Skip to content

Runs with Scissors Returns

May 14, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, Penny Black friends. I’m happy to be back to share what I’ve created using the new Penny Black release A Little Bit of Sunshine. There’s more than a little bit of May sunshine in the Penny Black studio today. This release is an awesome assortment of dies and stamps.

And don’t forget Stickeroos! What a great week this has been for Stickeroo inspiration! If you haven’t used them in the past, now is the time to add the use of Stickeroos to your card making techniques.   Making a gorgeous card is pure fun and no stress when the main image is taken care of for you.

1

The first thing to do when you use a Stickeroo is peel the image from the backing. Then stick it onto cardstock and cut it to size. This gives your image some body and makes it easy to work with. Also, it is best to order two identical sheets of Stickeroos so you can use one sheet to cut out elements of the image to pop up in places on the original image. That’s what I’ve done to make this scrumptious poppy image look more lifelike. Three of the flowers are double layered with a bit of dimensional tape. I also added a few enamel dots. And who doesn’t love a black, white and red color scheme with polka dots for a background?

The sentiment on this card is from the Happy Snippets sentiment set and I can’t say enough good things about Happy Snippets. There are at least three dozen different sentiments in an incredible variety of fonts in this transparent set. They are just the right size to add to a card without the sentiment being the focus. It is a must have, indeed.

2

It’s a good thing I lost my pride many years ago because I have to confess; when I cut the two dies that come in the Layered Scene die set I wasn’t sure what to do with them. I tried putting them on the card vertically, then horizontally and it just didn’t look right either way. And one had the birds and the other, nothing. Finally it dawned on me – “layered means layered”! When I stacked the two diecuts it finally made sense and created a great multi-dimensional image. I chose to stack them so the birds are in front of the tree branches, but it also looks great to have the birds tucked behind the branches. It’s a plus to have diecuts and stamps that make masculine cards. Just change the color theme and, presto, a pretty feminine card, too.

3

Here’s Mimi, having a creative day. She is one of four Mimi’s in the transparent set titled The Best. Mimi’s are great for coloring with any medium. Here I’ve done simple Copic coloring, added a large sentiment and some bling and I have a friendship card ready to go.

Just like everyone else, my days are made up of events large and small that when pieced together make up this thing we call “life”. It’s not all about trips to faraway places, graduations, or other life changing events. Sometimes the highlight of a day can be catching up on the laundry or a note from a friend or just wearing your new shirt.

One recent Saturday, Mr. RWS and I decided to treat ourselves to breakfast out. I had recently purchased some casual shirts and for once, finding something to wear was easy. I was feeling pretty confident in my pretty new polo shirt with its cheerful floral pattern

We went to the new branch of a local diner that had recently opened on our side of town. We checked in with the hostess, happy to learn that we had managed to arrive about three minutes before breakfast service was over.   The day was perfect, so far.

We followed the hostess from the lobby, through the busy main dining area, through a smaller full dining area and finally were seated in a rather crowded area at the back of the restaurant, at a table for two.   I had enjoyed noticing the different diners, smiled when there was eye contact, said good morning to a few and appreciated how friendly people were.   I was getting a lot of smiles as I walked by which made me believe a lot of people liked my new shirt, too.

We hadn’t been seated very long when suddenly there was a woman’s head right up next to mine. I couldn’t see her very well as she was very close and I had to twist away a bit in order to check if it was someone I knew. Finally, I realized she was trying to tell me something.

The restaurant was a bit noisy with people chatting and silverware clattering, but eventually I realized she was telling me something about my shirt. Oh, my new shirt … and then I caught what she was telling me.

I had failed to take off the strip of tape applied by the manufacturer that runs down the front of casual knit shirts and repeats the size as it goes down. I had walked through three sections of this restaurant, nodding and smiling at people as I went along without realizing I had this long strip going down my shirt advertising that I was “X-Large”.

My cheeks were flaming, remembering all the smiles as I passed by, but I thanked her profusely for telling me. It took me a few moments to regain my composure and remove the offending tape (during which I mentioned to Mr. RWS that it would have been helpful had he noticed my fashion error) and then I turned to the helpful lady who was seated near by.

“Thank you again for telling me”, I said. And then I added, “If the strip had said ‘Petite Small’ I probably would have left it there.”

I’m sure that lovely woman turned to her husband and like any well bred Southern lady muttered “Bless her heart”.

4

It’s time for some elegance and no better way than to combine the Border Edgers diecut with the Scented Beauty rose. The stamp itself indicates where to add deeper color for dimension, simplifying coloring. A rose can deliver so many messages: weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, encouragement and sympathy. If you have the Border Edgers die along with this rose image and a few sentiments you are ready for many occasions.

