Skip to content

Welcome Marika!

July 13, 2015

Throughout the month of July, we’ve invited some fabulous guest designers to visit here on our blog. They are sure to inspire us all to get a jumpstart on our Christmas creations. Join us over the next several weeks as these wonderful guests feature our classic Christmas stamps and dies. And just when your Christmas crafting mojo is kicking in, we will be here in August to share with you all of our NEW Christmas products!

xmas-in-July-main-banner

This week’s guest designer will inspire you to add a modern and elegant touch to your holiday cardmaking this year. Please join us in welcoming the awesome Marika Rahtu!

marika_pic

I am Marika and I am a mother of two lovely, little girls. I’ve been crafting my whole life with different mediums. A few years ago I found paper crafting to be my passion and colouring my therapy for my hectic life with the girls. I love to create cards with cute critters or flowers in them. I was so thrilled when I was asked to GD for Penny Black, since aren’t their critters the cutest and the flowers the most stunning?!? I loved working with Penny Black stamps and dies and I hope you enjoy what I have created.

Well, not only do we get to take in the fun cardmaking eye-candy by Marika this week, she’s also prepared some videos for us, too! Her first card designs feature our transparent set, 30-264 Jolly Critters.

30-264

marika

How did she create this cutie? Look no further…

Watch directly on YouTube HERE.

Using these same techniques, Marika also created a second card design.

marika2

marika3

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

48 Comments leave one →
  1. Chiara Robin permalink
    July 13, 2015 1:00 am

    Bellissime!!!!

  2. July 13, 2015 1:21 am

    Sooo fabulous Marika!

  3. Holly Saveur permalink
    July 13, 2015 1:54 am

    so sweet and cute!

  4. Laura Jane permalink
    July 13, 2015 4:23 am

    Absolutely love watching Marika color! looking forward to many more days of her card making with Penny Black:)

  5. July 13, 2015 4:58 am

    Congrats Penny Black for getting Marika to guest design for you! She does amazing, amazing coloring work and I love thw clean design of these cards.

  6. July 13, 2015 5:06 am

    Love the simplicity of these cards.

  7. Jan D., FL permalink
    July 13, 2015 5:17 am

    Love these cards.

  8. ThePurplePlace permalink
    July 13, 2015 5:27 am

    Adorable card and fantastic coloring! Thanks for a fun and cute VIDEO!!

    • July 13, 2015 1:20 pm

      Thanks so much! I’m glad that you liked the video too!

  9. July 13, 2015 5:43 am

    Reblogged this on Spreading Sunshine with Paper & Ink and commented:
    Look how cute these cards are by Marika! A bonus video, too!

  10. BeverlyBL permalink
    July 13, 2015 6:04 am

    These cards are THE cutest!

    • July 13, 2015 1:20 pm

      Thank you so much! That holiday bird really made me smile too!

  11. mjmarmo permalink
    July 13, 2015 6:27 am

    Such fun!

  12. July 13, 2015 6:31 am

    Yay! Marika… Your cards are amazing, and loved your video… Can’t wait to see more from you 🙂

    • July 13, 2015 1:21 pm

      Thanks, Thordis! I really hope you like what I did for the next four days to come!

  13. Susan Roberts permalink
    July 13, 2015 7:59 am

    Really lovely cards!

  14. July 13, 2015 8:07 am

    stunning, cute and beautiful combined! Looking forward to the week ahead!!

    • July 13, 2015 1:23 pm

      Thank you so much! Hopefully you like my other cards too. Quite excited about this week!

  15. barbara lassiter permalink
    July 13, 2015 8:34 am

    These are so adorable and so beautifully created. I’m not as big a fan of the critters as I am of the floral designs. However, having said that, I love these cards so much that I think I may have to order this stamp set. Thanks Marika!

    • July 13, 2015 1:24 pm

      Thank you so much, Barbara! You’re comment is so lovely and it really made my day! I do have a few floral designs coming up, I hope you like them too.

  16. Irene Grau permalink
    July 13, 2015 9:27 am

    These are both adorable!!! Love PB’s critters and hedgies.

  17. Maria permalink
    July 13, 2015 9:56 am

    Hi Marika,
    love how you have used the little critters and your colouring in.
    They are sooo cute 🙂 x

    • July 13, 2015 1:25 pm

      Hello Maria! I’m so glad that you liked them. Thank you for your kind words!

  18. Debbie permalink
    July 13, 2015 11:29 am

    I LOVE these cards. They are adorable. I love the clean look and how it makes the stamped/colored images the pop. Great cards.

    • July 13, 2015 1:25 pm

      Thanks so much, Debbie! These images were very fun to play with.

  19. kanda permalink
    July 13, 2015 3:03 pm

    Fabulous cards, super designs and adorable images xx

  20. Linda S. in NE permalink
    July 13, 2015 3:42 pm

    Thank you for sharing your talents with us this week, Marika. It is kind of refreshing to see a Christmas greeting card with such a simple, uncluttered design.

  21. July 13, 2015 9:07 pm

    LOVE this. So sweet, and so perfect 🙂

  22. Penny H permalink
    July 13, 2015 11:49 pm

    Very pretty and easy to reproduce lots of them for Christmas , especially the sweet little bird!

  23. July 14, 2015 6:33 am

    More. MOre. MORE!!! Marika these are so absolutely adorable!!!

  24. July 19, 2015 11:12 am

    Thanks, Michele!

  25. swanlady21 permalink
    August 3, 2015 1:06 pm

    Just too cute … and I love your colour combo!

  26. Pat permalink
    August 25, 2015 9:42 pm

    These are just so adorable! I can’t wait to try this technique, especially with that particular stamp set.

Leave a Reply

