Skip to content

Runs with SNOWY Scissors!

March 7, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello there! I’ve had quite a trek today through the Alabama snow to the Penny Black blog. Be careful not to slip on the puddles I’ve made with my wet boots. Ironically, today’s post is all about spring but unfortunately Mother Nature didn’t get the memo.

1

See what I mean? Record breaking snowfall for this part of Alabama and not a shovel to be had! Looks like I will have to make my own spring. I’ve used stamps, dies, stencils and stickers from the wonderfully named new release “Bring on the Happy”. So let’s bring it on!

2

I may have leapt from spring into summer with this card, but I couldn’t wait to use my new Penny Black butterfly dies Flights of Fancy and Swirling Wings.  This butterfly makes a statement! I diecut the top layer from the Gentle Whisper designer paper pad and backed it with a panel cut from the same pad. You can’t go wrong by using sister papers.  And the sentiment is right from the Sentiment stickers. No chance to ruin this card with inky smudges!

3

Brush stroke stamps bring on my happy. I simply inked the woodblock Poise stamp with various Memento Luxe inks and stamped onto watercolor paper to create this watercolor look. The background is a combination of papers from the Gentle Whisper and Painted Blooms paper pads. The brush stroke stamps are perfect for practicing your water color technique, too. Jill Foster has made several videos showing how it’s done.

4

I stamped, embossed, paper pieced and fussy cut this sweet image from the Woodland Friends transparent set. It was hard to choose which adorable critter to stamp first, but I decided the nesting birds said spring most of all.

While our snowy weather can’t compare to the misery suffered in other parts of the country, eight inches of snow here completely shuts down our city and interrupts our lives. Recently, we experienced four winter storms in a period of nine days. We have had a very cold February which has seriously altered our routines.

5

It has been weeks since Mr. RWS has been able to join his golfing buddies for their three times weekly rounds of golf and lunch afterwards. Not to worry, he just practices in the living room.   And as any golfer will tell you, it’s the short game that counts. We do have a rule, though; no golf shoes allowed and the vacuum cleaner is allowed to play through.

Our lawn is planted with a type of grass that dies off in the winter and the dried clippings then get tracked into the house by shoes and paws. Mr. RWS had every good intention of mowing the dead grass to cut down on the debris tracked in. He even had the lawn tractor ready to go but Mother Nature had other plans.

6

The best thing to do while your husband is chipping and putting in the living room is to retreat to your craft room and pray he doesn’t decide to practice his long game.

7

Gentle Whisper is a large stamp that makes a big impression. Again, I just inked it up with Memento Luxe inks and stamped on water color paper.  This new release of Penny Black stamps includes some of the most beautiful flower images ever. They are designed and made to look lifelike using a variety of techniques.

I’ve been paying rapt attention to Micheline’s fabulous watercolor masterpieces here on the blog and with the help of her tutorials will attempt some real water coloring of these gorgeous stamps. Who knows? Maybe I will be invited to sit next to her during her next visit to the Penny Black blog.

8

What fun I had using the Intertwined stencil to create this card. I used Distress inks and my blending tool to pounce the colors onto the watercolor paper. I used the Dotlets stencil to add the green dots, just for fun. Love that sentiment banner from the Come Rain or Shine transparent set. I plan to use that stamp frequently.

9

Mimi is a sure cure for the winter blahs.   The Happy Days transparent set includes this delightful spring image that makes my heart smile. Don’t you love how the new designer papers provide great backgrounds? This paper is from the Painted Blooms pad.

When real life interrupts our plans, it is good to remember that we can bring on our own happy. We are fortunate in this part of the country because the snow usually melts from the roads and sidewalks within a day. And that is a good thing because the Alabama Snowstorm Policy states “if Mother Nature dumped it, she is responsible for removing it”. This was a difficult concept for this native of Wisconsin to grasp. No salt trucks, no plows; just wooden barriers across the closed roads.

We have reached the weekend of the year when it is time to lose an hour of sleep and set our clocks forward one hour. I’m not sure how I feel about Daylight Savings Time. I believe it benefits in some ways and causes concern in others. Seems to me it is like cutting a piece off your blanket and sewing it to the other end in order to make your blanket longer.

My plan today was to share a photo of Cooper in the snow. However, he was really miserable when I tried to coax him into the cold and fluffy white stuff for a photo. One or two paws into it he realized snow was wet, as in water, as in having a bath, as in worse thing that can happen to a dog, ever. I didn’t have the heart to make him pose for photos.

