Skip to content

Runs with SMILEY Scissors

June 20, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

(Singing cheerily): “Hello, hello, hello. What a wonderful word, hello.”  Does anyone else remember Don McNeil’s Breakfast Club? It was a radio and then TV show that ran through the 60’s.   This is the first line of their cheery opening theme song. My mom was a faithful listener while she stood at her ironing board, doing the weekly ironing. That little opening ditty still rattles around in my head. Mr. RWS is always amazed at the number of theme songs and commercial jingles that I have stored in my brain. And one never knows when they might burst forth.

This week Cathy Andronicou has shared her amazing work using the Sunshine and Smiles release. Of course, I want to play, too. This time, I focused mainly on the “Smile” in the Sunshine and Smile.

1a

When I send a hand made card my hope is that it brings a smile to the recipient. The images in the transparent set Smile All Day are sure to do that. I’ve colored the hedgie and his butterfly helpers with Copics and added a background of designer papers from Penny Black.

2

Sunshine and Smiles and fun! Whether it’s a swimming pool, lawn sprinkler, water balloons or gynormous squirt guns, summer is more fun for kids when water is involved. The boys and girls in the transparent set Wet and Wild know how to have summer fun. I’ve colored this feisty young lady with Copics and fussy cut the image and mounted her on a background created with the slapstick Circles and Lines background stamp.

3

Somehow when I choose colors for a sports-themed card the uniforms end up green and gold. You can take the girl out of Wisconsin, but you can’t take Wisconsin (and the Green Bay Packers) out of the girl! More Copic coloring of the little dudes from the Wet and Wild transparent set.

I was always an Erma Bombeck fan. She had a way of stating some of life’s truths in a very humorous way. I sometimes wondered if she was looking over my shoulder as I made my way through the child raising years. Here is a quote I came across that reminded me of what it was like to have kids home for the summer while I was a working mom.

“Being a child at home alone in the summer is a high-risk occupation. If you call your mother at work thirteen times an hour, she can hurt you.” ~Erma Bombeck

When I was raising my family of five, we lived in a small town. I did not have to spend time driving kids anywhere; they were in biking distance of everything they needed. I worked three blocks from home so I was able to be home at lunch time to check on everyone and to make sure morning chores were finished before they could go to the swimming pool. And I could be home quickly in case of a real emergency.

It was the “not so real” emergencies that resulted in the kids’ calling multiple times daily. Most often it was a sibling squabble that I was expected to referee from my desk at work. And so many of the calls began with, “There’s nothing to eeeeeeeeeeeeat here”: this meant the frozen pizza supply was depleted. My favorite was, “I can’t find my _____fill in the blank). Or, “What did you do with my ____fill in the blank).

One day I was called into my employer’s office to discuss the frequent personal telephone calls she had noticed. (Do I need to mention she had no children?) This conversation resulted in new rules for my kids. No one was to call me at work unless there was a puddle of blood or bones sticking out.

Certainly the phone calls did not end, but raising kids by telephone became a bit easier.

4

I have so many favorite Penny Black Stamps. This older slapstick stamp called Furry Affection is among them. And I remember when the Brick Wall stamp was released how quickly I ordered it. I Copic colored and fussy cut the kitties. The bricks are colored with a combination of Distress inks and Copic markers. Glossy Accents made the umbrella shiny.

5

I haven’t forgotten Father’s Day. In our house, father equals golfer. I’ve used the golfer image from the slapstick set Above Par, and added an appropriate sentiment. Of course, the clouds have to be a friendly blue as it never rains on the golf course.

6

Cooper has had a few summer vacations, too. We have found a wonderful couple who live in a gorgeous lake front home who treat Cooper like family when we leave him there. He and the resident dog, Deuce, play almost nonstop until Mama Vicki makes them take a nap. Here Cooper is sleeping on the dog-o-pedic mattress we bought for him that he has nothing to do with at home. Go figure!

Tomorrow in the United States we celebrate Fathers’ Day. I tip my scissors to all men who are fathers, fathers-to-be, step-fathers, grandfathers, and those filling the role of father in someone’s life. Parenting is some of the hardest work there is and it’s good to have the men doing some of the heavy lifting.

We may be in the lazy, hazy days of summer, but that does not mean I can ignore the clock. I’ve holstered the scissors (I have a permit); cleaned up my mess and put away the fun Penny Black stamps. I hope your summer is including sunshine, smiles and fun. And if the kids in your family have become bored at this point in their summer break, do what my mom used to do: put them to work. An afternoon of washing windows with vinegar water and drying them with newsprint cured our boredom. We never whined twice.

Thank you for sharing your time with me, and listening to my stories. And if you want to challenge my knowledge of commercial jingles, that’s ok, too. Just make sure it’s nothing current: I fast forward through commercials nowadays. I hope you are enjoying the beautiful artwork in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery. I would love to see your cards there.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2015 4:33 am

    Oh, you just do summer so well. Your cards today are just too stinkin’ cute. It is hard to believe that brick wall is a stamp…it looks like pattern paper (just too perfectly colored). I love your stories about being a mom that worked…brings back memories for me.
    When I was very small (maybe 3 years old) my family loved that I could sing the theme song to the Beverly Hillbillies..”Let me tell a story about a man named Jed..”
    You definitely put a smile on my face today…and isn’t that what it is all about?!?
    hugs 🙂

  2. Marliese permalink
    June 20, 2015 6:30 am

    Like the way you colored the brick wall. Will definitely try this. I guess I’m dating myself, because I remember the Breakfast Club theme, “Good morning Breakfast Cluber (or is it Clubbers). As always, enoyed your cards and commentary.

