Skip to content

Runs with First Class Scissors

November 1, 2014

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Welcome, and please excuse the disarray!   It appears there was quite a Halloween party here at the Penny Black blog last night. Lucky for me the little trick-or-treaters left some goodies behind. That’s the good news: the bad news is none of it is chocolate.

It has been a “good news, bad news” kind of a week. Certainly Jean Manis’ spooktacular stamping projects are part of the good news. The multiple Frankensteins card is pure genius! I love her creative, clean and simple style. The bad news is, clean and simple isn’t easy for me.

More good news: recently I spent four days at a stamping retreat with a special group of creative, bright, fun and funny women. Mojo and talent were everywhere and the cards I’m sharing with you today are some of the fifteen cards I made over that long weekend. I knew if I needed inspiration for a CAS card, I was in the right place at the right time.

1

Simple white-on-white layering is the base for some banner and circle shapes, topped by a diecut sentiment from the Creative Die set Exultations. I was inspired to use the non-traditional colors by my stamping neighbor at the retreat.

2

Once I got started, clean and simple came more easily. Here I’ve used the banner from the Creative Die set Shades as the background for the diecut poinsettia Glorious. Again, I used the pink, green and silver color combination. The sentiment is from Joyous Wishes Creative Die set.

3

This card uses two Creative Die sets: Jingle and Crystal Trio. It is a clean and simple design using large elements. This card could easily be mass produced and would brighten anyone’s holiday.

4

I loved my original CAS design so much, that I did a variation for a Thanksgiving card, this time using an autumn color palette and the sentiment from the Creative Die set Words of Gratitude.

As I said in the beginning, it’s been a good news, bad news kind of a week. First, the bad news:

5

This was, indeed a bad news day. The SUV was our last remaining car after a similar experience exactly one year ago, when a driver pulled out from a strip mall and “didn’t see” our car. Mr. Runs With Scissors thinks we may be part of the government’s Stealth program, involving invisible means of transportation.

The good news: just bumps, bruises, stiffness and soreness. And a swollen knee that needs more care. We are grateful the impact was not to the driver’s door.

6

After two weeks of driving a rental car and waiting for the insurance companies to declare that yes, indeed, Mr. RWS had every right to occupy his share of the road without being slammed into by a pick up truck, we now have a new car.

The good news is this is a brand new 2013 car. It’s hard to believe the dealership “lost” this vehicle in its inventory and the car waited for two years and TWO accidents for us to show up in time to negotiate a great deal (and I thought losing the keys to a car was a problem. I never lost the whole car).

7

As I said, Mojo was everywhere at the retreat. One of the women was creating some stunning backgrounds using Distress Inks. She achieved the look of the Northern Lights and used that as the base for her Christmas cards. I tried to imitate that look, but wasn’t successful. I was disappointed in my background until I overstamped it with the slapstick stamp Woodland Wonder embossed in white. It was still missing something so I added the tiny birds from the slapstick stamp Nature’s Friends. Love how it all came together.

8

This slapstick image Winter Song is one of my favorites from the new release. I gently colored it with Copics using the aptly named “Gray Sky” marker (BG90) to create the wintry sky. The stamp is rectangular in shape, but as you can see, it adapts well to being circular.

So many of the Winter Wonderland stamps and dies are suitable for both holiday and non-holiday cards. They will also work for birthdays, get well wishes, thinking of you, and thank you cards. A set of note cards made with any of the nature-themed images would make a perfect Christmas gift.

As I said in the beginning, it has been a good news, bad news kind of a week. However, if I put on my gratitude glasses I see only the good news.

On the way home from the stamping retreat my flight to Atlanta was delayed, causing me to miss my connection to Huntsville. This resulted in arriving home three hours later, at 10:00 pm. I first learned there was something wrong when I tried to check in at curbside and was referred to the “problem” counter. (They sure had me pegged, didn’t they?) The dear older woman behind the counter seemed reluctant to tell me the bad news. I imagine she bears the brunt of many a passenger’s frustration! I chose to “go with the flow”, probably due to the “high” caused by such a fantastic experience at the retreat. Instead of being upset, I engaged the dear woman in humorous conversation and we enjoyed our time together. In return, she bumped me to first class on the last leg of my trip and didn’t charge me the $25 baggage fee.

