Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

January 16, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

I am so happy to be here on the Penny Black blog, a warm and cozy place on a cold January day. It looks like the holiday decorations are put away, the mess from the New Year’s party is cleaned up (mostly) and the brand new calendar is in place with reminders of things to come.

Did anyone else have trouble knowing what day of the week it was over the holidays? Every day felt like a Sunday to me. I was so confused about what day it was that I called to schedule a haircut and asked for a Friday appointment.

There was a slight hesitation and then my sweet hair dresser said, “Well, I could work you in on Saturday.” “Great, said I”, not realizing that I had asked to have an appointment on New Year’s Day. She was very kind when I saw her that Saturday and pretended that it could have happened to anyone.

January: named for Janus, the Roman god of beginnings and transitions. Myth has it Janus could see ahead to the future as well as looking back at the past. January is a perfect time to do both. It is also a great time for resolutions, reorganizing, and new beginnings.

It is also a great time to enjoy Penny Black’s new release Love Always. While this new release is full of hearts and flowers perfect for making Valentines, the dies and stamps are versatile enough for sending love and kindness throughout the year: birthdays, anniversaries, thinking of you, weddings, encouragement and get well.

1

Penny Black mice are the only mice I love! I stamped and embossed the Letter Background in white on a red heart and added a layer featuring the two adorable mice from Critter Love who are about to mail themselves off on Valentine’s Day. That branch of blooming hearts aptly named Love is Growing adds detail and texture. I can’t wait to use it all year long.

2

Love Always means any time, any season. Here’s Mimi having a happy summer day sending love with butterflies and flowers. This image of Mimi is from the transparent set Together where you can find more sweet images that remind us of warm and sunny days. Mimi is sending great big love using the die True Love.

3

How fun to combine the Triple Love die with a kitty from the Critter Love transparent set. How easy it would be to make multiple Valentines using that die. I see so much potential with the three different “love” fonts, so snippable to be used in various ways on a card.

Well, before we look forward let’s take a moment to look back at some Christmas photos:

3items

With temperatures in the 70’s, Mr. RWS was able to enjoy his book on the patio on Christmas Eve. (I was in the kitchen, making some Christmas magic.) It was just the two of us, but we enjoyed turkey dinner with all the trimmings and ate in the dining room. We hardly noticed the torrential rains that lasted all Christmas day. Cooper barely tolerated his little top hat, but loved opening boxes to find his new toys and a new collar.

Wisdom found on Facebook: “The hardest part of any project is getting started.”

Once I cleared the living room of the tree and all the decorations, it was time to get started on the resolutions I made for the new year. My resolutions all have their origin in the amount of guilt I carry about the situation they are meant to resolve. First of all, is the closet in the craft room. I’ve avoided doing anything about that disaster because I really didn’t know how to start.

So, remembering the Facebook wisdom, I just started! I grabbed containers and stamps and paper pads and just pulled them out of the closet and into the room. I packed wood block stamps into a large plastic tote and realized one tote would not be enough for my 15 year collection. I emptied plastic containers, reorganized the survivors and then cleaned up the mess in the middle of the room. I haven’t finished purging the stamps but it’s a great start. Time to buy more totes!

4

Work in progress.

5

Room to grow! I’m sure it won’t be long before the shelves are full again.

Next project: clothes closets! From past experience I realize I cannot purge my closet of all the unwanted, unworn clothes in one attempt. I purge the easy-to- part-with items on the first attempt. A few days later, I go through everything again and lo and behold, find more items I haven’t worn in years but finally realize I can live without them. And the third time might seem like it would be the most difficult, but by this time I have hardened my heart and am able to part with those items I’ve been holding onto for sentimental reasons. After three times through the closet over the course of a week, I emptied 65 hangers. Sadly, the closet still looks full.

Mr. RWS was inspired by my hard work and decided to organize his closet, too. Because his wife occupies more than half of the walk in closet, he has a free standing closet out in the garage where he keeps his out of season clothes. He quickly removed all the short sleeved items from the indoor closet and replaced them with the long sleeved items from his garage closet. Total amount invested in project: less than ten minutes. Mr. RWS has not accumulated clothes he does not wear and has no sentimental attachment to any of them. I might add, he also does not have clothing in three different sizes.

9

This cute and sweet little girl is from the mini set Goodness. I deleted her big lollipop in order to add the tic tac toe image from the Happy Hearts transparent set which also includes several heart designs along with musical notes and a tiny heart border. Seriously, I think it could be called a Valentine-making kit! It is also a set you could depend on for anniversaries and weddings, too.

10

Maybe it was Santa, maybe it was an Elf on the Shelf, but someone must have told Penny Black that I was in the mood for coloring little girl images. This sweetie is from the mini set XOXO and I’ve colored and fussy cut her and placed her on the Polaroid die cut trimmed with that amazing Love is Growing diecut. How perfect this little set will be for birthdays and other occasions when sending love is needed.

