Skip to content

Alexandra’s Sunday Scrapbook – Using Penny Black Stamps for Project Life

January 20, 2013

Hello, Friends!

You may have heard of the “Project Life”; so many scrapbookers have joined the adventure. It consists of documenting a whole year in photos and journaling and while there are many different ways to approach the subject, a common one is to use Becky Higgins’ 12″ x 12″ page protectors.    They are made of various sized pockets. Some can be filled with pictures, journaling, business cards, documents taken on a trip, drawings from a child… I’ve enjoyed including Penny Black’s stamps into this project and thought I would share how I did that for the first page of this year’s Project Life…

Here is a picture of the stamps (Learn, Live, Hope 4312F / #30-113 petal party / #3860J pointillé) and supplies I used to decorate the introductory page of my Project Life 2013:

Penny Black_PL1

I’ve used various shades of grey (no pun intended!) cardstock to make these flowers:

PB_PL_2

did a take on the oh-so-hip “chalk board” look…
PB_PL_3
and combined silver polka dots with a wash of watercolor…

PB_PL_4here is the end result… i hope you’ll join me at  http://www.artscrapandmore.com

PL_page de garde
17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2013 4:08 am

    I love the way this project is broken down into manageable chunks by the page projectors & how you’ve unified the whole with the use of spotted elements & the monochrome to accent the black & white photos. I love those varied greys for the flowers particularly.
    Paula (PEP)

  2. January 20, 2013 10:51 am

    This is Amazing. LOVE the texture and dimension. It adds so much to the page!

  3. January 20, 2013 12:27 pm

    I absolutely love what you did with this! It’s stunning! Can’t wait to see the next one. Are you doing these weekly or daily?

  4. January 20, 2013 12:29 pm

    I actually have that stamp set and I love how you just used it as is, no color to go with the theme of the rest of the page.

    • January 20, 2013 6:25 pm

      Hello Noel and thank you so much for your interest and taking the time to leave a comment.
      The Project Life is a weekly affair, some do a double page per week while others do a single (that’s what I’m doing this year)

  5. January 20, 2013 2:57 pm

    I don’t scrapbook anymore….and I didn’t stamp in my albums, anyway….but I LOVE the potential for cards here! That silver and gray is wonderful! I think I have those flowers….must try this. Just beautiful!

  6. January 20, 2013 5:53 pm

    Love all the subtle hues and chalkboard effect.. what a nice way to do little bits and pieces to create a page.

  7. January 20, 2013 8:24 pm

    Outstanding showcase of the stamps with a modern vibe! Love it!

  8. January 20, 2013 11:48 pm

    such elegant colors and design. gorgeous page, Alexandra!

  9. January 21, 2013 9:37 am

    Beautiful design LO. really like the black/white/grey color scheme!

  10. January 23, 2013 3:37 am

    Those silver polka dots are awesome. And then combining them with watercolors – what an effect!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,510 other followers

