Skip to content

Runs with Scissors AND… Fortunes

June 13, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello and welcome. The Penny Black studio is filled with Sunshine and Smiles this morning. And as the song says, “June is busting out all over!” Did you know that another line in that classic song from the musical “Carousel” says “May was full of promises but she didn’t keep ‘em quickly enough …”. June is the month for keeping the promises of spring. The trees and flowers are in full bloom. We can count on Mother Nature to moderate the weather and temperatures. And there is sunshine, sunshine, sunshine.

Is it any wonder that June is the month for weddings?   Every bride wants sunshine for her wedding day and June is most likely to keep that promise.

Happily, Sunshine and Smiles are busting out all over here at the Penny Black studio. Thankfully, Designer Peet has left the stamps and dies sitting out after her week of posting on the Penny Black blog. But it looks like she took her magic scissors with her. Peet gives new meaning to the term “fussy cutting”. Did you know the stitching on her cards is all done by hand?

1a

Some images seem to demand being watercolored. These poppy-like blooms from the Enamor transparent set are one of those images. I created a bouquet by stamping the flower five times on watercolor paper and then painting it with my Koi watercolors.

I have various sets of watercolors, watercolor pencils and even some new watercolor brush pens. It seems when I want rich, deep color the Koi watercolors deliver. And oh, how I would love to do a scrumptious watercolor wash for the background. Alas, my watercolor backgrounds are not quite ready for prime time. I hide behind the “clean and simple” label on this card.

2

Sympathy cards are difficult for so many reasons. In the past, I’ve used flowers and butterflies in some combination. But now that I have the Winged Beauty slapstick set, I will reach for one of these bird images when I want a dignified, classic, clean and simple card for sending sympathy. These stamps are not very large, but the detail is amazing. I know by adding color they can be used for more casual or happier occasions.

3

For a card that needs to happen in a hurry, there’s nothing better than combining dies and eliminating any stamping. This Butterflies die from the Sunshine and Smiles release can be used in an infinite combination of colors and paper. These colorful scraps were sitting on my desk and I decided to go with them. For a more delicate look, pastels would work well. I added some miniature pearl embellishments to add lightness to the diecut.

Ah-h-h, Life: with a capital “L”. There are times when I wonder where the next idea for Runs with Scissors is going to come from. And then Life happens and there is no need to wonder anymore.

This time, Life came in the form of Mr. RWS. He popped into the Penny Black studio where I’ve been busy playing with the Sunshine and Smiles release to bring me the fortune cookies we hadn’t opened after our Chinese takeout lunch (I was too busy stamping to plan lunch, so Mr. RWS took care of it).

Mr. RWS went first. This is the message in his cookie:

4

I was amazed! Just a few days earlier I had finalized our reservations for a week in a condo on the beach at Gulf Shores, Alabama. We had been discussing a possible trip or cruise but we realized what we really needed after our stressful spring was a week of water views, the sound of waves landing on the shore, and sand between our toes. This fortune cookie was right on and I couldn’t wait to see what my cookie had to say.

This is the message in my cookie:

5

How come Mr. RWS gets a beach vacation and I am commanded to the gym? Who writes these fortunes anyway? And how did they know? I guess I should be grateful they used the term “improving on” when referring to my exercise routine. Just goes to show they don’t know everything!

You don’t suppose Mr. RWS switched the cookies, do you?

7

It’s time for some smiles and who better than Mimi to make that happen? This stamp from the Happy Days transparent set has her celebrating a birthday with balloons and a cupcake. I love using numbers cut from the By the Numbers diecut on birthday or anniversary cards. Mimi is colored with Copics and the balloons shine with Glossy Accents. Sequins make great birthday confetti.

8

The Gentle Whisper brushstroke slapstick stamp can be colored using various techniques. I have seen some stunning art work using this stamp. I stamped the image using a grey ink and colored it with Copics. After coloring the flower with pink, I went over it with a light grey Copic marker. I added texture with dry embossing as well as dots created with Irresistibel Pico Embellisher. This  stamp is from a previous release and I’ve not played with it nearly enough.

9

Cooper knows how to enjoy these beautiful June days. Soon enough the humidity will force us indoors, slaves to our air conditioning. For now, Cooper loves taking his “chewie” outside where sometimes he will chew it and sometimes he will bury it. When he returns home without his “chewie” we know it’s been buried to be savored some other day. Of course, his muddy paws and muzzle are important clues.

Once again, it’s time to clear the studio of my clutter and messes. I don’t want the Penny Black Designers wasting any time cleaning up after me. And I certainly want to be invited back.

I’ve holstered the runaway scissors, run the itty bitty vacuum and now it’s time to keep my appointment at the gym. (You think?) I’ll be checking the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery for your lovely work, especially using the new Sunshine and Smiles release.   I hope June keeps the promises of May in your corner of the world.

