Skip to content

Runs with Scissors…and Cheetos!

May 9, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Welcome to this beautiful day in May on the Penny Black blog. I’ve opened all the windows in the studio to let in the sunshine and fresh air. This is the perfect week to showcase some of the many incredible floral images included in the last two Penny Black releases: Bring on the Happy and Time to Celebrate. Those April showers have, indeed, brought us May flowers.

Here in the United States, tomorrow is the day we celebrate Mother’s Day. All of the cards I am sharing today could be a Mother’s Day card just by changing the sentiment.  I often leave the sentiment off my completed cards and just add one as the need arises.

1a

If I were forced to pick only one favorite from the latest releases, this Slapstick/Cling Centerpiece stamp would be it. The flowers are a delight to color using any medium, including paper piecing. Here I’ve colored with pastel Copic markers; on another day I might use bolder colors. I was just having a pastel kind of a day! I love the detail that the little Flower Tags die adds. That silver striped paper is from the Beau Jardin designer paper pad.

2

I’ve used the Interlocking creative die to emboss the background for this card and added a die cut Deco Frame to support the flowers from Efflorescence. I’ve stamped, colored and fussy cut the “MOM” using the transparent set A to Z.

 

My wish for all mothers, mothers-to-be, step mothers, grandmothers, foster mothers and those who fill a mother’s role in someone’s life is that you have a very special day. I hope just for today you can spend time doing what you enjoy instead of taking care of everyone else. And if things are going really well, I hope someone else does the cooking. Later today I will be doing my annual race to the mailbox, wheelbarrow in tow, to collect all the Mother’s Day cards I find there.

3

This slapstick stamp really is as Divine as its name. I’ve colored it with Distress markers and then spritzed with water to further blend the colors. I’ve mounted it on vellum layered over silver paper, finally mounted everything on black card stock. I’ve cut three layers of “celebrate” from the Doodles die set and stacked them for dimension.

Here’s a photo that shows the sparkle thanks to spraying with Glimmer Mist gold.

4

I want to introduce you to my new best friends, Cheetos Crunchy and Cheetos Puffs:

5

Cheetos came into my life recently after my having been cursed diagnosed with shingles. It was a pretty dramatic diagnosis which took place in the hospital Emergency Room shortly after my 911 call for an ambulance ride to the hospital.   Imagine how foolish I felt to learn I had called 911 for a shingles outbreak. I could not believe those tiny little spots were the cause of my great big pain.

During the long days of healing, food did not appeal to me but I developed a craving for Cheetos. Notice I have the Party Size; very appropriate for my “pity party” days. When Mr. RWS was sent to the store for Cheetos, he didn’t even ask which kind I would prefer, crunchy or puffs. He wisely brought both kinds. Mr. RWS is a very smart man. Do not annoy a woman with shingles!

6

A card in the mail can be a real boost when someone is not feeling well or going through a difficult time. The transparent set Pretty Petals has some sweet floral images that are just perfect for a quick card. Keep the colors bright and add the perfect sentiment. I have water colored the flowers with my Peerless watercolors. I am fascinated with these sheets of paper that hold so much color. The designer paper for this card is from the Gentle Whisper paper pad.

7

The Pretty Petals set also includes this cluster of poppies. Once again I water colored them using various shades of my Peerless watercolors. I’ve mounted the image onto layered design paper from the Painted Blooms paper pad.

I finally tackled the chore of rethreading my sewing machine so I could add the stitched detail. Threading the sewing machine is right up there with ironing and cleaning the oven as tasks to be avoided or, at least, postponed.

8

I have seen so many beautiful cards made with this Pop Pop Poppy slapstick stamp. I especially love the water colored versions. Here I’ve used various shades of the Peerless watercolors, including a bright pink. I love the combination of the pinks, reds and oranges. My original plan was to do a watercolor wash for the background, but decided to quit while I was ahead. Instead, I added some black dots for interest. That curved Best Wishes sentiment from the Come Rain or Come Shine transparent set fits perfectly in the corner of this card.

Oh, my! I’ve lost track of time again. I have had a very creative day making cards with Penny Black’s gorgeous floral stamps. I have Celebrated and I really did Bring on the Happy using Copics, Distress markers and watercolors.

I’ve mopped up my watercolor splashes; swept up the tiny paper cuttings; and put away the stamps and dies. My scissors are holstered and I’ve washed off the golden Cheetos dust from all surfaces. But before I leave, here’s a photo of Cooper enjoying some May flowers.