So here is a photo of Cooper dealing with the snow as most smart dogs and humans might prefer; hibernation. He was REALLY making sure he wasn’t available for snow photography.

10

I just heard the door slam… I think that was February beating a hasty retreat. And it is about time. Hopefully Mother Nature will check her calendar and notice it is time to ease up on the winter stuff and gently coax spring out of hiding.

What fun I’ve had ignoring the snow outside the window and bringing spring inside. I hope you can take some time to do the same. I’ve holstered my scissors, cleaned up the horrific mess I always make while stamping, and finished mopping up the puddles. Thanks for visiting me here at the Penny Black blog. I love seeing what you post to the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery. Now go forth and Bring on the Happy!

 

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

 

 

 

 

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2015 12:43 am

    Oh I do love your blogposts, like your style of writing. Lots of humor.
    And you are also a creative lady and treating us on so many lovely cards.
    Thank you so much for sharing!,,

  2. KatieP permalink
    March 7, 2015 1:00 am

    Your cards are definitely full of spring. I like the Alabama Snow Policy. Here in the Pacific Northwest, I think that winter forgot us, but that is OK.

  3. March 7, 2015 4:29 am

    I LOVE reading your posts!!! SO FUN!!! AND BEAUTIFUL CARDS TOO? Quite a post!! THANKS for the SUNSHINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉

  4. March 7, 2015 5:34 am

    As a former Wisconsin-ite who moved NORTH, I share your befuddlement with Mo. Nature. You have been making the most of yr snow day, though! Love the simple floral cards.

  5. Dianne Crowe permalink
    March 7, 2015 6:09 am

    Love to see your cards. Sorry Mr. Runs with scissors is unable to go out and join his golf buddies.. We have been hit with a lot of snow here in Ontario this March too I feel spring is just around the corner so keep warm and I don’t blame Cooper for hibernating. .

  6. quilterlin permalink
    March 7, 2015 6:17 am

    You know it’s been a rough winter when Alabama gets that much snow! Love all your cards today, Judy, but that adorable birdhouse is my favorite! Love that you paper-pieced that tiny image; well done!!

  7. March 7, 2015 6:29 am

    We usually winter in Alabama. I guess we didn’t miss much by staying home in Michigan. I’m glad the weather “forced” you into the craft room because you have a lovely bunch of cards to show for it.

  8. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    March 7, 2015 6:47 am

    Vaccum plays thru! You slay me mom!

  9. bdengler4 permalink
    March 7, 2015 7:01 am

    Love all these beautiful, delightful cards, Judy! So awful that you’ve received more snow than we have in Minnesota! Reading this post makes me even more excited to see you soon! You, my friend, make me laugh! I even read the whole thing to my hubby. 🙂

  10. March 7, 2015 7:19 am

    Love your work Judy. And here on Québec, it is very very cold… never seen it since 1890…
    but I love winter… I LOVE to see falling snow when I am on my hobby room doing my cards… sorry for my English… And I invite you to stand by me for my next tutorial… next week… hahaha… love your comments! Hugs!

    • judka permalink
      March 7, 2015 8:49 am

      Micheline, your English is amazing! I studies Latin in school and haven’t found anyone yet that speaks it. Perhaps one day we can spend a Saturday together here on the blog; I can show you all the ways I’ve learned to hide a mistake and you can show me your magic! Big hugs!!

  11. March 7, 2015 7:30 am

    Awesome Awesome cards Judy… I love your Saturday Posts! Stay warm… Or you could come visit me where it is 85 degrees 🙂

  12. Kay Miller permalink
    March 7, 2015 7:39 am

    Wow! I didn’t know Alabama got snow like that! Even though I’m ready for spring, it sure is pretty! And your cards are amazing! The butterfly die is just stunning! I am such a fan of the all the cute PB images, I just adore all of the others you’ve colored so beautifully! We’re covered in snow here too, but it’s supposed to reach 60 today! 🙂

  13. barbara lassiter permalink
    March 7, 2015 7:54 am

    We have about 10 inches of snow on the ground from the same system that came through Alabama and then on up our way. It is a beautiful, light, fluffy snow…that said, I’m ready for Spring. I love all the cards you created while “snowed in” and the one using Gentle Whisper is my favorite.

