Skip to content

Runs with Springtime Scissors

March 28, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Whoa! Be careful where you step. It seems like yesterday I was worried about slipping on melting snow and today the floors are littered with petals from the blooming Bradford pear trees. Lady Spring has indeed arrived.

And look what I found! Here’s Mimi’s Masterpiece created for her tutorial last week. She does amazing art with Penny Black stamps. I’m sure she meant to take this with her but until she does, I will enjoy it.

How perfect that Penny Black has surprised us with the Time to Celebrate mini release just in time to celebrate the many spring holidays; Mother’s Day, Father’s Day and graduations. And many of the stamps and dies will work for birthday, get well and thinking of you cards, also. It may be a mini release but it has maximum potential!

1

I stamped and embossed the Centerpiece slapstick stamp and relaxed while coloring the flowers with my Copic markers. When I began, I envisioned a bouquet of dark flowers with a deep colored background and look what happened: pastels on a white base. Sometimes the muses just take over. I paper pieced the vase with designer paper from the Gentle Whispers paper pad.   I am going to experiment stamping these flowers with various embossing powders; gold, silver, platinum, and even white on kraft paper.

Mother’s Day happens at such a lovely time of the year. Spring is a time of abundance and optimism.

Those words clearly define my Mother’s Day attitude. I make the trip to the mailbox each year with great optimism … surely I will find an abundance of cards from my abundance of children! Especially since a few years ago when there was not 100% participation in the card-sending activity and I had to explain that numbers do matter. The following Mother’s Day there was an over abundance of cards, with some of the offspring sending as many as ten cards each. That was a very good year.

2

Not all fathers wear a suit and tie to work and I am glad Penny Black thought of the hard working dads who farm for a living. When my kids were growing up, we lived in a small town surrounded by large family farms. There was no shortage of the bright green John Deere tractors with their distinctive yellow trim. Of course, the farmer’s cap had to match! If the farmer Dad had his fields planted by Father’s Day he could take time to celebrate; if not, dinner would be taken to him in the fields to be eaten “on the go”.

While I respect and admire farmers and the work they do, I have always been grateful for my urban way of life.   I have great admiration for a friend of mine whose husband was a school teacher when they were first married and later followed his dream of owning a pig farm. She pitched right in as all farmers’ wives must: monitoring the births, caring for the piglets, cleaning the barns, and assisting in taking the pigs to market. It certainly made me grateful that my husband’s dream didn’t involve live animals and strong odors! A home on wheels wasn’t so bad after all.

3

Ahhhh, graduations: a huge milestone in anyone’s family. This mini set For the Grad celebrates the graduate’s freedom from tests, tuition, and textbooks. And with that, the freedom to become employed, pay rent, and contribute to society.

Seriously, I have attended many graduation ceremonies in our family. One thing I know for sure, the best commencement speeches are the shortest ones! I have a vivid memory of enduring a thirty minute speech at my youngest son’s law school graduation. The speaker documented in painful detail her thirty years of accomplishments year by year. And when the audience began applauding as a signal she had spoken long enough, she took it as encouragement to speak even longer! We all believed that commencement needed to commence.

4

Sometimes there are special women who have played a supporting role in our lives. Mother’s Day is the perfect occasion to honor those women and say “thank you”. No stamping necessary to make this card; new butterfly dies Flicker and Flutter and a great “hand written” sentiment from the Many Thanks set are all I needed along with designer papers from the Gentle Whispers paper pad.

5

Well, there is one child in every family that is Not Easy. I was never in serious trouble, but I was aggravating. My sister was the neat and tidy one; my half of the room we shared was a disaster. I never learned to just keep my mouth quiet; I always felt the need to talk back explain. If something was lost in our house, you could be sure I had something to do with it. My chaotic way of life did not fit in with the organized military style preferred by my parents. I’m sure a deep quiet descended upon their home when I left for college. I liked to believe they found it boring.

6

Like the rest of us, Cooper loves spring. He and Mr. RWS take long walks to check on the neighborhood floral and fauna. Sometimes they drive to scenic hiking trails in town in search of new places to sniff (Cooper) and explore (Mr. RWS). And sometimes Mrs. RWS is invited, if she promises not to whine.

It’s time to finish up, before I hear applause and misunderstand its intention. I’ve stowed the scissors, tidied my messes and put Mimi’s lovely masterpiece on her desk where she is sure to find it. I’ve also reserved my seat in the front row for her next class.

Thank you for stopping by. I look forward to seeing your Time to Celebrate cards in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery. And your comments brighten my day.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

24 Comments leave one →
  1. donna mikasa permalink
    March 28, 2015 1:26 am

    Hi Judy! So happy that you’ve picked up your scissors again! Love all your cards–that black sheep one is hilarious! Take good care!

  2. March 28, 2015 2:10 am

    Hi Judy

    Thanks for your email this week it made me smile (I think your children are related to mine)! It is a great way to start Saturday.

