Skip to content

Kicking off Christmas in July

June 29, 2015

Throughout the month of July, we’ve invited some fabulous guest designers to visit here on our blog. They are sure to inspire us all to get a jumpstart on our Christmas creations. Join us over the next several weeks as these wonderful guests feature our classic Christmas stamps and dies. And just when your Christmas crafting mojo is kicking in, we will be here in August to share with you all of our NEW Christmas products!

xmas-in-July-main-banner

Our first guest designer as part of this extravaganza is the amazing Yoonsun Hur.

Yoon_photo

Hello Everyone! I’m Yoonsun Hur a South Korean-born Australian and I currently live in Sydney. I am still learning and enjoying true Australian culture. I love being creative!! I really love making cards with various and awesome stuff such as stamps, inks, die cuts, paper punches and many more. I have been working as a graphic designer since 2000 and this career has helped me in many ways when designing cards. I endlessly want to make various attempts and share my creativity with you.

Yoonsun has an exciting week ahead for us. Just look at the themes she has prepared…

Day 1: Blessed Christmas
Day 2: Joyful Christmas
Day 3: Delightful Christmas
Day 4: Colorful Christmas
Day 5: Merry Christmas

Today we begin with a blessed Christmas. For her first card, Yoonsun used our transparent set, 30-251 Nature’s Gifts. In Yoonsun’s own words, “This set is truly beautiful and I think we are so very blessed to live with nature.”

30-251

yoon

Yoonsun’s background stamping and inking is just stunning!

yoon2

Download complete supplies and instructions HERE.

Yoonsun’s blessed Christmas inspiration continues with this next watercolor creation. She used more of the stamps from the Nature’s Gifts transparent set along with our woodblock stamp, 4396J Ode to Christmas.

4396J

yoon3

Yoonsun’s sentiment was die cut from gold cardstock using our Creative Die, 51-071 Words of Gratitude.

51-071

Multiple layers of the die cut, which were adhered together, give the sentiment extra dimension and help it stand out against the background stamping.

yoon4

Download complete supplies and instructions HERE.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2015 1:21 am

    Hi Yoonsun, Congratulations on being chosen as guest designer great to have an Aussie there, love your cards and designs.

  2. knurse22 permalink
    June 29, 2015 4:54 am

    Welcome, and thank you for your beautiful inspiration! Love your cards, and looking forward to seeing what else you will be sharing here this week!

  3. barbara lassiter permalink
    June 29, 2015 7:09 am

    These are so lovely and since I’m starting to make some of my Christmas cards now….this inspiration will be so welcome. Thanks.

  4. June 29, 2015 7:22 am

    I just find Christmas in the summer to be inappropriate. Wish we could keep Christmas to at least the last few months of the year. Just too overwhelming to constantly be bombarded with Christmas cards. Can’t imagine what its like for those who don’t even celebrate the holiday. Just my 2 cents.

    • jillianfoster82 permalink*
      June 29, 2015 10:58 am

      Hi Marilyn, I am the social media director for Penny Black and wanted to let you know that we appreciate your feedback. We hope that the techniques featured and overall card layouts of this “Christmas in July” feature may still inspire you to try them out with non-holiday designs. Again, thanks for sharing your thoughts and for visiting us here on our blog! We will continue to post non-holiday designs on our Facebook page during this blogging event. Even if you aren’t “on Facebook” these designs can still be viewed here: https://www.facebook.com/PennyBlackInc Happy stamping!

  5. June 29, 2015 8:28 am

    Reblogged this on Spreading Sunshine with Paper & Ink and commented:
    So nice to be able to mix and match stamps…look what Yunsoon has created with Penny Black supplies!

  6. judka permalink
    June 29, 2015 8:36 am

    Beautifully done with some of my favorite Penny Black stamps!!

  7. Donna Whitten permalink
    June 29, 2015 8:52 am

    Lovely cards!

  8. June 29, 2015 9:54 am

    BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! I look forward to the rest of your “Christmas in July!” 😉

  9. Linda S. in NE permalink
    June 29, 2015 10:42 am

    I for one love the idea of seeing ideas for Christmas cards and projects in July. It gives me time to gather the supplies that I might need, or purchase what I don’t have. There seems to be a lot of time between now and the holidays, but life has a way of getting in the way, and I still struggle to get everything finished. So for me, the more time, the better, and I appreciate the posts.

  10. June 29, 2015 6:42 pm

    Welcome Yoonsun – and congratulations on being a Guest Designer for PB. BEAUTIFUL cards – I can’t express how much I love them – wow! I look forward to this time every year when Christmas cards and stamps sets/papers start being showcased as they really inspire me. Because it is Winter here where I live, my mojo seems to dry up at this time of year so I really love to see some beautiful cards to kick-start my mojo again. I also need plenty of time to make my Christmas cards as I am such a s-l-o-w cardmaker! Keep ’em coming!! 🙂

  11. mjmarmo permalink
    June 29, 2015 6:56 pm

    LOVE these cards!

  12. Dawn May permalink
    June 30, 2015 12:06 am

    Absolutely beautiful !!!

  13. June 30, 2015 10:06 am

    What lovely cards!! I thank you for posting Christmas cards this time a year. I never have time to make them during the holidays so any ones I create are in the summer!!

Leave a Reply