  14. March 7, 2015 8:03 am

    Love all your beautiful cards and really enjoyed your essay on the snow and spring and golfing in the house. Not to mention your very intelligent pup! Glad you were able to be so creative!

  15. jmhave44 permalink
    March 7, 2015 8:11 am

    Enjoyed this fun post with all the lovely cards. South Carolina feels much the same about the Snow as does Alabama. Fortunately the white stuff melts fairly quickly. Cooper has the right idea I think. Best to just take a nap when the weather is miserable. Each card was so pretty and I’m really enjoying all these wonderful dies & pretty papers that PB has come out with in this latest release. You’ve shown the products so beautifully. Happy Spring! TFS

  16. R. Stephens permalink
    March 7, 2015 8:14 am

    Truly enjoy your blog and your cards. I like to start the day with humor and this blog certainly did the trick. Very funny. Looks like Mother Nature decided to go south for the winter also.

  17. knurse22 permalink
    March 7, 2015 8:29 am

    LOL….your posts always start my day out with a smile…..and laughing out loud! Love your sense of humor, which certainly must be needed down there with a snowfall like this one! We northerners just take it as one more trick from God!! Beautiful cards today, too, Judy….you are amazingly talented. Thanks for sharing your work with us here!

  18. March 7, 2015 9:26 am

    Yet another episode of my favorite Saturday day morning pastime. Reading this brings on tons of thoughts and, I might say, a good deal of inspiration. Always a joy to see what you’ve done in the craft room. Happy, bright, sunshine-y (is that a word, well it is now) cards. Hope the weather eases up for golf and Cooper’s outside activities. Have as good a day, week, month, as you’ve made for me with this post.

  19. Darlene Renshaw permalink
    March 7, 2015 9:52 am

    I really enjoying your blog:)

  20. donna mikasa permalink
    March 7, 2015 12:04 pm

    It may be snowing in Huntsville, but your post left me all warm and fuzzy inside! Love your cards, especially the “cute” ones! Take care, Judy, and keep Cooper warm! Hugs!

  21. Linda S. in NE permalink
    March 7, 2015 1:27 pm

    Beautiful cards today, Judy. I was interested in your use of the Memento Luxe inks. Around Christmas time, I was seeing lots of use of their silver and gold inks, but I was not aware that they were available in so many delicious colors. That Cooper is no dummy! If you placed him in the snow for a photo op, all we would see would be three little black dots! Why go out in the cold and wet for that??

  22. March 7, 2015 4:48 pm

    You do write absolutely the best posts, Judy–pure delight to read! Love the pictures as I’ve been having trouble imaging that much snow in Alabama! Cooper does have the right idea–LOL! Fabulous new release–each new one is better than the last!–& you’ve used them to perfection here! Love every project–especially the one with Gentle Whisper!

  23. March 7, 2015 7:14 pm

    Oh Judy, how much I enjoyed today’s post! Loved seeing the photo of your snow and adorable Cooper getting ready for a nap – he knows the real purpose of snow days! Love all of your cards – once again, they include elegant, cute, and dreamy! What a great idea to cut the butterfly from patterned paper, and a pretty satin bow always calls my name! Hope your weather breaks soon so Mr. RWS can resume his golf game – outside! It was 64 here today and is supposed to be in the 60’s/70’s all of next week! Hugs!

  24. alexandra s.m. permalink
    March 7, 2015 7:57 pm

    Judy, Thank You for this wonderful rich post!
    I love these new cards you’ve created and it is always a pleasure reading about your life.
    Thanks for all your time and for sharing your talent!

  25. dawnnz permalink
    March 8, 2015 1:11 am

    Your posts always make me Happy! I am glad that I live somewhere were we don’t get snow or at least none in my city. I do love going down to the centre of the North Island to ski but happy to be more temperate here. All your spring cards look so cheerful. Thanks for making me simile with your posts.

  26. Maria permalink
    March 8, 2015 3:15 pm

    Hi,oh I do love reading you posts lol Didn’t know you get so much snow were you live. Cooper bless him is doing the right thing and hiding away until better weather.
    Your cards are all wonderful, the papers you have used and all the new stamps and masks
    are all lovely and you making so many great things out of it all. I only wish I could find
    someone here in the UK who is selling PB’s products……
    Happy Crafting Judy and hope your OH don’t go smashing any windows lol
    Maria

Leave a Reply

