Skip to content

Runs with PATRIOTIC Scissors

July 4, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Greetings! Today is a very special day for those of us living in the United States. It is the day we celebrate the birth of our nation. It is my pleasure to welcome Penny Black friends from all over the world to join our celebration.

Actually, our country’s independence was declared on July 2nd, 1776 and John Adams predicted that July 2nd would be celebrated with great pomp and ceremony for many generations to come. Well, not unlike today’s Congress, it took two more days before the Declaration of Independence was signed and so July 4th became the day we celebrate.

It seemed obvious even to me who runs with scissors that my cards should have a Fourth of July theme. I did see a problem with that, however. After going through my hoard collection of Penny Black stamps I realized I didn’t have any images specifically for the 4th of July. I couldn’t find any here in the studio, either.

What’s a stamper to do but get creative. This wouldn’t be the first time I have altered an image to suit my purposes. The first container I reached for was my wood mounted stamps and I found most of what I needed there.

snap-shot

All it took to convert this camera-loving kitty image from Snap shot to a 4th of July card was to cover the camera with an American flag. And isn’t that “Celebrate” die from the Doodles die set just perfect for an Independence Day card? I’ve colored with Copic markers and added Stickles to my punched out stars. Even the little birdie is dressed for the holiday as you can see here:

2

pine-wreath

Mr. RWS says this card is his favorite. I’ve heat embossed the Pine Wreath image with white embossing powder and I’ve covered the pine cones with glittery stars. The American flag addition completes the transformation. I’ve added another, larger “Celebrate” with my hand made exclamation point:

4

When I look back at some of the decisions I made while raising my family, I wonder why they even speak to me. I remember painfully the first Fourth of July after moving from the big city of Madison, Wisconsin to the small town (Population 1,200) of Prairie du Sac. It was a lovely community, located on the shores of the Wisconsin River and it turned out to be the ideal place to raise a family.

However, we hadn’t lived there long and the kids hadn’t made any friends and I wanted to make their holiday fun. The city of Madison hosted a huge, all day celebration capped off with a fireworks display timed to music. Our own little neighborhood there had a family celebration complete with pony rides, carnival rides and yummy food trailers. The kids were used to a pretty sophisticated parade, too.

I had heard that the nearby town of Witwen (population 500) took the Fourth of July seriously and put on a parade and had other activities for the holiday. So off we went, hope and excitement escalating on the short trip there.

Well, to the community of Witwen, I’m sure it was a very special celebration. But as we saw the sweet little parade go by that consisted of a red wagon holding a new litter of puppies; a flat bed truck adorned with a sign saying, “Happy Hustlers Homemakers” and ridden by a group of delightful older ladies with their needlework on their lap, we realized we weren’t in Madison anymore. There were cub scouts, boy scouts, the middle school band and several shiny new tractors. The members of the VFW finished the lineup, proudly carrying the flag they defended.

The parade was finished before we really got settled in and there we were. It hurt my heart to see those disappointed faces. Back home we went to the local ice cream shop to drown our sorrows. It took awhile, but eventually this became one of those stories repeated over the years. And the next year, when I asked the kids what they wanted to do for the Fourth of July, the answer was a resounding “Anything but the Witwen parade!”

joy-ride

The two hedgie friends from the stamp Joyride are off to their 4th of July celebration. They’ve decked out their car with glittery stars and proudly fly their flag. Looks like their town went all out for the holiday … love the blue glitter road! Here’s their new look:

6

flowers-for-mimi

I’ve altered the Flowers for Mimi image to make it Stars for Mimi by hiding the flowers under the glittery stars. Mimi seems just as happy to be surrounded by stars as she was the flowers:

8

I didn’t alter this image at all. By using a red, white and blue color theme this image became a holiday card. This little dude from the transparent set Wet and Wild is enjoying some water play after a long morning of parade watching. He must be anticipating some serious water battles armed with two huge squirt guns and his goggles.

9

10

Cooper loves a holiday and gets right into the spirit of things. He doesn’t mind the booms generated by the nearby military arsenal, but the fireworks that the neighbors shoot off in their yard cause distress. Cooper retreats to his hiding place under the bed. Thankfully, it’s just one day out of the year.

