Skip to content

Runs with Haunted Scissors

October 4, 2014

 

We can’t think of a better way to celebrate World Card-Making day than a fantastic Runs with Scissors post!  Take it away, Judy…

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

I must say, these Penny Black folks take Halloween very seriously! The place is all decked out in witches, cats and big black bats! Every day of this past week brought new inspiration. For sure, the Fall 2014 release has everything to make spooktacular Halloween projects.

Recently, I worked on a family project that involved sorting through the massive collection of photos, very few in albums, that I have amassed over the years. One does not need witches, cats and big black bats to find “scary”.

Way back when the kids were little, we owned several different cameras: none of them very sophisticated. There was the Polaroid, the inexpensive Kodaks and even some disposables. It was necessary to purchase film meant for the situation. Indoor? Outdoor? Action? Close up? Who could know all of that in advance? My kids could go from indoor to outdoor faster than the speed of the shutter!

We have family portraits where the photographer said “everybody lean” and we all look like we are about to fall off the page! Looking at the old photos, I am reminded of my various phases of do it yourself. The hand made shirts trying desperately to imitate the Geranimals of the time; the “I can save lots of money cutting the kids’ hair myself” phase; and of course, the poor photography. The Headless Horseman had nothing on our family. I even found a photo of my son accepting his Most Valuable Player award with an eerie green cast over the whole event! Or maybe the school gym had special lighting for the occasion!

1

I am all about making use of what we own: including an inch of my Washi tape collection. I’ve used dies from the Pocket Treasures collection as well as the Season’s Greeting collection, along with the Fall 2014 release for this card. I think the pre teen grandson will like the spookiness and the fun of pulling that note card out for another message.

2

See what I mean?

3

Sometimes the fun is in the details. If I can run with scissors, I can put googly eyes in the sentiment! I love this image of the witch’s shoes and stockings; easy to color and it makes me wonder what the rest of her looks like!

4

Now this is what a mummy costume should look like! Last week I told the story of my son not wanting to wear the mummy costume I made because it was a gown instead of pants! This image is easy to use … very little coloring needed and the spider and his web are just right in that corner!

6

I was so surprised to see this sweet little girl witch image! Reminds me of my daughter at the age of 5 in her witch costume.

Not all costumes need to be scary and this little girl witch reminds me of the toddler who came to our door one Halloween and, prompted by her mommy, sweetly said, “Trick or treat”. I put the candy in her little pumpkin and her mommy then prompted her, “What do you say now?” Without missing a beat the little sweetie said, “Can I have more?” Why of course, smart little one!!

7

How can you not love a die set that makes a great Halloween spooky scene? No smudges, no coloring, just slight assembly required! Patterned paper sets the mood this time!

8

I had the most fun of all making this card! I had just seen Jill Foster’s PB & J video involving watercolor backgrounds and was inspired to try my hand.

Well, if you have missed the freedom of working with watercolor now is a good time to play! I used the smooth side of watercolor paper, scribbled on it a bit with purple, green and yellow Distress Markers and then liberally applied water with my paint brush. What fun to see the colors mix and blend! It’s my kind of technique; fun and foolproof. Here’s the link to Jill’s video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pUEcinlsQeM&feature=youtu.be

While looking through the cards I’ve made, I realized what an influence Jill Foster has had on the work I do! I have learned so much from her blog posts and videos. Every PB&J video contains a little nugget or an aha! moment.

See that twine bow on the first card I shared? I learned that first you wrap the twine around your card, taping the ends in the back. THEN you use a separate piece of twine to tie the strands together and make your bow! Who knew?

The sweet little witch card? That was white cardstock until I distressed it … Jill taught me you can make your own custom colored cardstock!

And the last card? I’ve stacked the BOO diecuts to make more of a statement, a la Jill Foster. And of course, the watercolor background is pure Jill Foster.

We can’t talk about Jill without talking about COLOR! Beautiful, gorgeous, bright and deep color! I can pick Jill’s work out of a crowd because of her incredible use of color. I channeled my inner Jill Foster during my recent “Leafy” Runs with Scissors post. Check it out HERE.

Finally, I do believe the word “Spooktacular” belongs to Jill as well!

9

Well, because of the eye patch issue, Cooper has chosen Cowboy over Pirate for his Halloween costume. I guess two eyes are better than one when roaming the neighborhood for treats! He’s looking a little shaggy; time for a haircut!

Holy haunted house, Batman! The mess I’ve made here at Penny Black would scare the bravest of spooky creatures. Diecuts are fun, but the little specks seem to fly everywhere. Why don’t I put things away as I go along? I guess Mom was right after all.

