Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

August 27, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, again! Here we are at the end of another month: September which brings along the end of summer. Is it just me or do summer months speed by more quickly than those of winter? Finally, in all parts of the United States the children will be back to school. The children of Alabama have been at their school desks since the first week of August; schools further north follow the more traditional start date of after Labor Day, probably because summer is shorter and more treasured “up north”.

Actually, it’s amazing that I know what month it is or what month is coming next. It has not been an easy re-entry to my life and routine after our time spent traveling and being with family in Wisconsin.

What makes it all better is spending time on the Penny Black blog, playing with the new stamps and dies in the latest releases: Autumn Wishes and Magic of the Season.

1

The Autumn Splendor transparent set includes this happy scarecrow image. For some reason, I love coloring pumpkins and this set has pumpkins aplenty. As much as I love summer and her bright colors, I am ready for the more subdued colors of autumn. I’ve colored with Copics, fussy cut the scarecrow and mounted him on the face of the card with dimensional tape. I am dipping my toes slowly into the holiday season card making.

2

The Spooky Fun transparent set has a great assortment of Halloween images, including this large billboard stamp. I stamped it with black Versafine ink and embossed with clear embossing powder. The raven and bat are cut using the Halloween Creatures die set. Halloween is a good time to use up your spooky-colored patterned paper. Between the Spooky Fun transparent stamp set and the Halloween Creatures die set, you have enough spooky images to make Halloween cards for everyone on your list.

3

What would Halloween be without a black cat and a few bats? And all the better if they are hanging out in the forest. The cats and bats are from the Spooky Fun set and I have changed the Wintery Trail serene snow scene into the perfect spooky hangout. I don’t think this is what Penny Black had in mind for this stamp, but that’s what happens when you run with scissors.

As I mentioned earlier, re-entry to “normal” life has not been easy. You can hear the quiet in every room of our house. There are no little people running circles from the living room, through the kitchen, the playroom, down the hall and back again. There are no lap-sitters to keep this grandma anchored; no little eyes to see the world through; no cute little voices calling “PopPop”; no happy faces enjoying an ice pop treat. Ah, and we won’t be going to the zoo tomorrow or the State Fair the next day. No corn dogs and French fries for lunch at our favorite frozen custard restaurant. Yes, I don’t have to share my IPad anymore, but I would happily give it up for more time with the grandbabies.

Yes, it is true. Evelyn, at age 3, knows how to operate my IPad. I am only allowed to enter the passcode and she does all the rest. She knows how to access the TV shows and movies available through Amazon Prime and clicks on her favorites. My time on the IPad was after the little ones’ bedtime and I didn’t dare forget to charge the battery overnight.

I don’t think I really “got it” how much my IPad became Evelyn’s until I found an email from the folks at Amazon themselves after we arrived home. The email said, “Based on my previous viewing habits Amazon Prime recommends ‘Dora the Explorer’”.

And as if that was not enough, they also sent me an email requesting I provide a review of “Go Diego Go”. Sigh.

We have now been home two full weeks and I seem to have adjusted. After having been gone from our home for about 12 days, I saw things differently upon our return. Everything looked so uninterestingly the same: same old couches, same old carpet, same old paint colors, same old stuff. We have lived in this house for almost 11 years and I realized the furniture and accessories and pictures are all in the same place we put them the week we moved in. Poor Mr. RWS was very concerned when I declared we were going to get rid of everything and buy all new stuff! Well, it’s been two weeks now and so far I have replaced two worn out wastebaskets. It’s a start!

Mr. RWS is fervently praying it’s just a phase I am going through.

4

Last week I used the Berry Delight pear Stickeroo to make a Christmas card. This week I have used the Perfect Pear cling stamp to make a Thanksgiving card. I used Tombow markers and colored directly on the stamp. I see no reason to limit this image to the holiday season. I know I will be trying other methods to color the pear and will be using it for many different occasions.

5

When I began working with the incredible Rendezvous stamp, I had no intention of making a Christmas card. But I was inspired by Jill Foster’s use of non-traditional colors for Christmas cards and thought, “Why not?” And this is what happened. The Bird Amidst the Holly die creates an adorable bird and he was just the right element to make this image into a Christmas card. I created the background by blending Luxe inks, drying well, and then overstamping the tree image with VersaMark ink and embossing with white. This is a great year round image for any occasion. The men in your life will love it on the cards you make for them.