I spent the next half hour at the airport in the ladies’ room, fixing my hair and makeup and practicing my “first class” persona! And while waiting for my delayed flight, I had a lovely visit with a woman who had just returned from two weeks in Italy. I had to leave her when they announced boarding for first class passengers. I had a few moments of trepidation, waiting for someone to call out, “Imposter!”

But all is well that ends well.

9

Look who loves the new car!   I hope he’s on his way to the groomer’s! So much time spent on car shopping and insurance paperwork resulted in less time for pampering Cooper.

And now the bad news is it’s past time for me to put the scissors away and throw out the candy wrappers. The good news is, I will see you again next week.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

 

34 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2014 12:54 am

    Love all the cards – some great embossing and colours. Sorry about the red car – new one looks great though

  2. Deb L permalink
    November 1, 2014 2:24 am

    Lovely cards. Funny blog. It is always so nice to come home.

  3. Ruth permalink
    November 1, 2014 2:29 am

    I just love your column! Every week, your cards are wonderfully “doable” and that’s my favorite kind of inspiration. Hope the rest of the year goes smoothly.

  4. November 1, 2014 3:15 am

    Wonderful selection of cards! So much inspiration as always! I am so glad most of the damage was to the car and not to Mr Runs with Sissors! Your retreat sounded wonderful and I am glad Cooper likes the new car! xxx

  5. Dianne Crowe permalink
    November 1, 2014 5:02 am

    Always love your cards, the little bird look perfect sitting out on the branch. Glad to hear everyone if fine and Cooper looks ready for a long drive in the new car.

  6. Barbara permalink
    November 1, 2014 5:17 am

    The new car was waiting for you. Sometimes magic happens. Smile.

  7. November 1, 2014 5:49 am

    If your cards are any indication, the retreat was a great success! They are all beautiful. Glad your husband is mainly okay. Love your blog. TFS.

  8. Marliese permalink
    November 1, 2014 5:57 am

    I not only love your cards, but I enjoy reading your blog. I particularly like the bird on a limb and, yes, it can be used for any occasion.

  9. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    November 1, 2014 6:08 am

    Mother,

    Your zany antics have us in stitches. I think you should make a card for the dealership manager you broke down getting your car, he could use a get well. Can’t wait to see what is next!

    Your favorite child,

    Scott

    • judka permalink
      November 1, 2014 6:24 am

      The sales manager is doing just fine … he did apologize for his multiple attempts at changing the price!

  10. quilterlin permalink
    November 1, 2014 6:39 am

    What a week, Judy! So glad to hear a bit about the retreat and see your cards that resulted from it. So sorry to hear about your car and glad that Mr. RWS was mainly unscathed……..Love all the foil on your cards this week – very festive!

  11. bdengler4 permalink
    November 1, 2014 7:23 am

    Love seeing your cards again, Judy – I felt so lucky sitting near you and watching you create them! And I’m so glad I can stop by here and and get a dose of your fun personality! Miss you! ♥

  12. November 1, 2014 7:37 am

    Love every single card of yours Judy. Love your post too. My fav is winter song…:)

  13. Virginia L. permalink
    November 1, 2014 7:46 am

    Thanks for sharing the “happenings”! You just know how to keep things in perspective! I am loving all the CAS cards. But the last square card (winter song) is my favorite since is is so sweet! Beautiful work as always, Judy! Enjoy the ride in your NEW car….and don’t drive with scissors 😉

  14. Donna Whitten permalink
    November 1, 2014 7:59 am

    You were really inspired at your retreat, your cards are fabulous! Sorry about your bad luck, but it sounds like your good luck won out! Thanks for sharing your fabulous stories.

  15. mjmarmo permalink
    November 1, 2014 8:51 am

    BEautiful cards. Sorry about the car btu glad no on ewas severly injured. New car looks pretty!

  16. November 1, 2014 9:12 am

    Thrilled you made it home & in first class, too. Sorry about the accident but at least you found a great new car that Cooper even likes. As for your cards, what can I say but AWESOME!

  17. Anne D permalink
    November 1, 2014 9:23 am

    I always look forward to your posts and seeing your wonderful cards. I also love reading your comments and stories. Have you considered having your own blog? Terrific cards, once again!

  18. jeanmanis permalink
    November 1, 2014 9:29 am

    What a week you’ve had! You seem to take it all in stride – which amazes me (I would be a basket case)! Your cards are gorgeous – fabulous use of the Penny Black dies and stamps. Wishing you a wonderful November!

