Skip to content

Runs with Scissors in 2015

January 3, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Here we are … the year 2015. I must admit, any year with 2-0 in front of it still looks like science fiction to me. However, I checked the newspaper today and it is not fiction … we have begun the year 2015.

And someone has begun it right, here at the Penny Black blog. Oh, my! I expected to come tip toeing in due to heavy heads from New Year’s partying, along with debris from paper streamers and confetti.   “But what to my wondering eyes should appear …but a beautifully organized studio here”.

There’s labels and boxes and drawers and dividers; containers and spinners and cubbies and cubes. It’s sparkly clean and everything is in its place, neatly sorted and labeled. No more time lost searching for anything. Happy New Year’s resolution!

Hopefully, I will be inspired to make this magic happen in my own craft room.

Speaking of inspiration, Therese Calvird’s cards this week have definitely inspired me to try the five techniques she used to make her cards. Her choice of stamps made me smile as they included some of my favorites.

1

Therese’s use of the words “messy Copic coloring” to describe the technique she used on her poppy card made me laugh. In my world, messy Copic coloring describes what happens when I’ve over-filled my Copic marker or the color bleeds outside the lines.

I decided that Therese means she uses a more relaxed coloring technique, not spending a lot of time on each section of the flower. I colored my poppies quickly and even left some white space. I am happy with the look, especially the light airy feel that captures the spirit of Therese’s card.

2

Therese’s use of the map paper for the background of the retro motorcycle card is genius. And the speech bubble declaring “epic” really adds to the sense of speed and fun! I borrowed the map paper idea but my krafty kat is moving a bit slower, keeping the pace set by his buddy the snail. Hopefully it maintains the sense of fun. I loved stamping and coloring directly onto the patterned paper with my Prismacolor pencils.

3

Therese used Distress inks to watercolor her card and so I got out my brushes and inks and colored Mimi from the Frosty Fun set. I created the “ground” by first painting with blue and then adding some “picket fence” gray color. Watercoloring with Distress inks is becoming a comfortable technique for me, thanks to the encouragement and inspiration found on the Penny Black blog.

It is customary at this time of year to be concerned with bringing in the “new” and getting rid of the “old”. And Mr. RWS and I are doing our best around the house to make that happen. We’ve lived in this house for more than nine years and over time have done a lot of “out with the old” and “in with the new”.

We’ve replaced flooring, windows, light fixtures, faucets, window treatments, switch plates, towel racks, shower rods, landscaping, and appliances. Each room has been painted at least twice, and most recently we redecorated the two bathrooms, changing the outdated brass fixtures to more currently stylish brushed nickel.

Silly Mr. RWS thought we were done! I found it necessary to point out to him that the knobs and handles on the cabinets and closet doors throughout the house were shiny gold and needed to be replaced with the brushed nickel. Being male, Mr. RWS did not see the need to replace perfectly functional knobs and handles. And to be fair, I watch a lot more HGTV than he does.

Being a thoughtful and rather wise wife, I let the idea simmer for a week or two before bringing it up again. Since replacing all 47 cabinet handles and 12 closet door knobs at one time would make it a big project, I suggested we start small. We would replace the two handles and two knobs in the most recently repainted bathroom. I knew that once he saw the striking difference it made, he would go along with the plan for full replacement.

We have now replaced the remaining ten knobs on closet doors and have only the 35 kitchen cabinet handles and 12 master bath cabinet handles left to do.

While Mr. RWS thinks this is much ado about nothing, I have pointed out to him that I thoughtfully chose handles that fit exactly the “footprint” of the old ones, thus saving him the sanding and repainting of the cabinets. How smart am I, to make him feel grateful that the project isn’t any bigger than it is. And how wise am I that I did not buy the 47 cabinet handles as his December 26th birthday present.

4

I’ve blatantly CASED Therese’s design for this card. Her use of the images in the Transparent Let’s Chat set is so perfect I just had to see if I could make it happen. I loved how she used her dies and die cutting machine to shape the patterned papers. I changed up the colors a bit and used different dies for the layering. The two-step stamping was great fun; be sure to watch the video. Because I am challenged in the spatial relations department, this card took longer to make than it should have, but I loved working on it. Therese has shown me the potential within this stamp set.

5

What a great technique to use Copic markers and Prismacolor pencils when coloring an image. How easy it was to shade. I must admit, adding the black was scary, but since I didn’t add much, I stayed out of trouble. I loved the idea of adding texture to the background. I used an embossing folder instead of Therese’s method of using a die to create texture.

The reason? Somewhere in the clutter that has taken over my craft room my rubber embossing pads have disappeared! Perhaps I should worry less about handles and knobs on cabinets and closets and spend the time organizing their interior!!

