Skip to content

Runs with LOVING Scissors

February 13, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, Penny Black friends. Here we are, the eve of Valentine’s Day. I hope your day includes love and friendship and a Valentine or two.

I’ve been sorting and organizing a lifetime collection of photos lately. That is easily said, not so easily accomplished. Every picture is a memory. Included in the large totes of photos are report cards, kids’ artwork, newspaper clippings, greeting cards and even a few baby outfits. Everything reminded me of the love that a family shares.

1

I gathered a few items and arranged them in this little collage. There’s a little outfit from one of the babies; a newspaper article about my return to college as a senior citizen; a song written for me by Mr. RWS, a greeting card from a special friend and one from my children…and letters. One of the letters is from a son in college; one from a son in Navy boot camp; and one from the daughter living in Amsterdam for her job. I was thrilled to find these treasures and repack them in a more loving way.

For this week’s cards I used stamps and dies from Penny Black’s Love Always release. Some of them are pure Valentines and others are suitable for any loving occasion.

2b

These Fancy Heart cards are the same, but different. The heart on the left card is the positive heart diecut; the card on the right is composed of the little pieces that are normally discarded (or scattered on your craft room floor). Because I put double sided crafting tape on the back of the red paper, the little pieces stuck to the adhesive and formed their own pattern. And see the little bows with a pearl? I bought those, but I noticed in the sneak peek of the new release So Special , that soon there will be a Penny Black die, Bow Set, for making our own sweet 3-D bows.

4

For this card, I stamped and embossed in gold the rose image from the All Abloom transparent set. I layered it onto the Letter Background, also embossed in gold and placed it all onto the card base which was diecut from the Frame and Pattern die set.

5

I used the same stamps, All Abloom and Letter Background but gave the card a different look by using deep colors for my emboss resist technique background. I added the butterfly from the Flutters die set. That rose is at home with any style.

Chapter 3 More Problems with Liquids

 At last! After two weeks of practicing living in our fifth wheel trailer it was time to hit the road. Mr. RWS’s brother and his wife had finally closed on their home and, as planned, they would head to Green Bay from their location and we from ours. The plan was to meet the third Jung brother and his wife, who lived in Green Bay, at a gas station and mini mart along our route for a brief, informal Jung family reunion.

It could not have gone better! The two RV’s arrived at about the same time and we spent an hour over coffee and donuts visiting and catching up. The only liquid problem was a spilled cup of coffee.

When it is time to say good-bye in the Jung family, the good-byes are quick: there is no lingering, no last minute thoughts or questions. Somebody says “good-bye” and the party is over. Before I realized it, we were on the road again!

Our plan was to spend six weeks traveling together, heading for New England and journeying down the east coast. R was in charge of planning our itinerary as he was the one who enjoyed doing that and had researched the points of interest. I only requested that we not travel through Chicago, knowing the heavy traffic would terrify me.

The alternate route R selected to avoid Chicago was through Montreal! Why I believed that driving through a metropolitan area with a population of more than 3 million would be less stressful than driving through Chicago, I don’t know. Obviously, I was woefully ignorant of Montreal and its traffic.

The gods were not kind to this little caravan. The weather turned from pleasant to stormy as we began our trip through the city. We found ourselves on a multi-multi-lane highway which was undergoing construction and involved lane zig zagging and other construction challenges. And, dear reader, it was not just raining; it was a build-an-ark deluge! Why Mr. RWS did not just pull over and push me out of the truck, I will never know. It was certainly justified. In my terror, I cried, I screamed. I ranted and raved at the idea I believed it would be easier to go through Montreal. I think I stopped breathing. Our walkie-talkies were no longer functioning so we were unable to communicate with R and S and had no idea how they were managing. It became “every man for himself” time and we abandoned all efforts to reunite. Eventually we spotted the exit sign to Vermont and gratefully headed for the nearby McDonald’s.

We felt guilty that we were safe and sound and were making no effort to search for our traveling companions. And then we looked up and there they were, entering just minutes later. They, too, had adopted the “every man for himself” plan and were feeling just as guilty as they entered the restaurant. It was our second happy Jung reunion of the trip.

It was now time to refuel the trucks. After the harrowing trip through Montreal, I was surprised Mr. RWS could even function, much less navigate through a gas station and align the truck with the diesel pump. And he almost was successful! Had it not been for the cement post that jumped out at him, we would have escaped unscathed. Sadly, in the contest between the aluminum siding on our RV and the cement post, the post won! Crunch! We now had a great big dent in the middle of the RV.

That’s what insurance is for, we said. Not so bad, we said. We will take care of repairs later, we said. Just glad to be alive, we said.

