Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

June 4, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

June has arrived and has brought my birthday with it. It is very neat and tidy to have a birthday on the first day of the month, but that often results in fewer or belated birthday cards because it sneaks up on the family. And sometimes the Memorial Day Monday with no mail delivery adds to the problem. It’s a problem easily solved: I celebrate a birthday week. Happy to me!

With the exception of the graduation card, all of this week’s cards include designer paper. I have so much paper hoarded that I will never use it up in my lifetime. It is with great satisfaction that I announce I used a total of eleven sheets of designer paper this week.

1

2

This Graduate Mimi woodblock stamp is one of my favorites (have I mentioned favorites before?). This card will be going out to a special young lady whom I have had the honor of watching grow up. I know they take a lot of space, but I treasure my Penny Black woodblock stamps. I’ve used the perfect sentiment for a graduate from the transparent set Soar and included her graduation announcement inside the card. The most difficult part of this card was making that silver tassel. I am very familiar with the colors of her high school as it is the same school from which my own children graduated.

3

The last time I used the Folk Flower die I cut it from white cardstock. This time I wanted those flowers to bloom in color. I prepared a sheet of white cardstock by blending various Luxe inks and then cut the Folk Flower from the multi colored cardstock. The strip bearing the sentiment is left over from the multi colored cardstock that I created. The background is designer paper with a subtle pattern that does not show up on camera.

4

Father’s Day is this month and I’ve made a card suitable for multiple occasions for a man in your life, but would make a great Father’s Day card. The tree is cut from the Serenity die and the sentiment is from the Eloquence transparent set of sentiments. Designer paper is a great way to call attention to your diecuts and stamped images. It can be a timesaver when you don’t have time to create a background of your own.

Road Trip

I confess that I spend more time on Facebook than I “should”. Of course I follow the posts of the Penny Black designers and Penny Black resident artist Jill Foster. And now and then a cute photo of grandchildren pops up. What kind of grandmother would I be not to “like” and “comment” on family photos?

The other day, I came across a photo of three lovely young ladies along with this saying:

Once in awhile

You need to pack

A bag, get the girls

And go on a

Road Trip

Well, that is one box I can check off on my Bucket List.

5

This is a photo of two of my friends and me in the London train station. From left to right is Judy, Judy and Anne. Here is how it happened that we took one of the greatest Road Trips ever:

It was an ordinary work day. We found ourselves having lunch at the same time, at the same cafeteria table, sharing the same newspaper. Yes, it was so long ago that there was still a daily newspaper. I happened to have the travel section and was reading a huge ad placed by an airline offering low cost fares to Europe.

I was reading the ad out loud to everyone at the table, remarking on the low fares to Paris and London. We began fantasizing about lunching in Paris or London instead of our government gray surroundings. This went on for a few minutes and then I finally said, “I don’t think I’m kidding anymore. I would like to take a trip to Europe.” My single friend Anne said, “If you choose London, I will go with you.” Married Judy said, “I’m in, but I have to call my husband first.”

The deals were only good for a day or two and limited in quantity so there was a need to decide quickly and purchase the tickets immediately.

This may sound prehistoric, but this was before cell phones so we married women had to call the spouses to let them know what we were planning. Notice I did not say “ask”! Married Judy knew her husband was out of town on business and could not be reached immediately so she made the decision to book the flight and let him know later. Anne was single and didn’t need to check with anyone.

Mr. RWS answered his work phone so I was able to tell him about our impromptu decision to take the ultimate road trip. Mr. RWS had been to London during his Air Force days and also was obliged to remain at home to tend to the last resident teenager in our home so his going along was not an option. (No one takes their husband on a Girls’ Road Trip anyway).

Mr. RWS was still expressing some hesitancy about my plan until I played the Beanie Baby card. We had joined the craze and had a very large collection of Beanie Babies, but were missing the Princess Diana Beanie. This had become our Holy Grail. I offered up to Mr. RWS that it would be an excellent chance to purchase the Princess Diana Beanie Baby and if possible buy several extra to sell for more than the $300 air fare. That sealed the deal.

Within an hour of reading that ad, we had set the dates and booked our flights. We would be gone for ten days in February, leaving on the 13th.

Judy and I were delighted to be going to London with Anne, a veteran of two previous London trips. Anne expressed delight and willingness to show us around the city. We also decided that our trip was long enough to allow a trip on the high speed train to the city of York where we would stay for two days.

We did our research on the computer and booked a room for three in reasonably priced hotels in each of the cities. It all fell together quickly and with ease.

Anne, the veteran European traveler, advised each of us to pack efficiently so as not to be burdened with heavy luggage that we would have to lug ourselves. Remember, this was all before limits on how much your suitcase could weigh and long before security checkpoints; in other words, when travel was easier.

