Skip to content

FUN with Scissors!

August 2, 2014

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Oh, hi there!! Once again I’ve got my head into a big book I found here at the Penny Black Blog. This time it’s a dictionary. I know, I know, I could Google instead, but there’s something awesome about paging through an unabridged dictionary. You not only see the word on a page that you are looking for, but you can check out the neighboring words, too.

The word I am looking up is “fun”. Because I run with scissors and sometimes make my own rules I wanted to be sure that today’s post fit the official definition of “fun”.

Here’s what I learned: according to Miriam Webster fun means “enjoyment’, “amusement”, “light-hearted pleasure”. Wikipedia says it a little differently (I think Wikipedia sometimes runs with scissors). Fun is the enjoyment of pleasure, particularly in leisure activities. Not cerebral, generally purposeless.

Well, my cards for today are the result of a light-hearted mood. I made them purely for my enjoyment and amusement. For sure, they are not “cerebral” but I disagree that they are purposeless.

Seriously, I just gathered the new stamps and dies from the Pocket Treasures release and promised myself that I would just have fun; nothing too cerebral!! I stamped and ran dies through my die cutting machine and then just had fun assembling and rearranging as the mood directed. No over thinking, I just let it happen.

judy

This card is the result of paper left on my desk after making cards inspired by Jacqueline last week. That library pocket is so versatile. This time it’s made of patterned paper and holds the notepaper die cut bearing the message “Hugs”. How fun is that?

judy2

This card is mostly die cuts with a stamped and fussy cut sun. It says “home is where the heart is” but it could just as easily say “fun in the sun”. And isn’t Glossy Accents a fun way to add shine and dimension to your cards?

judy3

Who has more fun than those Krafty Katz? I just picked up, put down, rearranged and added and subtracted diecuts until they pleased my eye. I then stamped and embossed the biker and colored him with Copics. The biker kat is having fun on his motorcycle and I had a great big smile when the card was finished. I think amusement is the word that describes the process of making this card!

judy4

Well, I have left the realm of fun and branched out into funny! I love that die cut of eyeglasses (shades). I had no idea what to do with my polka dotted spectacles until I looked over at the gaggle of eyeglasses sitting on my desk. Truly, I would be lost without them.

About two years ago I had eye surgery that changed my near-sightedness to far-sightedness. The good news is that I no longer need to wear glasses full time. I had graduated to just needing “readers”. How fun, I thought! I can buy a pair of cute, inexpensive glasses and just whip them on when I want to read.

Not so well thought out after all. Reading doesn’t only mean as in reading a book. There is also reading when you need to read labels in the kitchen or bathroom. Or the tags in your clothing; or when writing checks; or checking the meat thermometer; or the thermostat for the air conditioning. These are all activities that take you to various parts of the home. Because I vowed never to be one of those ladies that wear glasses on a chain around my neck, I often find myself stranded without my “readers”.

Oh, and using the computer requires different glasses than the readers. And even though I only use those glasses for the computer, they often ride out of the craft room perched on my head where I push them out of my way.

Compounding the problem is that I have at least six pair with identical frames but different lenses, the result of Mr. Runs with Scissors thinking that my problems would be solved if I just had MORE glasses. He bought them at a big warehouse store that sells only in quantity.

judy5

Cooper decided he likes the red ones best; fashion over function!

So there you have it. I had fun with scissors and the Pocket Treasures stamps and dies. I hope you can treat yourself to fun in your craft room or corner of the dining room or on the kitchen counter, wherever you create. It is so easy to turn our hobbies into another place to strive for perfection or to become frustrated because our work didn’t turn out like that card on Pinterest, or to become filled with self-doubt when you compare your work to others.

If you had fun doing it, it is not purposeless!

Well, the scissors are safely put away, I’ve scooped up my glasses and it’s time to turn out the lights. Thanks for hanging out with me on the Penny Black blog. Have fun making cards with your Penny Black stamps and dies and be sure to post them in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery for everyone’s enjoyment. Oh, by the way, for you numbers people, there are 19 pairs of glasses in that photo (and I had one pair perched on my head). What is the probability of my selecting the right pair when I need it?

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black Supplies:

 

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Dianne Crowe permalink
    August 2, 2014 4:08 am

    Love your work and I am glad you had fun making these cards. Those darn Krafty Katz sure are cute. I am going to a house warming (bachelor) this week and love the simple idea of your card. Was looking for simple rather than a fussy house with all the flowers etc. I was thinking of doing. Oh and tell the adorable Cooper not to ruin his eyes with someone else’s glasses, he looks like he is enjoying himself too.

  2. August 2, 2014 4:24 am

    Well you certainly ran the gamut of cards today. Bright, fun, elegant…I loved them all. I love your column and how you can laugh at yourself (and others…as I too own a gazillion pairs of readers, yet they are never in the correct room when I need them). RWS is a great way to start the weekend…and bonus kudos for getting Cooper to wear glasses long enough to snap a pic!

  3. August 2, 2014 4:26 am

    Adorable cards, Judy! And, your posts always make me giggle – my friend had the same dilemma after surgery and can never find a pair of glasses when she needs them!!

    Cooper looks so “smart” sporting his red glasses!!!

