Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

June 25, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

It’s me again! I’ve been sitting here thinking about the first time I accidentally found myself on the Penny Black blog on December 31, 2013 followed by several weeks of my sneaking in. What a relief it was when Headquarters decided if I was going to keep showing up it was better to give me a key. It was decided Saturday was the best time for me to take over the Penny Black studio so I could have the place to myself. I think there was some concern about safety as they noticed my habit of running with scissors.

I wish you could see how magical this place is.  Cabinets, drawers, boxes and shelves filled with stamps, dies and paper pads. And this week is even more exciting than usual: a new release called “Artistic Endeavors” is available and I am lucky enough to be able to play with the stamps and dies while no one else is here.

Penny Black’s stamps have always provided a wide range of images, from elegant to cute to gorgeous florals and geometrics. Add to that assortment the wide range of dies and now designer paper. I thought Penny Black had something for everyone. But, no, not quite: not until this release, Artistic Endeavors, did Penny Black truly have something for everyone.   Now we can all be artists, bringing to life and using these new images in various multi media projects. I was nervous when I first saw some of the large cling stamps thinking I would not be able to do them justice. Well, there is nothing like being pushed out of your comfort zone into a new challenge.

1

The Artistic Endeavors release has some happy surprises. And this very large slapstick stamp Cottage Treehouse is one of them. This card is 5”x7”. I could have trimmed the picture to standard A2 size, but I didn’t want to lose any part of this image. I used Copic markers to color and found myself going into a zone, enjoying the process as much as the result. And there are fun tiny images here and there that you discover as you color. This may be the most fun of all the Penny Black stamps (so far).

2

I am hoping you have seen Angela Kennedy’s amazing art on social media. This is one of her “ladies” and this time we can express ourselves by transforming a line drawing into a piece of art. Before I began coloring Ms. Muse, I stamped part of the Flowerets image onto her dress, just to add detail. I created a background for this 5”x7” card by gluing six diecuts of the bird-less Layered Scene die onto tinted vellum paper. After I colored her using Copic markers, I layered the flowers from the Shall We Dance die set over the image. I was trying for a mixed media look using only paper and markers.

3

Sweet Perfume is another of the larger cling stamps in this release. Since I had met my first two challenges with the Tree Cottage and Muse stamps, I decoded to soldier on and bring out the watercolors for the Sweet Perfume stamp. While I did not use neon colored watercolors, the flowers do pop against that black background. I embossed the sentiment onto a strip of vellum and added some bright yellow dots.

4

And what is this, you ask? This is a photo of the hard copies of my Runs with Scissors blog posts. As you can see, that’s a pretty big stack of words!

And why am I posting a photo of the Runs with Scissors print outs?

Because today I found myself sitting in front of my blank computer screen with absolutely no idea what I would write about. My routine when I am stuck is to start tidying and rearranging things in the craft room. Today during this process I began filing older blog posts stranded on my desk. It was then I noticed that the accumulation has become quite sizeable.

The stack consists of 82 blog posts which equals about 300 pages of typed text. I noticed that the early blog posts, which began in February of 2014, are dated with only the month and day, no year. I had no idea that Runs with Scissors would become a multiple year project. And who knew that Cooper would gain his own fan club.

Each week the most challenging part of doing Runs with Scissors is coming up with a story idea. Sometimes it is easier because funny or ridiculous things happen during the week. Sometimes I share memories, holiday traditions, life achievements, grandchildren and children stories and recently a travelogue. You have also heard about the pitfalls of full time RV’ing and my journey to finish college.

I know anyone that writes for a living or has a weekly obligation to produce a quota of written words has had times when they sit in front of their blank computer screen (or pad of paper) and wonder if they will ever again have an idea for a story. Well, that’s what happened to me today after I had finished my fun projects using the new Artistic Endeavors release.

Since I have been fortunate enough to travel to 13 countries and 47 of the United States, I could just bore you for a very long time with travel stories. Unless I served yummy snacks or a full meal with those posts, I know I would lose my audience quickly. And it seems lately the news has become heavy and I am not finding much humor in everyday events.

By now you must have realized I am possibly Penny Black’s biggest fan. I truly have a dream opportunity to use their stamps, dies and papers to make cards and share them on their blog. I learn so much from the Penny Black designers and the Penny Black family is the best!

