Skip to content

Contributor Spotlight, Peet Roeven

August 27, 2012
by

Peet Roeven

How/when did you begin stamping? Many years ago – I remember the first Penny Black stamp I purchased. It was that sweet stamp with two hedgehogs hanging on heart balloons (at that time it was woodmounted now it is available in slapstick/cling) – Hedgehog Kisses.

What is your favorite technique/style? Paper Piecings and Wet Embossing (with a lot of layering and hand-stitching).

Which Penny Black product are you most drawn to? It is hard to choose just one. I love that Penny Black has so much variety. Sometime I like nature and other times I like cute stamps.

What do you do when you’re in a stamping ‘slump’? I start paper piecing an image, then the idea mostly will come itself .  Or, I visit blogs or pinterest.

What would be your advice to beginner stampers? For cutting/trimming a stamped image I always use Pergamano scissors.

How would you describe your craft space? The kitchen is my craft space.

Do you have any questions for our readers? What is/are your favorite Penny Black stamp(s)?

SUPPLIES: Joyful Birds & Madison Paper Pad.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2012 3:50 am

    beautiful card from the fabulous Peet as always…I’m a big big fan…hugs kath xxx

  2. August 27, 2012 4:03 am

    So interesting to hear of Peet’s choice of scissors & I love the advice about starting & then the ideas happen – we’re all so different in approaching a creation & this is illustrated beatifully by the PB Design Team.
    Favourite stamp – that’s very hard indeed – I think it would have to be the Blue Wings 2422J
    Paula (PEP)

  3. janet Wilson permalink
    August 27, 2012 6:09 am

    Oh my, gorgeous card, with sensational detail. Love the red with the soft blue :)

    I don’t really own a lot of PB stamps, but I absolutely LOVE social Butterfly :)

  4. August 27, 2012 12:13 pm

    Stunning card! I enjoy All my Penny Black stamps….my favorites are the brush and oriental.
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  5. Judycs permalink
    August 27, 2012 3:01 pm

    Great card!
    I, like you, find it hard to choose a favorite PB stamp but, if pressured, I would say Brushstrokes. I am looking forward to seeing more of your wonderful creations.

  6. August 28, 2012 7:13 am

    Hello!

    Your creations are always so beautiful – your style is very unique and personal! I love the way you use subtle color. The animals are my favorite PB stamps. Wishing you a sunshine day!

    Hugs,

    Barbara Diane

  7. donna mikasa permalink
    August 28, 2012 9:49 am

    I am a big fan of Peet’s work and I’m constantly marking her cards as “favorites” in Flickr. Her fussy cutting is amazing, as well as her handstitching which gives all her cards the perfect finishing touch.

  8. August 29, 2012 7:22 am

    Thanks so much for your sweet comments!!

  9. August 29, 2012 8:12 am

    A gorgeous card from one of my favourite makers, Jo x

  10. teresa W permalink
    August 31, 2012 9:08 am

    I’m amazed by how much detail on her cards all the time. Her work is just incredible. WOW, is the word I say every time I see her card.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,651 other followers