  3. June 20, 2015 7:02 am

    Judy, SUCH a TALENTED LADY you are!!!! BEAUTIFUL CARDS & STORIES TO BOOT! LOL I ALWAYS ENJOY it when you host! (I remember those calls to my mother too….LOL Only she wasn’t so close to come by & stop the nonsense!) I LOOOOOVE your “Have a Blast” card & I LOOOOVE that stamp set! SUPER CREATIVE with the background too!!!! (That little girl just reminds me of our daughter! LOL WHAT A CHARACTER!!!! SUCH SPUNK!!!) 😉

  4. June 20, 2015 9:15 am

    Honestly…you absolutely are fall-down-funny. I loved both Erma (laughed at her and quote even now). And of course, Don McNeil visited our place every Saturday, too. Unfortunately, for those that know me, I do break out in jingles. I remember my grandkids brushing their teeth while staying with us…I was singing “Brusha, brusha, brusha, new Ipana, etc….” They had no idea who Ipana was or why I was singing. Poor things. Anyway, loved your cards today. Also so happy and fun. Hope Mr. RWS has a wonderful Father’s Day…maybe on the golf course. By the way, don’t worry about Cooper ignoring his bed…our Beau has two that he pretends don’t exist. But the cat enjoys them immensely.

  5. June 20, 2015 9:38 am

    Wonderful cards! Ah yes, I remember the Don McNeil show – in fact, when I was around 9 my Mom took me to see a live show when we were visiting the area….but I got sick from the water – so not a fond memory…LOL!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  6. Kay Miller permalink
    June 20, 2015 11:13 am

    All of your cards are a delight for the eyes!! So fun and cute!! Love the picture of Cooper with his buddy!!

  7. Marilyn Valadez permalink
    June 20, 2015 11:32 am

    You always perk up my Sat. mornings with your beautiful cards and witty commentary! My Mother was like your Mother as we didn’t ever whine about not having anything to do…she would find us something real quick to get us busy…like cleaning out closets or washing down the back stairs or sweeping the front porch. She was so good at keeping us entertained. hee hee I don’t think she cared about child labor laws. So I soon learned to get out of the house and take off on my bike for hours at a time. I also lived in a small town and I loved to hang out at the Library, I think I read every “Nancy Drew” book that was ever written at least twice. My favorite was a book titled “The Boxcar Children”, I read and reread that one over and over. I ran across that book when my girls were young thinking they would love it like I did…not so much! LOL A different time… right! You and yours have a wonderful Father’s Day week-end and thank you so much for your good humor Judy! Give that sweet Cooper a hug from Me and my Scooby!

  8. June 20, 2015 11:54 am

    Reblogged this on Spreading Sunshine with Paper & Ink.

  9. barbara lassiter permalink
    June 20, 2015 12:19 pm

    Well, I ‘ve had my smile for the day from your great blog post and I loved all the cards. Thanks!

  10. June 20, 2015 5:45 pm

    These cards are so cute. I especially like the look on the face of the gorl with the giant water vlaster. Mo Manning draws great kids. I am a big fan of her talent…..and Yours!!! Do you remember Big John and Sparky on the radio on Saturday mornings? Their theme song was The Teddy Bear’s Picnic……”If you go into the woods today, your in for a great surprise. If you go into the woods today, you better go in disguise”. Thanks again for bringing joy on Saturday mornings.

  11. Virginia L. permalink
    June 21, 2015 10:25 am

    Love your fun, witty and inspiring post, Judy! Happy Father’s Day to yours!

  12. alexandra s.m. permalink
    June 21, 2015 11:53 am

    Always LOVE your post Judy!!
    Thank You so much for sharing your beautiful cards with us!

  13. June 21, 2015 1:39 pm

    Wonderful cards. I also loved Erma Bombeck’s wonderful stories on raising and many times felt we were both living the same life. Like you I worked and had the same rule about phone calls but mine came with an added incentive to stop the calls: “are you bleeding or in danger of dying? If not you will be when I get home.” 🙂 I think it’s time to dust off Erma’s books and have a nice visit. Thank you for sharing your art and stories.

  14. Debbie permalink
    June 21, 2015 1:59 pm

    Another entertaining post and great cards to admire (copy/scraplift). As always, your stories put a smile on my face. Thanks for sharing the bits and pieces with us all. You, Mr. RWS, and Cooper have a great Father’s Day.

  15. jan metcalf permalink
    June 23, 2015 4:40 am

    Your Father’s day card is great! Lots of fun details on all your cards posted here!

  16. July 4, 2015 4:17 pm

    You are so gifted, Judy–always love your posts & your cards! Thanks for the reminder that I need to pull out my circles & lines stamp!

Leave a Reply

