Skip to content

Runs with CUTE Scissors

June 7, 2014

Do you hear what I hear? It’s echoing down the halls of the Penny Black blog! Could it be? Is it for sure? It is .. it is … Finally and at last … just for me … someone’s calling out CUTE!

Oh, my giddy aunt! I love cute!! Cute makes me smile! I have lots of cute ideas. I have lots of cute stamps. I used to want to BE cute. My love affair with Penny Black began with cute. Actually, I thought the name of the company should be Penny Cute Black.

So today I am smiling big and sharing a few cute cards I made. They are more on the sweet side of cute than the funny side…. My heart can only take so much joy!

judy

How cute is this little Birthday Girl? The stamp includes only one balloon, but I thought it would be fun for her to have a whole bunch!! I paper pieced her dress, shoes and the balloons. She is dancing on a background created with the Petals die. This is an image that is fun to color or paper piece.

judy2

When a stamp set includes the word “cute” in its title (as in Cute as a Bug), you can be sure I will add it to my collection. I stamped and embossed this little sweetie onto white card stock, colored her with Copics, and then distressed the entire background. After layering and stitching the circles, I mounted them on the background I created using the Dotted Fusion Slapstick/Cling stamp. If you look in the dictionary next to the word “cute”, you will probably find this sweet fairy.

judy3

A baby card is such a good place to indulge your inner cute! Once again, I’ve paper pieced the image from Sweet Beginnings, mounted it on circles and added some buttons and ribbon and plastic dots. Any card that includes polka dots, gingham and a teddy bear can be nothing but cute!

judy4

We were able to spend time with Evelyn Rose over the Memorial Day weekend when she and her parents were visiting with the Atlanta branch of our family. Grandma had some precious bonding time after a bumpy first day of Evie’s not being sure I was the same person that she sees and plays with via Skype.

judy5

Well, I recently sent this card to Evie’s parents in response to some happy news! Can you guess? Evelyn Rose is going to be a big sister!! A baby boy is expected at her house in the fall. Mom and Dad have given me permission to share Evie’s good news with all of you. I’ve been having fun choosing a name for this little guy and then realized that’s not my job!! I can’t wait to hear what Scott and Sara decide on.

judy6

This is Cooper on his recent doggie vacation. Unfortunately, Cooper suffers from car sickness and is much happier in any location that is not moving down a highway. We have been fortunate to find a wonderful place to leave Cooper when we travel. I used to cry when we left him at the kennel and felt guilty about leaving him there, knowing he didn’t understand that we would be coming back.

Well, we now leave him with a retired couple who live in a home with an incredible lake view. They have a dog named Deuce who has become Cooper’s buddy. Cooper bounds up the stairs when we arrive and happily becomes part of their family until we return. And I shed no tears when we leave. He is a very smart dog, however, and still acts over the moon excited when we return to pick him up!!

Well, I’ve had a very happy time here at the Penny Black blog playing with the incredible supply of cute Penny Black stamps. I love it when a card makes you smile twice; once when you make it and again when you hear the recipient loves it.

By the way, I looked up the saying “Oh, my giddy aunt”. I first saw that expression used on Facebook by a crafter who lives in Australia. I discovered that it is a cute way of saying “What a surprise”!

And for you numbers people, please know that I have used eight more sequins this week. And Cooper has lost 1.5 lbs. on his diet, and I haven’t!!

I must say, there is nothing cute about the mess I’ve made here … left over snips and scraps from the paper piecing; I’ve turned the button box upside down while looking for the perfect little green buttons; and a few sequins have joined in the chaos.

It is time for me to clean up, put the scissors safely away, and get these cards into the mail to someone who will enjoy them (or eat them if she prefers).

Thanks for spending time with me today. I love and appreciate your comments. I’ve been told my photo shows me looking a bit stern … perhaps that’s just a habit I picked up while raising my big family!! I’m really smiling on the inside.