9

I have to admit I was shamed into buying this gorgeous pot of petunias. I have a friend who spends hours each day working on her lovely yard and flowers. She has pots of annuals arranged with gorgeous color assortments as well as perennials situated just perfectly in her yard. Well, maybe not perfectly. It seems she is always moving them around! She has shade beds and sun beds and when a shade bed becomes sunny due to the loss of a tree, then the shade plants must be moved, as in a wheelbarrow full. When I shared with her that I no longer plant annuals because I don’t care to nurture them, she was quite taken aback. When I admitted that I almost purchased a pot of petunias but changed my mind, she challenged me with, “Well, surely, you can manage to take care of one pot of flowers!”

So, dear friend, these buds are for you!

I’ve enjoyed our visit and can’t wait to see your flower-themed cards in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery. And I promise not to smudge any of them with my golden Cheetos fingers.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

30 Comments leave one →
  1. dawnnz permalink
    May 9, 2015 2:19 am

    Superb cards Judy. I love the summery florals today… You really have outdone yourself. Happy Mother’s Day for Sunday

  2. stampersuzz permalink
    May 9, 2015 3:01 am

    Happy Mother’s Day Judy! Enjoyed all of your beautiful art today! Tell your friend you create gardens galore on paper! (Share one of these beauties and she will understand!)

  3. May 9, 2015 4:32 am

    Happy Mother’s Day, Judy! I’m hoping your shingles heal quickly, as that is a torture! You have made some absolutely beautiful cards here and any Mother would love one {or all!} of them. Enjoy your Petunias and a pampered day.
    Hugs,
    Sunshine Sharon

  4. ThePurplePlace permalink
    May 9, 2015 5:04 am

    Fabulous POST and projects …as always Judy! Happy Mom’s Day! Love Cooper and the pink flowers!!!

  5. May 9, 2015 6:54 am

    You’ve created beautiful cards Judy! Cheetos bring out your creative juices I guess! Thanks for sharing and hope you heal quickly. I’ve had Chicken pox twice in my life; once as a child and once as an adult…I know, I didn’t know that could happen either. I keep thinking one of these days I’ll get Shingles too but so far I have been lucky! Isn’t growing older wonderful!

  6. mjmarmo permalink
    May 9, 2015 7:23 am

    Gorgeous cards! Good luck with the petunias. I don’t bother with annuals either.

  7. May 9, 2015 7:47 am

    What a beautiful array of flower cards for all the mothers out there. I hope your wish comes true and you get a wheelbarrow full of cards from your own kiddos. I have that Pop Pop Poppy stamp and I have yet to finish a card worth photographing …yours is gorgeous!!! Give Cooper a hug and take one for yourself Mrs. RWS… aka Mrs. Orange fingers. hugs, 🙂

  8. barbara lassiter permalink
    May 9, 2015 8:17 am

    Love all your beautiful cards. Hope the shingles heal quickly. Happy Mother’s Day!

  9. Julie permalink
    May 9, 2015 8:17 am

    Beautiful cards–hope your mailbox is overflowing with good wishes.
    After watching several friends suffer through shingles, I got the vaccine, as did my elderly parents and in-laws. I encourage everyone I know to get it when they turn 55.

  10. May 9, 2015 8:47 am

    Couldn’t wait to get my coffee & sit down to read your post, Judy, & what a lovely way to start my day! Your cards are stunning–love every single one! I am so sorry to hear you had a shingles attack & wish you no long lasting effects. Hubby recovered completely & has now had the vaccine. Your friend’s comment did make me laugh & I bet you’re glad you ended up with that gorgeous pot of petunias! Roses are blooming & I brought one into the house–a glorious Chicago Peace–to put next to mom’s picture on the mantle. Have a wonderful Mother’s Day & weekend!

  11. Sheri K permalink
    May 9, 2015 9:18 am

    Lovely petunias! Love your cute pup! Sorry to hear about the shingles, yes, quite painful and ’tis better to have a ride in an ambulance and figure out you aren’t having a heart attack or stroke then to suffer at home–and not survive to share your awesome card making skills! Enjoy the cheetos–I have issues, no gluten for me, ever! Have an awesome Mom’s day, you inspire me with your gorgeous cards.

  12. May 9, 2015 9:59 am

    Beautiful cards, especially the poppies, just love them. I had shingles a couple of years ago on the inside of my thigh from the knee up, it wasn’t pleasant at all. I have felt your pain. hope they are better now. sometimes the tingling lasts a while.

  13. May 9, 2015 10:00 am

    Lovely cards! So sorry you suffered with shingles, been there done that! Your Cheetos addiction made me laugh! I have been addicted for 50 years! FYI they sere invented just a little before my time in 1948!