5

This awesome tree die titled Serenity creates a tree big and bold enough to fill a card front and is fun to embellish with a few birds. This is another excellent image for masculine cards. And how fun would it be to add red hearts for “love” occasions such as Valentine’s Day or an anniversary.   White on white would be beautiful for weddings. It’s good to add versatile images to your collection. You know they will be used, not stored away.

6

This image from the mini transparent set Bye Bye is just right to be the final card for today. And wouldn’t it make a great farewell or retirement card? This cutie is fun to color and there is the added fun of a cute teddy bear. If you like coloring and working with images of children, the A Little Bit of Sunshine release is the place to look. There are seven different mini sets with some of the cutest tykes ever!

7

Cooper recently spent a day and night with the family that cares for him so we could go on a day tour of several Alabama landmarks. I am always excited for him when we drop him off as he loves playing with the resident dog. The lady of the house not only does an amazing job caring for Cooper, she also sends photos of Cooper enjoying his visit. Cooper is used to having a camera aimed at him and cooperates fully with the process. I am tempted to have this portrait that Vicki took enlarged and hung in our home.

The scissors are stowed, the mess is cleaned up, and now the lights are out. It is time to say “Bye Bye” for now. I’ll be looking for you in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

Card No. 1: 10-231 Touched by Love, 30-358 Happy Snippets, 51-027 Triple Banner

Card No. 2: 51-232 Layered Scene, 51-194 Believe II

Card No.3: 30-355 The Best

Card No.4: 30-350 Sentiment Collection, 40-428 Scented Beauty, 51-231 Border Edgers, 80-011 Beau Jardin Paper Pack

Card No. 5: 30-283 Snippets, 51-001 In a Row, 51-226 Serenity

Card No. 6: 30-226 Kind Words, 30-363 Bye Bye, 51-027 Triple Banner

 

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Cheryl Robertson permalink
    May 14, 2016 12:27 am

    Glad to see you’re back! Missed you!

  2. Carol Cooney permalink
    May 14, 2016 3:39 am

    So happy you are back I really enjoy your tales of life and your creative stamping.

  3. Marliese Zimmerman permalink
    May 14, 2016 5:11 am

    I look forward to Saturdays with your beautiful cards and commentary. The Penny Black Stamps are to die for. Can’t get enough of the gorgeous flowers, mimi, borders and dies. Oh I hope I win the lottery so I can have them all.

  4. creatingincolors permalink
    May 14, 2016 5:23 am

    You have made me laugh again with your latest story of life! You are so “real”! Leaving that tag on the blouse sounds like something I might do. Once again, your cards are all beauties, full of inspiration. And the picture of Cooper is gorgeous.

  5. May 14, 2016 5:37 am

    what wonderful creations, thank you for sharing>> my wish list of Penny Black items keeps on growing 🙂 even though I have already purchased some I NEED more 🙂

  6. Sharon Russell permalink
    May 14, 2016 5:56 am

    Beautiful cards as usual! Grinning at the clothing story! Google Jeannie Robertson, humorist, and listen to her story entitled Men don’t know the fashion in New York City!

  7. Sue CD permalink
    May 14, 2016 7:18 am

    Love the poppy card and oh that Cooper! What a great photo!

  8. Linda Page permalink
    May 14, 2016 7:53 am

    I absolutely believe Cooper’s picture deserves a place of honor on your wall!!! Who could resist that adorable face. I love Penny Black stickers!! I make cards to send to the military so they have greeting cards to send to their family and friends. Penny Black stickers have been a card making staple on my cards. I love using them. The poppy card is wonderful and I just might have to steal your idea of buying double sticker sets and layering!! Now why didn’t I ever think of that? I double stamp, cut out and layer stamped designs but never thought to do that with stickers. Thanks for the heads up! OK, I’m off to place an order. Kisses to Cooper! Mr. RWS is on his own!!! LOL Hugs to you!

  9. alexandra s.m. permalink
    May 14, 2016 8:12 am

    Gorgeous Cards Juddy!
    Thank You for yet a great post!!

  10. May 14, 2016 8:35 am

    You are always so creative, Judy, & I so admire your coloring! Wonderful cards & your story did make me giggle–something I could easily do! Absolutely darling picture of your sweet boy, Cooper! Give him a pat on the head from me & a big hug for you!