The day finally came and the three of us met at the airport and stood in line together to check in. Judy’s suitcase was checked in first: no problem. My overstuffed suitcase, wobbling on its suitcase dolly, was next: no problem. And then it was Anne’s turn. Judy and I had stared in amazement at the giant sized suitcase Anne was wheeling when we met at the check in counter. We each had struggled with Anne’s directive “to keep it simple” and worried she might be upset with us because we knew we had packed enough clothes to handle any weather situation we might encounter in London in February.

Anne had trouble lifting her giant suitcase onto the scale so Judy and I helped her. The ticketing agent’s expression went a bit serious as she reached for a large roll of orange stickers. She ripped a sticker from the roll, slapped it onto Anne’s suitcase and Anne’s face turned as red as her hair. The sticker said, “HEAVY”.   You can be sure we did not let Anne off lightly after all her admonishing us to travel light.

Finally, we were on our way!

6

Judy and I in our seats. Did I mention we traveled Economy Class?

7

I think I was feeling a little guilty for being away from Mr. RWS for Valentine’s Day.

To be continued

8

Coloring on kraft with Prismacolors is relaxing and yields a fun effect. I first embossed the image from the Cheery Chirps cling stamp and then colored with the pencils. I like the homespun look of the tiny gingham patterned paper. I couldn’t stop myself and added the silver string and pearl heart. I will put my sentiment inside the card this time. This cheerful image can be used for any happy occasion and colored with various mediums.

9

The cats in the transparent set Jazzy Cats are quickly colored and are the start of any fun card. Again, I had the men in our lives in mind with this card. It has earned extra points because there are two different designer papers here. I love this happy and enthusiastic cat and feel very trendy using the OMG sentiment from the Happy Snippets transparent set.

10

I have several pads of designer paper that include some beautiful dark colors. As I was taking the papers out of their packet I liked the combinations that settled next to each other and found a way to use them as I paper pieced this card. The cling stamp I used is called Mermaid Bath and the sentiment is from Happy Snippets. Those Snippet transparent sets are indispensable for smaller sentiments to fit on your cards. The Dew Drops that I’ve attached to the bubbles in the image must be at least ten years old. Now I own seven less; way to go, Mrs. RWS!

11

Cooper caught a mouse early one morning last week. Since Mr. RWS and Cooper were out and about at 6:00 am, I was still relaxing in bed when Mr. RWS came to tell me Cooper’s news. Cooper was bursting with excitement when Mr. RWS lifted him up to put him on the bed. “Stop”, I cried. “I can smell his mouse breath from here.” I guess it’s a guy thing …they were both so proud. He spent a good part of his day begging to go back outside for further mouse duty. When not allowed, he kept vigil at the window.

I only have time for a quick good-bye and a thank you for taking time to leave such lovely comments. Don’t forget about the Penny Circle Flicker Gallery. It is good to share with others.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

Card No. 1: 4264J Graduate Mimi, 30-345 Soar, 51-210 Pillow Box, 51-038 Hooray

Card No. 2: 51-233 Folk Flower, 51-170 Warmest Wishes

Card No. 3: 51-226 Serenity, 30-162 Eloquence

Card No. 4: 40-435 Cheery Chirps

Card No. 5: 30-283 Snippets, 30-333 Jazzy Cats, 51-227 Doily Trio

Card No. 6: 40-457 Mermaid Bath, 30-358 Happy Snippets

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly Saveur permalink
    June 4, 2016 12:11 am

    Happy Belated Birthday to you!!
    LOVE to read more about that rip to London…..when was it?
    in the 90’s ?

  2. June 4, 2016 2:47 am

    Happy Birthday from one June girl to another! OMGosh… I can’t wait for the next chapter. :->

  3. June 4, 2016 5:59 am

    Another great story, Judy, and of course, loved your cards, too! Hope your enjoying your birthday week!

  4. creatingincolors permalink
    June 4, 2016 6:31 am

    You are awesome. I admire that girls trip. While many of us think about how awesome a trip would be, you girls just “did it”. Now another “just do it”…… I too have a lifetime supply of designer paper. I made one round of cleaning out and donated a pile of it. I still have so much it’s time to do round two. It feels good to lighten the overload. Thanks again for sharing your stories and your cards – so much fun.

  5. June 4, 2016 7:38 am

    In my wildest dreams I cannot imagine booking a trip one state over in an hour, let alone to Europe! You’re amazing, Judy & can’t wait for more of the story! Wonderful use of pp today & I especially love the happy cat & the mermaid–both beautiful & creative! Enjoy your w/e–we’re sweltering, but thankfully don’t have your humidity! Pat on the head for Cooper the Mouse Hunter extraordinaire!

  6. karenajo permalink
    June 4, 2016 8:42 am

    Thank you for the inspiration to use up some of my paper stash – I too will never use up what I have in my lifetime. Love your great cards – especially the graduation one ! Looking forward to the next installment of the European trip. Guess cats can’t have all the fun – good job Cooper !

