Skip to content

Contributor Spotlight; Karen Dunbrook

August 29, 2012
by

Karen Dunbrook

How/when did you begin stamping? I am not really sure when I first started stamping but I did get into it more seriously around 2007. I play along in challenges and I started a blog this past February.  I’ve always loved crafts as a child and stamping was one of a favourites at craft times.

What is your favorite technique/style? I have to say that my favourite style is CAS; clean and simple. I love to sponge, mask and especially watercolour with markers onto my stamps. I do love many other styles as well but always seem to come back to CAS.

Which Penny Black product are you most drawn to? There are so many and there is such a wonderful variety for any style of creating. I especially love the florals.

What do you do when you’re in a stamping ‘slump’? When I hit a slump or lose my ‘mojo’, I head to Pinterest or blogland. So much inspiration here too, from the talented Designers.

How would you describe your craft space in three words? Although my space is a little hole in the wall it is….MY HAPPY PLACE!

What would be your advice to beginner stampers? My advice would be to start simple using good quality ink and paper. I love using black Memento ink. Have fun with it and don’t be afraid to make a mistake.

Do you have any questions for our readers? I would love to know what style of card you enjoy creating.

SUPPLIES: A Splash of Winter 4272K and Christmas Cheer 30-140.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2012 12:41 am

    Your card is simply stunning Karen! The sponging is beautiful!!!!
    I like an elegant style (so I am told), and do iris folding, faux quilting, medallions, etc…. usually unfrilled. I’m really drawn to your CAS style and want to give it a go. Thanks so much for sharing!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  2. August 29, 2012 1:24 am

    Stunning card. S x

  3. August 29, 2012 3:33 am

    This really shows how CAS can be so striking & the way that PB images fit into that category as well. I love scenes & flowers but tend to struggle with CAS myself.
    Paula (PEP)

    • August 29, 2012 3:47 am

      thanks Paula….I find that the PB stamps work well with the cas style. The images are so easy to colour as well.

  4. Jan D., Florida permalink
    August 29, 2012 4:31 am

    Love your card….while I love many styles of cards, I seem to always have a clean and simple card when I’ve finished my design. I’ve tried to do other styles, but my CAS overtakes the card panel no matter how hard I try…LOL

  5. CherylQuilts permalink
    August 29, 2012 5:55 am

    Oh, Karen, I love this card! Your CAS style is so amazing, and you show how you can do it with all kinds of stamps. And you are just so clever and come up with such fresh ideas! But I’m really delighted that you design for PB…one of my fave stamp companies. It’s also wonderful to see a real photo of you…my beautiful friend! Hugs, Cheryl

    • August 29, 2012 9:24 am

      You are just toooo kind Cheryl. Glad you liked my card. Glad we have a special friendship!
      hugs,
      Karen

  6. janet Wilson permalink
    August 29, 2012 6:28 am

    Beautiful card, Karen! Love the dreamy inking and the way the sentiment is offset.
    With me, I think I am definitely a CAS girl, lady, women…oh whatever LOL!

  7. August 29, 2012 6:52 am

    Beautiful, Karen! Your card today really captures the magic of Christmas……and I love the non-traditional colors you used, blue being a fave of mine :))

  8. Lynne Ingram permalink
    August 29, 2012 7:30 am

    Lovely

  9. August 29, 2012 12:24 pm

    Like you my favorite style is CAS. I’ve visited your blog: beautiful and inspirational work! Love it, so I became a follower.

    • August 29, 2012 12:42 pm

      Yvette…thanks so very much. I am a new blogger so really appreciate you being a follower.

  10. August 29, 2012 1:29 pm

    This is beautiful!!! I LOVE to make CAS cards! THanks so much!

  11. August 29, 2012 2:06 pm

    Hello!

    Beautiful card! The colors and layout are lovely – a beautiful holiday card! My favorite style of card is layered. Wishing you a happy day!

    Hugs,

    Barbara Diane

  12. Ronda permalink
    August 30, 2012 9:28 am

    I love this card….if you don’t mind me asking how did you do the circle of dots around the tree?

    • August 30, 2012 12:41 pm

      hi Ronda….I use a piercing tool with a piercing pad underneth it…very simple to do.

  13. Denise Bryant permalink
    August 30, 2012 4:28 pm

    Karen, is there a tutorial on this card? It it amazing! Love it!
    DeniseB

    • August 30, 2012 6:42 pm

      thanks Denise…I will post it on my blog soon…my life has been super busy….stay tuned!

  14. August 31, 2012 1:01 pm

    You do such beautiful work, Karen! Love your CAS style!

  15. Joanne Lavallee permalink
    September 8, 2012 7:22 pm

    Love it simple and classy. Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