Seriously, I hope you’ve found some ideas for your Halloween cards and projects. It’s a fun time for the little ones and even the not so little ones. I don’t mind handing out candy to the teenagers who show up at my door! I know it’s hard to outgrow Trick or Treating.

I’ve cleaned up all the little specks and the big scraps. The stamps and dies are back where they belong. The scissors are safely stowed away. It’s time for me to leave this special place until next time. Can’t wait to see what’s coming up on the Penny Black blog next week.

Did you know I haunt the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery looking for your wonderful projects using Penny Black stamps, dies and stencils? Be sure to share your witches, cats and big black bats!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

 

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Dianne Crowe permalink
    October 4, 2014 4:54 am

    Perfect cards for Halloween !!! I am glad Cooper chose the cowboy costume, he looks more comfortable without the eye patch. Happy Halloween Cooper.

  2. October 4, 2014 5:16 am

    Another wonderful episode of RWS. What a great way to start my Saturday. Funny card, funny column (I love that we only need one camera now for ALL occasions), funny dog. You do make my day! Thanks for the reminder on using watercolor…on my to do list today! 🙂

  3. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    October 4, 2014 6:09 am

    mother, i urge you to consider letting Cooper come stay with me for awhile, i need to restore his manhood! Loved the cards, Evelyn is drooling on them as we speak.

    Love, your son

  4. October 4, 2014 8:38 am

    In the first three paragraphs I thought you were writing about me. 😉 All your cards are wonderful, barely topping the commentary.

  5. Donna Whitten permalink
    October 4, 2014 8:42 am

    Another wonderful Saturday visit! Loved your great Halloween cards, thanks for sharing! Cooper looks very macho!

  6. Carol B permalink
    October 4, 2014 9:34 am

    Oh, such fun cards, thanks for sharing this inspiration!

    Carol B
    ciaoitalia2007(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. bdengler4 permalink
    October 4, 2014 10:02 am

    Lovin’ “Cowboy Cooper!” Lol! Fabulous Halloween cards, Judy! Thanks for another awesome post!

  8. donna mikasa permalink
    October 4, 2014 11:44 am

    So much Halloween cuteness! I love the little witch image, and of course, Cooper–he’s such a good sport!

  9. barbara lassiter permalink
    October 4, 2014 1:28 pm

    Thanks for another fun post. The cards are all really cute and I agree with you about learning so much from watching Jill at work! Happy World Card Making Day!

  10. October 4, 2014 1:30 pm

    Ooooh, other that the little witch card, these have scared the pants off me. Not really, am scared but my pants are in tact.

  11. knurse22 permalink
    October 4, 2014 1:41 pm

    Wow, you have been busy, Judy! Love all these cute cards! Your posts are always so much fun to read!

  12. ggnurse permalink
    October 4, 2014 2:26 pm

    You never disappoint, Judy! These are all wonderful! I adore the 1st one & Cooper is darling–shaggy or not!

  13. Linda S. in NE permalink
    October 4, 2014 6:07 pm

    Cute cards this week, Judy. I thought Cooper looked a little “off” this week. Is he getting tired of playing “dress up”? I hope not. Maybe he knows he has a barber-shop appointment coming up, so he just waited until he was at his most handsome before bringing out the cowboy bandana and his sheriff’s badge that goes over his rabies/i. d. tags. Don’t forget Cooper, now a days you need a permit to “carry” before you can strap on that six-gun and holster!!

  14. dawnnz permalink
    October 4, 2014 6:32 pm

    Another awesome post from Judy. Your cards are really stunning,. Love what you do!

  15. October 4, 2014 6:46 pm

    Judy, your posts are the highlight of my day every time i read a new one. I love seeing what you create. The stories you tell about your family and Cooper,I could listen to all evening. I’m going to go over to Penny Black and shop for some of the Halloween stamps you used.i do have a some from a few years ago,the wooden ones with the image in color.
    Enjoy your week and hug your precious Cooper for me.

  16. alexandra s.m. permalink
    October 4, 2014 7:49 pm

    I enjoyed your post tremendously Judy!
    Your cards are fun and beautiful.
    I especially like the idea of coloring parts of the stamps like you did in your third card!
    Many Thanks~

  17. October 6, 2014 6:39 pm

    Love this Saturday post, Judy. It’s like spending time with a friend. All of your cards are wonderful, each one so different. Love the little witch card especially! And who can resist the ever adorable Cowboy Cooper, a most handsome pup! Hugs.

  18. October 8, 2014 9:43 pm

    Thanks for the inspiration Judy! Fun and artsy cards! And thanks for the bonus smile reading your post.

Leave a Reply

