Skip to content

Runs with Scissors, Sunshine, and Smiles

May 30, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

It’s official: Memorial Day has come and gone and now it’s summer. At our house, it is also “cooking on the grill” season. This has not always been a good thing. Mr. RWS, who is usually very precise and methodical in all areas, has had a very different approach to grilling. He seems to have an attitude of indifference while the food is cooking. Sometimes he uses his level of hunger as the indicator when the meat is done. If he isn’t too hungry, the food tends to be overdone; if he is ravenous, you can be sure the meat will be undercooked.

Well, this past Memorial Day weekend the brats, steaks and burgers were all cooked to perfection! It was so noticeable and so amazing that I had to ask him what made the difference. His answer was priceless: “I realized I needed to pay attention,” he said.   After more than thirty years of marriage, he got it! Better late than never, I say.

Here on the Penny Black blog summer has been celebrated all week long with the new stamps and dies from the Sunshine and Smiles release.  How fun to come to the Penny Black studio and see the new collection. Lucky me to be able to play with them. After seeing Jill Foster’s and Heather Telford’s work with this new release, I am eager to see what I can do.

1a

Penny Black’s collage stamps are some of my favorites. The design work is done and all that’s left is coloring and adding details. The Collage of Wishes Slapstick/Cling set even includes a variety of sentiments and a place on the card where they fit perfectly. This set will work for some of the most popular greeting card occasions. I’ve colored the images with Copics. The lattice detail on the bottom of the card was created with two rows of the Diamond Border Creative Die. Summer sunshine, indeed!

2

The big and bold A Wish sentiment is a great background for a birthday shaker card. I just colored the lettering with a bright pink Copic marker, added some party-colored sequins and topped the card with happy striped designer paper from the Beau Jardin collection. I call shaker cards “a party in a card” because they are just so darned fun.

3

Penny Black’s flowers may be the sunshine of summer, but if you want smiles, here’s Mimi. Why she chose to sit in a tea cup is beyond me, but if I can run with scissors she can sit in a teacup. I’ve layered Penny Black designer paper from the Beau Jardin paper pad and colored the image with Copics. I’ve added Glossy Accents and a 3D headband. I love the little Flower Tags to add sentiments that can be tucked in.

Recently David Letterman retired from his Tonight Show hosting job. The older I’ve become the less I’ve watched late night TV. But David Letterman was an icon, as was Johnny Carson before him. Sometimes I would watch his show just long enough to see the Top Ten segment. Well, inspired by Dave, here’s my Top Ten list of reasons why I love my stamping hobby:

 

  1. I’m allowed to run with scissors.
  2. I can spend as much on my hobby as Mr. RWS spends on golf.
  3. All the scraps and bits on the craft room floor make it worthwhile to vacuum.
  4. I am boosting the economy by making craft-related purchases.
  5. No need for therapy, stamping relieves my stress.
  6. I whiz through housework so I can spend hours playing.
  7. I’ve become really good at crock pot cooking.
  8. It makes shopping for me easy: anything ink, paper, stamps will do.
  9. “A happy wife is a happy life.”

 

And here it is: the number one reason why I love stamping …

 

  1. I save a lot of money by making my own greeting cards instead of buying them.

 And there you have it!

4

I love playing with new stamps and dies, but with each new release the number of “older” stamps relegated to lonesomeness and disuse increases. Starting now, I will make a card or two with stamps from previous releases just to let them know they are still loved. These delicate blossoms from the Flower Festival transparent set seemed perfectly suited for a sympathy card. And I’ve added a butterfly from the Flicker and Flutter die set. As a symbol of hope, butterflies are always a fitting addition to a sympathy card.

5

This sweet image may be more spring-themed than summer, but she is definitely a smile inducer. As you can see, I’ve been enjoying combining the designer papers from Penny Black’s Beau Jardin 6×6 pad. They mix and match perfectly. This little missy is colored in Copics and there are Glossy Accent details on her watering can, boots and the tulip.

6

I thought I was finished making cards for today, but this wonderful Gothic Gate die from the new release was on the desk and I couldn’t resist. I trimmed designer paper from the Painted Blooms paper pad to fit behind the die cut. The gate is closed here, but could be glued so that it opens. There is so much potential for stamping or decorating behind that gate. I’ve added dry and heat embossing and some butterflies from the Tagged die set. The opening gate reminds me of the Secret Garden story, where the world is very plain until you open the gate to the garden and the world is in full glorious color.