Hopefully I will soon experience a burst of brilliance and a great story idea will pop into my brain in time for the next edition of Runs with Scissors. I am open to suggestions, within limits. Until then, with my apologies, I will just get on with posting the rest of the cards I made with this amazing new release.

5

This is actually the last card I made for this post. I spent so many hours on the first three that I realized I needed one quick and easy card. I know there are times when quick and easy is the preferred technique. The bright pink background is from a sheet of designer paper from the Golden Moment paper pad. I cut the gorgeously intricate Bird Flower Doily from silver paper and just attached it to the card base. I put a pink enamel dot in the center and called it finished. That beautiful die does not need much else to make a statement, but can be a stunner if you dress it up or use it for a multi media art project.

6

Oh, how I love this bathing beauty! This is the sweetie from the Life’s a Beach mini transparent set. I paper pieced the image using paper found in the Golden Moment paper pad. I think I love her sunglasses the most! And the Happy Snippets sentiment set has just the right sentiment. Again.

7

I should not admit how much fun I had making this card using the slapstick stamp The Lookout. After I had colored the image with Copic markers, my brain just kept prodding me to do more with what I thought was a finished card. I had the idea this window should have a “home” attached. So, I fussy cut the image and mounted it on wood grained paper. There, I thought, finished. But Brain was not done with me. Making the kitty three dimensional would be fun, it said. So I colored another kitty and used dimensional tape to pop it up. Again, I thought I was done. But Brain said it would be a great idea to add Four more layers of flowers and leaves to the already dimensional flower pot. Here’s a side view. Thankfully I was able to resist anymore nudging from Brain. This is one of my favorite projects ever.

8

9

Dear, dear Cooper! This little guy has been at my feet for most of the hours it took to type those 300 pages of Runs with Scissors. He is faithful, loyal, and eager to please. It was hard to scold him the other day when he snuck his toothbrush out of the basket next to my chair. I found the handle and the detached bristles on the floor and called him into the room. He knew by the tone of my voice that what he had done was wrong. Cooper is really good at apologizing. He immediately snuggled up against my leg, kissed my fingers and looked up at me with sorrowful eyes. He must have wanted that toothbrush badly (he loves his poultry flavored toothpaste) to break his record of never bothering things that don’t belong to him. Well, as a friend reminded me, it is his toothbrush.

And here we are at the end of another Runs with Scissors. I may be the only person ever to write a story about not being able to write a story! My apologies for the lack of an interesting plot and tension between the characters.

I have stowed the scissors, cleaned up my messes and put everything back where it belongs. Remember, after a week of awesome sneak peeks, the fabulous Artistic Endeavors release is now available in the Penny Black store. I am off to view the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery to admire your work. Thank you for your comments where I often learn we share similar experiences.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies:

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn permalink
    June 25, 2016 2:27 am

    Your Cooper is so cute! I have a westie so I can sympathise. He was probably just reminding you he was there and wanted some attention. When I leave the house, I come back to chewed up pieces of tissue sometimes. I think it’s her way of protesting over my absence xx

  2. Jane permalink
    June 25, 2016 3:38 am

    You could have posted a tuna casserole recipe and I’d have read every word, lol. You are a good writer and I loved both today’s post and the cards you offered.

    • Judy Jung permalink
      June 25, 2016 6:17 am

      Oh, Jane! I dislike peas so my tuna casserole recipe includes instructions on how to separate the half with peas and the other half with canned corn! Your comment made my day!

  3. June 25, 2016 4:44 am

    Your tree house card is magnificent. I enjoy your posts no matter what you write about! I agree with Jane you could post a recipe and I would read it 🙂 I must say I read but rarely reply which is poor I my part.

  4. Marliese Zimmerman permalink
    June 25, 2016 5:05 am

    I always look forward to your Saturday posts and cards. I don’t know which card I like best. Love them all and you’re great coloring. Happy to see Cooper’s fur growing back to normal.

  5. creatingincolors permalink
    June 25, 2016 5:23 am

    You write so well, you tell a story even when you think you don’t have a story! I enjoy Saturday mornings reading your posts and pinning your cards. That Cottage Treehouse and Muse really caught my eye this morning.

  6. susannev2014 permalink
    June 25, 2016 5:57 am

    I had been amazed about how you never seem to run out of stories! Good to know that you are human, too! Yet even your musings were interesting to read! I personally would never tire of your travel stories!