The day ended with we little innocents having a gourmet dinner cooked just for us in a tiny little restaurant that was planning to close for the day, but took pity on some tired travelers and fed us. We spent a couple of lovely days parked in beautiful Vermont.

Next stop: Maine and a dumping station. It was time to empty the black tanks. R successfully completed the chore with his trailer and next it was our turn. Mr. RWS pulled open the valve and yes, black water was flowing from the hose into the connection to the drain. But wait! Why is black water flowing from many points under the trailer onto the cement and not through the hose? Looks like more trouble with liquids.

It seems when the cement post attacked our trailer, it wasn’t just cosmetic damage. The impact damaged the valve and the black water was leaking through the insulation and lining under our trailer. I am using the term black water, but in real life this is sewage!

We let everything drain as much as it could, cleaned the area as best we could and proceeded to pull into our sites. As luck would have it, our cute little second hand fifth wheel was assigned a site next to a monstrous, very expensive-looking motor home. I am sad to say we didn’t get to know our neighbors because once the wind shifted and the odor from our trailer reached their very expensive windows, they packed up and left.

We located a trailer repair business in Bar Harbor (Bah Habah, according to the Welcome sign) and we set up an appointment for the next day. However, we had to clean up the mess and pull the insulation before they would work on repairs. Fair enough.

My husband knew it was up to him to be the one to go under the trailer and pull out the mess. His brother stayed out of harm’s way (splashing liquids) but handed everything to me to put in big black garbage bags. When the last of the mess was bagged up, there was just room enough in the last garbage bag for Mr. RWS’s clothes.

Payment for help received was a lobster dinner in town. The Jung family has hearty appetites and all memory of black water was erased.

The next day the trailer repair people made everything good as new, installing a brand new lining and accepting our $500 payment. It was turning into a very expensive trip, but we were grateful to know that all problems with liquids were behind us.

TO BE CONTINUED:

6

I couldn’t wait to create a card using this image from the Together transparent set and a palette of earth tones. What a happy card this would be for any little girl.

7

I have never been adept at coloring true-to-life owls. But this happy owl couple from the Critter Love set looked like they wouldn’t mind a bit of non-traditional coloring. I created the background with my Koi watercolors, using lots of water. I discovered that I could control the intensity of the color by blotting excess water with a paper towel. While this image would be darling for a Valentine, it is also at home on a smile card!

8

Once I had the watercolors on my desk and felt comfortable with my blotting technique, I made one more Valentine using this image from the Love and Hugs transparent set. I love the simplicity of it and the texture of my watercolor paper.

9

If it’s all about love, then it is all about Cooper! Cooper apologizes for his shaggy appearance. His trip to the groomer was canceled due to snow this morning.

Just enough time left for one of those quick Jung family good-byes. Happy Valentine’s Day! See you at the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black Supplies:

 

 

 

 

48 Comments leave one →
  1. lacyquilter permalink
    February 13, 2016 12:16 am

    Loving all the samples.

  2. Kathy Klick permalink
    February 13, 2016 12:23 am

    Love your little dog.

  3. donna mikasa permalink
    February 13, 2016 12:25 am

    I love your collage, and I’m intrigued with that newspaper article, you little newsmaker!! Your watercoloring looks great and all your Valentine cards are gorgeous! And trim or no trim, Cooper looks so handsome! Hope you and Larry have a Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. February 13, 2016 1:01 am

    Beautiful cards and Cooper is a cutie! Lovin your RV installments!

  5. Lynette permalink
    February 13, 2016 1:02 am

    Love the fancy hearts cards…simple and elegant.

  6. Darlene D. permalink
    February 13, 2016 1:16 am

    Love your cards, but actually love reading your adventures…your quite the story teller!!! Can’t wait till next week to read the next chapter..lol…what a treat…cards, a story, and a cutie-pie dog…best blog ever!! Look forward to it every week!!…wouldn’t miss it!!

  7. Pat Gasko permalink
    February 13, 2016 1:29 am

    Great cards, love your story telling and look forward to the rest of the story. Cooper is so cute. You are so Multi Talented.

  8. February 13, 2016 3:04 am

    I have never been RVing but have a sister that does. She is not crafty but after telling her of your exploits, she is loving reading about your adventures. We really can’t wait for the next chapter. Your collage of memories is so sweet. Woo to the hoo for going back for your degree….at that age. You must have been a really hip grandma going to class with those younguns. 🙂 Loved your cards today. You are so creative in finding ways to use Valentines images for everyday use. Many hugs 🙂

  9. Maye M.L. permalink
    February 13, 2016 3:20 am

    Love the variety of your card designs, those owls are a hoot. Cheers, happy Valentine’s!

