Skip to content

Runs with Scissors and Thank You Notes

October 25, 2014

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Here I am again, playing with scissors, stamps and dies on the Penny Black blog while everyone else is gone for the weekend. I’m so glad to have your company. There’s a puddle here and there from all the watercoloring, but at Penny Black even the puddles are gorgeous!

I’ve been thinking a lot about “three little words” that are very important for the holiday season. No, not “I love you” which knows no season. The three little words I am thinking of are “thank you notes”. After the hurry scurry of the holiday, it is good to relish the calm days of early winter. The Penny Black Winter Wonderland release has so many lovely, contemplative images and intricate dies to make beautiful thank you cards that are fun and easy to create.

I have selected three more words to guide my card making today: “keep it simple”. I have chosen to make my cards using only die cuts, with an occasional stamped sentiment. Most of my designs can be easily made in multiples, leaving more time for writing a thoughtful thank you message.

1

Speaking of three words, “big”, “gorgeous” and “intricate” are the best adjectives to describe this A2 sized die. I always add an extra piece of card stock to my die cutting sandwich when working with a die of this size with this many cuts. It amazes me how perfectly this die cut all those tiny details. The Stellar diecut looks gorgeous cut in any color, mounted on the colored note card of your choice. Here I’ve used teal foil paper mounted on white so that the details of the design show up clearly. A single pearl finished the card.

2

I’ve been hoarding a sheet of red velvet paper for more than 10 years and when I saw the Twirl Tree die I knew what I wanted to do with it. I cut the tree twice, once from sparkly gold paper and once from smooth gold paper. I stacked them so just a tiny bit of the sparkly shows through from the bottom layer. The red velvet is perfect for the gold tree. I went for a classic elegant color combination along with a classic design. This intricate die deserved no less! I know the photo is at an odd angle, but it is the only way I could photo the gold foil paper without too much glare.

3

I love the Norwegian sweater theme of this patterned paper and it seemed just right for showcasing the pair of deer from the die set Together. I know this set will be used year around, especially for masculine cards. The possibilities are endless, but for my “keep it simple” theme, I’ve stuck to basics. I love stacking diecuts, as in this case the large deer. They stack perfectly and easily.

I am a lucky grandma. The mother of my two Atlanta grandchildren has always seen to it that grandma gets a thank you note for every gift. It not only makes grandma feel good, it starts a life-long habit of saying thank you. The two older Wisconsin grandsons always call with their thanks, and grandma enjoys that too. Little Evelyn Rose just says thank you by Skyping grandma when she is riding her butterfly rocking horse. I’m sure some day she, too, will learn the etiquette of thank you notes.

While we all enjoy the convenience of electronic communication, hand written notes are a joy to find in the mailbox. I remember years ago when two of my sons spent a week at summer camp. On Wednesdays they had to write a letter home and the rule was “no letter, no supper”. One of my sons sent the following letter home to his anxious Mom:

Dear Mom:

We had cabin inspection today. Our cabin won “dump of the day”.

Sincerely,

Your son xxxx

Priceless!

4

I love these itty bitty buildings and all the included extras in the die set Around Town. I cut the buildings from silver paper and added a snow flake from the Crystal Trio set along with a few pearls. Of course, there’s no need to add the gems if you are concerned about mailing.

5

Oh, my! This Branching Out tree is not going to be put away with my holiday stamps and dies. The possibilities are endless for this amazing die. This time I’ve perched a little bird and added some red pearls. And a diecut sentiment is the perfect balance for that tree image. I’ve stacked multiple diecuts, but if you are making cards in quantity, one will do.

And there you have my “keep it simple” “thank you cards”. I hope you find some ideas here that will inspire you to get those after-holiday notes written. The Winter Wonderland release can be used to make great cards for winter birthdays, anniversaries, friendship and thinking of you cards, too.

Well, Cooper does not share my enthusiasm for writing thank you notes. However, he did get quite excited when my rolling backpack was brought down from the attic for a little trip I’m taking. I assumed he was realizing that when this gadget shows up, something fun is happening. Wrong. His excitement was so intense and unwavering I had to step in to see what was going on. It seems the backpack was visited by an attic resident who most rudely marked its territory. Cooper, the mighty hunter dog, was on the scent! He followed Larry and the backpack on the trip to the trash can and didn’t seem to understand why anyone would discard such a treasure.

6

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a photo of Evelyn Rose who turned one year old this summer. How quickly the year has gone and how beautifully Ev has grown. Her Daddy Skypes regularly and we have such a good time during our visits. She toddles all through the house as Daddy follows her with the tablet. She checks every now and then to make sure I’m still there as she goes from room to room. She’s busy getting ready to be a big sister in just a few weeks.

7

Lots of little bitty pieces from the intricate diecuts this week! They clean up quick as a wink with the little bitty vacuum cleaner here at the blog. I like to leave things tidy so the Monday morning crew can get right to work. So many Penny Black opportunities!

It’s time to stow the scissors, turn out the lights and close the door behind me. Have a happy stamping week. I leave you with three more little words: “Life is good.”

Shop for today’s Featured Penny Black supplies:

 

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2014 1:01 am

    I love ALL of the die cuts! I have three little words about the dies…..never enough dies! Whether it is a word die or a shape die, they add so much to a card. Your cards are lovely. I love your posts. I am always excited to find them in my mailbox.