6

This is scary to put into writing, but I have decided to include one Snowy card in each of my posts until Christmas. That sounds more difficult than it is; there are only about 13 more blog posts until Christmas! Now, that’s scary!! Anyway, here he is, my favorite Penny Black stamp of all time. I colored him with Copics and then put some of the blender solution onto a textured cloth and tapped it gently onto the scarf and hat area. I like the textured look that created. And this time, silver glittery trim, some snowballs and a few glittery embellishments behind the acrylic circle to make it a shaker card. What do you think? Can I come up with 13 more ideas for this cute little guy?

7

This is Cooper with his BFF, Deuce. Deuce is the resident dog at the home where we leave him when we travel. He is Cooper’s first doggie friend and it is so fun to see them together. Sadly, I don’t think Cooper has adapted to being home either. He has gone from having three doggie playmates who love to jump and wrestle and chase to living with two senior citizens who no longer do any of those things. I try to console him with a daily walk to the park and playtime with blankie and toys in the evening. I don’t think he was meant to be an “only dog”.

Not only is it the end of August, it is now the end of my time on the Penny Black blog for today. The tiny vacuum has cleared up all the tiny bits of diecuts. I’ve cleaned and repackaged the stamps so everything is in good order for Monday, when the work begins here at Penny Black. When I get home I plan to spend more time with Jill’s videos showing the Top Three Holiday Stamping Techniques with the MISTI. If you missed that video and all the others this past week, they are there forever so you can catch up quickly. If you learn like I do, watching a video is better than reading instructions.

Scissors stowed: check. Mess cleaned up: check. Vacuum put away: check. Nothing left to say except I will be visiting the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery to see your amazing Penny Black creations. See you in September!

shop

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

 

Card No. 1: 30-372 Autumn Splendor

Card No. 2: 30-371 Spooky Fun, 51-245 Halloween Creatures

Card No. 3: 40-497 Wintry Trail, 30-371 Spooky Fun

Card No. 4: 40-493 Perfect Pear, 51-071 Words of Gratitude

Card No. 5: 40-496 Rendezvous, 30-382 Yuletide Wishes, 51-260 Bird Amidst Holly, 51-124 Flower tags

Card No. 6: 2521K Snowy, 51-266 Frosty/Snow Match

37 Comments leave one →
  1. donna mikasa permalink
    August 27, 2016 12:32 am

    Wonderful cards, as always, Judy! I’m loving those Stickeroos and their watercolored look is amazing! And I adore the pic of Cooper looking up at Deuce–he’s such a cutie!

  2. peg permalink
    August 27, 2016 1:47 am

    Good morning Judy. My dog Oliver at 4am it was time to get up! As I sit with my cup of chai reading your post it was delightful reading about your trip. That’s for sharing.

  3. Kelly Flaherty permalink
    August 27, 2016 1:47 am

    Your scarecrow pumpkin card is great! I bought about twelve of the new stamp set from this new release but the one I am most excited about is the scarecrow. BUT I need help knowing what colors of copics to use and was very happy to read that Penny Black designers were going to provide instruction and/or videos to help us with these projects. Would you PLEASE post the Copic colors used to color your scarecrow?

    • Judy Jung permalink
      August 27, 2016 5:25 am

      Kelly, I am glad to find a kindred scarecrow lover! This was the first stamp I used from the new releases. I’m afraid you give me more credit than I deserve, though. My system for coloring with Copics is to grab a marker and try it on a piece of scrap cardstock; if I like it, I use it and then look for a number close to it for shading. The theory is to use one light, one medium and one darker shade for blending. I do remember that the shirt under the jacket was first colored in yellow tones and I realized I had too much yellow, so I went over it with a darker marker to eliminate some yellow. Since Penny Black knows I run with scissors they don’t hold me to the same standards as the designers. They are just grateful that I show up on Saturday mornings. Seriously, I appreciate your asking and love it that you took the time to comment. I would love to see the scarecrow you color and hope you will post it in the Gallery.

