Skip to content

Runs with SUMMERTIME Scissors

June 6, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, Penny Black friends. Goodbye March, April and May, and greetings to my favorite month, June. When I turned the calendar page to June, I thought of the first lines of the poem “What is So Rare As a Day in June?” by James Russell Lowell:

 

What is so rare as a day in June?

Then, if ever, come perfect days.

 

My sentiments exactly. The unsettled days of spring are behind us and the perfect days of June are here. I’ve always thought my June 1st birthday was the best day possible for a birthday. And as I grow older I appreciate those birthdays even more.

How appropriate that Penny Black’s newest release is titled “Sunshine and Smiles”.   The lovely days of June sunshine and the inspiration of Designer Elizabeth Allan’s work this past week have made me eager to once again put stamp to paper with the newest Penny Black stamps.

1a

The Enamor transparent set includes five floral images, a butterfly and a sentiment. It’s practically a card making kit in a package.   When I saw this image I immediately thought “black and white”. When it came time to make a card with that black and white design, I realized it needed some “sunshine and smiles” so I added the pink pearls and used a pink and black floral designer paper from the Beau Jardin collection. Much better.

2

Even the perfect days of June must sometimes bow to the need for a sympathy card. I prefer a clean and simple style when making a card to express my condolences. The bird images included in the Winged Beauty slapstick set are incredibly detailed for their size. I decided they needed no addition of color for a sympathy themed card and I’m pleased with this classic look.

3

I tried various techniques with this Trumpet Song Slapstick/Cling image before settling on coloring the stamp directly with Distress inks. Again, I am delighted with the detailed image: note that perfect little bird. This image is versatile enough for any occasion and could be used in either elegant or casual designs. Morning glory vines are a vivid memory from my childhood when I was fascinated by their generous early morning blooms.

June also brings memories of when my kids were little and we all were impatient for the last day of school. I enjoyed the freedom from the rigid schedule that was necessary to make sure everyone was where they should be every morning and on time. It was especially time consuming every winter morning to locate enough mittens and caps for everyone; in our house, they were as apt to become as lost as the socks in the dryer. Our home was located half a block from the community swimming pool which became the focus of the kids’ summer. Our Saturdays were spent at the kids’ swim team competitions and when the season was done, the kids and I would take our pop up trailer and head for camping on the shores of beautiful Devils Lake in Baraboo, Wisconsin. We parked under the pines and enjoyed the freedom of swimming in the lake and climbing the surrounding bluffs. An ice cream treat from the campground store after an afternoon of water play and an evening around the campfire were highlights.   We were only thirty minutes from home, close enough to make trips to the house to do some laundry and replenish the groceries. I was probably the only Mom who took her waffle iron along in the camper; we were the envy of our camping neighbors!

It was a struggle for all of us when Labor Day arrived and it was time to switch from the freedom of summer vacation to the confines of the school year.

4

Penny Black’s floral images may represent summer’s sunshine, but we must include some summer smiles. Every one of the six images in the transparent set U R the Gift will bring a smile or more. Summer birthdays are a good reason to gather the family, preferably outdoors, to celebrate. Penny Black sure knows how to throw a birthday party.

5

I recently made a resolution to revisit my collection of Penny Black stamps from previous releases. I haven’t inked up my A to Z stamp set since Mother’s Day so I used it to make this “love you” card, decked out in pink and a mixture of patterns. That Retro background is an older stamp, too, that deserves more of my attention.

6

This little guy from the Easter Friends slapstick stamp is out of season, for sure, but I was in the mood to color with my Prismacolor pencils and Gamsol and this image was perfect for that. Sometimes I just want some “coloring therapy”, with no complications. I’ve combined designer papers from the Painted Blooms paper pad. If I am allowed to run with scissors, an Easter card in June should not be too surprising!

7

Have I mentioned that Cooper is devoted to Mr. RWS? It’s a known fact, but even I did not realize how deep that devotion went. Mr. RWS was temporarily out of the house hitting a little ball in an attempt to have it land in a little hole, leaving his half finished jigsaw puzzle behind. Cooper, ever eager to please, decided to help. He even knew to sort out the straight-edge pieces.

It must be time to put away the stamps, inks and paper; and especially the scissors. If one is making Easter cards in June, one needs to take a nap before one comes to or causes harm.

