Skip to content

Giving Thanks with Mrs. Runs with Scissors

November 8, 2014

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, again! This week is all about being thankful and I am thankful for the chance to share time with you on the Penny Black blog.

When asked what else I am all thankful for, my easy answer is family and friends. Of course I am grateful for Mr. Runs with Scissors, my adult children, their spouses, their children and the times we are able to spend together.   However, sometimes I need to look further and deeper than the obvious. Here are some things I truly appreciate in my life:

 

  1. A shower, with hot running water at just the twist of a faucet;
  2. Skype, that enables me to “visit” with Evelyn Rose;
  3. The grocery store, a wonderland of food options;
  4. Airplanes that make visiting and vacationing away from home possible.

 

My list of “little” things to be thankful for could take up pages and includes pull tab can openers, businesses that answer the phone in person, wash and wear clothes, and the spray hose on my kitchen faucet. I am surrounded by gadgets and inventions that make my life easier and more interesting. I am thankful!

My cards this week are a mixture of Thanksgiving and fall-themed cards.

1

Once again I’ve called on the large deer from the Together creative die set to be the focal image. I created the background using the Zigs & Zags stencil and Distress ink. The sentiment is from the Fall Flutters slapstick set and the heart from Shades creative die set.

2

The slapstick stamp set Crystal Frame includes a snowflake image to be showcased within the frame. I chose, instead, to use a leaf from the Fall Flutters set. I used the background to showcase three leaves cut from the Autumn Jewels creative die set which were given a layer of Distress Stickles for some added texture.

3

A quick and easy card for Thanksgiving and many other fall occasions is this one using the slapstick stamp Woodland Wonder to stamp and white emboss on patterned paper. I added two diecut Autumn Jewels just for interest. They’ve been given a thin coat of Distress Stickles, too.

Years ago, when my kids were all at home, we lived in a small town in Wisconsin where deer hunting was very close to a religion! Deer hunting season opened the week before Thanksgiving and many Thanksgiving celebrations hinged on when or if the deer hunting party bagged their deer. It was possible to be done with the hunt and be home for Thanksgiving dinner, but often the celebration was postponed until the hunters either came home with the deer they caught late in the ten-day season or, worst of all, came home empty-handed.

It was traditional for fathers to include their teen sons in the hunting trips, in order to pass on the skills and traditions related to deer hunting. We had friends whose teen-aged son was included in the hunting party that was going “up north” to more rural Wisconsin where the deer were more plentiful. Sadly, the twelve year old son, who had passed his Hunter Safety class, didn’t need a permit, and was counting on making the trip, was excluded from that year’s trip having been told he was “too young”.

It was hard for the Mom to see her son so disappointed, so after the rest of the family left for the long ride north to hunt deer and sleep in a primitive cabin, she agreed to take the twelve year old hunting on nearby farmland. As the deer-hunting-gods would have it, the boy spotted a large buck, took aim, fired and successfully brought down his first deer!

While excited for her son, Mom knew they had work ahead of them; dressing the deer and hauling it to their vehicle. The smiling gods sent fellow hunters to their aid and before it was late afternoon, there was a dressed deer hanging trophy-like from the large tree in their front yard (a common sight during deer season, as all of Wisconsin becomes a refrigerator in November).

Eventually, the totally unsuccessful hunting party from up north returned home disappointed and frustrated with the results of their trip. Imagine their further embarrassment when they learned that Mom and the twelve year old had been successful within a few miles of home and were able to sleep in their warm and comfy beds after it was over.

4

I used patterned paper as the background for this card, too. The Branching Out die with its intricate pattern of branches and the diecut sentiment from Words of Gratitude finish up the card.

5

I’ve been using Distress inks to create backgrounds and love the effect. This card using Etched Branches reminds me of a late fall afternoon. I added two birds diecut from In a Row and one stamped and embossed using a stamp from Nature’s Friend.

6

I combined two stamp sets for this card; Etched Branches and Nature’s Friend. I created another distressed background.

When I studied the finished card I realized my deer looked like they were floating in orange space. In order to ground the deer, I used a fine black pen to add “grass” at their feet. I made this card at the stamping retreat and I was sitting at my craft table, friends nearby, and in my excitement over the success of my effort called out, “I did grass!” Well, it became rather quiet until I quickly explained I meant I “added grass” to my card!

Speaking of friends, Cooper has a grill friend. No, that isn’t a typo! Somehow Cooper has developed a serious attachment to and excitement over our gas grill. We haven’t determined if there is a delicious scent of some sort or if he misunderstood the talk we had with him about girls! Cooper asks to visit his grill friend at least ten times daily and spends his visits sniffing and leaping, as if to invite his grill to dance with him. We are hoping the fascination (or the scent) wears off soon and Cooper can accept his bachelorhood once again.

7

I know I said it in the beginning, but I need to say it again: I am grateful to Penny Black for the opportunity to share time with you on their blog. I appreciate that they allow me to run with my scissors and don’t put me in a “time out” for breaking rules. I know Mr. Runs with Scissors is grateful that I have an outlet for my stories so that he doesn’t have to hear them all … again.

I’ve left things pretty tidy today as I made these cards at the retreat and didn’t get into very much here. I’m sure the Penny Black designers appreciate finding things as they left them. The scissors are stowed, time to turn out the lights and say good-bye.

