Skip to content

Runs with…Polaroids!

July 12, 2014

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hi, it’s me with my scissors again. I must explain that I came to the Penny Black blog today with great intentions of playing with the stamps and dies from the new release Pocket Treasures. Instead, I became distracted when I came across a photo album. It’s what happens to me at home every time I clean closets! Who can resist browsing through photo albums?

judy

Hmmm… someone’s taken a plane trip to some far off destination. Great shot of the plane! Polaroid photos were so fun… instant gratification before the day of digital cameras.

 Love the image and the sentiment: so right for graduations, promotions and the start of any new adventure.

judy2

Looks like someone’s been on a sailing adventure! Great shot of the sky blue water and sky.

 This little card would look great attached to a bon voyage bottle of champagne. The cut out from the Polaroid frame is just the right size for stamping the boat.

judy3

Ahhh, now here’s a photo that helps me remember our days as full time RV’ers. We had a fifth wheel trailer pulled by a diesel pick up truck and we lived and traveled in it for almost five years. Looking back, it was probably the next logical step after many years of enjoying camping. However, little did I know that while we were searching for a retirement home in Florida, Mr. RWS was really envying his brother’s RV lifestyle. My retirement home ended up being on wheels without a lanai!

We have traveled a lot. Traveling by planes, ships, automobiles and the RV we have visited thirteen countries and 45 of the United States. I suppose our bucket list should include those states we missed: or maybe someone could just send me a postcard.

Enough procrastination! On with the cards for today.

judy4

Besides the fun images in the Bon Voyage set, the Pocket Treasures release includes the transparent set Let’s Chat that has images just great for using in your pocket album projects. The images are also perfect for making your own embellishments, decorating scrapbook pages or for making hip and trendy cards.  For this card, I created my own background using the circle and heart images. I then stamped, embossed and cut out different elements, added some Creative Dies and then pop dotted them onto the background. It was an “anything goes” technique! I really left my comfort zone.

judy5

judy6

I have saved my favorite for last! I just wish you could see the dazzle I applied with my Wink of Stella pen to this awesome blossom made with the transparent Dazzler set! When I first saw this stamp, I knew it had to be made into layers. Here’s the how to:

judy7

First stamp and emboss three images of the large Dazzler stamp. Cut out the first layer along its outer edge. Then cut the second layer as illustrated in the photo, freeing up all the “petals”. The final layer I created by using Penny Black’s die Pinwheel to cut out the center of the third image. I love how the Creative Die imitates the petals on the layer beneath it.

I put the cutouts together using foam tape at the centers and then mounted the resulting “flower” onto a white circle. I had prepared a card base using a Dotted Fusion panel mounted onto cardstock. This would make a great package topper. I can’t wait to try it in other colors, too.

judy8

I’ve had a few inquiries regarding Cooper and how he is spending his summer. Well, Cooper is not one to enjoy swimming pools or any activity involving water. He prefers to keep his curls dry. What he does love is being included at the patio table under the shade of the gazebo for an afternoon glass of lemonade. Coming right up, Cooper!

Whew! Browsing that photo album put me way behind! Glad I finished my card projects using the Pocket Treasures release stamps and dies. There is so much more to this release and I can’t wait to play!

It is time to put the scissors away, clean up my mess and join Cooper on the patio. I think he’s got the right idea: enjoy summer before it’s over. I wish the same for you.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

 Stamps:

Creative Dies:

And don’t forget to follow us on Facebook, Pinterest, YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter!

 

 

27 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2014 12:20 am

    black and white card is very sleek

  2. Marliese Zimmerman permalink
    July 12, 2014 4:05 am

    The dazzler set is my favorite too! Can’t wait to play with it! You’ve given me some good ideas.

  3. quilterlin permalink
    July 12, 2014 5:59 am

    What fun cards today, Judy! Love the gingham backgrounds, the bright colors, and that last popped blossom is awesome! How on earth did you get Cooper to keep those glasses on? Happy Summer!

    • July 12, 2014 6:02 am

      Lin, Cooper is so eager to please .. as long as it does not involve water!!