  7. karenajo permalink
    June 4, 2016 8:43 am

    Happy belated birthday !!!

  8. June 4, 2016 8:50 am

    Look at you, reducing your patterned paper & embellishment stash. I’m so envious…I, too, have more than I’ll need in this lifetime. But you did it and so very cleverly. Love that you’re helping us with masculine card inspiration (something I always struggle with). But wow, that paper pieced mermaid…you deserve a medal for that one.
    The girl’s road trip to London sounds like an absolute hoot. Even though the seasoned London traveler overstuffed her suitcase.

  9. barbara lassiter permalink
    June 4, 2016 9:39 am

    I love all your cards and especially the die cut tree in the small print! You are really using up your paper stash, unlike me. I have been trying to do that, too! Just this week I ran out of a Brenda Walton Flora and Fauna Ledger pad of paper that I really loved. Instead of just letting it go, I immediately looked for more on the internet and finally found some. Since it’s an older pad of paper, I thought I better order two just in case. I don’t think I am getting rid of my paper stash in the right way! 🙂 Love your story and waiting for part 2!

    • barbara lassiter permalink
      June 4, 2016 9:59 am

      Also, I wanted to wish you Happy Birthday!

  10. mjmarmo permalink
    June 4, 2016 9:47 am

    Happy Belated birthday! Love reading about your road trip!! Gorgeous cards!

  11. June 4, 2016 10:21 am

    Lovely cards as always and a great story as well!

  12. Fran Gumprecht permalink
    June 4, 2016 10:49 am

    Happy Birthday week! Love all your beautiful cards, you are wonderful enabler! Really enjoy all your stories of all your adventures!

  13. knurse22 permalink
    June 4, 2016 3:38 pm

    Happy, happy birthday week, Judy! And great travel story—-can’t wait for the next segment! We have the same humongous eyeglasses from that era……oh, wait—-I still HAVE them tucked in a drawer! LOL!
    Love this week’s cards. The grad one is my fave—can’t get more personalized than that!

  14. June 4, 2016 4:27 pm

    Judy, Happy Birthday. Oh, what a great story. I have never been to London, yet. Not sure I would go on a girls getaway that far. Whoot ,whoot for using up some of that paper stash. Great cards, thanks for the inspiration. Hope you have a great birthday week.

  15. Dianne Crowe permalink
    June 4, 2016 5:11 pm

    Happy Birthday Judy. l love your cards and talent. Can’t wait to read your little stories and hear what Cooper is up to so have a great weekend. Dianne

  16. Di F permalink
    June 5, 2016 3:38 am

    Belated Happy Birthday, Judy, hope you had a great day / week. Beautiful cards again this week. Do hope Cooper is enjoying his mousecapades.
    A trip to London decided on a whim – it’s the sort of thing I would do. Makes it easier I now live just a 3 hour train trip from London instead of the 12 hour plane trip it would have taken a few years back. Looking forward to reading the rest of the story.

  17. dawnnz permalink
    June 5, 2016 3:17 pm

    June vbirthdays are awesome I’m mid month! Love the story and cant wait for the next instalment. Fabulous cards too! Great to use up PP I too have hoards.

  18. June 5, 2016 4:35 pm

    I love reading your blog! And I love your cards! My hubs birthday is June 1st also and he has been receiving cards all week. Birthdays on the first do tend to sneak up on you. I am later in June, so “all the best people are born in June”! Right? Thanks for all your sharing!

  19. DebbieP permalink
    June 5, 2016 7:24 pm

    Happy birthday week! Love your cards this week. I like the tree cut from patterned paper. I think we probably all have too much patterned paper to use in a lifetime. My girlfriends say my craft room looks more like a store than an office. I have, however, stopped (mostly) buying any more paper. There are just too many other crafty things that I also need to stop buying, mostly. Can’t wait to read more about your London trip. My friend just returned from an impromptu girls road trip to London and Scotland…so jelly!!! Maybe someday.

  20. Maria permalink
    June 6, 2016 3:29 am

    Happy Belated Birthday Greetings. Hope you had a wonderful week. Mine was on the 27/5 and one card that had gone on it’s own journey arrived this morning 🙂
    Looking forward to hear what you all thought of London in those days. We usually going in a couple of times of year by train and it is a nice day out but nice to come back home, happy and very tired. Love all the cards you have made up and tried to use up some of your papers. I have got a bit too but always buying more, as you do.
    Good on you Cooper, who need a cat when you are around 😉 big hug to him ! Maria x

  21. alexandra s.m. permalink
    June 7, 2016 12:37 pm

    Happy Belated birthday Judy! Joyeux Anniversaire!!

    Your cards are beautiful and I have enjoyed reading your story immensely!
    I cannot wait to read more!!

    Hugs~

Leave a Reply

