Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

June 11, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, Penny Black friends. I am so happy to be hiding out from hot and humid Alabama in the Penny Black air conditioned studio. I am glad you could join me.

Along with using up more designer paper today, I’ve also included masculine cards that would be suitable for Father’s Day as well as birthdays, graduations, or thinking of you.   I appreciate the stamps and dies in the A Little Bit of Sunshine release that make it easier to make cards for the men in our lives.

1

The Shade Canopy cling stamp is fun to ink up and yields a great result. I used my MISTI, applying ink directly to the stamp in two different shades of green. What really added depth and realism to the image was the addition of the brown ink. You don’t have to have a MISTI to make this technique work; just ink up your stamp with a variety of inks, stamp on practice paper and keep going until you like what you see. All I had to do was add a sentiment from the Happy Snippets set and mat the image. Easy to make: easy to mail.

2

No need to stress over making the right background for the Out to Sea sailboat. That’s patterned paper behind the die cut and the sentiment from the Well Done die set is cut from the same paper. It really can’t get much easier than cutting and pasting and the result is awesome.

3

If the goal is to bring a smile with the card you make, the Kool Kats transparent set has some great images. I love this guy driving his old time automobile with his scarf and whiskers flapping in the wind.   The sentiment is from the Snippets transparent set and works well for Father’s Day, a Thinking of You card or birthday. Have I mentioned how indispensable those Snippets sentiment sets are?

All Girls Road Trip Part Two: (Part One HERE)

Our overnight flight landed us in London early the next morning. We were able to take the London Underground from Heathrow Airport to the neighborhood of our hotel and my fellow road trip friends said we would walk from there. At this point I reminded them of the struggles I was having keeping my over stuffed, wobbly suitcase on its portable wheels, the bungee cord not holding it in place. There was no sympathy or compassion for my plight and the decision was made we would walk to the hotel.

After we got off the train and I painfully made my way through the station and up the steep flight of stairs to the bright sunshine of street level, I risked the friendships and angrily stated I could not go one step further with this wobbly suitcase; we would hire a cab to take us to our hotel. At which point my friends burst into laughter as they pointed across the street; there it was – the Hotel Montana. A little London miracle!

We spent that day planning our sight seeing, exploring our neighborhood and visiting the world famous department store Harrod’s. We quickly realized Harrod’s did not fit in with our economy trip to London. The only purchase that worked with my budget was a washcloth boldly embroidered with “Harrod’s”. I was glad for that purchase the entire trip as our hotels did not provide washcloths.

While at Harrod’s I remembered my promise to bring home several Princess Diana Beanie Babies. How naïve was I! Beanie Babies were at the same level of demand and short supply as they were in the U.S. The best I could do was some Princess Diana postage stamps.

Our meals were mostly purchased from the little mini marts located everywhere. Crusty baguettes, lunch meat, and a piece of fruit eaten in a park or while meandering: cheap eats and delicious. Europeans take their bread very seriously and I often think of them when they visit our country and encounter their first loaf of Wonder Bread!

The next morning we were up and dressed and ready to tackle London Sightseeing 101. Judy and I were anticipating Anne’s expert guidance and commentary as we toured the city and visited the London landmarks.

The three of us gathered on the sidewalk outside of our hotel, map in hand. And then Anne lowered the boom on our expectations.   She realized she did not want to spend her third trip to London seeing sights she had visited before. She was more interested in sightseeing 301. Thankfully, she provided us with a map and the suggestion we take a red double decker sightseeing bus that allowed hopping on and off all day.

4

She also reminded us that she had the tickets for our Pub Crawl that evening and we were to meet at the hotel by 7:00 pm in order to be on time to join the group for the first Pub visit.

Feeling like two kids whose babysitter had abandoned them, Judy and I quickly decided that I would not be in charge of the map as I have absolutely no sense of direction and it would be hazardous to our health to put me in charge.

The London Pride sightseeing bus stopped a block from our hotel and ran until 6 pm that evening allowing us a full day of sightseeing as well as transportation back to the hotel. What could go wrong?

Well, first of all, no one mentioned that the ceremonial Changing of the Guard only occurred every other day, and this was not the day.