6

Here are a couple of photos of Cooper taken while he was on his “doggie vaycay” during our trip to Wisconsin. His hosts take photos daily and thoughtfully send them by email each day. Cooper loves the time he spends there, especially playing with the resident dog, Deuce. But because he is a really smart dog, he acts delighted to see us when we return.

Thank you, Therese, for the week of education and inspiration. I hope everyone has watched Therese’s videos showing her making these cards. I was not only impressed with her techniques and designs, but also with the absolute pristine condition of her supplies and tools. My acrylic blocks are hiding their heads in shame after seeing Therese’s like-new ones. No smudges, blobs, or spatters; no misplaced stamps or scissors or tweezers. Therese is a real role model for crafters like me who create chaos in the craft room. I am certain she does not run with her scissors.

Well, after spending this time at the neatly organized Penny Black studio, I am inspired to return home and begin my own purging and sorting. I am hoping to find the missing rubber embossing pads and my lost watercolor set. I am not optimistic that the missing clear stamps will show up, but one can always hope.

Thanks for welcoming the New Year with me today. I’ve stowed the scissors, restored order to the craft table and will be on my way. It is time to take my vitamins and get started on my “out with the old” projects at home. Happy New Year, everyone.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

22 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2015 2:18 am

    My Saturday always begins with reading your feature for Penny Black. What a great way to begin the day. Your writings always put a big smile on my face. My fave today is the poppy card and I am so glad you have given us permission to “leave some white spots” on the flowers. I am loving this messy copic coloring style!!! My second fave is the krafty kat. I have several of these stamps and just love making whimsical cards with him. Happy New Year to you, Mr. RWS and,of course, Cooper!!

  2. January 3, 2015 2:33 am

    Always have to read your post rather than look just at pictures. Great blog post and lovely cards. Hope you find your clear stamps – maybe you will find mine too! Happy 2015.

  3. Dianne Crowe permalink
    January 3, 2015 3:19 am

    I have to admit at first, I didn’t like the look of the krafty kat stamps. BUT now I will have to watch for them, just love the cards I have seen with them. I have no craft room and use my dinning room table soooooo after putting things away in a hurry for the holidays, it takes some doing to find what I am looking for. As always thanks for the inspiration and thanks to Cooper for showing up in my in box every so often.

  4. Maria permalink
    January 3, 2015 3:29 am

    Happy New Year Judy and happy crafting ! So nice to see your cards this morning and reading of your little plans for new knobs and handles, fabulous ! I love to do things to our house at times like new kitchen cupboards, new flooring in some rooms, furnitures in the launch etc I could go on but need to win the lottery for anything to happen ,husband not very handy so always calling in people for touching up bits and bobs. I do tend to pick up a brush once in a while but prefer to use it more for card making then anything bigger. This year I like to learn about different ways of using colours, either in watercolours, my promarkers, pencils or I heard of Gelatos which sounds fun so maybe get some of them on my next craft shopping trip. Thats what I do,I keep buying “stuff”( what my family calls it) and I haven’t even got a crafting room! So this spring is a very big task for me to tidy up all the”stuff” thats laying and sitting around my side of the bed in our bedroom.We have a small(very small)spare room but thats belong to hubby as an office and ooooh if I’m asking to make it into my room instead he’s hearing goes very quickly.men 🙂 I will have a look through at your other works while having a cup of coffee to warm myself up, it’s raw and wet outside today maybe I could borrow Copper for a cuddle. He seem to have survived he’s little holiday fine. Omg, I was only going to tell you how much I love your work and here I go on like no tomorrow, I’m really sorry ! I looking forward to hear more about what’s happening in your household and Mr RWS…… Have a lovely day with your family and hugs to Cooper!

  5. knurse22 permalink
    January 3, 2015 4:45 am

    LOL…. Now I KNOW we are sisters separated at birth! Today’s post had me smiling, for so many reasons. And a laugh-out-loud at the cabinet handle story, because now I see that our hubbies are also related! My scrap room is a nightmare in progress that MUST be purged for an anticipated move in 2015. I dread the thought AND process. But I surely do love how you have recreated Therese’s beautiful works of (he)art…..now I have doulpble the inspiration. Ordered many of those dies yesterday! Happy New Year to you, too!

  6. Susan Roberts permalink
    January 3, 2015 6:04 am

    Wonderful take on Therese’ cards. I really liked how Therese used the flower stamp and now you have used it in a card too. And the color is great! I am really liking that stamp! Thank you for sharing.

  7. bdengler4 permalink
    January 3, 2015 6:55 am

    Wonderful post, Judy! Your cards are all fabulous – love the coloring! Happy New Year to you and Mr. RWS! ♥

  8. mjmarmo permalink
    January 3, 2015 8:02 am

    Gorgeous cards!

