Skip to content

Runs with Scissors and… Sentiments!

August 30, 2014

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

What an amazing week this has been! What an amazing release “Season’s Greetings” is. I love coming into the Penny Black workshop after everyone’s been busy all week.   There are sketches and notes and partially finished projects all around. There’s mojo in every corner and Christmas spirit everywhere. (Not to mention paint spatters, ink smudges and embossing paste!) Looks like everyone took sentiments pretty seriously!

And no wonder! The sentiment on your card gives it meaning. It is the messenger for the wishes you have for the people you care about. A sentiment can say a lot in a single word or even a small cluster of words.

The beautiful creative die sets have made it easy to add the perfect sentiment to our cards. I have had so many dreadful experiences of ruining my card with a crookedly stamped sentiment! Or one that is poorly inked. Or just doesn’t look right where I’ve placed it. The diecut sentiments also add a bit of texture and a classic look.

And there is no shortage of sentiment stamps in the new release! Many are included with the Slapstick stamps and there are several T for Transparent sets that are exclusively sentiments!

judy

If one joy is good at Christmas, three joys are that much better. The photo makes it seem there is no stamping on this card. But look closer:

judy2

The white on white musical notes honor the place music has in holiday celebrations!

judy3

Love that Tree Lined background! I stacked several leaping reindeer for some depth and sprinkled a few sequins: and of course the sentiment to add the perfect finish.

judy4

These Winter Friends stopped playing long enough to pose for their Polaroid photo!! You had to know I would add some “cute” to my stash of cards!! And they are using the perfect sentiment to send their “love”.

We interrupt the card sharing for a little story:

Christmas isn’t only about sentiments… it’s about being sentimental too! Every Christmas evokes memories of past Christmases for me. My dad was in the military and of course we moved around a lot! Not very many Christmases were spent in the same place in the same way. (Sometimes that was a good thing!)

Our most unsentimental Christmas took place the year we accompanied my dad to his new duty station in Italy. Our main shipment of household goods had not yet arrived and we were making do with the immediate housekeeping necessities that had accompanied us on our journey by ship. (Think indoor camping!) Well, back in that day, my mom’s ironing board was an immediate necessity. She loved to iron and ironed everything! Thankfully that isn’t genetic! Well, that ironing board served as our dining table that year. We stood around it in our otherwise unfurnished home, eating the ham slices instead of the traditional turkey dinner.

At the time, we were grateful that my mom could not do without her ironing board and insisted it make the trip with us! Believe me, if I had to define immediate housekeeping necessities, an ironing board would NOT be on the list!!

Cooper feels the same way I do about ironing boards. He hadn’t been part of our family for very long when I took my ironing board out from waaaaaay back in the closet. I must’ve had to do something with an “iron on”. Cooper reacted in absolute terror! He backed into the corner of the room, barking and growling ferociously. I told him I totally understood how he felt!

So, sentimentally speaking, any Christmas that doesn’t involve an ironing board is a great Christmas.

Back to the business at hand: sharing cards!

judy5

I wish I would remember when I am making cards how difficult it is to get a decent photo of glitter!! I used glittery silver embossing powder to stamp the tree from The Beauty of the Season, added sparkly ribbon and shiny stars. Christmas cards are a great place to use up the shiny stuff in your stash!

judy6

Again, I have stacked at least five of the dove diecuts. It doesn’t show in the photo, but the dove is also stamped with the white on white musical notes.   In the spirit of sparing you from too many photos, just trust me … it’s there! “Christmas” adds the perfect border.

judy7

And last, but not least (of course you feel least if you are chosen last! Remember gym class?) This is a one layer card using the birds on a branch from the Holly Scroll transparent set. I went with non-traditional bright purple instead of red for the berries. I love the beautiful font of that sentiment! It makes the card complete and ready for mailing!