  10. February 13, 2016 3:24 am

    What a beautiful collection of cards, you have excelled. Sounds like a brilliant holiday and now how long do I have to wait till the next part of the story??? Was so into it then….. The end of part one what?? Cooper looks so good I cant believe he hasnt been groomed, does his wool make his eyes weep at all, looks so handsome.

  11. ,creatingincolors permalink
    February 13, 2016 3:46 am

    OMG your story of the RV on the road and the problems of liquids put all kinds of pictures in my head! Of course your cards – all beautiful as usual!

  12. Ruth G permalink
    February 13, 2016 4:02 am

    You really should write a book! It would fit nicely into the same vein as John Steinbck’s Travels with Charlie (his dog) and would be just as entertaining, I’m sure. I’m loving the RV saga.

  13. Diane J permalink
    February 13, 2016 5:01 am

    It is never good bye here. We will hear from you next week and the antics of the Jung family RVing! Can’t wait. Beautiful cards. Thanks for sharing.

  14. February 13, 2016 5:09 am

    Another entertaining, fun-for-coffee sipping tale of adventure my friend. [my black water is much better in my coffee mug;) ] Thanks for making my morning special!

  15. Mary W permalink
    February 13, 2016 5:11 am

    You are a very talented story teller and card maker.

  16. Jan D., FL permalink
    February 13, 2016 5:17 am

    Loved Chapter 3 and cannot wait for the next one. You are so entertaining in so many ways.

    Great cards today…Happy V. Day

  17. susannev2014 permalink
    February 13, 2016 6:38 am

    I love reading about your adventures! Especially today because you mentioned “beautiful Vermont”, where I live! Btw, the traffic in Montreal also stresses me out! Can’t wait for the next chapter!
    Your cards are fabulous, as always.
    And I love the cuddly look of Cooper!

  18. February 13, 2016 7:22 am

    Beautiful cards and I love hearing about your RV exploits!

  19. mjmarmo permalink
    February 13, 2016 7:35 am

    Wonderful cards! Your travel adventures were something! I would have been like you and am sure I have done that at some point.

  20. Carmen L permalink
    February 13, 2016 7:39 am

    Ahh your stories make me smile and your cards always make me want to create!! Beautiful and entertaining. Can’t get much better than that!

  21. j Tyler permalink
    February 13, 2016 8:10 am

    Please don’t ever give up your column, you are so inspiring and entertaining that I wish I didn’t have to wait a week in between visits with you. I absolutely adore your cards however Cooper is the STAR of this show. As you can see, we all love your family.

  22. karenajo permalink
    February 13, 2016 8:23 am

    Love your collage – very precious. Your cards as usual are spectacular !!! Thanks for the inspiration ! I am so enjoying your RV adventures – my Mr and I hope to be doing that in the near future and we know it will not be without incident. It is nice to know how others have survived !!!

  23. karenajo permalink
    February 13, 2016 8:24 am

    How could I forget Cooper – he is such a darling and I look forward to seeing him in each of your columns !!

  24. jan metcalf permalink
    February 13, 2016 8:26 am

    Your story is just as much fun as your cards!

  25. February 13, 2016 8:29 am

    HAPPY VALENTINES JUDY!!! LOOOOVE your stories too! SO ENTERTAINING! LOL Your cards are as FABULOUS as your stories! DON’T make me choose just one! 😉

  26. February 13, 2016 8:46 am

    Oh my goodness–if our RVing had begun like yours I’m quite sure we would not still be married! I’m loving your story, Judy! Gorgeous cards–love your wonderful variety–so inspiring! I always kind of hate taking Fritz for a haircut as I do love the fluffy look & Cooper wears it well! Amazing to have sun & near 60 in the PNW while the South had snow!

  27. February 13, 2016 8:55 am

    Now that I’ve been totally entertained and amused (which Im sure is inappropriate considering your dilemma) I can comment on your pretty cards. You’ve certainly got Valentine’s Day down cold and your watercoloring is really terrific. What else is terrific is the fact that you needn’t deal with ill behaved liquids as much. Cooper doesn’t appear to need grooming to me…he just looks adorable.

  28. barbara lassiter permalink
    February 13, 2016 9:00 am

    Your cards are sweet and cute and lovely. I especially love the two All Abloom cards and the watercolored owls and heart card! Your RV adventures are pretty amazing and entertaining for us now, but maybe at the time, not so much! 🙂 Love the continuing story that you write so well!

  29. February 13, 2016 9:24 am

    Just don’t drive thru any overhangs and get stuck….ask me how I know about this…LOL!
    Thanks for the great cards….glad you can smile about your trip -NOW.
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

    • judka permalink
      February 13, 2016 11:49 am

      Oh, Jan! That we did not do. I am sorry that happened to you (if it did). Thanks for hanging in there with me.