  4. bdengler4 permalink
    August 2, 2014 5:17 am

    I’m still giggling at that photo of Cooper! And 20 pair of glasses?! Yikes! Maybe you could label them so you know which ones are which. Lol! I love your cards today, Judy! Each one is definitely fun! Thanks for another fab post! ♥

  5. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    August 2, 2014 5:23 am

    Mom, you are such a hoot! I love the cards, nothing better than reading your blog on a Saturday morning. Lots of Love, Your son, Scott

  6. Anne Fletcher permalink
    August 2, 2014 6:17 am

    Your work is beautiful. What scissors do you use for the fine detail work?
    Anne

    • judka permalink
      August 2, 2014 7:56 am

      Hi, Anne. So glad you joined the fun today! I had no idea what brand my scissors were until you asked this question. They are pink-handled, 4 1/2 inch long, Singer brand that I have had for a very long time. They seem to be just the right size and have maintained their sharpness. They stay in my scissors drawer and are only used for paper. Hugs, Judy

  7. Ruth permalink
    August 2, 2014 6:31 am

    I thoroughly enjoy your columns! You are so REAL, and I love how you think and what you create. I, too, have a white spoiled dog and Cooper always makes me smile!

  8. August 2, 2014 8:00 am

    So Fun….Love all of your fun Creations Judy! Sometimes we forget to just have fun….
    Love the Photo of Cooper Ha! xo

  9. August 2, 2014 8:06 am

    I just love these installments of yours. I’m hard pressed to determine whether I visit this blog to look at your truly fabulous cards or to read your clever & fun (yes, I too know what it says in the dictionary) essays. Please, never stop doing this. You’d be sorely missed.

  10. August 2, 2014 9:06 am

    Cooper is so darn adorable…! And your new projects are awesome…!!

  11. Donna Whitten permalink
    August 2, 2014 9:11 am

    Another amusing Saturday morn, thanks for the smiles and sharing your talent. Your cards are cheerful and inspiring. Cooper looks so dignified with his glasses.

  12. Nancy permalink
    August 2, 2014 9:38 am

    Hi, love the cards and your essay. I too have too many glasses and my space is in the basement, yet all my glasses somehow end up in the bathroom upstairs. I don’t think I have 20 pair, but they are a variety of strengths for different work. Better haul out the nail polish to decorate the arms of those that are the same and then sit down and make up a chart so I can remember which glasses are which. Now, where is that darn chart…better check the bathroom…. Have a great day.

    • judka permalink
      August 2, 2014 10:02 am

      Oh, Nancy!! The bathroom is where so many of mine migrate .. and the chart? I would misplace that, too!! Thanks for the smile.

  13. Martha permalink
    August 2, 2014 11:10 am

    Judy, what a FUN post & lovely creations!
    Love your sense of humor.
    That photo of Cooper & all those glasses made me smile.

  14. donna mikasa permalink
    August 2, 2014 11:41 am

    Such a fun post and I love seeing your different card styles! Cooper is such a good sport–that photo is priceless!

  15. jmhave44 permalink
    August 2, 2014 12:51 pm

    Loved the cards. Loved the post immensely. I had the Lasix in 2000, had been extremely near-sighted my entire life. It was a miracle & I only needed specs for phone-book type print. (no problem at all to me, after contacts wear/coke bottle glasses!), I bought the readers in varying strength & had them all over the house. Fast forward – 14 yrs, had cataract surgery. Still use my readers (and can read the kindle w/o glasses still), but now require prescription glasses for driving. Still, that surgery is nothing short of miraculous if you needed the glasses to even _find_ the car, let alone try to drive it! I have a pair in each bathroom too! TFS the cards as well as the cute story. Love Cooper’s red glasses too.

    • judka permalink
      August 2, 2014 1:06 pm

      Thanks for sharing your story! I can relate to having difficulty finding the car first!! As annoying as it is to keep track of my glasses, I am grateful!

  16. Linda S. in NE permalink
    August 2, 2014 8:27 pm

    Cooper looks as if he could find just the “right” pair, he would mosey on over and start typing at the keyboard! Such a cutie!

  17. alexandra s.m. permalink
    August 2, 2014 8:30 pm

    Thank You for this wonderful post Judy!
    I love your cards. I love how versatile your style is and you always bring us a surprise and a smile 😉

    (so sweet of your son to have written that priceless comment!)

  18. dawnnz permalink
    August 2, 2014 11:05 pm

    Fun cards today that’s for sure Judy. As usual a fun Sunday read for me. Love Cooper with his red glasses. He is really the cutiest little guy.

  19. Darlyne Wagner permalink
    August 3, 2014 2:49 am

    Oh isn’t it fun to get older? I need a pair of readers for every room in the house and one for the car when I go out. sigh,. at least I am not alone in this quandary. But I thank God I can see. I love the cards, especially Secret Garden HUGS. And without a doubt Cooper looks very distinguished in the spectacles.

  20. August 3, 2014 12:34 pm

    Oh my, you gave me a laugh today, Judy! No sympathy from me about the glasses since I have to wear mine full-time, LOL, but hubby is in your situation & has to ask me, the blind one, to read for him, the one with perfect vision until now since his readers are somewhere else–LOL! How right you are, need to stop worrying about perfection & how we don’t measure up & just enjoy this hobby we love! Your cards are inspiring–especially the first one with that gorgeous printed paper I’m hoarding–LOL! Love the adorable picture of Cooper!

  21. August 3, 2014 9:33 pm

    fun! love each of these cards!

  22. August 5, 2014 8:00 pm

    Oh wow Copper is just too precious and adorable! Love Love Love the card as well!

Leave a Reply