Well, if any of you have plans for an Independence Day celebration, you’d better get going. Enjoy the parades, the cook outs, and especially the fireworks displays. Don’t forget the mosquito repellant and be careful driving home in the traffic.

I’ve cleaned everything up and put away the scissors for now. We used to say that the Fourth of July meant the summer was half over. For sure, July goes by more quickly than January. Make the most of these remaining summer days as all too soon it will be time for another change in seasons.

I love seeing your work in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery. And thank you for spending part of your holiday with me.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black products:

 

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Micheline Jourdain permalink
    July 4, 2015 4:40 am

    Some beautifiul cards Judy. Speciallly Mimi with stars… love it! And I wish to you and your familly a great Indenpendence Day… a great 4th of July! My heart is with you today!

  2. July 4, 2015 5:01 am

    so clever!!!!

  3. Jan D., FL permalink
    July 4, 2015 6:06 am

    So cute. I have a number of Penny Black kitty cat stamps and I adore them. One of my cats looks so much like her images with just the right amount of mischief in the eyes. LOL TFS your ideas.

  4. KAT. MO permalink
    July 4, 2015 6:38 am

    Thanks for the inspiration! Always love to see using an old favorite in a new way.

  5. July 4, 2015 8:11 am

    Clever girl transforming all of those images into celebration stamps. You did a stellar job (sorry, I couldn’t help myself). Love the parade story…often wondered why my kids talk to me, too. Hope Cooper doesn’t become too manic with the fireworks.

  6. Kay Miller permalink
    July 4, 2015 9:53 am

    Well my goodness! How creative you are to use each of those stamps in such a patriotic way! They are really fabulous!! Cooper is just adorable all decked out for the fourth! My dog doesn’t like the fireworks either. I usually have to sit inside with him while everyone else is outside enjoying the sights!

  7. barbara lassiter permalink
    July 4, 2015 10:35 am

    Great cards and creativity! Have a fantastic Fourth!

  8. July 4, 2015 11:44 am

    FABULOUS POST AGAIN, JUDY!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOOOOOOVE the altered cards AND your writing!!!!!!!! SUPER JOB!!!! HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉

  9. Debbie permalink
    July 4, 2015 12:45 pm

    I love your creativity. Transforming the everyday stamps to fit the occasion. Well Done!!! Wishing you, Mr. RWS, and Cooper a happy and safe 4th of July.

  10. July 4, 2015 4:22 pm

    Happy 4th of July, Judy! Such a funny story–can just picture the parade & your kids disappointed faces! You are absolutely the Queen of Creativity, bar none! LOVE your cards, my friend!

  11. Scott schmidlkofer permalink
    July 4, 2015 5:43 pm

    Mother now that you have offended the people of Witwen I will no longer be allowed to visit home. On a positive note the cards look great. Jack and Evelyn can’t wait for your visit! For the record my good friend from High school was the grand Marshall of the Witwen Parade this year, he rode his bicycle wearing a Packers jersey, stay classy Witwen.

  12. Bev. permalink
    July 4, 2015 6:00 pm

    I look forward to your cards and stories. Keep up the good work.
    Can I ask – how old is cooper? He reminds me of my little white
    Maltese who lived a great 18 years.

    • July 5, 2015 3:33 am

      Beg, Cooper doesn’t mind telling his age. He will be six in October. I am so glad you had the love a little dog can bring.

  13. July 5, 2015 3:20 am

    In defense of all Moms who “wanted” to find something new and fun, which turned out to be, well, less than expected……Happy Independence Day!! Judy, Loved the story, love your cards. Great job thinking out of the box and “creating” such cute stamped images! Your colors are vibrant, and ideas fantastic!

  14. alexandra s.m. permalink
    July 5, 2015 9:20 pm

    Fantastic job Judy!
    Your creativity knows no limits!
    Thank You~

  15. Maria permalink
    July 6, 2015 9:19 am

    Sorry to be a bit late for your celebrations but hope you all
    had a fabulous day ! Your cards are great and like how you have
    changed them to the American flag and stars, brilliant.
    Thank you for sharing your life and your cards and of course
    gorgeous Cooper ,Big Hug
    Maria x

  16. July 7, 2015 8:18 am

    Love your 4th of July story. Cute cards also. I especially like finding out that our independence was declared on my birthday and it took 72 years for me to find out.

Leave a Reply