7

Cooper has grown to love the blanket he received from a friend at Christmas. It’s just the right size for him to carry in his mouth to anyone who may be convinced to play with him. He loves to growl fiercely and issue a challenge for a game of tug of war. But when he is done, he is done. He determines when the game is over. Here he is resting, his blanket left where it ended up. Gotta love that dog!

Well, it’s time to clean up my mess. Another Penny Black designer will be here all next week, using her unique style to bring you inspiration and design ideas using the Sunshine and Smiles new release. It would be rude of me to leave things in a mess.

The scissors are safely stowed. The tiny vacuum has sucked up the tiny scraps. I have washed the inky stamps and filed away the dies. It’s almost like I wasn’t here at all. I don’t think anyone spotted me running down the halls; sometimes I just can’t help myself.

Until next time, thank you for sharing time with me. I can’t wait to see the cards you post to the Penny Black Circle Flickr Gallery. And here’s to Sunshine and Smiles for everyone!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabriella permalink
    May 30, 2015 4:08 am

    Thank you so much for using older stamps! Yippee! I understand that companies want to promote and get their new product onto the market and have people buy it. But when companies rarely show older product it makes me feel cautious to buy new stuff. When a company shows older product it makes me feel like it was a good value to purchase it and not just a whim. Thanks so much also for the list of top ten reasons to craft and stamp. Love some funny with my coffee as well as inspiring

  2. May 30, 2015 4:20 am

    Ahhhhhh Judy- I always thought I would save money on cards by making them, until I realized how much money I have spent on making just one card. Because our obsession just snowballls from the first time we buy a stamp, ink it up and and make a card. Not that I am complaining one bit. I would be a raving lunatic if I did not have my creative time in my studio and you are right, it makes shopping for me a lot easier. Who wants jewelry, when you can have a complete set of ombre inks, or the newest release from PB! Thanks for your Saturday posts- I love them!

  3. Micheline Jourdain permalink
    May 30, 2015 4:38 am

    Gorgeous Judy! J’aime particiulièrement la première… magnifique!!!

  4. ThePurplePlace permalink
    May 30, 2015 5:16 am

    Woweeeeeeee ! Super Super cards…I am in LOVE with the Purple one and just ordered that set from PB!

    Love seeing Cooper and his “Blanket”…with Summer here….he won’t need it much longer! Have a wonderful week and thanks for another great post and share Judy!

    Hugs,
    Lisa

  5. Marliese permalink
    May 30, 2015 5:40 am

    You’re right! Gotta love that dog. And I love your commentary and your beautiful cards. If Penny Black continues making these wonderful stamps and dies, I’ll be in the poor house. I have to have them all!

  6. mjmarmo permalink
    May 30, 2015 5:41 am

    Cooper is such a cutie! SUch wonderful cards! Love your top 10 – I can relate to quite a few of them!

  7. Debbie Vasel permalink
    May 30, 2015 6:20 am

    Just wanted you to know that Runs With Scissors is my most favoritest blog column to read in the crafting world 🙂

    • judka permalink
      May 30, 2015 6:42 am

      Debbie, you just made my day! I love being someone’s “most favoritest”!!

  8. jmhave44 permalink
    May 30, 2015 7:04 am

    Loved all the gorgeous cards…such happy & sunny colors, and florals are always a winner for me. PB has the bestest stamps! Enjoyed reading the Top 10, but must say that #1 is priceless. It’s why all of us stamp, so that we can save money on cards! LOL. TFS & starting my Saturday morning off with a big smile. Hello to Cooper.

  9. Kay Miller permalink
    May 30, 2015 7:34 am

    Judy all of your cards are amazing, but that first one is a jaw dropper!! Just stunning! Loved reading your top ten! I can’t say that your number one is mine though, because I have spent more money on stamps, dies and paper than I could ever make up for in not purchasing cards, but it’s my joy in life 🙂 Love the picture of Cooper and his blanket. He looks a lot like my little Bichon/poodle mix 🙂

    • judka permalink
      May 30, 2015 7:44 am

      Kay, #1 is definitely “tongue in cheek”!! We all know that isn’t the way it works!! Thanks for stopping by.

  10. Donna Whitten permalink
    May 30, 2015 7:40 am

    Loved all your cards! Enjoyed your post today, especially your top 10! Thanks for sharing.

  11. barbara lassiter permalink
    May 30, 2015 8:17 am

    Love your Runs With Scissors post and can I quote your # 1 reason for stamping? LOL!