 

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Castle permalink
    June 7, 2014 12:18 am

    Adorable cards Judy….soooooooooooooooooooooooo CUTE!!!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  2. Susie permalink
    June 7, 2014 2:14 am

    The joy in the cards leaps off the screen!!! Once again Penny Black stamps captures it all! About your picture, I think of it as a jelly-filled donut, some sugar on the outside but yummy squishy sweetness and joy on the inside!!!!

  3. Dianne Crowe permalink
    June 7, 2014 3:23 am

    The little card for Evie’s brother to be is just so cute. What a wonderful idea. Always love to see Cooper and how he is getting along.

  4. Sue Bridges permalink
    June 7, 2014 3:25 am

    I have to say that I smile whenever I see a post from you, as I can relate to every thing you write. It is kinda a moment for me in my “gotta do” life that lets me drink my coffee and smile with you and admire your creativity. I am a huge fan of Penny Black, and you represent them well, in a real life practical way. Looking forward o next time, thanks for being a high light in my day!

  5. Barb Housner permalink
    June 7, 2014 3:26 am

    as always Judy it is great fun reading your posts. wonderful cards.

  6. June 7, 2014 3:50 am

    I am particularly fond of the stamps designed by Mo Manning and I love your card with the little girl and the balloons. Just adorable. Seeing adorable Cooper is also a treat. I love reading your posts and your takes on things. You always make me laugh.

  7. Linda Baker permalink
    June 7, 2014 5:16 am

    Another great post!

  8. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    June 7, 2014 7:30 am

    Mother, people need to be aware our family can’t smile on cue, only when someone makes us laugh! That post had me smiling all the way through it. You are so talented and the best Grandmother ever. We would love your input for a boy’s name, as we have no clue. Sara vetoed my pick of Rowdy. love you and your talent of sharing joy. Your son, Scott.

  9. Donna Whitten permalink
    June 7, 2014 7:51 am

    I enjoyed your post, as usual. Your cards are definitely cute! Good to hear about all your good news. I look forward to our next visit. I wouldn’t say you look stern, maybe just serious. Thanks for sharing.

  10. deb Krembs permalink
    June 7, 2014 7:53 am

    Wow…we are both going to be grandmas to boys in the fall…wonderful news. As always your cards are delightful works of art. Can’t help but smile when I see them. Much love!

    • judka permalink
      June 7, 2014 8:00 am

      Hooray for baby boys, Deb!! Thanks for stopping by!

  11. June 7, 2014 8:04 am

    I think you photo is perfect, by the way. So are your cards…perfectly cute. Adorable, in fact. Your a paper-piecing genius in my eyes. Congrats on the newcomer to your family. Maybe you can sneak in a middle name for him (shhh). It’s always a happy situation when a member of the family (Cooper) enjoys his sleep overs…makes it so much easier on his people.

  12. alexandra s.m. permalink
    June 7, 2014 8:10 am

    What a great post Judy!
    You inspire us in so many different ways!!
    Thank You~

  13. June 7, 2014 9:07 am

    what stunning cards my fav is the littlie gum nut fairy absolutely adorable. the saying ‘my giddy aunt’ came out of the early 20’s and yes it’s a very Australian saying not so common these days but we have always used it in our family. Thanks again for your inspiration…

  14. Virginia L. permalink
    June 7, 2014 10:29 am

    CUTENESS overload! You crack me up with your cute cards and your cute photos in this funny post, Judy! I can tell that you are REALLY happy and always smiling inside 🙂

  15. bdengler4 permalink
    June 7, 2014 10:55 am

    Hi Judy! Loved reading your post today – your cards are all so cute – especially love the bear in the bathtub! 🙂 Glad to hear you had a fun visit with Evie and way to go, Cooper! 1.5 lbs is awesome for the little guy! Good to know you’ve found a better place to leave him when you travel – I could totally relate to you crying when leaving him! ♥

  16. Laura Jane permalink
    June 7, 2014 11:07 am

    Cute, Cute, CUTE!! Such good news about that new grandbaby BOY on his way!! I LOVE your stitching on the pink card, circles are such a challenge!
    GOOD for Cooper! It’s great to have dogie friends for those four legged members in the family!