  7. Linda permalink
    June 25, 2016 6:16 am

    Such good stories-it’s like sitting across the table with a friend having coffee. Enjoyable!

  8. karenajo permalink
    June 25, 2016 7:14 am

    Your ‘Lookout’ card reminds me of myself – I keep wanting to add more detail ! Your card turned out super – love all the dimension and detail ! I do so look forward to your columns for all the inspiration and bits of life happenings. I find it truly amazing that you have written so much over these few years – that is an impressive stack of papers. Thanks for sharing ! I always love to see what Cooper is up to at the bottom of each column – he brightens my day also !

  9. Judy permalink
    June 25, 2016 7:42 am

    Even when you don’t think you have a story, you HAVE a story! It’s amazing. Always find your blog interesting. It brightens my Saturday when all I have to look forward to is laundry!
    Keep the stories (and musings) coming. Loved your cards today. I just recently bought two of the PB flower stamps, and have another one ordered from my local stamp shop. Can’t get enough of them. Yesterday I stamped card fronts assembly line with my Misti and colored them. Now I’m ready to put together all my July birthday and anniversary cards. Once again PB has come through for me!

  10. June 25, 2016 8:21 am

    You know I love the stories, Judy, but your cards & Cooper would keep your following–trust me! I’m in awe of your coloring skills–the cottage & the lady are amazing! Perfect background for the lady, love the simple beauty of the bird doily, darling little girl perfectly paper pieced & oh my goodness–you’ve outdone yourself with the kitty card! Good thing you listened to Brain as it’s a masterpiece worthy of framing! So glad PB was wise & gave you the studio on Saturdays! Enjoy your week & pat on the head for sweet Mr Cooper–Hugs, Greta

  11. June 25, 2016 8:25 am

    Wow, lovely. The Cottage Treehouse is a must have and will be added to the wish list with Sweet Perfume. I love the Layered Scene and Bird Flower Doily dies. Thanks for sharing.

  12. barbara lassiter permalink
    June 25, 2016 8:28 am

    Your cards and stories are always amazing, and your story about not having a story is also. The card, featuring the Lookout stamp, is my favorite from all your beautiful cards.

  13. Cheryl Robertson permalink
    June 25, 2016 8:58 am

    As usual your cards are wonderful. I especially like the way you colored the vellum on the Mrs. Muse card. I also love the tree house stamp. It reminds me of the Berenstein Bears treehouse 😊

  14. Barbara Matsick permalink
    June 25, 2016 9:39 am

    Such wonderful new creative ideas are totally amazing. The new stamps are calling to me to purchase, and I can’t wait to make some new cards using your stamps and ideas

  15. June 25, 2016 10:11 am

    Great work today Judy, I always enjoy your commentary,and that adorable Cooper! Your cards are super delish and I really love the Tree House, colored to perfection. The Kitty In The Window is sooo cute! I love the Sat, morning visits with you, take care my friend and you and yours have a beautiful day!! 🙂 🙂

  16. DebbieP permalink
    June 25, 2016 10:43 am

    Wow, Judy, all great cards today. The tree house and the kitty and the bathing beauty are my favorites (yes – all three!). Love the colors you chose, and I can’t believe you took all that time to paper piece the little girl. Your story about nothing makes me think of Seinfeld, which I love! And I loved your comment about dividing your casserole to accommodate not liking a specific ingredient. It hits close to home as I am a picky eater and commonly make a base food and finish it HIS way and MY way! And of course, there is Cooper, who we all adore. Thanks for sharing your many talents….

    • Judy Jung permalink
      June 25, 2016 10:57 am

      Oh, Debbie .. we are kindred spirits. I am a very picky eater. Please don’t ever add cheese to my food!

  17. June 25, 2016 11:48 am

    Oh my…cannot believe the lack of a story idea happened to you. Recently, I’ve been asked to write some short essays. Usually, I’m never at a loss for words (ask my husband) but this totally thwarted my imagination. So I sympathize greatly with your temporary plight. Never fear, there is no doubt your talent for writing will return like gangbusters. Apparently, this has not affected your cardmaking skills, at all. What an array of loveliness you’ve managed this week .
    Don’t be too hard on Cooper. As your friend said, it really was HIS toothbruch, after all.