  12. May 30, 2015 8:28 am

    Judy, I love each of your cards and agree with Gabrielle above about your sharing cards with older stamps! Thank you! I love the new one (just got it), and your cards are stunning! I also enjoyed reading your top ten reasons list! Haha! Have a great weekend and enjoy barbecuing! Hugs!

  13. May 30, 2015 8:31 am

    Number 1 is definitely why I continue to make cards. Dozens of them, using all the products I purchased to help the economy. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. Was very happy to see your post today, every card is a little masterpiece. Love how you’re using the patterned paper and dies. I, too, have to remember to use my older stamps…maybe I’ll do that today. Too bad Cooper can’t come over and play with our furbaby…he’d have to leave his blanket at home because our dog is a thief. Am so happy Mr. RWS has found a way to improve his grilling technique, maybe he could share that with Mr. Beaumama.

  14. Robin in WA permalink
    May 30, 2015 9:19 am

    Yea, I save tons of money too!! Yuk, yuk!! At least I’m helping the economy!!

  15. Sheri K permalink
    May 30, 2015 9:47 am

    Beautiful cards once again Judy, but please be careful when you run with those scissors, we don’t want you tripping over cute Cooper hiding in his blankie! What a cutie. I agree on the therapy part of card making, that is certainly why I do it!

  16. bdengler4 permalink
    May 30, 2015 12:14 pm

    Another fun post, Judy! You are so good at putting a smile on my face! Love all your cards! Each one is so different but as beautiful as the last! Cooper is such a sweetie! And loved your top 10 – but my number one reason would be all the wonderful friends I’ve made – just like YOU! ♥

    • judka permalink
      May 30, 2015 2:03 pm

      Awww, Barb .. you are so right. I’ve never met a cranky stamper!

  17. Linda S. in NE permalink
    May 30, 2015 1:33 pm

    Beautiful cards today, Judy. I was so happy to see a “Runs with Scissors” post in my mailbox today. Cooper’s picture reminds me of a little dog that I often “dog-sit” for when his owners are out of town. He hates to be toweled off after being out in the rain, so I always coerce him by promising a game of “Where’s Baxter?” where I throw the damp towel over him and then act like I can’t see/find him. He loves it, and my favorite part is when only his fluffy tail is sticking out from under the towel, just waggin’ as fast as it can go!! Hugs to you and Cooper.

  18. dawnnz permalink
    May 30, 2015 2:41 pm

    Superb cards Judy. The last one just has to be my favourite. It is stunning. Thanks for all your inspiration. Cooper looks very settled with his blanky.

  19. Anita permalink
    May 30, 2015 3:29 pm

    You made my day with your stories! Love the top ten list…and the number one on the list is hilarious! I think my cards are in the $250 each! range! But such good therapy!!
    Happy grilling!

  20. Virginia L. permalink
    May 30, 2015 8:31 pm

    What a sweet and heart-warming post, Judy! Your talent and humor totally shine through in this one. I can totally relate to you about #1 reason–why spending $10 to buy cards when you can spend $ 96 on craft supplies AND make your own? Therapy costs hundreds, if not thousands. It makes so much sense (wink)!

  21. donna mikasa permalink
    May 31, 2015 12:38 am

    You are the master of all styles–from cute to classy! The last card with the gate is absolutely gorgeous! I loved reading your Top 10, and I’m nodding and agreeing with all points! And thanks for always sharing a pic of Cooper–a great way to end your post!

  22. Debbie P permalink
    May 31, 2015 5:44 pm

    Well Ms. RWS, I have to say that I have been reading your words for a few months now. Every Sunday I look forward to seeing what you and Mr. RWS as well as Cooper, have been up to. I so enjoy your blog! Your cards are beautiful and I use them as designs for my own handmade cards. I am saving soooo much money! Thanks for the inspiration.

  23. alexandra s.m. permalink
    May 31, 2015 6:57 pm

    I’ve enjoyed your post immensely dear Judy!
    Thank you for making me smile and the continuous inspiration!
    Your cards and coloring are so beautiful!

  24. May 31, 2015 8:12 pm

    Hurray for Mr RWS–you do make me laugh, Judy! Cooper always steals the show! Don’t you love the play growl? Fritz does it every night when he’s ready for “daddy time”–such a kick! As always, your cards are so inspiring–I especially love the first one!

  25. June 1, 2015 3:41 am

    Fantastic post! Great share, beautiful card, and your pup is beyond adorable! TFS Big hugs, Kristina

Leave a Reply