  17. Marilyn Valadez permalink
    June 7, 2014 11:22 am

    I really love your cute Penny Black cards and love reading your commentary about the family and sweet Evelyn Rose…such a doll baby! So happy for all of you with the new arrival in the Fall. Wow! Cooper looks like he has it made, what a great place to stay…I would like to join Cooper!!! LOL 🙂

  18. June 7, 2014 11:28 am

    Super CUTE cards today Mrs. RWS!!!!! Cute cards, cute baby, cute dog…it’s all CUTE!!! Congrats on becoming a grandma…again! woohoo!!! I am thinking you could hint to Evie’s parents that the names: Declan, Logan, Shane & Ryder are really nice for boys….hehehe…wonder where I came up with those.
    Oh my giddy aunt…I am just so excited for you!
    It’s also time for a new Selfie…maybe something with you and Cooper!
    I so love your column here at PB…you are the best!!!
    huggies, Penny

  19. donna mikasa permalink
    June 7, 2014 12:40 pm

    Oh, happy day! And happy news! I had a FB hunch that Evie was going to be a big sister! You do cute very well–I’m always impressed with your trimming skills! Judy Jung does not need dies. 🙂

  20. June 7, 2014 1:29 pm

    You can do any style card, Judy, & you’ve shown that again today! Fabulous work–love every one! That picture of Evie is just too cute & what happy news that she’s going to be the big sister! Your card to celebrate the news is truly a masterpiece! LOVE seeing your cutie pie, Cooper!

  21. Kathy Schmidlkofer permalink
    June 7, 2014 2:10 pm

    Mom –
    So very cute! Great theme this week and I love how you shamelessly get your adoring family plugs on the blog! Loved the column this week, but I love you more! So glad you are doing something you love – it shines through!
    Your very proud daughter-
    Kathy

  22. dawnnz permalink
    June 7, 2014 3:35 pm

    TOTALLY CUTE all the way Judy. You’ve made my day again with your super CUTE post here! All your cards are
    so beautifully sweet. And congrats on your news ~ good on Evie and her Mum and Dad. What a lovely way to announce it. Evie is looking so sweet and cute herself. Good on Cooper for losing the weight… never mind his Mum isn’t!

  23. Kathy b permalink
    June 7, 2014 5:41 pm

    Congrats on the new addition coming your way. Love your cards! So glad to hear your pup has a home away from home. Traveling and worrying about your pup is definitely not fun. Glad Evie came around…2d and 3d can look very different!

  24. June 8, 2014 8:39 am

    Love the little bear in the tub. The papers used are darling. All of the projects are great but that one was especially my fave.

  25. June 8, 2014 11:42 am

    I love your cute style in card making. You are so adorably cute. My fav is the Teddy Bear card. Cute Cute Cute!!!!!!!

  26. Lisa permalink
    June 8, 2014 11:54 am

    Hi Judy , I love your blog on the Penny Black page, your comments always make me smile. Your cards are wonderful too.. Love that little Birthday girl! she really looks like she is ready to celebrate with all those balloons.

  27. Mama sandz permalink
    June 9, 2014 8:30 am

    Totally love those cards and the new stamps!!

  28. Linda S. in NE permalink
    June 9, 2014 7:55 pm

    Hi Judy,
    I just had to chime in on the cute cards, baby, and news that there will soon be another baby…Congratulations. And from Cooper: “I don’t know what the problem is, Mom. This losing weight thing is easy…just eat what I eat and you’ll be down one or two dress sizes in no time”!!! He’s looking very fit and handsome.

Leave a Reply

