Skip to content

Runs With Scissors… and MORE trouble with liquids!

March 12, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, my Penny Black friends. I was able to tip toe through the tulips today and hope spring is making its appearance in your part of the world. For my friends “down under” you must be anticipating autumn. It’s been a busy morning for me here at the Penny Black studio. I am working on using every stamp and die in the So Special release. Here are the cards I finished today:

1

I used my ink blender and Memento Luxe inks to apply color to watercolor paper and then placed the Gentle Whisper II die on the paper so that the colors landed where they were supposed to. I then added a little detail using watercolor paints. I created that background with more Luxe inks by sparsely inking the Letter Background stamp, spritzing it with water and then stamping lightly onto watercolor paper. Don’t you love the detail the Edger die adds? The sentiment dies in the So Special release come in a variety of fonts. Use the whole sentiment or single words.

2

I am working on improving my watercoloring. I painted Butterfly Charmer using a brush loaded with water and paint and then lightly blotting the image afterwards. I find this gives me more control over the depth of color. The sentiment from the transparent set Sentiment Collection was stamped on vellum and then stitched into place.

3

The Medallion die has a permanent place next to my die cutting machine. Perhaps “versatile” should be part of the name of this set. For those of us who struggle with masculine cards, this die will help solve that problem. I’ve added a little butterfly from the Flights of Fancy set and the sentiment is from the Special Thoughts transparent set.

You aren’t going to believe this:

 We have had “trouble with liquids” again. One would think the universe would realize we have paid our “liquid trouble” dues and would have mercy. Sadly, the past week has been very moist!

A week ago, thankfully after I was showered and dressed, the doorbell rang and an elderly gentleman introduced himself as a neighbor from up the street. He felt compelled to point out to me that there was water pouring from the water meter in our yard and from the water main across the street. I thanked him kindly and assured him I would be calling the Water Utility people.

Note: Some of you may remember the story of our “Crying Driveway” that I wrote about last October 17th.  After several months of “it’s your problem”, “No, it’s your problem”, a neighbor who is a management type at the Water Utility sent new people to check out our problem. Indeed, it was the city’s problem and it involved the water main across the street. It took a backhoe and at least five men who dug up a sidewalk and part of the road to solve the leaky driveway issue. They just removed the orange cones last week.

Well, the Water Utility men stopped by the afternoon my neighbor pointed out the leaky meter and diagnosed the problem as being a split hose in the underground sprinkler system. I asked how that was connected to the leaking water main across the street and he assured me it was coincidental. I was a bit skeptical but when Mr. RWS came home from his morning on the golf course he shut off the water to the sprinkler system and said he would see to the repair as soon as we needed to start watering the lawn again.

A day or so later we discovered a small puddle of water in the garage leading from the water heater. I checked the serial number on the heater and discovered that it had earned its retirement and we needed to think about buying a new one. The leak dried up in a day and we blissfully put the leak out of our minds.

Fast forward to last Sunday morning. Mr. and Mrs. RWS were cleaned up for church and went into the garage only to discover a waterfall type leak coming from the top of the water heater. This was not subtle. Think volcano with water instead of lava. What to do? Church or no church? Call a plumber on Sunday? Thankfully Mr. RWS has many tools and he used a variety of them attempting to slow down the pouring water. He used only Sunday language. We discovered water was even pouring out of a vent pipe on the side of the garage.   It was water, water everywhere.

We decided to let it just pour its little heart out and left for church. Four blocks later we realized that soon the water would be pouring out of the garage and down the driveway and the neighbors would be rightly concerned. So back we went to see if we could stop the flow entirely. This time Mr. RWS opened the little valve at the bottom of the heater and let the water pour out faster and finally the water tank was empty.

Back we went, into the car and made it to church only five minutes late. There was no sneaking in, however, as we always sit in the front pew. The pastor was still greeting the congregation so our late entry was very much noted. I almost started to explain why we were late and a little damp around the edges.

The first item on the agenda when we arrived home from church was a call to the Water Utility. It seemed to me that when they fixed the leak in the driveway, they blocked off the escape route the water had from the main across the street. The next obstacle was our sprinkler system hose and when Mr. RWS cut that avenue off, that high pressure water found its way to our hot water heater and blew its little head off.

The Water Utility person agreed that the problem was too much water pressure to our house and I suggested to him that it sounded like that would be their problem. “No, no, no”, says he. “You need a pressure regulator on your water line. Normal pressure is 50psi or so and your home is at 80psi.” We have too many psi’s! Who knew? Why has this never been a problem in the ten years we’ve lived here? Why did no one mention “water regulator” after our driveway water disaster?

After a trip to the home improvement store and hundreds of dollars letter, we are now at the mercy of the hot water heater installer to give us a call (they have two business days) to make an appointment to come to the house to see what he needs to install a new heater, and then set a time and date for the install. Oh, and he does not install the regulators; that requires a separate contractor. I am hoping the company that repairs the sprinkler system knows how to install regulators.