    I love your Time to Celebrate card and I am so inspired I am off to purchase the required supplies next!

    Keep crafting and writing you are an inspiration!

    Best wishes

  3. Holly Saveur permalink
    March 28, 2015 3:54 am

    Love your cards..and the stories behind it!

  4. kanda permalink
    March 28, 2015 4:10 am

    Fabulous cards, especially love those pretty flowers xx

  5. March 28, 2015 5:19 am

    All of these cards are awesome, but that bouquet of flowers is breathtaking!

  6. Dianne Crowe permalink
    March 28, 2015 5:37 am

    Lovely cards and thanks for the update on Cooper. Glad he has an appreciation of Spring. Thanks for sharing your beautiful work and stories.

  7. Sandy Carroll permalink
    March 28, 2015 5:48 am

    Beautiful cards. I especially love the flowers in the vase and the farmer. You don’t see a lot of cards for those that farm, and I have several relatives that stamp would work for!

  8. March 28, 2015 6:02 am

    Judy… c’est à mon tour d’être SPEECHLESS… wow… beautiful!!!

  9. March 28, 2015 6:33 am

    Beautiful selection of cards! xxx

  10. SueYounker permalink
    March 28, 2015 6:43 am

    Your cards are fantastic! And Cooper, what can I say…..bichons are the best!

  11. Marliese permalink
    March 28, 2015 7:01 am

    Applause! Applause! Keep creating. Always look forward to PB’s Friday posts. Your cards are awesome and so is the commentary (never too long) that accompany them. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Kay Miller permalink
    March 28, 2015 7:06 am

    All of your cards are so lovely! The first one with the bouquet of flower is quite stunning! I live around farmers too, but thankfully don’t have livestock to tend to myself! haha!

  13. mjmarmo permalink
    March 28, 2015 7:33 am

    I love the flower bouquet! I can’t get enough of your flower cards! I am hoping to get a walk into day with Dh (exploring) and our dog (sniffing) too!

  14. Gayle Lindsay permalink
    March 28, 2015 8:00 am

    I love receiving your blog spot every week and I especially like knowing about all of Cooper’s antics. We had a Bichon named Rocky and we had to put him down last summer and my husband and I miss terribly, but seeing Cooper every week helps with our healing. Thank you :0)

  15. Donna Whitten permalink
    March 28, 2015 8:44 am

    Loved your cards, and enjoyed your post! Thanks for sharing.

  16. March 28, 2015 8:48 am

    LOL!!!!! I LOOOOOVE reading your posts!!!! 😉 Your cards are EQUALLY AS NICE!!!! (I HAD TO read your post to my husband too!) You NEED to write a book!!!! 😉

  17. Sheri K permalink
    March 28, 2015 10:20 am

    Love the beautiful flower bouquet, gorgeous! And “hats off” to hard working Farm folk!

  18. Linda S. in NE permalink
    March 28, 2015 11:06 am

    I am so happy to finally see someone color that tractor scene in the colors of John Deere. I know a little boy who is crazy about JD tractors. I grew up around farming country, and have seen plenty of JD’s in the fields. When it comes to coloring one, I wouldn’t know what should be yellow and what should be bright green. You better know that little three year old boy would know, though, and he would be sure to tell me if I got it wrong!! Hugs to Mr. Cutie Pie, Cooper.

  19. dawnnz permalink
    March 28, 2015 1:15 pm

    Glad you are feeling better and just love all your cards today Judy. Each is amazing. Growing up on a farm the tractor card is very reminiscent of my Dad. Must admit I’m a city girl now and loving it…Cooper looks so happy to be sniffing the spring flowers. Enjoy the nicer weather.

  20. debbieg2014 permalink
    March 28, 2015 10:20 pm

    I don’t which of these cards I like the best, a ‘dilemma’ I always face when looking at your blog posts. If I had to choose just one, it would have to be the butterfly and bouquet of flowers . . . see, I couldn’t choose just one! okay, my total favorite is the pic of Cooper! thanks so much for sharing.

  21. alexandra s.m. permalink
    March 29, 2015 1:51 am

    I love your cards Judy.
    They’re always so clever, sophisticated and gorgeous!
    many Thanks~

  22. March 29, 2015 4:48 am

    What beautiful cards you created this week. The Bouquet of flowers card would make any mom happy! Your column is always so witty and I love seeing Cooper. Crossing my fingers that your children read this blog post and remember to once again send cards for mothers day. Hugs, Penny 🙂

  23. Mary Holshouser permalink
    March 29, 2015 7:53 am

    the vase of flowers is so pretty. Love the soft colors.
    thanks for sharing.

  24. March 29, 2015 6:56 pm

    Wowzer, Judy–your creativity was really overflowing today! I love all your wonderful cards! Fritz is to the point of smelling the flowers instead of wanting to eat all of them, which makes it easier to go for walks past the neighbors yards–LOL!

Leave a Reply