  30. February 13, 2016 10:12 am

    Another post chock full of gorgeous projects!! Some day I hop I’ll grow up to crank out consistently beautiful cards like you!!

  31. Judy Stevens permalink
    February 13, 2016 10:35 am

    Cooper looks great! I love his shaggy look (Actually I wish my hair looked this good when it’s shaggy.).
    I also love the Fancy Heart cards. They are beautiful!

  32. DebbieP permalink
    February 13, 2016 10:49 am

    I always enjoy starting my Saturday by reading your column. I can’t believe you still have so many keepsakes after downsizing for the RV life. Which, by the way, seems like quite the adventure. It just makes me wish there was a book, so I didn’t have to wait for the next installment. Today’s cards are lovely as always. I hope to spend some time today in my craft room being creative. Thanks for the inspiration.

  33. Marilyn Valadez permalink
    February 13, 2016 11:45 am

    Love the trip down memory lane with you this morning, Judy! Without a sense of humor where would we be…that’s what I always say.

    Love your Adventure, and your very pretty cards this morning, waiting for another chapter of the RVing saga.

    Cooper is adorable, just look at that sweet face, and those soulful eyes, could it get any better! Life is good!Take care Judy, and hugs to all!

  34. February 13, 2016 3:05 pm

    Judy Jung you are a ‘hoot’! Your cards are fun! But your stories are down right hilarious! Perfect for a Saturday read!

  35. Judy B permalink
    February 13, 2016 4:12 pm

    I love your cards Judy. You have so many wonderful and different techniques that you share with us and I love it.

  36. Dianne Crowe permalink
    February 13, 2016 4:21 pm

    Great work Judy, always love your cards. Looking forward to the next instalment of your trip. Have a happy Valentines Day.

  37. Sheri K permalink
    February 13, 2016 5:35 pm

    Great story–love all the projects too!

  38. February 14, 2016 2:32 am

    Fabulous cards and Cooper is so cute!
    Kath x

  39. Kathleen Spaeth permalink
    February 14, 2016 12:44 pm

    Oh my goodness I don’t know whether to laugh with you or cry for you? We also RV, we pull a lovely 26 Foot Trailer with our Jeep Diesel Grand Cherokee, but thankfully we have never had troubles with a Concrete Post at a Gas Station. We once almost couldn’t drive between the Pumps and had to do a one sided wheelie to get around. Oh that was a bit nerve racking and hilarious after the fact!! Just be careful as to whether you decide to submit a claim to your RV Insurance Company. For us it is very hard to find many, we have only found one that Underwrites in Massachusetts, RV Insurance Companies. They do not take kindly to processing damage claims when you drive into something that you should have plainly seen! Sorry to have to state the obvious!! Also, there is usually a Deductible and then your Insurance Rates will go up during your Renewal. So be careful out there will yeah!!!

    • judka permalink
      February 14, 2016 4:10 pm

      Kathleen, thanks so much for visiting Runs with Scissors. We are no longer RV’ing and have firmly planted roots in a brick home with no wheels. The stories I am telling have gotten more humorous with time.

  40. February 14, 2016 2:22 pm

    I’ve enjoyed your post immensely Judy and your cards are so inspiring!
    Thank You and Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

  41. JoAnne Ferguson permalink
    February 14, 2016 6:08 pm

    You are an inspiration to us. Your cards are beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  42. Patt H. permalink
    February 14, 2016 6:53 pm

    Your cards are so inspiring for me! I always love every one of them. I’m really enjoying your RV life stories. I travel for 2 months every summer in our fifth wheel & struggle to find room for all my supplies. After all, How do I know just what inks & paper are needed 2 months down the road. (grin.) Love all the “liquid” stories!! Thanks for sharing.

  43. Davi permalink
    February 14, 2016 7:51 pm

    Your cards are Awesome Judy!!! I especially love the first love one! Your trip sounds pretty eventful!

  44. Betty L Swan permalink
    February 16, 2016 2:25 pm

    my husband and I also rv’d for some yeaars doing volunteer work part time. bridles and mountain roads were my breath holders! sorry to hear you have given it up. we met so many nice people and mostly had a good experience. Oh yes I love your cards and just hoping to learn to do a better job. really retired now at 85 Bettty

  45. February 16, 2016 5:27 pm

    Very much enjoying your RVing story, please keep it coming. I have some friends who have been doing this for a year, I will have to ask more about there adventures, they were boaters before so had some experience with living in small spaces and tanks, etc before taking off on land. Also, fantastic cards!!!

  46. February 21, 2016 4:10 pm

    The more I hear the more glad I am that we didn’t take the same path. My husband is not good with things that don’t work right. I’m glad it didn’t dampen your creativity because you have made some beautiful cards.

Leave a Reply