It was all so much easier when we could just jack up the front of the trailer and let the water run out the back. I never thought I would say that.

4

I’ve combined the Your Day, Layered Flower and Edger dies to assemble this card and added a touch of green from the Leaves die set. I cut two of the flowers, one from the same blue print from the Wintertime paper pad as the sentiment and one from white. I then alternated colors when assembling.

5

How cute are these pillow boxes? I used the Pillow Box die set including the tiny button die that comes with it. I can’t wait to use that ice cream cone on a birthday card.   I decorated the striped box using the Bow Set and the Circle Tags set. Love that little button decorating the center of the bow. My head is tossing around ideas for Easter themed decorations and filling the boxes with jelly beans.

6

This cutie is from the Easter Parade transparent set and is only one of several adorable, fun-to-color images. I found coloring with light colors very relaxing and didn’t worry about shading or lighting or any technical issue. The Love is Growing diecut makes the card even sweeter and adds texture.

7

He hates this collar and tie as much as it shows in this photo. Guess we will let Cooper go casual for Easter. I don’t understand how some dogs love dressing up but Cooper prefers his birthday suit.

Mr. RWS and I have decided we need to invest in some rubber boots. We have great concerns about where the next surge of water pressure will attack. I have visions of one of us being blown out of the shower some day. Or the dishwasher exploding. Or the washing machine flying through the kitchen window. I sure hope those regulators work; we bought the expensive ones.

I only have time for a quick good bye and a hearty thank you for all your enthusiastic, encouraging and supportive comments over the course of the RV saga. I was certain I had no more “trouble with liquid” stories to tell, but isn’t that the way life happens? Please share your lovely work in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery. In between fix-it chores at home, I love to browse the Gallery.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2016 12:59 am

    I am so glad you’re continuing your writing. I enjoyed the saga of your RV adventures and dreaded the time they would be over. I look forward to reading your comments and “stories”. Your writing style is very descriptive and I can almost see everything you describe. Keep writing. You’re doing GREAT. Love it.

  2. Marliese Zimmerman permalink
    March 12, 2016 4:28 am

    Sorry that you’re having all these liquid problems, but I must say, I enjoy reading about it. LOVE your cards.

  3. Mary W permalink
    March 12, 2016 4:54 am

    When it rains, it pours!

  4. Nan permalink
    March 12, 2016 5:27 am

    I had a similar incident a few weeks ago in the basement when I went to change the filter on the humidifier attached to the furnace. I removed the filter & water shot up hitting the ceiling! I didn’t know how to shut it off so made a quick call to the plumber shop. Thank heavens a plumber was there & explained how to end the flood! And said he would be right out! A very tiny hose has gotten old and brittle & snapped off. Always something….love your cards always.

  5. knurse22 permalink
    March 12, 2016 5:38 am

    Don’t you just LOVE home ownership? Never a dull moment! And love your cards today—you used quite a few dies and stamps to create these beauties!
    While Cooper looks awesome with his tie and collar, I think he can definitely skip them, because it’s his adorable little face that grabs my eye!
    Thanks for the ongoing inspiration, Judy—-you always start my Saturday’s with a smile or out loud laughter!

  6. creatingincolors permalink
    March 12, 2016 6:15 am

    OMG with the liquids! Will it never end. It does make me suspicious too that you’ve lived there ten years, all of a sudden these problems, and the Water Utility says it’s all YOUR problem! Hope this is the end of the problems for you though! I love today’s batch of beautiful cards, especially that first one! And Cooper looks simply dashing in his outfit!

  7. March 12, 2016 6:33 am

    Wow, Judy! You all have had MORE than your share of problems with liquids, gf! Praying all is well in the end and that you will NEVER have any more! Bless your heart. I absolutely LOVE all of your cards, so stunning! Cooper is so dashing in that sweet tie and collar…my Zoey prefers her birthday suit, too…teehee! 🙂

  8. March 12, 2016 7:49 am

    What an amazing assortment of cards, each one beautifully done!

  9. Kathy H permalink
    March 12, 2016 8:00 am

    I have to hand it to you, you handle all of these liquid problems very well. Cooper looks darling in his collar, even though he looks like he hates it! Wonderful cards!

  10. March 12, 2016 8:05 am

    Oh no–that’s so not fair, Judy! I suspect the city might have some responsibility, but if the regulators work, so be it! Can’t imagine too much pressure as we would love to have more! Fabulous cards from this wonderful release–lots for my wishlist, of course! The edger die is at the top of my list & those are my favorite cards today! Wishing you dry days ahead–or at least a cute pair of boots! Pat on the head for darling Cooper who really does look unhappy with that tie!

  11. Pat Janssen permalink
    March 12, 2016 8:16 am

    You are a gifted card creator and writer.
    Your continuing saga concerning your water problems brought tears to my eyes….. from laughter.
    There is no doubt you have a strong faith in Jesus Christ. Your positiveness and joy comes through your writing.