      • Kelly Flaherty permalink
        August 28, 2016 5:57 am

        You are such a sweetheart!!! Halloween is such a fun holiday to stamp and color with and your artwork is so much fun. I love using my copics but just can’t seem to “get” the shading thing so my coloring looks so amateurish. I’m hoping one day to take a Copic class but right now there haven’t been any close to home. So in the meantime, I’ll just sit back and enjoy the beauty of your work and keep trying to imitate you. Thank you again for responding to my question.

  4. Shirley permalink
    August 27, 2016 2:38 am

    Love all your cards, especially the scarecrow, great stamp set.

  5. BeverlyBL permalink
    August 27, 2016 5:17 am

    Well, I’m glad you are back and hope you and Cooper are adjusting. I love your blogging style, as well as your stamping. I love the idea of Snowy in every post. My Snowy and family are on the way, and I’ll be happy to see him. He is so cute.

  6. Evelyn B permalink
    August 27, 2016 5:34 am

    As others have already said, I too love your scarce crow and your lovely snowman. I’m looking forward to seeing how many ways you can do it in the coming weeks! What a fun challenge for yourself! I love snowmen anyway you can do them. That pear thankful card is great too.

  7. August 27, 2016 5:35 am

    What cute Fall cards.

  8. creatingincolors permalink
    August 27, 2016 5:49 am

    OMG I’ve had the same feeling walking into my home after being away for a while! Surely you’ll have more to this story! I’m looking forward to more installments of Snowy too!

  9. Lonnie permalink
    August 27, 2016 5:52 am

    Love your cards and aren’t grandkids the best!

  10. mjmarmo permalink
    August 27, 2016 6:17 am

    Lovely cards. I am sure it is difficult adjusting after time with the family. Maybe you need to adopt another dog so Cooper is not an only dog!

  11. Linda Page permalink
    August 27, 2016 6:48 am

    I love the Halloween card with the bats and black cat. You have definitely tweaked my “buying” interest!!! If Cooper is missing his canine pals, maybe you should play the Dora movie for him! He might like to watch a movie while you senior citizens snooze in your recliners. I’m just saying!!! lol I watched the videos with the MISTI and that tweaked my “buying” interest so much that I bought a MISTI on Amazon and two PB stamps! I am so easily influenced!!!

  12. Verna Angerhofer permalink
    August 27, 2016 6:58 am

    What a wonderful array of gorgeous cards. I really like the Halloween one a lot. And I understand the let down after the grandkids leave. But usually by then I need a rest as well.

  13. Mary Holshouser permalink
    August 27, 2016 8:15 am

    the trees work well with the Halloween theme.
    thanks for sharing such wonderful projects.

  14. Harriet permalink
    August 27, 2016 8:26 am

    Time flies doesn’t it? I appreciate quiet; however, while stamping I listen to music. It’s nice and seems to help me ‘create’. Your cards are wonderful. I have one very old pumpkin stamp that I adore and use often especially for Halloween cards. I look forward to making Christmas cards as I purchased Penny Black’s ‘woodland beauty’. My mind tells me I can create many cards….here’s hoping my mind is right.

  15. August 27, 2016 8:29 am

    I suspect Fritz would be happier with doggy playmates, too. Kids do grow up so fast–glad you had this time with them, Judy. I don’t do much for Halloween, but your cat card is fabulous! That is the best ever snowman & your coloring always amazes me! Hugs, Greta

  16. jane harrah permalink
    August 27, 2016 8:51 am

    I adore that snowman and I am so excited they are coming out with a die for him. He is the happiest snowman ever! Fall is starting to feel a little in the air. It is hard to say goodbye to summer but some of the new stamps make it easier.. Lots to play with!

  17. August 27, 2016 9:43 am

    Welcome home….and know we are glad to have you back even tho’ you were not gone long! Great cards as usual…will be looking forward to seeing what you do with Snowy – LOL!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  18. DebbieP permalink
    August 27, 2016 9:47 am

    Not being a cat person, I am surprised that my favorite card this week is your Halloween cat card! So surprised that I will also be ordering that set – who knew! Of course the snowman came in a very close second. I look forward to seeing all the different iterations you come up with for him. Do you think Penny Black will release him in a non-woodblock format??? I just don’t have room for woodblock stamps. I also love the picture of Cooper with his friend, maybe you need to arrange a play date. As always, I love starting my Saturday morning with your post. Thanks for the inspiration and great stories.