Mr. RWS and I have celebrated Christmas with our children and now we are enjoying Christmas with the grandchildren when we can. We have adapted to the current life situations of our adult children who thankfully, have a more predictable life schedule than the years they were in college, working part time jobs with crazy and inconvenient times to work. I remember one year we celebrated Christmas at least five times, hosting the kids who couldn’t make it on the 25th of December on an alternate day that worked for them. I’m grateful those days are over!

Oh, my giddy aunt! (I love that down under expression!) Look at the clock. I’ve been so busy waxing sentimental, I lost track of the time. Easy enough to do when you’re surrounded by Penny Black’s Christmas splendor.

Before I go, Cooper has asked that he not be involved in the Christmas card making this week. He is a bit nervous about being around all the glitter and sequins after what happened the last time he was “helping” in the craft room and ended up dusted with sequins!.

So, here he is just being his happy dog self … notice we’ve even added a sentiment to Cooper’s photo.

8-and-9

I hope you’ve been inspired by all the Penny Black goodies in the Season’s Greetings release. I know my heart has been singing all week after enjoying the amazing art of the Penny Black designers!

Once again, thanks for sharing your time with me. I’ve tidied the studio, vacuumed the glitter, and most importantly, put away the scissors until next time. The lights are out and so am I!

 

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

 

 

26 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2014 1:54 am

    Ooh I feel Christmassy now! So many wonderful cards and I love your storys too! I am with Cooper, I don’t like the ironing board. He looks gorgeous as usual! Thank you for all the inspiration! xx

  2. dawnnz permalink
    August 30, 2014 3:21 am

    You have been one busy bunny Judy. I really haven’t started my cards for Christmas, but you have inspired me. These are all so very pretty.

  3. Dianne Crowe permalink
    August 30, 2014 3:40 am

    What beautiful cards Judy, love all the inspiration you send our way. Oh and thanks for the smile Cooper, sorry you couldn’t help with the Christmas cards.

  4. Linda Baker permalink
    August 30, 2014 5:14 am

    Love your cards and reading your fun stories!

  5. quilterlin permalink
    August 30, 2014 5:35 am

    Love all of these cards today, Judy! The Joy X3 is a favorite, as is that last one with the birds and purple berries. And I always love seeing Cooper’s sweet face! Enjoy the weekend!

  6. August 30, 2014 7:09 am

    Beautiful! Beautiful! Love your cards and the Christmas stamps are awesome!

  7. Carol Jones permalink
    August 30, 2014 7:18 am

    I look forward all week to your posting, and enjoyed this week’s stories so much! Cooper is the perfect adorable companion to your crafting setting. Your cards are beautiful and inspiring — I’ll be using a couple of the ones from this post as templates. Thanks again!

  8. August 30, 2014 7:43 am

    Another wonderful Saturday morning column. Beautiful cards, funny writing and a cute dog…what could be better?!? Thanks for getting me in the Christmas spirit…can’t wait to start on my own holiday cards this week. 🙂

  9. bdengler4 permalink
    August 30, 2014 7:49 am

    Cooper makes me smile and so do your cards, Judy! Thanks for another enjoyable post! ♥

  10. Donna Whitten permalink
    August 30, 2014 8:05 am

    As usual, I really enjoyed spending time with you. Your cards are fantastic and so inspiring. Glad you could manage without Cooper’s help, he looks glad too. After all your inspiration, I think I’ll go make some Christmas cards. Thanks for sharing.

  11. August 30, 2014 8:46 am

    These are some very cool new goodies, and you certainly know how to play with them – lol! I’m with you and Cooper on your ironing board sentiments. Yeeeech! Great article, Punch!

  12. ThePurplePlace permalink
    August 30, 2014 9:12 am

    Oh Judy — These cards are ALL amazing….I am having such a hard time even trying to pick a favorite…but I will stay that the very first “Joy” card, and that gorgeous Pink and Silver are right up there at the top of the list….but to be honest, they are all fabulous. You have done some awesome work here and I can’t wait to finally feel better, so I can head back to my desk and create!! WOOHOO! My new goodies from PB have arrived and I do Hope to be using them very soon! (Darn this Fibro, getting in the way of my crafting…not fair)!!

