Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

March 8, 2014

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Happy Saturday morning, Penny Black stampers!  No pajamas for me this morning.  I was awake and out of bed quick as 1-2-3 this morning!!

Speaking of 1-2-3, wasn’t Jill’s week of elegant clean and simple cards a week full of inspiration?  Beautiful cards, and they were all made in just three steps.

If your style is to do layers and texture and flowers and bows, it may be uncomfortable at first to limit the elements in your card.  A clean and simple card is one that can be quickly reproduced.  As Jill demonstrated last week, they can be done in just a few steps.

The best example I know of simplifying a process down to 1-2-3 is the story of my nephew when he was in kindergarten many years ago.  The class project was to write a cookbook for the moms for Mother’s Day.  Each child was to contribute a recipe.  My nephew’s recipe was for hamburgers and here it is:  First you buy it, then you fry it, then you eat it.  See? One, two, three!

It is time to start sharing what I’ve been up to since I got here this morning.   First I’ll show the completed card followed by the three steps involved.   Here’s my first elegant clean and simple card:

judy

The floral images on the Blooming Tags set are gorgeous and can be used apart from the tag, which is what I’ve done for this card.

And here are the three steps:

step1

This next card uses the Hollyhocks stamp:

judy2

This is basically a one layer card, with the addition of the die cut sentiment Wishes and some gemstones.  No need to color those gorgeous flowers, they are perfect in outline.

step2

The hollyhock stamp reminds me so much of my grandmother’s yard.  Hollyhocks lined the back of her garage and when we were small children, they were taller than we were!!

The guidelines I received for this week’s post specified clean and simple cards, featuring elegant stamps and dies (flowers, flourishes, brushstroke, etc.).  Well, I am hoping the “etc.” included cupcakes!

I think when treated with the appropriate color palette, cupcakes and the chalkboard stamp Cupcake Day can be quite elegant. The Interlocking creative die adds an elegant background and makes it possible to create this card in three steps.

judy3

step3

Just remember, 1-2-3 is a great way to break down any process that seems too complicated at first.  When you are struggling to get started, think about 1-2-3.

Speaking of starting somewhere … I have been trying to teach Cooper to pick up and put away his toys.  First of all, to Cooper, all toys are “froggies”.  His very first toy was a stuffed frog and we taught him to fetch it with “Go get froggie.”  He has chosen not to clutter his brain with “squirrel”, “raccoon”, “possum”, etc.  He has simplification down to a science!

Well, here is Cooper with step one.

judy4“You want me to do what?”

And Step 2:

judy5“Is this close enough?”

And finally, Step 3:

judy6“Oh, you mean ‘Put it in the basket!”

And then it is treat time!  It took two years for this to finally happen.

It’s time to put away my own play things and tuck the scissors safely in the drawer.  Hope you have a great 1-2-3 week as you work on your clean and simple elegant cards.  Hope I’m invited back next Saturday.  I’m sure the jury’s out on that elegant cupcake card!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

24 Comments leave one →
  1. val jones permalink
    March 8, 2014 1:11 am

    Hi. Three beautiful cards. I love them all equally. Clever little Cooper. He´s got there eventually. My little dog Gracie has the same one word for all her toys too. They are all ‘squeaky.’ She can fetch but hasn´t mastered putting them back yet.
    Love Val in Spain x

  2. March 8, 2014 3:08 am

    ThNks for sharing your 123 cards and I love to read your posts. It’s refreshing and fun.
    So yes please come back in the office next week :-)

  3. March 8, 2014 3:31 am

    I think that’s brilliant with Cooper – 2 years of patience is rewarded! well – according to the definitions of CAS I’ve been learning I reckon that cupcake card fits perfectly, besides which there are some flowers there too. I love the way you’ve added pearls to the bottom two & the lovely focal image in the first beautifully accented with the same colour in the card base. All beautifully elegant but with lovely interest to keep the eye’s attention.
    Paula (PEP)

  4. March 8, 2014 4:16 am

    Fun post again, Judy! Love your 1-2-3 cards, especially the second one. Very understated but very elegant, too!

  5. March 8, 2014 6:04 am

    Love your cards today, Judy! Adding those luscious pearls to your cupcakes made them very elegant! And a real treat to see your Cooper this morning, too, what a sweet little face!