  4. bdengler4 permalink
    July 12, 2014 7:04 am

    What a delightful post, Judy! I love the first three cards from the “photo album!” So bright, happy and fun! Your two other cards are fabulous too! Love, love, love that big blossom! And could Cooper be any cuter?! I don’t think so. Thanks for brightening my day!

  5. July 12, 2014 7:43 am

    Amazing cards…as always. I already have the Dazzler stamp set in my hot little hands, but I knew you would do something FANTASTIC with it, and you didn’t disappoint. Beautiful layered flower!!!
    How cute is Cooper with his shades?!?

  6. July 12, 2014 7:50 am

    Oh how fun are these cards, JUDY!!!! Felt like I was on a trip with you! Your blogging is just so much fun to read. And COOPER – that sweet pup needs to have his own Facebook page, my friend! That should be his avatar! Priceless!

  7. July 12, 2014 7:54 am

    great cards!!! very fun!

  8. Dianne Crowe permalink
    July 12, 2014 8:05 am

    Great fun cards Judy. Enjoy your summer Cooper.

  9. Laura Jane permalink
    July 12, 2014 9:37 am

    You are RUNNING with those fussy cuttin’ scissors today! LOVE that layered DAZZLER card. Cooper looks smashing is his glasses:)
    Have a fun weekend chillaxin’.

  10. July 12, 2014 11:19 am

    cute summer themed cards 🙂

  11. July 12, 2014 11:28 am

    Love the dazzler set! All the cards are fab though and Cooper is looking cool! xx

  12. Linda S. in NE permalink
    July 12, 2014 11:40 am

    That Cooper is just too fun!! As a dog-sitter, too many of my “charges” are suffering from cataracts. I’m so happy to see your little guy protecting his eyes from the sun-damaging rays. Too Cute, as usual!!

  13. Marilyn Valadez permalink
    July 12, 2014 11:46 am

    Great cards Judy! I especially love that layered flower! Could that Cooper boy be any cuter…I don’t think so. Our Scooby would love hanging out with Cooper on the patio, eating doggie ice cream. :))

  14. July 12, 2014 1:25 pm

    Beautiful cards, so cute! And the flower is simply super!

  15. Margery C. permalink
    July 12, 2014 2:41 pm

    Fabulous layered flower. Liked the black and white colors.

  16. July 12, 2014 2:52 pm

    I’m swooning over that layered flower, Judy! Reminds me of some old stamps I haven’t used in a million years & need to get out! LOVE the picture of Cooper!

  17. Denise Bryant permalink
    July 12, 2014 4:39 pm

    Love your fun photo style cards!

  18. Bevie Pearl permalink
    July 12, 2014 6:10 pm

    Love the polaroid film travel pockets!!! Perfect for my upcoming trip. Thanks for the inspiration!

  19. donna mikasa permalink
    July 12, 2014 8:15 pm

    LOVE the Polaroid theme and the black and white “epic” card is awesome! But your layered blossom made my jaw drop–could you hear it? And I shared Cooper’s pic with the family. He is sooooo cool! And such a good sport!

  20. July 12, 2014 10:24 pm

    Great cards. I like how you have used the polaroid die and the bon voyage and lets chat sets. But that dazzler card is dazzling. I love how you have fussy cut and stacked it up

  21. Carmen Weatherbie permalink
    July 13, 2014 5:00 am

    Judy, Always love your cards! How did you organize your crafts in the fifth wheel?
    A fellow camper, Carmen

    • July 13, 2014 7:57 am

      Oh, Carmen! We began our RV adventure about 13 years ago and my entire collection of stamping “stuff” fit under the lift up mattress. I worked at the small “dining room” table. I now occupy an entire bedroom turned craft room. We met a woman who played the marimba and she had TWO of them in their RV. She said you make room for what you love!!

  22. Lynda permalink
    July 13, 2014 9:03 am

    I like your projects, but love your narrative. So funny!

  23. July 13, 2014 6:59 pm

    These are so fun and omygoodness–Cooper is so cute!

  24. alexandra s.m. permalink
    July 14, 2014 7:30 am

    What a great post and wonderful samples Judy!
    Thank you for always thinking outside the box ;))

  25. July 15, 2014 7:46 am

    What cards? All I saw was Cooper in his cool shades. LOL Great Cards too!

Leave a Reply