PS: Mrs. RWS, we are so GRATEFUL for YOU! Love, Penny Black

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black Supplies:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

24 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2014 12:16 am

    Our 13 year old dog visits the Grill after we grill outside, so it must be the leftover smell. She snifs around for quite awhile hoping for crumbs….as she does every evening after we have our dinner..floor patrol you know! Your cards are lovely, and the commentary delightful!!!
    TFS
    Jan

  2. November 8, 2014 2:02 am

    Judy, your cards are just beautiful – I especially love the second one! And, your hunting story brings back memories as my dad and uncles went deer hunting every year. My mom did not like to cook venison, so an aunt usually had the honors. We all converged at her house and enjoyed eating it and hearing every detail of their adventure!! I do remember liking the venison, but now it wouldn’t be my choice of protein. LOL

  3. November 8, 2014 2:31 am

    Beautiful cards! xxx

  4. Dianne Crowe permalink
    November 8, 2014 4:28 am

    Judy, I always love seeing your cards. You give us great inspiration too!!! Love reading your story’s as well, especially when Cooper is involved. Mr. Runs with Scissors I am sure appreciates your stories. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    November 8, 2014 5:15 am

    Mother,

    More wonderful cards and great stories, how do you do it? Love the meshing of fall colors with the Thanksgiving theme. Oh that Cooper is quite the dog. Evelyn’s favorite card was the one with a deer, she spent the morning roaring at it, i think she thinks it is lion.

    love,
    Scott

  6. Cindy C. permalink
    November 8, 2014 6:17 am

    Wow!! Impressive array of beautiful cards Judy!! So nice to tune in to see your cards to start my Saturday morning!!!!!!!!

  7. Susan Roberts permalink
    November 8, 2014 6:32 am

    I believe we are all thankful for you Judy. So THANK YOU for sharing your art and your stories!

  8. Sue C permalink
    November 8, 2014 6:55 am

    I just love Judy’s writing style. It is so engaging. Beautiful cards, stories and inspiration. I am thankful for Judy!

  9. November 8, 2014 7:19 am

    I just love reading your post every week, Judy!
    Wonderful cards, wow!!

  10. November 8, 2014 7:27 am

    I so look forward to your column each week. Your cards are always gorgeous (loving those distressed backgrounds), your dog is too cute for words, but your stories are THE best. I had to go back and reread the hunting story to make sure you were not the mom…though I wouldn’t put it past you! I am so thankful we found each other through PB. I love how PB acknowledged their thankfulness for you at the end of your column…isn’t that just like them?
    🙂

  11. bdengler4 permalink
    November 8, 2014 8:01 am

    Another wonderful post, Judy! Your cards are all so beautiful! Thank you for the fun memory of your “doing grass!” I laugh every time I think about that! And thank you for reminding us we should be grateful for all the little things in life too! ♥

  12. November 8, 2014 8:37 am

    Once again, thouroughly entertained by your weekly contributions. If Mr. RWS isn’t interested in hearing your stories, I am. You never fail to bring a smile to my face and drool to my mouth when I see your awesome creations (hopefully, not at the same time). Cooper’s obsession with the grill is interesting…do you think he’s pining for a companion pup? I say, if it makes him happy, let him obsess.

  13. donna mikasa permalink
    November 8, 2014 9:15 am

    Wonderful post as always, Judy! Your cards are simply fabulous and I love the deer theme and your deer story, too! Thankful that I can call you “friend” and that we met in blogland years ago. Now it’s on my bucket list to see you in ‘bama! One day…..

    • judka permalink
      November 8, 2014 12:26 pm

      Oh, Donna! I hope so.

  14. quilterlin permalink
    November 8, 2014 11:31 am

    Another fun post again today, Judy. Loved your cards, as always. My favorite is the birds on the branches with those beautiful colors beyond them! And as to deer hunting, I grew up in that religion, too! In fact, nowadays in PA, the first day of deer season the kids get off of school! And I grew up with a mounted buck’s head in our den at my parents’ house…..LOVED your story today!

  15. November 8, 2014 2:49 pm

    Love reading your post – and seeing your lovely cards.

  16. Julie permalink
    November 8, 2014 2:52 pm

    I love your distressed ink backgrounds. I am also grateful for a hot shower every morning (quick one since we’re having a severe drought in CA) and my wonderful washing machine and dryer (any tool that leaves more time for crafting makes me happy).

  17. alexandra s.m. permalink
    November 8, 2014 8:47 pm

    Thank You for this great post Judy!
    Love your Fall cards 😉

  18. Darlyne Wagner permalink
    November 8, 2014 8:56 pm

    All the cards are fantastic, RWS! The stamps are wonderful for this time of year and the stories of deer hunting, they are heartwarming. Cooper will enjoy his share of turkey, I know, and all the family will love being together. Enjoy!

  19. dawnnz permalink
    November 9, 2014 12:43 am

    stunning Judy. As usual the post is totally amazing . Just love the deer hunting story. What a hoot Cooper is.

  20. November 9, 2014 9:30 pm

    Great variety of beautiful cards, Judy & I loved reading your post, as always!

  21. Linda F permalink
    November 10, 2014 3:43 am

    Judy, I always love looking at your gorgeous creations, reading your entertaining stories and hearing about Coopers antics.

  22. November 10, 2014 11:46 am

    So very thankful for you, Judy. I so enjoy your posts. Beautiful backgrounds and cards and a wonderful narrative, as always, not to mention an adorable Cooper!

  23. ThePurplePlace permalink
    November 14, 2014 3:58 pm

    Awesome! I am so happy that Penny Black has you and that you can share not only your wonderful creative art — but also your wonderful stories! Today’s story of Cooper and his girlfriend, (grill-friend) was perfect! My two little girls have a love with our “grill” too….must be the leftover scent of the tasty goodies we cooked! LOL! Thanks for the smiles Judy!

Leave a Reply

