Skip to content

Guest Designer; Joy Taylor

November 7, 2011
by

I have been crafting, especially stamping, on and off since 1994 and I absolutely love it. Although I love all crafts, stamping is my passion – I love to create and have fun with the craft, learning new techniques as I go along.

I have achieved many accomplishments since stamping, being on many wonderful design teams, being asked to do guest designing and best of all meeting so many new and wonderful friends. Just recently my partner allowed me to take ownership of one of the spare rooms that we have in our house and he has built all of my craft furniture – custom made for my passion for crafting.  I love that I have everything at my finger tips and come and go as I please, it really is my little haven and I adore my space.

I live in a small town, in Southern New South Wales, Australia with my partner Darryl and our furbaby, Roly. I currently work part time, but like all us crafters would love to see my passion for the craft to turn into my daily job…oh to dream!

Here’s what Joy has to say about her experience in working with Penny Black stamps; Since stamping on and off for over 18 years now, I have seen many wonderful stamp companies in that time and one of those that has stayed true to my heart is Penny Black…I remember when I first started stamping and my local shop owner had a huge range of Penny Black stamps that I used to stand in the shop and just drool over….she used to allow me to take the catalogues home to get ideas and in fact when the store closed she asked if I would care for the catalogues…I think she realised how many times I asked to take them home with me…LOL.

I just loved their stamps and to this day still do, I have many Penny Black stamps in my collection and one of my favourite that I brought many years ago and is still around today to purchase is Flower Girl…I adored this sweet girl. For me Penny Black just gets better and better as each year passes and I know that this company will forever be one of my favourite companies…Thank you, Penny Black!

Thank you, Joy! To see more from Joy, please visit her blog by clicking on one of her cards. We have a lot more in store for you this week, come back to visit!

CARD CHALLENGE
Create a *new* Penny Black stamped card using gemstones/bling to accent your stamped image as Joy did in her inspirational Happy Holidays card. Upload your entry to our Gallery by Midnight Sunday night, PST. Tag your entry with “pennyblackgems“.  We will choose a random winner to receive a Penny Black Prize Package. Winners are announced on Tuesdays.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 12:57 am

    wow ~ Joy had done some amazing cards. I can’t even choose a favourite, they are all so incredible.

  2. November 7, 2011 1:17 am

    beautiful cards by Joy!

  3. November 7, 2011 1:23 am

    oh Joy! these are so beautiful!!each of them amazes me! how can i pick a favourite among these.. all of them are my fav!! thanks for sharing these beautiful card 🙂

  4. November 7, 2011 1:46 am

    Wow, wow, wow. These are all absolute stunners – Congrats to Joy. Love to see her work featured. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. November 7, 2011 3:59 am

    wow! gorgeous cards, Joy! fabulous coloring and i adore your style. congrats on the GDT spot!

  6. November 7, 2011 4:20 am

    The variety in Joy’s creations is delightful to see & really reflects how versatile PB stamps are for a number of styles.
    Paula (PEP)

  7. November 7, 2011 4:59 am

    Beautiful cards, Joy. I love the Happy Holidays one – all those gems are gorgeous!

  8. Terri (blindstamper) permalink
    November 7, 2011 5:43 am

    I follow Joy’s blog too, and she does awesome work!

  9. Virginia L. permalink
    November 7, 2011 6:33 am

    Beautiful work, Joy! Congrats on being the guest designer here!

  10. November 7, 2011 6:42 am

    Congrats Joy for your Guest DT Spot…..Your cards are always amazing…LOVE them!! I especially LOVE the Last one…all that Bling is so FUN!!! Hugs……

  11. November 7, 2011 6:45 am

    beautiful cards…

  12. November 7, 2011 6:55 am

    I love your cards Joy! They are so classy and perfect – just beautiful!

  13. November 7, 2011 6:59 am

    STUNNING work by Joy, one of my favorite stampers! LOVE each and every card! So happy to see her featured here today. 🙂

  14. November 7, 2011 7:07 am

    What a treat to stop in this morning and see Joy featured! I love her amazing work – such talent! Love each card from her today! Congrats, Joy! 🙂

  15. November 7, 2011 7:35 am

    What a great interview with Joy! So love your cards today Joy!!11 Stunning!

  16. Pai permalink
    November 7, 2011 7:41 am

    great job joy!

  17. November 7, 2011 7:59 am

    Love the cards that Joy shared!!…especially the one with all of the pretty bling!!

  18. November 7, 2011 8:11 am

    Beautiful cards, Joy. They are all amazing!!

  19. November 7, 2011 9:01 am

    So happy to see you guest design here JOY. Each card is beautiful and your coloring is stunning. What a delightful treat for the eyes. Hugs, Kathy

  20. Maggie W. permalink
    November 7, 2011 9:27 am

    Fabulous cards!

  21. November 7, 2011 10:53 am

    Absolutely stunning girl!!! You always AMAZE me!!! so happy to find Joy here today!!!

  22. November 7, 2011 12:49 pm

    Joy’s beautiful work always makes me sigh…her cards just totally amaze and delight! You picked a wonderful guest designer, so happy to see Joy here!

  23. November 7, 2011 1:38 pm

    Holy cow, these cards are ALL stunners!!! Even so, the bling-card has got to be the most gorgeous card I’ve ever seen!! Love your work, Joy!

  24. November 7, 2011 1:44 pm

    Gorgeous creations Joy. Love all your PB creativity. TFS

  25. November 7, 2011 2:49 pm

    Beautiful cards Joy! They are simply gorgeous and inspiring!!

  26. November 7, 2011 10:04 pm

    Congratulations on being Guest Designer, well deserved and I love all your cards they are stunning

  27. Cathy A permalink
    November 8, 2011 4:04 am

    Lovely designs Joy, I really love the bling on the background stamp, it gives the card such elegance.

  28. November 8, 2011 8:22 am

    Joy, you are SUCH a talented card maker! Each one is so different and unique and all are so beautiful!

  29. November 8, 2011 12:56 pm

    love, love, love Joy’s work! all her cards are so beautiful and classy!

  30. Susan permalink
    November 8, 2011 9:04 pm

    Thanks so much for introducing us to Joy’s work. Wow — her cards are wonderful! Love the card with the bling — so sparkly and stunning!

  31. November 10, 2011 1:17 pm

    Have admired your work for awhile Joy, but this is incredible. You manage so many different styles and all so perfectly executed. Thanks for the inspiration. (I like the tall lanky gal and the bling cards best)

  32. Lois Emerson permalink
    June 17, 2015 6:43 am

    i want to know how you made the card “happy holidays” with all the gems. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