  14. Kay Miller permalink
    May 9, 2015 11:07 am

    Oh wow!! Each one of these cards is a masterpiece!! Such beautiful work! I am so sorry you had shingles. I have known several people who have had it and I know it’s a painful thing. Glad you had your Cheetos to help get you through 🙂

  15. May 9, 2015 11:09 am

    I’m with you about oven cleaning and ironing…but, I do keep the sewing machine threaded. Plain white thread so it goes with everything, So enjoyed looking at All your May flowers including the one’s Cooper’s nose is in. The cards you made with them are stunning. At least he likes flowers. My furbaby could care less, unless he wants to roll in freshly turned dirt, usually right after his bath.

  16. nancyljk permalink
    May 9, 2015 11:17 am

    Happy Mother’s Day, Judy! Have a lovely day! Thanks for keeping me inspired with your gorgeous cards! Sending you smiles.

  17. donna mikasa permalink
    May 9, 2015 1:13 pm

    A very Happy Mother’s Day to you, Judy! Put down those scissors and lick those Cheetos crumbs off or your fingers and enjoy your day! LOVE all of your floral creations–just perfect for Mother’s Day or any occasion! Hugs to you!

  18. alexandra s.m. permalink
    May 9, 2015 2:07 pm

    so sorry you were ill Judy!
    Your cards are beautiful and I hope you have a very sweet Mother’s day!!

  19. Diane permalink
    May 9, 2015 4:55 pm

    Sorry to hear about your shingles. Hope things are better soon. Enjoy your posts and your doggie pics.

  20. May 9, 2015 5:58 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day to you, Judy! Gorgeous bouquet of cards today and love that Mr. RWS bought both kinds of Cheetos; he is certainly a nurturing husband and knows what you need. So glad you’re feeling better. Love seeing Copper enjoy your pretty pink petunias; so happy you treated yourself! You might let your friend know how much easier it is to move inky flowers around on a card than those in a wheelbarrow; maybe she needs a new hobby!

  21. May 9, 2015 8:27 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day to you. All of your cards are simply beautiful! Hope you are over the worst of your shingles. Keep running with those scissors! You do an amazing job!

  22. Linda permalink
    May 9, 2015 8:45 pm

    Love the cards, flowers and the dog. I would like to know what the cute little dots are that you put on these cards!

    • judka permalink
      May 11, 2015 7:24 am

      Linda, I love that you stopped by and left a comment. Those dots are made with “Irresistible Pico Embellisher” by Imagine Crafts. They are addictive!

  23. Kathleen B. permalink
    May 11, 2015 6:57 am

    I love the Penny Black stamps, especially the flowers. Thanks so much for a chance to win.

  24. Debbie Peysen permalink
    May 11, 2015 7:03 am

    So sorry to hear about you having shingles. I hope you are better now. Your cards are so wonderful. I have three stamps right now that are must haves. Thanks

  25. Jan Koennecke permalink
    May 11, 2015 7:05 am

    This is my first time in your blog and I’ve really enjoyed reading all the comments and seeing the great cards. I had never heard of Peerless watercolors until a couple weeks ago at my local ‘stamp’ store. I am an artist also which seems a bit unusual to just now learn of them. I used them en plein aire last week and love them. Now I know I can use them on my cards also. … For your shingles… drink chamomile tea. It helps relax the nerve endings. My folks had shingles twice each. Not fun.

  26. BeverlyBL permalink
    May 11, 2015 7:49 am

    When you’re hot, you’re HOT!! And able to think with shingles. Great cards. I do not even need an excuse to eat Cheetos and I can eat either kind a Party Bag at a time. Yum. Hope you are feeling better soon. Those shingles are a booger bear.

  27. Lillian Child permalink
    May 11, 2015 12:09 pm

    I really need to get a shingles shot … so very sorry you are afflicted with this PAINFUL ailment!! But these cards are SO very lovely! I think the Divine Celebrate one is my absolutely favorite!

  28. Cindy Wilson permalink
    May 11, 2015 2:07 pm

    Shingles are the hot topic at the moment. Great cards so I hope they took your mind of the shingles

  29. clebel77 permalink
    May 11, 2015 3:46 pm

    I love all the beautiful cards. I love poppy’s and your cards are just fabulous. I have the poppy stamps and I should get going with some more cards. I am a flower lover and they can be real in pots or on cards. Love your dog too. I had shingles and it was the worst pain I have ever had. So I sympathize with you. I got the shot after I healed. Great idea of using the Peerless watercolors. You are so creative and I have lots of ideas that you have given me. Thanks and Here’s to a wonderful summer. Love Spring and Summer flowers!

Leave a Reply