  19. Debbie S permalink
    August 27, 2016 10:18 am

    Outstanding cards and all the new releases.
    I love them all, especially that little snowman.
    It is scary how time is flying.

  20. August 27, 2016 11:59 am

    Simply hate it when vacation is over and the return to the same house with the same furnishings and the same routine is all you have to look forward to. Suffice it to say, I feel for you. But you have obviously put your “spare” time to good use. All these cards are wonderful and I love what you’ve done with the precious snowman. Really confident that the next several posts before Christmas will include his sweet smiling face.

  21. August 27, 2016 12:04 pm

    Your cards are wonderful as always Judy, and my fav is the Halloween card with the cat and bats you added to the scenery stamp! I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes as I read how empty your house feels without your children to fill it up. I can relate to that feeling as I go through it every time the girls come down for a visit and leave. I would be so lost if it were not for our Scooby and his antics to cheer me up. The hollow sound of a empty house has to be the loneliest feeling in the world. Peace and quiet is so overrated! I’ll take family noise, chaos, and laughter any day of the week. So glad your trip was fun and full of great memories.

  22. August 27, 2016 12:05 pm

    Oh wow! Stunning cards!!!!

  23. alexandra s.m. permalink
    August 27, 2016 2:12 pm

    Your cards are so beautiful dear Judy that they almost make me wish for Autumn to be here!
    I can’t believe the local kids go back to school so early! I’m a grown woman and would still find that very depressing ;o)

  24. Kathi permalink
    August 27, 2016 4:01 pm

    Judy – it was so good to “hear” your voice again – you were missed! My grandbabies traveled with the in-laws this week while I prepared for a block garage sale. Guess what – people don’t really want my junk of 30 years – but my husband is all about getting rid of everything so Goodwill, here I come! I can’t wait to get back to my cards and my “happy place”. Purging is so stressful!! Thanks for the inspiration, your cards are always that! Welcome home!

  25. Cath permalink
    August 27, 2016 4:56 pm

    Great card ideas. Particularly love that pear. The tree image is great inspiration–that technique turned out so well. The shaker snowman is adorable. And, actually, a cool thought in August. Bring on the snowmen!

  26. Cheryl Furman permalink
    August 27, 2016 8:25 pm

    Stunning cards!! Such creativity inspires me!

  27. August 27, 2016 8:39 pm

    LOVED your beautiful cards but really enjoyed hearing about your life too!!

  28. Jess Farmer permalink
    August 28, 2016 12:30 am

    What wonderful card making skills you have Judy! I hope to someday be as knowledgeable as you are!

  29. dawnnz permalink
    August 28, 2016 1:37 am

    Stunning cards Judy. LOVE your snowman. Christmas is coming way to fast. I need to make a start on seriously getting some cards done.

  30. August 28, 2016 5:44 am

    Fabulous and stunning cards! WOW.. love each of the holiday card 🙂

  31. Bicknell permalink
    August 28, 2016 6:47 am

    Your work is just beautiful!

  32. August 28, 2016 8:34 am

    Love your cards. I really enjoyed seeing Wintry Trail as a spooky forest. What a great idea.

  33. Linda S in NE permalink
    August 28, 2016 10:41 am

    Like you and some of your other readers, I can relate to that weird feeling of walking into my home after having been dog-sitting in someone else’s home for even just a week. Everything looks so strange, and who bought all this “stuff” anyway!!! And that smell from having been closed up…you forgot to talk about the smell. Hugs to Cooper.

  34. August 30, 2016 10:40 am

    I feel your pain, Judy, when it comes to being away from the grandies! It does seem so very still and quiet after they are gone, or when we leave their house! Love, love, love all of your cards…halloween AND the awesome snowman…great coloring. Thanks for sharing this little slice of life with us. Blessings.

  35. Virginia L. permalink
    August 31, 2016 12:14 pm

    Welcome back, Judy! Your awesome post is the perfect entry for our transition to Fall. Love the creative cards you designed!

Leave a Reply