I’ve enjoyed sharing this time with you, but most of all, I’ve loved bringing Sunshine and Smiles to your day.   I spend time at the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery admiring your work, too. Oh, and if you’d like to read the rest of Mr. Lowell’s “What is So Rare as a Day in June” poem, HERE’s a link.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

post-dividing-line1

Thanks, Judy, for all of the summertime inspiration today! Before we go, we have a little announcement.

winners-post

The winner of our recent Sunshine and Smiles giveaway is Carla Hundley. Carla, please email us your selection of $25 worth of products from our online store, at info@pennyblackinc.com. Include “Sunshine and Smiles Winner” in the subject line of your email.


15 Comments leave one →
  1. Micheline Jourdain permalink
    June 6, 2015 4:39 am

    Wow Judy! I am tired this morning and my English no comes to me… je voulais dire que j’aime surtout la carte avec le petit oiseau, Trumpet Song. De toute beauté! Et l’idée de celle avec l’alphabet I love u est magnifique aussi! De belles cartes!

  2. Marliese permalink
    June 6, 2015 6:20 am

    Again, you’ve inspired me. Now I’ve got to run and use my alphabet stamps which have been collecting dust. Did I mention, housework is not high on my priority list. Creating is!

  3. Kay Miller permalink
    June 6, 2015 6:43 am

    Oh your cards are just beautiful! Love them all but the first one with the black dot flowers stole my heart! Such happy memories of summertime with your kids! Sounds wonderful! Love seeing what Cooper’s up to also! So cute!!

  4. Kathy Schmidlkofer permalink
    June 6, 2015 7:12 am

    Mom – as always beautiful cards and blog. Thank you for bringing up the memories of Devil’s Lake. But most of all thank you for brining the waffle iron on our camping trips – yum! Summers were a busy time with 5 kids, thanks for making them grand!
    Love, Kathy

  5. Donna Whitten permalink
    June 6, 2015 7:27 am

    Loved your cards and chat, thanks for sharing!

  6. susannev2014 permalink
    June 6, 2015 8:16 am

    Not only do we share a June 1st birthday but also the belief that it is the perfect day for a birthday! Happy belated birthday! Beautiful cards!

  7. barbara lassiter permalink
    June 6, 2015 8:27 am

    Happy Birthday(just a little late). All the cards you created are just perfect. Love seeing what your creative and inventive mind comes up with in art and words. 🙂

  8. Dianne Crowe permalink
    June 6, 2015 9:26 am

    As always thanks for sharing your beautiful cards with us. Sure enjoy hearing bits and pieces of your world, even keeping up with Cooper sends out a smile. Thanks a bunch.

  9. Debbie permalink
    June 6, 2015 9:44 am

    Happy Birthday – a little late! Thanks for sharing a little of your world with us. Your cards are all beautiful and I’ll probably scraplift a few of the designs. TFS.

  10. bdengler4 permalink
    June 6, 2015 10:25 am

    Your description of the freedom of summer is EXACTLY how we felt in our house too! Favorite time of the year for me and your cards are fabulous, Judy! ♥♥♥

  11. June 6, 2015 10:25 am

    Hope your birthday was as special as you are Judy!! Soooooo enjoy your posts,
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  12. Marilyn Valadez permalink
    June 6, 2015 12:04 pm

    Hope your birthday was beautiful and special Judy! Love that quote from a lovely poem,and I love June too as it was my late Mother’s birthday month, also.

    Your cards are delightful and your commentary is always so much fun…I look forward to Sat. mornings with you and your wonderful sense of humor and that adorable little Cooper! :))

  13. June 7, 2015 12:02 am

    Loved seeing your gorgeous card and my favorite is From the Heart! Please continue featuring Cooper and his antics because he always makes me smile! I scroll quickly to the end of your blog posts just to see if he appears!!!

  14. Linda F permalink
    June 7, 2015 3:40 am

    Judy what a wonderfully eclectic collection of cards. No I don’t think there is anything wrong with making Easter cards in June. My sister has to make nearly 800 Easter cards each year which are delivered by the school at which she teaches to the local retirement home. Now she does have some help from students but its still a lot of cards so starting early is a good thing. She already has begun a pile of mother’s day cards for next May – another school card distribution. I always love seeing Coopers antics.

  15. July 4, 2015 4:07 pm

    Sorry to be so late, but finally getting to your posts, Judy, & so glad I’m here! The first card takes my heart with the gorgeous use of pink! The Trumpet Song card also grabbed my attention–looks like a painting! Always fun seeing Cooper & last but not least–happy belated birthday wishes!

Leave a Reply