11

When you have grown tired of cold and dreary winter, the sweet image in the mini set Summer Love will help you look forward to the blue-sky days of summer clouds and ice cream cones. I had fun mixing patterned paper from the Wintertime Designer Paper Pad. It’s not just for wintertime, it seems. I couldn’t help myself: I had to add the sunny yellow Love Always heart border with the hugs and kisses message embossed.

Happily, my brand new calendar includes a year full of Saturdays and I am excited that I will be sharing some of those with all of you here at the Penny Black blog. I am looking forward to more inspiration and new Penny Black products throughout the year. I am also starting out this year with brand new scissors and the package states they have a full lifetime warranty. However, the manufacturer also states that they “shall in no event be liable for any incidental or consequential damages”. It sounds like any damage caused by running with scissors is not covered under their warranty.

I just noticed it’s time to clean up and then bundle up and be gone until next time. I think I will finish the New Year’s party cleanup before I leave. Ahhhh, the memories! Jill and Elizabeth were singing holiday songs while Heather played the piano. Cathy was busy finishing up a few projects but made sure everyone had snacks and drinks. Mimi and Peet were setting things up for a game of charades (Now, that was an interesting game!) Alexandra had her camera out, already planning her New Year scrap book layout. Angela sent each of us home with our very own portrait: so much better than a photo booth! A very good time was had by all.

Cooper and I were happy to have been invited and we really enjoyed ourselves. However, we stayed up way past our bedtime.

12

This is poor Cooper, worn out from the partying. It’s official: that is no longer my blanket.

Happy New Year everyone. May this be a year of good health, good friendships and all good news. Thank you for setting aside some of your time to join me on the Penny Black blog. I especially thank you for the lovely comments you leave for me.   Don’t forget to share your Penny Black creations in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery. I love seeing how you use the fabulous Penny Black stamps and dies.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

 

28 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2016 12:27 am

    What a beautiful collection of cards, love all these little cuties you have coloured up. All the cards are finished to perfection.

  2. dawnnz permalink
    January 16, 2016 12:56 am

    A amazing array of card Judy. Love all those cute stamps from Penny Black. And what fabulous dies. Cooper looks so settled on his rug. Hope your New Year is perfect.

  3. January 16, 2016 4:14 am

    I know my Saturday will be great when it begins with Runs With Scissors. I feel like I have known you forever. I can definitely relate to the problem of getting rid of clothes not worn in ages. I need to bite the bullet and toss a bunch of clothes I haven’t worn in years. You have inspired me. And I need to tackle my craft room, too. It looks like a bomb exploded! All of your cards are adorable. I am having a difficult time choosing a favorite. So glad to see Cooper has a “new” cuddly blanket. He looks pretty comfy!! Happy New Year!

  4. dlweldon permalink
    January 16, 2016 5:15 am

    I really look forward to a Runs With Scissors blog posting on a Saturday morning. Ilove to see your card creations, but I also like your
    conversational style of writing. Seems like I sit down over breakfast and have a silent conversation with an old friend. I couldn’t agree more with you on that Facebook post. I’ve been in mojo purgatory, trying to get it back. But maybe if I just pull out my stuff and start to play, something may show up on Flickr. 🙂
    Thank you for sharing parts of your life, and your wonderful talent. Hope to “see” you next week.

  5. Jan D., FL permalink
    January 16, 2016 5:54 am

    Morning and Happy New Year to you, too! Great cards and post today…always so fun hearing about your world. I agree with you that the PB stamps seem to be timeless…not just good for one holiday or occasion…I love that. Never seem to go out of style…I have a number of them and never get tired of them. Well, give a hug to Cooper….he’s so cute….wish I could sleep like that. Have a good day…..

  6. Sandy S. permalink
    January 16, 2016 6:45 am

    I looked up to see if anyone else had commented on the adorable girl’s grey hair. Nope…only me? I got such a kick out of that! I’m going to re-look at all my little girl images and consider giving some of them grey hair.

    • judka permalink
      January 16, 2016 7:16 am

      Sandy, thanks for noticing!! I was inspired by someone else, I’m sure, and I’m glad it inspired you. That is the joy of this hobby of ours! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  7. mjmarmo permalink
    January 16, 2016 7:30 am

    Such beautiful cards! Sounds like a good holiday season. I should attack my clothes closet like you did.

  8. Donna Whitten permalink
    January 16, 2016 7:31 am

    Love your pretty cards! Penny Black products are awesome. Enjoyed your post, sounds a lot like my life! Thanks for sharing.

  9. quilterlin permalink
    January 16, 2016 7:48 am

    Always love to read your posts, Judy! Love all your cards and enjoyed hearing about your Holidays. Thanks for the reminder – I really have to do something about my closets, too! Sending you hugs!

  10. Sue CD permalink
    January 16, 2016 8:00 am

    A Runs with Scissors blog post just puts a smile on my face all day. Thanks for that Judy. All the best wishes for you, Mr. RWS and Cooper for 2016. Oh boy, multiple size clothes are the bane of my closet. I have the “be prepared for every weight” syndrome – HA! I’m inspired to get some of these stamps after seeing your delightful cards.