  12. barbara lassiter permalink
    March 12, 2016 8:23 am

    Loved all your beautiful cards and think they might be the result of some “stress-relieving” from your water woes. Hopefully, this will be the end of all the “water works”.

  13. March 12, 2016 8:24 am

    Love the cards JUDY, and Cooper does look dashing in his outfit…although a bit unhappy to be wearing it.
    Here’s hoping your trouble with liquids is Over!!!! Material for your stories can be found elsewhere – wishes everyone for your sake!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  14. March 12, 2016 9:27 am

    Do you think the universe is trying to tell you and Mr. RWS something. This much liquid drama is highly suspect. Hope the regulator Gods come through for you. It’s amazing how different utilities can find different ways of being unresponsive. Seems you been bounced around enough.
    Anyway…your projects today are all terrific. You have such skill and imagination. At least that part of your life is under control.
    Cooper most certainly loves being au natural…I have one just like him.

  15. mjmarmo permalink
    March 12, 2016 10:58 am

    So sorry about your ongoing water flowing problems. I wish you good luck with the fixes. Simply beautiful cards – as always!!

  16. DebbieP permalink
    March 12, 2016 11:08 am

    Love ALL your cards today. Don’t know if I could pick just one favorite. I love your coloring/painting too. Sadly, my coloring/painting still needs a lot of practice! So sorry to hear the water problems have followed you to your current home. It did give me a little deja vu to a time when I could hear water running for a day or two and my husband kept telling me it was the neighbors water. After 2 days we found a puddle of water at the front of our house. The 50 year old connection had rusted and we (my husband) had to dig through 6 inches of concrete to get to it to make the fix. Luckily, he is Mr. Handy and can fix anything! if we lived closer, I’m sure he would install your pressure regulators…Cooper looks so suave in his collar and tie, despite the stink eye he is giving you for making him wear it. Hope for drier days ahead for you and Mr. RWS..

  17. Maria permalink
    March 12, 2016 11:38 am

    Love all the cards, your colouring in and lay outs are all perfect.
    Love also reading about your happenings around were you live etc.
    sorry you had so many problems with water leaking everywhere. Lucky you
    don’t live in some of the parts of UK, they have had some really bad floods..
    Oh dear Cooper, doesn’t he look good in his tie 🙂 big hug
    Maria.

  18. karenladd permalink
    March 12, 2016 12:01 pm

    Oh my gosh, and I thought I had bad days!! First let me say that I thoroughly enjoyed your RV saga, and used it as ammunition against my husband’s idea to buy an RV and roam the country after he retires completely. You pointed out lots of potential pitfalls that I’m sure have not been considered by many, and entertained us along the way. I love to sit down with a mug of coffee and just start reading about your stories, admire Cooper in his outfits or birthday suit, and browse your beautiful cards. With blog posts like this, who needs TV?!! Thanks for making my mornings so fun, and for inspiring me with all the card designs you share.

  19. alexandra s.m. permalink
    March 12, 2016 12:11 pm

    So sorry to hear about the water issues but very happy to see that they haven’t dampened (no pun intended) your creative mojo! Your cards are beautiful and I especially love it when you work with watercolor!
    Hugs~

  20. Cath permalink
    March 12, 2016 7:22 pm

    And there you sit calmly cranking out these beautiful cards. Love that first card especially. Wow. RV Saga convinced me I never want to go rving, but home ownership has it’s surprises, too. Maybe this will be the very last of your troubles with liquids. You’re lucky to have a hubby who’s good with tools. Not all are (ahem, like mine).

  21. dawnnz permalink
    March 12, 2016 11:54 pm

    gorgeous cards Judy. What a real hassle with all your water issues. We’ve had a leaking hot water cylinder and it’s no fun. Cooper really does look like he is annoyed at having to wear a collar an tie.

  22. L Haff permalink
    March 13, 2016 11:16 am

    thank you for another wonderful bit of Saturday reading. I love your weekly stories. I think Cooper looks very dapper, even if he is a little unhappy. I hope your ”water’ issues get resolved. It’s another very wet day in Seattle, it’s been a very rainy March here.

  23. March 13, 2016 12:56 pm

    Was sorry to read of more “liquid” problems but I sure do enjoy starting my day with laughter from reading about the life and times of the RWS family. Funnier to read about than live through I am sure. You have a talent for writing and for making beautiful cards. Loved all of the cards in this blog. I’m not a fan of dressing up animals but have to admit the collar with the tie is a clever idea. Cooper is still so cute even when annoyed. .

  24. lolyborda43 permalink
    March 13, 2016 7:51 pm

    Cooper doesn’t look happy with his tie but he sure is super cute! Sorry about your water problems, but I love the way you told the story! I love all of your cards! TFS

  25. March 14, 2016 12:49 pm

    So sorry about all those troubles, but thanks much for sharing them in your beautifully humorous way, I love reading your posts and admiring your cards. Love Cooper too. His facial expressions are priceless. He’s a lucky boy to be with you and Mr. RWS.

Leave a Reply