  18. Carole Centers permalink
    June 25, 2016 12:06 pm

    I thoroughly enjoy all your posts – all of them. Your traveling camper is on a par with the travel woes of Suzanne Dean. Keep it up! Of course I love most of your cards. No fond of birds but I like that you took the scene die w/o the bird and used it as an all over die.

  19. knurse22 permalink
    June 25, 2016 12:24 pm

    Darling cards today, Judy! i am totally wanting the ‘ladies’ faces stamps, and the little people too. And a few flowers…and ….. and……
    Love your stories. And when you don’t have a particular story, I love that too. You just write such interesting entries, I’m never bored.
    Cooper is so sweet—how could you EVER get mad at him? If he does the toothbrush thing again, remember this: MY DD cleaned my toilet bowl with my mascara brush. Too bad I hadn’t looked IN the toilet before I used it. But as I was applying it, she sweetly told me how helpful she had been!
    Hope you are enjoying this new release as much as I am…..I agree, it adds another depth of options to those of us who dabble in mixed media!

    • Judy Jung permalink
      June 25, 2016 12:46 pm

      Love the mascara brush story! Thank you for your comments and for loving Penny Black stamps!!

  20. Debra permalink
    June 25, 2016 3:04 pm

    You are as smart as you are creative! Sometimes a story is not needed – I can imagine at times it might be difficult to produce a story, particularly when the sun is shining outside and there are other things begging your attention, such as Cooper perhaps! No worries, I am as delighted with your cards as I am your stories. I think if you find your pen a bit ‘dry’ on occasion, posting your creations is sufficient! We are more than spoiled to be getting both on occasion.

  21. Jane Schroeder permalink
    June 25, 2016 3:04 pm

    Nice group of stamps. I especially like the window scene with a kittie.

  22. Dianne Crowe permalink
    June 25, 2016 4:07 pm

    Love your little bathing beauty, oh so cute. I have a few grandchildren that would love the kitty card too. Cooper is the hero of the day. You could always add a few of your fav recipes to your blog, I know I would try them out. Thanks ever so much for your cards, Cooper and your adventures, look forward to them. Dianne

  23. Sandie Clarke permalink
    June 25, 2016 9:03 pm

    Fantastic group of stamps and so creative, they leave lots of scope for our own imagination. I loved the cards you made, you give us lots of ideas and inspiration.

  24. donna mikasa permalink
    June 26, 2016 1:39 am

    I love your different card styles, Judy! The coloring on the first card is wonderful, and I’m smitten with the paper pieced cutie. Hello to Cooper!

  25. dawnnz permalink
    June 26, 2016 1:39 am

    I just love the cards this week Judy and your story of not having a story is perfect. I want all of these stamps and dies!

  26. Kathi permalink
    June 26, 2016 8:03 am

    Well, I can’t cook, and I have an aversion to tuna casserole so I’m not sure I would have read that, but you could make instructions for cleaning the toilet sound interesting haha Love your posts and I’m never without a smile when I finish. Keep Calm and Story On!

  27. June 26, 2016 9:30 am

    I really need the Tree House Cottege! Your blog is always so inspirational. 😉

  28. Kathy H permalink
    June 26, 2016 9:49 am

    I love the tree house cottage but the cat in the window is my favorite. I think the addition of the house and flowers made it perfect! Our dog Stickers once ate her wooden hairbrush, metal teeth and all. All that was left of it was a few of the teeth! Luckily, she didn’t seem to suffer any harm from it!

  29. June 27, 2016 10:03 am

    Great post…as always…still creative juices flowing telling us how your computer screen shot s blank – LOL! You just can’t help being a good writer JUDY!!! The cards are wonderful as always and the commentary is perfect. Love that Cooper apologizes…such a cute little guy!!!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  30. debbieg2014 permalink
    June 27, 2016 10:45 pm

    I am never bored with your postings. If you’re at a loss for words, just keep posting those beautiful cards you create and pics of Cooper. My little Hannah (our sweet little Bichon) loves them!

  31. Teri W permalink
    June 28, 2016 2:32 am

    Love your blog and products! I think my favorite is the pups!

  32. Vicki K permalink
    August 1, 2016 6:55 am

    I am a novice card maker and I just love your Blog and your card ideas. I take classes and one reoccurring comment I hear is “I need ideas” as I am not that creative. You certainly have plenty of great ideas. Love your posts.

Leave a Reply