5

Other than that, we saw what we had come to London to see (except for the queen). Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Tower Bridge, Royal Jewels, St. Paul’s Cathedral: we gaped and took photos and tried to grasp the reality of being in London. The weather was perfect. It was an early spring complete with daffodils and sunshine. London set aside its reputation for rainy weather, just for us.

I even managed a photo with these friendly guards at the Tower of London:

6

Soon it was 5:30 pm and Judy and I realized that the big red bus would soon be taking us back to our hotel. We sat back in our seats, rested our weary feet and just enjoyed being in London. Eventually we noticed nothing was familiar and we were, indeed, nowhere near our hotel. And now it was 6 pm and the bus stopped. Totally. Stopped. It was “Everyone off the bus” stopped. “Where are we,” we asked the driver. He barely took the time to reply before jumping off the bus. “Piccadilly Circus,” he hollered as he disappeared into the dark evening.

Oh, oh. Now what? We had less than one hour to find our way back to the hotel and had no idea how to make that happen. Like little kids, we worried that Anne was going to be furious with us for ruining the evening plans. Do we try to make it to the hotel? Should we go directly to the first Pub on the Pub Crawl? We could miss each other either way. Maybe we should try to call Anne.

TO BE CONTINUED.

7

After I colored the floral and parasol images from the Oriental transparent set, I decided the colors were too bright and the card didn’t look finished. Rather than stamping the script from the Letter Background stamp directly onto the card, I decided to stamp and emboss it with silver onto vellum. Finally, I tied it all up with a silver cord.

8

And here is Adele, all dressed up and ready to be part of someone’s birthday party; or maybe a tea party; or maybe just a Sunday stroll. The eight little mini sets with the adorable children images are a great way to use various coloring techniques. I’ve used Copics, but colored pencils, watercolors, or even paper piecing would bring these stamps to life.

9

This is another “almost one layer” card. I’ve used the image from the Saying a Latte cling stamp and added a Chat Bubble to hold a sentiment from the Happy Snippets set. She does look like she is enjoying life along with a cup of her favorite beverage.

10

I have to confess. This photo was taken at Christmas time when Cooper got a new blankie as a gift from a friend. His haircut is so awful right now that I fear the camera would break if I took Cooper’s picture with this haircut.   Hang in there, Cooper: new haircut is coming soon.

How quickly I have reached the end of my post. I get lost in the stories I tell and before I know it I have to say goodbye. I am hoping no one is feeling they’ve gone to visit a friend and got trapped looking at the vacation photos and listening to all the travel details.

Just for fun I looked up the Hotel Montana and it is still there. My friends and I paid $45.00 per night for a room for three.   Today the price for a single is $151.00, inexpensive by London standards but not the bargain it was for us in 1998.

My next trip is from here to the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery where I hope to see the cards you have made using Penny Black supplies. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly Saveur permalink
    June 11, 2016 12:10 am

    Great story about you girls in London!

  2. Marliese Zimmerman permalink
    June 11, 2016 4:40 am

    You just left us hanging! Can’t wait for the nest installment. Love your cards as always.

  3. Gail Day permalink
    June 11, 2016 4:54 am

    Your puppy makes me smile…

  4. knurse22 permalink
    June 11, 2016 5:49 am

    Great cards again this week! Love that your cards are so pretty, yet flat enough to mail. And you aced the Copic markers!
    Such a fun London trip, but I am now convinced that the black cloud vacation ruination star hovers over you, so please don’t ask me to travel with you—LOL!
    I think Cooper would look beautiful always, even with a bad haircut!

  5. mjmarmo permalink
    June 11, 2016 5:53 am

    Love the cliffhanger. I had a feeling something would go wrong. Fun cards!

  6. June 11, 2016 7:39 am

    This sounds very like any trip I’ve ever taken. There’s always a rub. Anyway, despite no changing of the guard, the first day sounds like a terrific one. Happy to see, you’re still putting a dent in your pattened paper stash. They look wonderful on your lovely cards.

