Skip to content

Fun Friday Feature

November 20, 2015

You never know when we just might celebrate “TGIF” with a special “Fun Friday” feature. Today we kick things off by welcoming a fabulous friend to share her incredible creativity.  (And don’t worry, we’ll be back next week with more ‘stamping the seasons’.)

fabulous-friends-banner

Welcome, Virginia Lu! We are delighted to share your beautiful stamping and die cutting today. Take it away…

pic

Hello, Penny Black friends! I am so honored to be invited to share my Penny Black projects with you here today. I am loving the Winter release so much! Each time I play with the Penny Black stamps, I get so much satisfaction from it. The stamp designs are so detailed and intricate. You really can’t do them wrong! I often end up making cards that I absolutely love! The best thing about Penny Black stamps is that you can achieve great depth and textures just by inking them up.

virginia

This card is nearly one layer. First I stamped the image Berry Bevy in brown, then in VersaMark ink, and clear embossed it. I purposely stamped it a bit offset and let the brown come through. Using the emboss resist technique, I applied Ripe Persimmon and Fossilized Amber inks in one direction (move upward from the very bottom). I then stamped the sentiment. For the final touches, I adhered sequins and added gold twine. To complete the design, I added Pico Embellisher (white) to the berries to enhance the snowy effect.

virginia2

Download complete supplies and instructions HERE.

virginia3

It is always a plus to have stamp and die cut combo. Sometimes I don’t see much of a point to get the die because you can fussy-cut them. BUT, in this case, it is so worth getting the die with the stamp combo (Berry Cluster and Berry Merry Christmas).

First, I stamped the background with Khaki Ink. I then made a few die cut pieces. I adhered 3 pieces together and worked on the inking of the berries and branch. I colored them with Spectrum Aqua Markers. I lightly brushed the edges with white chalk ink and let them dry. For the snowy effect in the background, I applied white embossing paste through a stencil and added sequins. Love that dreamy winter scene!

virgini4

Download complete supplies and instructions HERE.

 I hope that you enjoy my guest post here. As you can tell, I thoroughly enjoyed myself creating these wintery cards. Thank you for stopping by!

post-dividing-line1

Thank YOU for stopping by, Virginia! And that’s not all, you can find even more Penny Black creations on Virginia’s inspiring blog. Here’s a few links to get you started:

Monthly Stamp Study: Four Cards Featuring 40-415 Full Bloom

A Die Cutting Card worth Chirping About

One-Layer with a WOW Factor

Gentle Whisper Two Ways

post-dividing-line1

And guess what? The Friday fabulousness continues!

birgit-banner

“Like” our page on Facebook for exclusive inspiration by Birgit Edblom!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

 

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2015 3:15 am

    Both of these are wonderful! xxx

  2. Jan D., FL permalink
    November 20, 2015 5:06 am

    Your cards are beautiful. I’ve been wanting to try the technique you used on the first one with the stamping in color and in Versamark and then embossing. So pretty. The sequins add a very nice touch, too. BRAVO!!!

  3. November 20, 2015 5:17 am

    Your cards are STUNNING, Virginia!!!! I was SO IMPRESSED with your style & the beauty of your cards, I HAD TO go check out your blog too!!! WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOOOOVE IT!!! THANK YOU for sharing with us!!! 😉

  4. Susan Roberts permalink
    November 20, 2015 6:25 am

    Hurray for Virginia! Always love her cards and these two are so pretty.

  5. Carol / creatingincolors permalink
    November 20, 2015 6:36 am

    Beautiful cards! They just pulled me right in at first glance!

  6. mjmarmo permalink
    November 20, 2015 7:31 am

    Such gorgeous cards!

  7. alexandra s.m. permalink
    November 20, 2015 7:40 am

    Love Virginia’s work!! so beautiful, out of the box and inspiring!
    Thank you~

  8. November 20, 2015 8:16 am

    STUNNING cards, Virginia!! Love!

  9. November 20, 2015 9:55 am

    Lovely cards, Virginia! So much interest & yet nearly flat for mailing–wonderful inspiration!

  10. quilterlin permalink
    November 20, 2015 11:29 am

    I love cards like these for Christmas, celebrating the beauty of nature! Well done, Virginia!!

  11. Marisela Delgado permalink
    November 20, 2015 1:30 pm

    Hola, Virginia! I am finally able to message you and tell you how much I enjoy your blog posts and your beautiful cards. Your cards are simply amazing. I don’t own a Misti, but you seem to enjoy it so much. You have a great blog and I love how you share your blessed life and family adventures with us. Thanks for such great inspiration. Your friend in San Antonio, Texas, Marisela

  12. barbara lassiter permalink
    November 20, 2015 1:31 pm

    Beautiful cards. Thanks for sharing and for the great inspiration. I have the Berry Merry stamp set, but not the die. Two of my favorite cards that I’ve created this year use this stamp. You’ve inspired me to create another.

  13. Virginia permalink
    November 20, 2015 2:02 pm

    Lovely Cards. You are very gifted

  14. November 20, 2015 2:05 pm

    Virginia certainly knows how to put together a card. Her use of color and texture makes these products sing. Both these cards are exquisite.

  15. Miriam Prantner permalink
    November 20, 2015 2:37 pm

    Wonderful cards, I adore the die in the second card!

  16. November 20, 2015 3:32 pm

    yay Virginia for guest designing.. your cards are amazing.. so creative and gorgeous blend of color..

  17. Harriet permalink
    November 20, 2015 3:59 pm

    Penny Black is my favorite stamp company and Virginia has done you proud with her lovely cards.

  18. Linda Baker permalink
    November 20, 2015 4:52 pm

    Love the cards and Virginia!

  19. November 20, 2015 7:37 pm

    I love Virginia’s techniques to highlight those wonderful stamps and dies! Both cards are so gorgeous with their colors and texture!

  20. Karen Sizemore permalink
    November 20, 2015 8:22 pm

    Vicky P. Sent me; I LOVED the Christmas cards she made using your stamps. I’m sorry, but I didn’t know you were “out there.” So, now that I do, I’m very excited to see your full line!! I’d love to be added to your give away list for the $25 toward your products. My name is Karen Sizemore; my email is kdbham@bellsouth.net. I live in Alabama, USA…. Thank u!!! 💜

  21. Laurie DiGregorio permalink
    November 21, 2015 9:43 am

    The Penny Black stamps are always so beautifully detailed, and Virginia’s wonderful coloring techniques show off the stunning artwork! Such beautiful cards!

  22. May 4, 2016 7:42 am

    Stunning cards. Only just discovered them. Have already ordered the stamps and die…

Leave a Reply