  6. Penny Nichols permalink
    March 8, 2014 7:20 am

    Your cards are beautiful, Judy! And always love your writing. Your little Cooper is smart as a whip and just precious!

  7. March 8, 2014 8:28 am

    I love that you took a cute, yummy stamp and added elegance to it, Judy – so clever! Love all three of your cards! And how fun to see Cooper too – he is adorable! :)

  8. March 8, 2014 8:31 am

    I love how you turned the Blooming Tag into…not a tag! Brilliant!!! The added pearls to the cupcakes definitely made them elegant and Cooper is so smart…or rather yet his mama and daddy are great teachers! Another super start to my Saturday…I sure hope you are invited back next week…I love your posts!

  9. March 8, 2014 9:10 am

    Love all 3 cards, Judy & the cupcakes are indeed elegant! I never would have thought of using them that way. But you know me–best part of the post is Cooper! We never got any of our guys to put the toys back in the “toy box”–will have to try that with our new fellow coming home next week.

  10. knurse22 permalink
    March 8, 2014 9:49 am

    I love these cards! While the fancy, inch thick cards with $20 worth of supplies hanging off them are lovely eye candy, they don’t work for someone like me who mails all my cards and needs to have them fit into a regular envelope. These cards today are so pretty, fairly easy to create, can be made with supplies I have on hand, and I know the recipients will be thrilled with them. Keep inspiration like this coming! And Judy, can I also have a clone of Cooper?????

    • judka permalink
      March 8, 2014 9:56 am

      For sure, if we could clone Cooper, you could have one! He is a delightful rescue dog and brings us such fun and happiness. He puts up with a lot and as long as he gets lots to eat, he is a happy dog!! Thanks for your kind comment. Judy

  11. Maggie Brinkley permalink
    March 8, 2014 10:05 am

    Three exquisite cards! And what a darling Cooper is!

    love Mags B x

  12. March 8, 2014 10:33 am

    what a fun post and I love the examples you have shown!!
    Thank You~

  13. March 8, 2014 10:42 am

    1. Get toys out
    2. Play with them
    3. Put toys away
    Copper really knows his stuff, and it works well for making cards too!!!
    TFS Judy….great post, and as a bonus it made me smile!

    Jan

  14. March 8, 2014 10:56 am

    Beautiful cards! I really love #2. So simple and elegant.

  15. Virginia L. permalink
    March 8, 2014 11:36 am

    Judy, your post totally makes me smile. Not only it’s demonstrative in the gorgeous cards, your humor really shines through in this! I would love to teach Cooper a few trick or two! He stole the show here!

  16. March 8, 2014 12:20 pm

    “etc.” can always include cupcakes in my book, along with chocolate and french fries:)
    Fun post this morning…Really like how you used the Blooming Tag on your card.

  17. treen permalink
    March 8, 2014 1:25 pm

    oh Judy, I really love your clean and simple cards! I love the story about your nephew and the hamburger recipe. lol they are all gorgeous, the hollyhock might be my favorite. I cant decide. I enjoy your creations so much., treen

  18. March 8, 2014 2:01 pm

    Fun post and full of eye candy Judy! Love all three cards, love the pearls on the cupcakes and the fabulous background, and of course I love seeing Cooper as well. TFS

  19. donna mikasa permalink
    March 10, 2014 1:08 am

    Love your 1-2-3 approach to card making and Cooper training! He’s so smart! :)

  20. Lisa Haff permalink
    March 10, 2014 7:19 am

    Hi Judy, I love your posts!. and your card designs are wonderful. the Simplicity works really well. Your little dog is too cute , thanks for sharing , you put a smile on my face on a gray Monday in Seattle.
    Lisa H.

  21. sharon c. permalink
    March 10, 2014 9:02 am

    Thanks for all the Cooper posts. I enjoy them as much as the card details .Keep them coming!

  22. Linda baker permalink
    March 10, 2014 10:16 am

    Love your posts and the cards!

  23. Scott A. Schmidlkofer permalink
    March 10, 2014 12:07 pm

    Mother,

    Love the cards, great work! Had not heard the first you buy it story in years, good times. Love you.

    Scott

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,635 other followers