  7. June 11, 2016 9:48 am

    You brought back memories of my British Isles trip, but I’m jealous you had great weather! My best purchase of the trip was a wool sweater which I wore every day for 6 weeks–haha! You’ve outdone yourself with these cards, Judy! I absolutely adore the first one, but they’re all wonderful! Pat on the head for Cooper! I’m sure he’ll be looking his dapper self soon!

  8. Dianne Crowe permalink
    June 11, 2016 10:50 am

    Love your Kool Kats card, reminds me of the song about “My old flivver”. Adele is so cute. Your stories just add to our day and seeing Copper all spiffed up.

  9. DebbieP permalink
    June 11, 2016 10:51 am

    Hi Judy. Love the cards today, especially the tree. I guess nature is my favorite subject. I spent six weeks in England thanks to the Air Force. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I so enjoyed the countryside but only got to spend about 8 hours in jolly London on a day off. We stayed in a small town called Newmarket, where all the horses and jockeys hang out, about 2 hours north of London. Your story brings back some great memories…thanks for sharing your trip with all of us. And I’m sure Cooper it cute even with a bad haircut….

  10. L Haff permalink
    June 11, 2016 11:41 am

    Hi Judy, you are card ideas are great l. Thanks for the inspiration. I love reading your stories every Saturday. This travel one is a lot of fun to read. Cooper is so lucky you found him or he found you, the adoption story was wonderful.

  11. June 11, 2016 1:17 pm

    So enjoy your stories and your cards. Keep them coming please.

  12. dawnnz permalink
    June 11, 2016 11:04 pm

    delightful cards Judy and loving your holiday story… can’t wait to find out what happened next.

  13. June 12, 2016 4:35 am

    Judy love reading your latest installment, sounds like so much fun. For someone who has never been overseas its lovely to hear of others stories. Your cards as usual are beautiful and varied which I just love. And Cooper looks so handsome there and when you mentioned his terrible hair cut it made me think of Jake. John decided we could do as well as any clipping service and even went out and bought a very expensive and fantastic trimmer but he really had no idea. Watched a few you tube videos on how to clip blah blah blah. Well poor Jake looked like he had been attacked with the clippers, long bits short bits really short bits and he made it abundantly clear John was to stay away from his feet, legs and bum. My poor boy, lucky my friend who owns a business came and tidied up and now regularly trims Jake, having wool is very different to usual dog hair. I gave the clippers to my friend so John wouldnt be tempted again.

    • Judy Jung permalink
      June 12, 2016 9:54 am

      Oh, Aileen! My husband used to declare he could clip Cooper, too .. thankfully this terrible haircut has convinced him it is a real skill and not to be left to the unskilled!

  14. June 12, 2016 7:56 am

    Love your stories, Judy. Cooper’s shining personality comes through regardless of the haircut. Can’t wait to hear what happened next on your trip. Love all your cards.

  15. creatingincolors permalink
    June 13, 2016 6:15 am

    Love reading about your adventures, and seeing your beautiful cards!

  16. VICTORIA SCHMIDT permalink
    June 13, 2016 7:56 am

    I am enjoying your stories. Reminds me of some of the trips we took overseas.We were in Switzerland at thanksgiving looking for turkey & dressing. Of they didn’t know what wee were talking about.Vicky

  17. June 14, 2016 3:27 am

    Love the differcity of your designs every saterday! Thanks!

  18. June 14, 2016 9:37 pm

    What sweet cards and darling bichon frise! I miss ours so much. Our Dawson aka Binky passed on at 14 yrs 2 yrs ago. Love your story — but “NO washcloths?” We were in London back in 2002, after two weeks in Spain. All I remember is how completely frozen through I felt, clear to the bones. Not even soaking in a hot bath could remedy my iced body (and we were from the Pacific NW and Alaska). It was May and the wind blew right through me. I have never known anything that cold before and became so sick. But we loved the British Museum & Buckingham Palace. I still have a little stuffed Paddington bear from Harrod’s. My brother & his wife live north of London, we live in Hawai’i, our sister lives in Japan, a brother lives in Washington state, one in Philly and the other in New Jersey. The modern family. Can’t wait for the rest of your story!

Leave a Reply