  19. Anita B. permalink
    November 1, 2014 10:21 am

    Good News: I absolutely LOVE your column!! Bad News: So sorry you have had so much drama in your daily life these last couple of weeks!
    Look forward to viewing your cards in the coming weeks and to laughing at your light-hearted comments.

  20. Marilyn Valadez permalink
    November 1, 2014 11:00 am

    Judy, Judy, Judy…how I love your commentary!You should have your own column in a paper or a mag. You always make me laugh and smile…love your sense of humor, and love your creative cards. So glad no one was hurt in the traffic misshap! Take care until the next time my talented friend! :))

  21. Marti_L permalink
    November 1, 2014 11:37 am

    I too love your posts. You have a great talent for letting us share in your personal life and then you give us beautiful art to inspire us. Thank you for sharing,

  22. Paula D permalink
    November 1, 2014 1:47 pm

    I love that card with the distress ink background and the white embossed Woodland Wonder. Perhaps you could share how it is done. I would be so grateful.

    • judka permalink
      November 1, 2014 3:12 pm

      Paula, thank you for commenting and asking about my card. I used the Distress Ink applicator to heavily apply various shades of Distress ink to white cardstock. I was trying to create a sky with Northern Lights showing. That didn’t happen, but I soldiered on!! I dried the background I created with my heat gun and then stamped and embossed with white the Woodland Wonder stamp. It just covered enough of my background to make the design more balanced! I splattered some water to add some interest and then added two white embossed birds. Confession: The top bird was added to hide unwanted stray embossing powder! While it didn’t turn out the way I had hoped, I am happy with the result. Watercoloring or using Distress Inks to make a background is a really freeing process! And the Penny Black “nature” stamps in this release yield a dramatic result!!

  23. Laura Jane permalink
    November 1, 2014 2:47 pm

    You are a delightful first class lady everyday! Great cards today.

  24. donna mikasa permalink
    November 1, 2014 3:33 pm

    Nothing like a stamping retreat to pull out all the stops! Such a gorgeous array of cards, Judy! And it looks like that car was waiting for you–Cooper seems to approve! Take care and enjoy your new wheels!

  25. November 1, 2014 4:37 pm

    Glad no serious injury to you…still a traumatic experience during and after!!! Love the new car – Cooper has good taste and so do you! Also like all the c&s cards you made…think I need to go to one of those retreats as I spend WAY too much time over a card – LOL! TFS Judy…always enjoy your blog!
    Hugs,
    Jan

  26. Linda S. in NE permalink
    November 1, 2014 6:19 pm

    Hi Judy, I am so glad that MRwS was not seriously injured in the traffic accident. Scary stufff, and it proves just how quickly our lives can change.
    Your experience with the airline counter employee reminds me of what my DMIL used to say…”You can catch more fly’s with honey, than you can with vinegar”. I am sure your attitude “made the woman’s day”.
    Mr. Cooper looks like he is just waiting for the driving instructor to come out of the DMV building so he can show off in his new wheels!! First stop: The Dog Park.

  27. dawnnz permalink
    November 1, 2014 10:27 pm

    Oh my goodness….. that was one fun fulled weekend by the sound of things. I can just totally imagine what fun you had. I am impressed with the number of cards you did. These ones are stunning.. Glad you’ve got a nice new car!

  28. alexandra s.m. permalink
    November 1, 2014 10:37 pm

    I’m glad you are all fine!
    Love the new card and thank You so much for sharing your beautiful cards Judy!
    You can do it all!!

  29. Maria permalink
    November 2, 2014 4:40 am

    Oh yikes what a time you all have had.Glad you all fine.Car smash happened exactly the same to my husband last year. Your cards are all wonderful,would love to get hold of these stamps……. Take care and hug to Cooper 🙂

  30. Pat Gasko permalink
    November 2, 2014 5:56 am

    So glad everyone in the car made it out with only minor injuries. I agree with Cooper Great new car imagine that dealership misplacing it for 2 yrs. I think it was meant for you and your family. I enjoy your blog daily, your cards are an inspiration and your narratives are wonderful to read. I got the Ode to Christmas that chick-a-dee reminds me of the one’s I see from my deck. Great stamps.

  31. adie permalink
    November 3, 2014 9:23 am

    I do enjoy reading about all your escapades lol, enjoy seeing all your lovely creations as well

  32. Geri S. permalink
    August 29, 2015 2:22 pm

    Love the woodland wonder card and hope to try it with as much success as you had!

Leave a Reply