  11. DebbieP permalink
    May 14, 2016 9:32 am

    Yay – you’re back! I always miss you when you aren’t here on Saturday morning. Loved your post today…the fashion faux pas made me laugh. Love your cards (always do!) and thanks for the ideas with the stickers. I knew PB sold stickers in the past, but I didn’t realize they were still making them. The photo of Cooper is beautiful and should go on the wall. I have pictures of our now gone dog on the dresser with all the other family pictures. They are part of the family, just like kids.

  12. Patt H. permalink
    May 14, 2016 9:41 am

    Love your stories & your amazing cards! I can really relate to the blouse incident. They probably don’t put those stickers on the extra small clothes!!😊😊

  13. Sandra L. permalink
    May 14, 2016 9:45 am

    Gorgeous cards. I love your tag/sticker story and had to laugh. A few weeks ago I had to go the hospital for some inpatient tests. I had purchased a spring sweater and in my hurry to get there on time I failed to notice that I hadn’t removed the tags. I had to remove everything from the waist up and one more time I didn’t notice them hanging from under the arm/sleeve. Had the test, got dressed and after arriving home I removed the sweater and found them. I couldn’t believe that I missed them that many times and that not one person in the testing office said anything. Glad to read that I’m not alone.

  14. May 14, 2016 10:02 am

    All you cards are lovely…I especially love the polka dots and poppies. Have to get some of those beautiful stickers. As for your other sticker faux pas…think it’s happened to the best of us. Personally, I’ve detested them…sometimes, if the fabric texture or color is just right, it is even difficult to see them. I’m just waiting for the day that I do the same thing you did. Cooper is looking, as usual, very handsome and spry. That would be a great portrait of him to hang on a wall.

  15. May 14, 2016 10:29 am

    Beautiful cards as always! Love your “sticker” story–that sort of thing has happened to me, I found when our daughter got married and moved away, so did the “eyes” that saw these sort of things! I lived with 2 “men” (hubby and son) for awhile, now son has moved out and hubby doesn’t care a bit if my shirt is askew, my makeup has run or anything as that! Men–so unhelpful sometimes!

  16. Donna permalink
    May 14, 2016 11:32 am

    Hi Judy. I always look forward to your posts. Your cards are beautiful.

  17. barbara lassiter permalink
    May 14, 2016 12:00 pm

    I love your beautiful cards and your stories. Once I was out shopping, wearing a hand-knitted sweater jacket with hood, that I had made and I looked in one store for a bit and then went out into the mall. I took my time and looked in store windows and in kiosks along the way. Finally about half-way down the mall, a lady from the kiosk I was looking in asked me if I knew I had a shirt hanging from my sweater. I guess I backed into it in the first store and it caught on my hood. It was still on the hanger, too. I had no clue, but I’m sure those walking behind me were giggling, but I really wished that someone had mentioned it sooner. 🙂 I think Cooper’s picture is adorable and would be a perfect portrait for your wall.

    • judka permalink
      May 14, 2016 2:10 pm

      You win the “most awkward fashion moment”, Barbara!! Although my Dad once arrived at work in his military shirt and khaki’s to discover the hanger was still in his shirt!! He just thought my Mom had used too much starch!! Thanks so much for sharing!! and making me feel a little better.

  18. Dawn T permalink
    May 14, 2016 5:25 pm

    Beautifully cards July and loved you told us your embarrassing story. I’m sure we all must have something like that to share over the years. Thanks for your entertaining post.

  19. donna mikasa permalink
    May 14, 2016 5:44 pm

    Oh, bless your heart, Judy! I’m sure it’s happened to a number of people–you are not alone! 😉 Love all your cards–those Stickeroos are pretty awesome!

  20. May 14, 2016 6:12 pm

    Wonderful cards and commentary Judy!!! Thanks for sharing – I always enjoy your visits!!!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  21. Julie permalink
    May 15, 2016 9:35 am

    Great cards–I love Mimi with her easel. Loved your shirt story. I recently met my husband for lunch (he gets up very early) and realized as we left the restaurant that his polo shirt was inside out….and he had worn it to a meeting that way. Not even sure how he buttoned it!

  22. lolyborda43 permalink
    May 16, 2016 10:52 pm

    I love your cards Judy, and I love your stories too! What happened to you with your brand new shirt, it happened to me one spring morning not long ago. I went to work with the same strip of tape, even after I washed it before wearing it, LOL, it was so funny when my boss in a very low voice told me about it. I told her that I left it there on purpose so everybody knew it was a new one!

  23. Susie permalink
    May 23, 2016 10:02 am

    Lover your stories Judy. I always look forward to them! The cards are just icing on the cake!!

  24. Daria J. Carraro permalink
    August 29, 2016 5:43 pm

    Thank you for sharing all these beautiful and fun cards.

Leave a Reply

