Skip to content

Runs with Hot and Humid Scissors!

July 18, 2015

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, hello Penny Black friends. How glad I am to come in out of the hot and humid Alabama weather. To quote a friend, “We have the muggies.”

Before we finally settled in Alabama, we lived in Arizona for a few winters. Somehow we never managed to head North soon enough to totally avoid some really high temperatures. But, you might say, “it was a dry heat”.   Well, dear friends, so is sticking your head in a heated oven! Sunshine is a good thing, but when that Arizona sun is turned up to “high” and is unrelenting in its fierceness, one can wish for a cloudy day.

Fortunately, the air conditioning in the Penny Black studio is set to “high” and I have had a great time playing with the Sunshine and Smiles release.

1

The Gothic Gate die is so intricate and delicate, including the little keyholes in the gate. You can leave it shut or open it to reveal what is behind the gate. This time I’ve stamped, embossed, colored and cut out the flowers from the Collage of Wishes stamp, even rearranging the flowers. The flowers are mounted on silvery designer paper from the Beau Jardin paper pad with a strip of the same paper added to the front. The butterflies couldn’t resist the pretty flowers and just showed up.

2

Mr. Fox from the Smile all Day transparent set is enjoying a visit from a butterfly friend. He’s colored with Copics and having a super smiley day.

3

These bird images from the Floral and Feathers transparent set may be miniature in size, but the detail is amazing. I stamped and colored the images with Copics and mounted them on circles backed with designer paper from the Painted Blooms paper pad.

Hmmmm… I just reread my opening paragraphs and realize I sound pretty whiney about the weather! I don’t like dry heat, I don’t like humidity …maybe July brings out the whiney in me.

Speaking of whining: one of my sons as a toddler had me reaching for my Dr. Spock “how to” book more often than the other children did. He seemed to be following the book perfectly as he walked as predicted, talked on schedule, hit the terrible two’s right on time and then nearing the age of three, as predicted, developed the habit of whining.

No sentence was spoken in a normal or upbeat tone. No question was asked in a hopeful manner. No request was issued enthusiastically. Every communication was done in a most magnificent whine. No amount of discussion or correction changed his whining. This went on for several months and one day, probably a hot and muggy day in July when I felt whiney myself, I had listened to one whine too many. I turned to this adorable, big-eyed, shaggy haired little tyke in his cute little summer sunsuit and in a stern tone said to him, “Why don’t you just go fly a kite!”

He didn’t miss a beat … he didn’t think about it … he just … in his well-practiced, very drawn out whiney tone replied, “ I DON’T EVEN HAVE A Kiiiii—iiiii—ite”. What’s a hot and muggy mother to do? Laugh out loud and learn to live with it until the next phase took over.

Many years later when given an opportunity to speak at his wedding reception I told the “I don’t even have a kite” story and presented him with … you guessed it … his very own kite. Karma.

4

Well, here it is again, the Gothic Gate die, this time with a sweetie from the Wet and Wild set resting on a wall in the garden. Perhaps she’s waiting for her friends to come over to run through her sprinkler. She’s simply colored with Copics and placed behind the gate.

5

I keep this By the Numbers die from a previous Penny Black release handy. It’s the perfect die for birthday or anniversary cards. For this card, I’ve added white dots and some cheerful designer paper from the Painted Blooms paper pad. Easy peasy and fun, too. Sometimes I just cut a number or two from the diecut and use them on a card.

Cooper never whines; never. If he needs to go outside to the back yard, he will quietly sit by the door until someone notices him. The same when he wants to come back into the house. If I set out with him for a walk, he makes no sound, but just plants his feet firmly and refuses to move if I am going in any direction but that of the park. If he wants food, there is no whining: he just sits in front of me and stares. If I don’t catch on right away or try to ignore him, he will just move closer and stare harder. I have decided that is his version of shouting.

6

This is Cooper looking as shocked as I was to discover the pitiful condition of my $10 pot of petunias. I knew these petunias were doomed from the day I brought them home, but at the challenge from a friend I gave growing flowers one more try. Honestly, I only forgot to water them once. Good thing I take better care of Cooper than I do petunias.

Speaking of Sunshine and Smiles, it’s been a while since I shared photos of the two youngest grandchildren:

7

Evelyn Rose is now two years old and this photo was taken at her first (of many, I’m sure) Brewers baseball game in Milwaukee.

8

And this is baby Jack Lincoln, 7 months old in this photo, who chose to play with his rubber duckie in the shade instead of the kiddy pool at daycare.

Oh dear, it looks like my time is up for today. I’d better stow my scissors and put the stamps, dies and paper back where I found them. The Penny Black studio will be a busy place next week, I’m sure.

Oh, and one more little story: when Mr. RWS read the first few paragraphs where I am complaining whining about dry heat and hot and humid weather, he mentioned I also don’t care much for wet, cold and icy either. Doesn’t he think he’s smart?

Hope the rest of your summer is filled with Sunshine and Smiles. No whining allowed.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black Supplies:

 

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Dianne Crowe permalink
    July 18, 2015 4:42 am

    Beautiful cards today, love the gate and oh yes the little fox is so cute!!! Thanks for the recent pictures of the grandchildren, they grow so fast. Glad you take better care of Cooper than you petunias (I often see my flowers looking about the same).

  2. Linda Baker permalink
    July 18, 2015 5:26 am

    Another great post! Always love your cards and stories. Hugs

  3. Pat Gasko permalink
    July 18, 2015 5:47 am

    I really enjoy your cards and stories and your “Runs with. . .”Title changes! Your latest cards are awesome to adorable to say the least. And such Adorable grand kids thanks for including their pictures. And Cooper deserves many doggie cookies for his patience. Looks like your Petunias are in great need of watering and that’s the problem with flowers they’re soooooo demanding. I stopped hanging baskets of hanging flowers for that reason and have cut back on the quantity of flowering plants. I have some, Hey what’s a yard without a flower or two which is about all I can manage. If whining enables you to make all your beautiful projects you just keep on whining. Have a great summer!