  11. Sue permalink
    January 16, 2016 8:24 am

    What a wonderful post and so many great ideas. I am new to the blog and look forward to Saturdays now! (Besides having a whole day to create!)

    • judka permalink
      January 16, 2016 8:48 am

      So glad you found the Penny Black blog, Sue. There’s something to look forward to EVERY day here. Enjoy your Saturday!

  12. Debra permalink
    January 16, 2016 8:32 am

    Always enjoy your posts and look firward to hearing what has been occupying your time. Looks like we’ve been doing similar things this time! January seems to be the month to reorganize. I started to tackle my basement and am quite pleased with my efforts so far. Quite rewarding. Glad to hear you and Mr RWS and Cooper too had a great Christmas and New Years. Wishing you all the best fir the new year!

  13. January 16, 2016 9:01 am

    Perfect start to my day–coffee, my sister’s homemade biscotti & Runs With Scissors! I could have written a lot of this post, except my closets are still in the before situation! I did get as far as asking hubby if he’d help me add shelves to replace the hanging space in my craft closet & he said yes! Now to begin the purging! Thanks for the tip last time about the Costco set of totes–I got them! Love seeing Cooper, of course–Fritz is currently next to hubby with his head on my pillow–not at all spoiled! Terrific cards with one of my favorite PB releases so far–especially the dies! I really love how you embossed & used the sweet border in the last card & I have the dp in the 5th one–need to use it! Beautiful coloring which I always admire! Wishing you a very happy 2016, Judy!

  14. barbara lassiter permalink
    January 16, 2016 9:11 am

    Happy New Year to you and your family! I’m glad that RWS is set for another year and will look for your Saturday posts with your adventures and sometimes, misadventures! And of course, with all your beautiful art work that you share with us. Thanks to Penny Black for their amazing products, an amazing blog and an amazing design team.

  15. Friala permalink
    January 16, 2016 9:50 am

    The cards are always lovely, but there is too much cuteness.

  16. January 16, 2016 10:27 am

    Such sweet cards….makes you smile and sigh! Thanks for sharing Judy…always a pleasure to read your postings!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  17. Sheri K permalink
    January 16, 2016 10:56 am

    Great new projects and gray haired little girl! I’m inspired by your organization–I have done some of that already, am now thinking I need to replace some of my plastic cart with a real wooden cart that will hold more stuff and be easier to access. I’d love to join in your party that tired out poor Cooper, my NY’s eve was less than exciting!

  18. January 16, 2016 11:28 am

    Love your blogs. It sounds like your New Year resolutions are a duplicate of mine except you have already started and I don’t know how to get my husband on board with cleaning his closet. Good luck to all of us and Happy New Year.

  19. January 16, 2016 11:38 am

    Delighted you’re back and with such a great starte cleaning out your closets. When your done there hop on over to my place to get some practice for the next time your clean your closets. Your welcome. These cards you made are so sweet they made my teeth ache. Love your coloring on those images. Cooper appears to commandeer items easily but no one cares because he’s so cute.

  20. Marilyn Valadez permalink
    January 16, 2016 12:06 pm

    Your commentary inspired me to do some cleaning out of closets, under beds, and the garage that has collected too much of my stamping stuff. I cleaned out clothes a few years ago and took some of the good things to a second hand shop down the street. Made a few bucks and bought some new stamping stuff…defeated the purpose…i think! LOL Its time I did some serious purging again. Some to the second hand store and some to Good Will. I can get rid of clothes, shoes and handbags easier than stamping stuff. Cannot part with any of my Penny Black stamps…no matter how old they are. They are like collectors items to me.

    Your cute cards and that adorable puppy Cooper, are a bright spot on Saturday mornings for me! Thanks for a lovely start to the New Year, Judy!!

  21. DebbieP permalink
    January 16, 2016 12:22 pm

    I love when my Saturday begins with Runs with Scissors! Thank you for sharing your talents with us, and inspiring me to work on my organization! My closet(s) are overdue for a serious purge. I love all of your cards, especially the one with the grey-haired girl. I didn’t notice until another reader commented – I would not make a good witness now would I? Glad you, Mr. RWS and Cooper are off to a great start to the new year. Wishing you all many blessings ahead….

  22. donna mikasa permalink
    January 16, 2016 5:04 pm

    Glad to have you back, Judy! Love your cards as always and seeing all your organizing makes me feel guilty! I need to destash and declutter badly but I just can’t part with some of my woodblocks. And I love that pic of Cooper–he blends in so nicely with that blanket!

  23. alexandra s.m. permalink
    January 17, 2016 9:05 am

    Welcome Back Judy!
    Thank you for your wonderful post, pictures and your amazing cards!
    You are such an inspiration in so many ways 😉
    xx

  24. January 17, 2016 9:48 am

    Beautiful,beautiful cards! Love all the stamps!

  25. January 29, 2016 9:38 pm

    I simply love your messages – and your cards. I hope you are all well. Nasha the Scottie says HI to Cooper. How’s his health?

  26. Joan Reed permalink
    February 12, 2016 10:55 am

    Looks like some great new stamps and dies coming our way. THINK SPRING.

Leave a Reply