  13. August 30, 2014 9:25 am

    So glad it’s Saturday and Runs With Scissors is on the docket. It’s like my favorite TV program. Look forward to it each week. Brother, have you been busy this week. All your cards are so lovely…you must have some really special recipients. I, on the other hand, have been a slug this week. But Im going to change that today. Say hi to Cooper from my Hannah and Beau. Can’t wait til next week. Bye.

  14. mjmarmo permalink
    August 30, 2014 9:43 am

    Such amazing cards and inspiration!

  15. August 30, 2014 11:47 am

    Of course I love the JOY x3 card, Judy! And, that glittery tree is a beauty, too! You’ve been so busy and I love reading about your Christmases past! Cooper is just too cute!

  16. donna mikasa permalink
    August 30, 2014 1:08 pm

    Wow! What a fab assortment of cards! I’m loving all the new dies, but your one layer wonder at the end is probably my fave. Oh, and ending with some Cooper is a must see, too! Happy Labor Day weekend!

  17. August 30, 2014 2:37 pm

    Thanks for making me smile today, Judy–always love reading your wonderful posts! Cooper finished it off perfectly–give him a pat on the head from me. Incredible collection of cards, my friend–love them all, especially the first & last!

  18. Lisa Haff permalink
    August 30, 2014 3:36 pm

    Judy I just love your Saturday blogs!, thanks for making me laugh and as always your cards are wonderful. I never get tired of all those great pictures of Cooper!.

  19. August 30, 2014 4:06 pm

    moreover, revolutionized how the business of MLM is conducted.
    – How to position yourself for an expert to find and attract your best prospects who are definitely motivated and ready and willing to do what it takes to build a company.
    He has lately partnered with a few infamous web marketers and
    put together a salty “excessive-end” MLM advertising product referred to as MLM Traffic Formula.

  20. Darlyne Wagner permalink
    August 30, 2014 4:22 pm

    Once in a while, not often, I talk to a coworker who irons clothing and I get the guilts, briefly. I did my share of ironing in my youth and so I shake it off and thank God it is no longer necessary.
    So Cooper, I hear ya! Meanwhile, I just love your blurbs that go with your wonderful cards. All of your fans out in stampingland feel like they know you, as I do. Your cards are gloriously beautiful and I am inspired by them. It is time to start making mine, so off I go!

    • judka permalink
      August 30, 2014 6:43 pm

      Darlyne, thank you for your very kind words. And we share the same ironing philosophy!

  21. Linda S. in NE permalink
    August 30, 2014 4:49 pm

    Goodness, that Cooper is one smart boy! Almost all dogs are suspect of, if not downright vicious to the vacuum cleaner, but now Cooper has also put the ironing board in it’s rightful place!! I was supposed to dog-sit a dog next week who looks very much like your Cooper. Then the owner cancelled, I am still feeling heart-broken about it. Your Christmas cards are lovely. On that first card, what did you stamp the music background with? Was it a white ink, or maybe even a white embossing powder? Very lovely.

    • judka permalink
      August 30, 2014 6:41 pm

      Linda, I am sorry your dog sitting fell through. Hopefully they will reschedule. The music background stamp was stamped with VersaMark ink and then embossed with white embossing powder. Thanks so much for your visit and your lovely comment.

  22. Delila George permalink
    August 30, 2014 8:51 pm

    Every day just seems to get better!

  23. August 30, 2014 9:42 pm

    Your cards and story presentation is always a delight to see Judy…thank you so much for brightening my day!
    Hugs,
    Jan

  24. September 3, 2014 8:15 pm

    Oh my, you did have some fun, Judy! I imagine Cooper, did supervise this awesome card making. There always has to be a supervisor. LOL I love all of these sentiment dies. I need one of each. ;)))

Leave a Reply