  4. knurse22 permalink
    July 18, 2015 6:00 am

    Oh, I HAAAAAAAAAAATE it when you stow your scissors! LOL….more of your awesome work and fun commentary makes me start my dreary, muggy, rainy Saturday morning with an out-loud chuckle! Thanks for your wonderful inspiration. And those little ones are way too cute!

  5. July 18, 2015 6:36 am

    Reblogged this on Spreading Sunshine with Paper & Ink and commented:
    Great cards by Judy Jung for Penny Black!

  6. Deb V permalink
    July 18, 2015 6:44 am

    Whether you are “whining” or not, I always love to read your stories and see your projects.
    Your style is FUN!

  7. Kay Miller permalink
    July 18, 2015 7:04 am

    I have lived in the muggies my whole life! Doesn’t mean I like them, I just have come to accept it. I live for fall and wintertime! Not a fan of summer at all! Your projects are amazing!! I especially love the by the numbers one! So neat!! I forget to water flowers too, so gave up on that a long time ago! LOL! Cooper and the grand babies are DARLING!!

  8. Marliese permalink
    July 18, 2015 7:13 am

    Love your cards and the accompanying commentary.

  9. July 18, 2015 7:33 am

    It must be so fun to go play in the Penny Black studio each week. You always turn out the most fabulous cards. The gate opening card with the flowers behind it….SUPERB!!!! Funny stories, cute baby pictures and the ever lovable Cooper…what a great way to start my Saturday. Thanks for being you my friend!!!! 🙂

  10. Sheri K permalink
    July 18, 2015 9:45 am

    Great cards–I understand the whining–I’m in AZ (stick your head in the oven, add a little moisture because of monsoon season) and after growing up in the cold midwest, I guess I whine a little less with heat, even more with freezing cold! Cooper sounds like a trooper!

  11. Harriet permalink
    July 18, 2015 9:58 am

    Your blog brought a big smile to my face, I sure share dislike of heat and humidity, each card is wonderful, grandkids…cute as can be, dog looks like a real pal. In other words, I enjoyed every photo and sentence today. Thank you.

  12. Debbie permalink
    July 18, 2015 10:01 am

    Happy Saturday! As always, you are my first stop on the computer come Saturday morning. I look forward to your cards, but more so the commentary on life. You always make me laugh. Thanks…

  13. July 18, 2015 10:04 am

    What beautiful cards!! I love all the coloring you did and I so can relate about heat. I am partial to colder weather myself, as long as there is NO SNOW!! Your grand babies are adorable!!

  14. July 18, 2015 10:09 am

    Wonderful cards Judy…love the stories too! Hot, muggy weather – okay to whine….cold, icy weather – also okay to whine! There are other times of the year when we don’t whine – LOL!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  15. Cathy P in AZ permalink
    July 18, 2015 11:01 am

    Beautiful cards, precious grand babies and as always, I love to see what Cooper is up to! Your yard is gorgeous in spite of those darn petunias! I am an Arizona native who has lived through many summers – I can honestly say I will take the ‘dry heat’ over high humidity any day, any season anywhere else. 😎 But our yards require a bit more water than yours to stay green! Love spending Saturday mornings with you, Judy!

  16. Debra permalink
    July 18, 2015 11:57 am

    Always enjoy your posts and I think they’re as important as the product and the projects too! You have great stories and I always enjoy reading what you’ve been up to. Adorable grandkids and I’m sure you totally enjoy them! Great cards too!

  17. mjmarmo permalink
    July 18, 2015 3:40 pm

    Haha – my daughter is living in Phoenix where we have learned about dry heat. We live in Michigan where we have had more than our share of humidity. I think whining about it is perfectly acceptable!

  18. July 18, 2015 4:08 pm

    Oh I did laugh out loud reading the kite story–I can just see you, Judy! What a fun/special thing to do at his wedding reception. My petunias look like that, too, & I do water them! I think they’re whining with us–LOL! Oregon is super hot this year, but at least we don’t have much humidity. Darling cards & you should enter the cute fox card at City Crafter Challenge Blog. A big pat on the head for Cooper!

  19. bdengler4 permalink
    July 18, 2015 9:00 pm

    Delightful, fun post, Judy! First of all, I love all your cards! Such beautiful work! And we wouldn’t whine about the weather, EVER, if it was just 75 degrees, sunny and dry all the time, right? Lol! Love and miss you! ♥

  20. bdengler4 permalink
    July 18, 2015 9:01 pm

    Oops! Forgot to mention the grand kids! They are both so adorable!!!

  21. July 19, 2015 9:28 am

    Another wonderful Saturday with the Scissor Raconteur (that’s what I call you). And, we readers, get the added benefit of seeing beautifully executed works of art. Your cards all are beautiful. And the stories are always entertaining. Then there is Cooper, who delights me. Today, we even got a Grandbaby update…precious but growing a little fast, aren’t they? To top it off, a comment from a husband who always keeps us honest.

  22. alexandra s.m. permalink
    July 19, 2015 4:35 pm

    Oh my Judy! You did it again! What a brilliant post indeed!
    I just love each of your cards and the sweet pictures you so kindly share with us 😉
    a thousand thanks!

  23. Judy Anderson permalink
    July 24, 2015 4:54 pm

    Hi I enjoyed reading your story. I liked your example of stamp cards that you posted it. I like a girl sits on a bench with gate and I couldn’t find stamp of girl sits .. It’s not on wet and wild stamp.. Maybe error.. Please help me find it for I would like to order it

    Judy A

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