 

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

21 Comments leave one →
  1. donna mikasa permalink
    June 13, 2015 12:15 am

    Judy I’m so impressed with the different card styles you master! From cute to elegant and everything in between! And I chuckled at your fortune–maybe Larry read and switched them? 😉

  2. Dianne Crowe permalink
    June 13, 2015 3:29 am

    Wonderful cards today Judy! I do love little Mimi, she is so cute and as always thanks for keeping up with news of your family. Cooper does look so happy too.

  3. Micheline Jourdain permalink
    June 13, 2015 4:35 am

    I love the poppies… just amazing! And the Mimi for sure is so cute. Very pretty cards.
    Tes cartes sont terribles aujourd’hui… spécialement les poppies et la petite Mimi.
    J’aime beaucoup.!!! Love it!

  4. June 13, 2015 4:40 am

    I always especially enjoy the Saturday mornings that begin with your Runs With Scissors blog. You always make me laugh and put a smile on my face. I love all of the cards but especially the orchid. Penny Black really knows how to make great flower stamps. My collection is large!!! Give Mr. Cooper a hug. He is a cutie!

  5. Maria permalink
    June 13, 2015 5:18 am

    Hi Judy,
    I love all the cards ! As usual you have made some
    Beautiful cards for all occasions tfs!
    Hihi I think maybe Mr RWS has changed the fortune
    cookies there.
    Aaaah please give the adorable Cooper a hug from me!
    Enjoy your sunshine, in the Uk it is really funny weather at
    the moment. Rain !
    Take care Maria x

  6. mjmarmo permalink
    June 13, 2015 5:27 am

    Such pretty cards!

  7. June 13, 2015 6:14 am

    WHAT BEAUTIFUL CREATIONS JUDY!!! I am ALWAYS in awe of your work & your writing! LOL YEP, you better keep that appointment with the gym, you need to look FABULOUS in that bikini when you go to the beach with Mr. RWS! 😉

  8. June 13, 2015 6:36 am

    Reblogged this on Spreading Sunshine with Paper & Ink and commented:
    Judy Jung has outdone herself with these Penny Black beauties…

  9. quilterlin permalink
    June 13, 2015 7:50 am

    Another delightful post again this morning, Judy! Loved your cards and your sense of humor! I’ve never been to Gulf Shores, but have heard wonderful things about it – I’m jealous!

  10. jan metcalf permalink
    June 13, 2015 8:19 am

    I am in love with the gentle whisper card!! My advice, make your own fortune cookies from now on! 🙂

  11. Donna Whitten permalink
    June 13, 2015 8:30 am

    Loved all your beautiful cards! I really enjoy reading your post, thanks for sharing.

  12. bdengler4 permalink
    June 13, 2015 8:57 am

    I definitely think Larry switched the cookies! Ha! Love all your cards, Judy! You are always able to create so many different styles and I love that about your talent! ♥

  13. barbara lassiter permalink
    June 13, 2015 9:23 am

    Love all your cards. They are beautiful! I, too, am amazed at Peet’s perfect hand stitching on her cards.

  14. June 13, 2015 10:14 am

    Boy, being baseball season, I can say this without any backlash. You’ve knocked all these impressive cards out of the park. You scored on each one. (enough of that) had no idea Peet hand stitched her cards. The girl has serious skills. And I’ll bet your watercolor backgrounds are more lovely than you admit. As for exercise, I do it but really dislike doing it. I’d rather sit and make cards.

  15. Carol Mc permalink
    June 13, 2015 6:43 pm

    So many lovely cards. Those poppies are gorgeous.

  16. dawnnz permalink
    June 14, 2015 2:05 am

    great post Judy… so many beautiful cards, Loved the cookie messages!

  17. June 14, 2015 3:37 am

    As usual I enjoy reading and looking at your posts! So much different inspiration each week; Thanks!

  18. kdunbrook permalink
    June 14, 2015 6:21 am

    Great cards Judy…so well don…tfs!

  19. alexandra s.m. permalink
    June 14, 2015 6:23 am

    Lovely cards Judy!
    You can do it all and a big thank you for the marvelous read your posts always are!

  20. Debbie permalink
    June 15, 2015 2:11 pm

    Another bunch of lovely cards to inspire me. I look forward to reading your post each week. Always puts a smile on my face. Enjoy your time at the ocean…and forget about the gym. It will be there when you get back. Be sure to post some pictures of Cooper playing (or laying) on the beach!

  21. July 4, 2015 4:12 pm

    Oh yes, I’m sure Mr. RWS DID switch the cookies–LOL! Besides, that’s not a fortune–don’t they know that?! Glad someone else isn’t at the gym like they say we should be–LOL! Love your cards, Judy–especially the adorable & perfectly crafted Mimi BD card!

Leave a Reply

