions – our Designers will be monitoring the Blog and answering whatever crafty questions you may have for them.

Elizabeth Allan

How/when did you begin stamping? In college with a small set of foam Halloween stamps.

What is your favorite technique/style? Dimensional layering.

What Penny Black product are you most drawn to? It is difficult to pick just one as I love the variety of Penny Black’s products. They offer endless creative possibilities for many styles and techniques.

What do you do when you’re in a stamping ‘slump’? I stamp an image and color without trying to create anything specific or I will experiment with techniques.

How would you describe your craft space in three words? Full of Happiness

What would be your advice to beginner stampers? Have a good black ink pad as a part of your basic tool kit. My favorite is Onyx Black VersaFine by Imagine Crafts/Tsukineko.

Do you have any questions for our readers? What is your favorite holiday/occasion to create cards for?

SUPPLIES: Penny Black Les Petites (90-001), Cat Spell (30-132), Best Witches (30-131) (trick or treat sentiment). INSTRUCTIONS: Cut les petites card base into three sections. Create color blocks with Memento inks. Accent with dimensional stamped elements.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. Jay Gee permalink
    August 20, 2012 12:11 am

    I LOVE Elizabeth, she is so talented and makes the most amazing cards. She is also very sweet and helpful :) This little set is amazing.

  2. donna mikasa permalink
    August 20, 2012 2:06 am

    I’m always in awe of Elizabeth’s work. I love the bright colors she uses and her fussy cutting just blows me away! What a fabulous set of mini cards–I love Halloween, too!

  3. Brenda permalink
    August 20, 2012 4:58 am

    I’ve been following Penny Black for about a month now, since discovering them on You Tube. Therefore, needless to say I am very interested in discovering the designes and styles of Elizabeth and others that will be showcased. My favorite season for cardmaking is Christmas. As for occasions, birthdays will top the list and then sympathy cards. I find here lately, I’m doing almost 3 sympathy cards to 1 b/d card. Sorry, I just don’t do Halloween.

  4. August 20, 2012 5:08 am

    I always admire Elizabeth’s work. Its great to know a bit more about her. Love her coloring and choice of colors. I love to create Just saying Hello and Thank you cards the most.

  5. janet Wilson permalink
    August 20, 2012 5:13 am

    Great interview :)
    Fabulous cards, so bright and brilliantly coloured!

  6. August 20, 2012 5:15 am

    Hello@

    I LOVE Elizabeth’s work – perfection every time! Her use of color is amazing and she has a wonderful sense of balance and layout! I check her blog every day to see what new creations she has to inspire! Wishing you a happy day!

    Hugs,

    Barbara Diane

  7. August 20, 2012 6:17 am

    I have enjoyed Elizabeth’s talent for quite some time now and it’s so awesome to see her featured today! Love the way she uses color! These sweet Halloween cards are filled with fun! :)

  8. August 20, 2012 6:50 am

    I think Elizabeth’s creations are just beautiful. She has such talent and always has the best “tips” for us in the crafting world. I am amazed at how she can look and several stamps and pick the needed element from each one in order to combine parts from each into a new, totally unexpected image.

  9. August 20, 2012 6:56 am

    Glad to know a little bit more about you, Elizabeth! You are a talented artist and always looking forward to seeing your work!

  10. August 20, 2012 7:53 am

    Hi, Elizabeth! You know that I adore visiting your blog and seeing your beautiful creations! And, you are always full of tips and inspiration for us. Good to hear more about you here on the PB blog.

  11. August 20, 2012 9:35 am

    I DO love my Penny Black stamps….I enjoy creating anything Oriental…regardless of the holiday. My least favorite is Halloween – although I must say Elizabeth that you card(s) are really cute. Looking forward to seeing more of your designs.
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  12. Susan permalink
    August 20, 2012 10:45 am

    I am a big fan of Elizabeth’s work and was so pleased to see her featured today. She does amazing things with Penny Black stamps! I holiday I probably make the most cards for is Christmas (but only if I can find the time)!

  13. August 20, 2012 1:29 pm

    I’ve learnt much from Elizabeth’s work & continue to do so. Often I have a colour theory lesson through her project. The dimensional layering of component parts always adds to the finish & the detailed fussy cutting still astounds me. I lean towards the classical images rather than the cute but PB caters for both styles. My favourite type of card to create is a Birthday card as it can be tailored towards the personality of the recipient.
    Paula (PEP)

  14. August 20, 2012 1:46 pm

    Such gorgeous cards. Love those stamps, especially with all those bright colours!

  15. August 20, 2012 2:44 pm

    Elizabeth’s work always inspires me, especially her use of color. I began stamping so that I could make Christmas cards & that’s still my favorite occasion, although now I use any excuse to head to my craft table!

  16. Lieselotte permalink
    August 20, 2012 8:27 pm

    Halloween cards are my favorites, followed by Christmas cards. I have been stamping for quite some time, but was addicted after taking classes with Elizabeth. She introduced me to Penny Black stamps. She is a true artist, and shares her talent on her wonderful Blog. She inspires me to try new techniques and new products. Thank you, Elizabeth!

  17. August 20, 2012 11:32 pm

    Elizabeth’s attention to detail is amazing. i adore her work and those Halloween cards are the cutest! thanks for all the inspiration!

  18. August 21, 2012 4:57 am

    Love Elizabeth’s style of card making and these Halloween are just plain FUN looking. Love how she adds dimension to her card and the color blocking on this design showcases that beautifully. Great Q&A post and my favorite occasion to create for is probably Christmas followed by fall themed cards.

  19. August 21, 2012 12:35 pm

    I love Elizabeth and her artwork. She always comes up with something unique. I want to be just like her when I grow up…hehehe

  20. August 27, 2012 4:41 am

    Hi! I love all Elizabeth’s creations, she’ s so versatile, cute or stylish, everything goes!
    My favourite season is Christmas, we don’t celebrate much halloween here in Finland;-))m

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,710 other followers