  9. January 3, 2015 9:34 am

    You did Therese proud. Each one of these cards is a winner. After you get done with your own craft room, please drop by my place and do mine. I have a guest room, kitchen and bathroom with knobs and pulls that match the fixtures. I’ll even cook for you, since I’m sure it will take more than a day or two. Bring Cooper, he can play with my Beau.

  10. jmhave44 permalink
    January 3, 2015 9:37 am

    Fab cards. Especially enjoyed the map background with the cute bike stamp. Loved reading your post and had a smile at the way Mr. RWS thinks (just like here!) and your genius in getting the project started in such a small but clever way. Lovely pictures of Cooper and I can just imagine how happy he was to have his parents back home once again. We all like to get back to our ‘own little space’ after vacation, and I expect he feels much the same. Good luck on your craft organization. Mine is hopeless I fear. Happy New Year. TFS

  11. barbara lassiter permalink
    January 3, 2015 9:43 am

    Loved seeing what you created with Therese’s ideas…her cards were fabulous and so were yours. Right now my crafty inspiration seems to be napping, so I need all the inspiration I can get. 🙂

  12. Julie permalink
    January 3, 2015 10:01 am

    Love your posts and the comments that follow. My resolution is to use what I have and quit hoarding stuff, esp. paper. I’m lucky to have a large craft room, but I’ve managed to fill it.
    I need an organization makeover.

  13. alexandra s.m. permalink
    January 3, 2015 12:09 pm

    Love your 1st post of the year Judy!
    This partial coloring with Copics looks very artsy to me and I really love it!
    I like your other cards as well, very cleverly interpreted!
    Thank You~

  14. January 3, 2015 4:35 pm

    This is such a fun read, Judy. I totally identify with the HGTV paragraph but alas my husband is a hold out for bringing in the new. You did a terrific job following Therese’s videos and making the cards your own. Have a Happy New Year running with scissors.

  15. Linda S. in NE permalink
    January 3, 2015 5:38 pm

    Wow, Judy. It looks like you really took Therese’s videos and posts to heart. You obviously enjoyed them as much as I did. I have a full set of PrismaColor pencils, but not a Copic, nor any brand of alcohol marker in the house. I am anxious to try her techniques…just as soon as I get my craft room organized!! Perhaps that goal will spur me on.
    It looks like Cooper got Duece squared right away as to who was top dog, even though he was just visiting. What breed of dog is Duece? He is very good looking, and looks like he can spend hours and hours running through the yard and house. I’m glad Cooper has such a fun place to stay. I laughed out loud at your comment about how smart Cooper is once you and Mr. RWS return. Take care.

  16. Jamie Vanskiver permalink
    January 3, 2015 10:53 pm

    Great post, enjoyed it thoroughly! I love your take on Therese’s cards! She’s amazing and always has great ideas. I especially liked that she embossed right over her colored image! Your cards look fabulous! Awesome coloring on all:) Happy New Year!

  17. January 3, 2015 10:59 pm

    Your post was a total delight for me to read Judy, with quite a few smiles included as well. Thank you for your lovely comments and your cards are honestly brilliant, that sweet ‘slow’ retro cat has really found a soft spot in my heart. Good luck with the organizing and handle update, lots of time left in 2015 to get it sorted, lol!

    • judka permalink
      January 4, 2015 6:18 am

      Therese, it was a joy for me to follow your week on the Penny Black blog! Love your work and your videos are the best. I even liked the music!! Best wishes for the new year! And hugs!

  18. Darlyne Wagner permalink
    January 4, 2015 12:47 am

    Well, RWS, happy new year and I know you’ll get those knobs and handles replaced before January is over. Cooper looks rested and ready for another year. And your cards are works of art, as usual. I especially love the poppies card. I suspect you thrive on the chaos in your art room, so I don’t hold out much hope for a makeover, any more than I have hope for mine.

  19. dawnnz permalink
    January 4, 2015 1:33 am

    totally awesome Judy. Wishing you and Mr RWS have an awesome year.

  20. January 5, 2015 10:03 am

    What great cards, Mrs RWS! I totally adore that first card & may have to try it even though I seriously doubt I can do it! I don’t really make NY Resolutions, but organizing my craft stuff is no longer an option–LOL! Cooper looks like he’s on a cruise! Poor Fritz–we left him with our vet for 12 hrs while we visited hubby’s daughter & they said he barked the whole time someone wasn’t giving him attention! Looking forward to your posts in 2015–Happy, happy New Year!

  21. January 7, 2015 8:30 am

    Thanks for sharing your inspiration of Therese’s cards! Yours as well, a joy to look at. I definitely love the krazy kat. God bless you in 2015!!

Leave a Reply