  2. Peggy Wood permalink
    October 25, 2014 3:00 am

    Great ideas. You are right with the tree. That would stay out all year.

  3. Pam permalink
    October 25, 2014 5:23 am

    Judy – These are beautiful. I especially love the first one.

  4. quilterlin permalink
    October 25, 2014 6:01 am

    Lovely cards today, Judy! Penny Black surely has a wonderful selection of dies for all styles we could possibly want! As always, I enjoyed your post and sweet picture of little Evie!

  5. October 25, 2014 7:12 am

    Gorgeous cards, Judy – my favorite one is the first one with the snowflake! Evie is such a little beauty – “Rose” is a perfect name for her!

  6. bdengler4 permalink
    October 25, 2014 8:03 am

    My Saturday mornings would not be half as enjoyable without your PB posts, my friend! (Makes me miss you less.) Loved this one – your cards are beautiful! Such a funny story about your son’s handwritten note from camp – hee, hee! Love the photo of Evie too – what a doll! ♥

  7. Donna Whitten permalink
    October 25, 2014 9:00 am

    Great thank you notes, loved them all! Enjoyed the lovely picture of Eve, she’s a doll! Your post wouldn’t be complete without the appearance of Cooper! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Julie permalink
    October 25, 2014 9:41 am

    I love the branching tree die–will add it to my wish list.

  9. Maria permalink
    October 25, 2014 9:42 am

    Fabulous thank you notes/cards made with great dies,
    have to put some on my ever growing wishlist.
    Beautiful picture of little Eve. Big cuddle to Cooper.
    Wonder where you can buy a little bitty vacuum cleaner,I’m in dire need of one?
    Thank you for sharing.

  10. October 25, 2014 9:57 am

    Gorgeous cards…especially when you can make them with only die cuts (and an occasional stamped sentiment). Another fun post, cute dog, cuter baby Evie. You are right…your Life is Good!

  11. Judy B permalink
    October 25, 2014 12:09 pm

    Oh my goodness, these cards are wonderful.The ones with the intricate dies are just beautiful, while the patterned paper with the solid dies works great! Thanks for sharing these projects with us.

  12. Cheryl Robertson permalink
    October 25, 2014 12:34 pm

    Your granddaughter is just precious . I have two grandsons that are the world to me.
    I love getting your posts. Your cards are always beautiful. I’m just starting card making and I learn so much from you. Thx for all the wonderful ideas!

  13. Linda S. in NE permalink
    October 25, 2014 12:56 pm

    Hi Judy, I have enjoyed your post this week, and am awestruck by your beautiful thank-you cards. You have access to some beautiful dies which are now on my wishlist because you have shown a great way to use them. I have heard and read that the intricate dies are very difficult to secure to each other (in the case of layering), or to the card base. Did you find that to be true? If so, what was your solution? Have you ever used a new product on the market by the name of, “Stick-It”? Cooper looks like he has discovered a real treasure. And that baby…Oh My!!

    • judka permalink
      October 25, 2014 1:16 pm

      Thanks, Linda, for your kind words! I so appreciate your comment. I have a glue pen that has a point like a ball point pen (Zig memory systems) that can leave a drop of glue on the most intricate parts of the intricate dies! I have no trouble at all stacking them and gluing them together. And they stick to the card base the same way. I have heard about “Stick It” and think it would be a good idea if you are having trouble gluing diecuts together. I’m not sure if it is available globally yet … You will love any of the Penny Black dies that you purchase. They cut perfectly and you will have them forever. Thanks for your visit!

      • Linda S. in NE permalink
        October 26, 2014 11:15 pm

        Thank you for the reply, Judy. I actually own one of those Zig glue pens that has a tip like a ball-point pen so I’ll be trying that. I have seen several US stores at least doing pre-orders on “Stick-It”. It would be interesting to be able to try it on a small project before having to buy an entire package. Thanks for the firm recommendation for the Penny Black dies. Please give Cooper some scratches behind his ears from me.

  14. Dianne Crowe permalink
    October 25, 2014 2:55 pm

    Your cards are fabulous as always. Love the dies you have used, will have to watch for some here. Evelyn Rose what a lovely name for a cute little girl, my she is growing fast. I see Cooper is back too and on the still on the Job helping out.

  15. barbara lassiter permalink
    October 25, 2014 6:04 pm

    Life is good and I enjoyed your usual, wonderful Saturday post. I love die cuts and am using them more and more! I agree with you about thank you notes. Love sending them and receiving them, especially from my grandsons.

  16. Linda Baker permalink
    October 25, 2014 6:12 pm

    Another great post!

  17. October 25, 2014 7:22 pm

    Evelyn Rose, I love that name!!
    and I love your cards Judy!
    Thank You very much for a wonderful post!

  18. October 26, 2014 7:35 am

    Judy,
    I really enjoyed your many examples of die cut cards. All lovely. I think I have been ignoring some very useful tools that I already have. Thanks for the inspiration. Time to get those Christmas cards started!!

  19. October 26, 2014 10:35 am

    Oh Judy–your posts are such a treat! I adore your cards–the new release is all on my wishlist–LOL! I just splurged for a new piece of red velvet paper since it was 1/2 price & I still have some over 10 years old, too! Maybe I’ll actually use it now–that card is stunning!

Leave a Reply

