Skip to content

Runs with Scissors… and Laundry!

September 10, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, Penny Black friends. I’m so glad you popped in for a visit to the blog today. I’ve been here for a little while and have my cards ready to share with you.

In spite of the mid-summer-like heat where I live, I am going forward with my fall-themed and Christmas holiday cards using stamps and dies from the Autumn Wishes and Magic of the Season releases. Thankfully, the heat and muggies have not crept into the Penny Black studio and I am enjoying the virtual change of seasons.

1

As I’ve said before, I love coloring pumpkins. This time I tried something different using the pumpkin stamp from the Autumn Splendor transparent set. I stamped the image directly onto gingham designer paper and then added color to the pumpkins. I think it’s fun that the pattern shows on the pumpkins. I have certainly enjoyed using that Polaroid die! Once again it adds some interest to my image and gives me a place to stamp my sentiment. And how cute is the mix of polka dots and gingham?

2

I almost hope Penny Black doesn’t notice how I’ve used the lamppost from the Cone and Berries cling set. It’s certainly not decked out for Christmas. I love it when a stamp is versatile enough to use in different ways. I added some shiny enamel details to the lamppost and the spider, just to make things spookier. That Brick Wall background stamp, like the Polaroid die, is one of my go-to Penny Black items. It is never packed away.

3

Well, are these little dudes birds? The die is called Silly Birds, so it must be so. When I look at them, though, I see little ghosts. Perhaps Mama Bird dressed them as ghosts for Halloween. And that little guy that is upside down? I think he was running with scissors. Wait until Mama Bird finds out. I’ve combined die cuts from three different die sets for this card: Silly Birds, Beneath the Birches, and Halloween Creatures. I added some glittery night sky paper and a big harvest moon.

This week: a Queen

Last week I announced I officially reached Angel status. This week I will share with you a title I earned and was awarded years ago: Queen, as in Laundry Queen.

I have always loved doing laundry. And that’s a very good thing, being the mother of a large family. There is satisfaction to be had from turning the chaos of a pile of dirty clothes into neatly organized stacks of sweet smelling, fresh-from-the-dryer clothes.

I didn’t realize when my children were little that they had any idea where their clean clothes came from. That is until the Mother’s Day card I received one year from my elementary school aged daughter that depicted stick-figure-me sitting on our large sectional couch surrounded by folded laundry, sorted by child. The details even included the stacks balanced on the couch back, mostly kitchen towels and dish cloths.

Mr. RWS used to brag about the “magic laundry chute” in our home. He was in awe of how his dirty clothes went down the chute and somehow showed up neatly folded and on hangers, day after day. He even pointed out that feature to potential buyers when we put the house up for sale.

However, I was not awarded the Laundry Queen title officially until the week I shared with family at my sister’s Timeshare in the Carolina mountains. The unit came complete with a mini-sized stackable washer and dryer. Since we were a large group and clean towels were at a premium, I appointed myself in charge of ensuring everyone had clean towels when needed.

We might be playing cards, watching TV, or having refreshments. It didn’t matter. The buzzer on the dryer signaling yet another dry load was my “call of the wild”. Ahhh, the comfort of warm towels, fresh and clean and ready to be folded and stacked. Just like having money in the bank.

Perhaps the ultimate proof of my love of laundry came when I was completing my college degree as an adult. A Communications Class assignment was to deliver a demonstration speech. Suggestions were offered as to what to demonstrate, including perhaps your hobby. Since this was taking place before I had been introduced to stamping, and while I was still busy being a mom to a teenager, I had no hobbies. And then I remembered how I was always jokingly referring to doing laundry as my hobby.

Yes, I really did it. I took a clothes basket full of clean laundry in need of folding to my class. I stood before my classmates and demonstrated the fine art of folding laundry. They were not impressed with my tri-folded dish towels, the neatly folded squares of wash cloths nor the folded upon themselves socks. It wasn’t until I demonstrated how to fold a T-shirt so that it became a neat, tight oblong brick that they gave me their full attention. My Navy son, who shared a cramped bunk on the USS Abraham Lincoln, taught me how they folded their clothes so they took up as little space as possible. It is a skill I practice each day, even now.

4

My speech was well received and might have won “best in class” had it not been followed by a young woman who demonstrated how to make ice cream sundaes and proceeded to pass them out to the class.

5

Did I mention that Brick Wall stamp is a favorite? Here I masked off part of the stamp and hung my Christmas Stockings on the pretend fireplace mantel. I think Jill Foster’s love of teal for Christmas is rubbing off. The Christmas Stocking die set provides several variations for putting together the stockings. The holly trim is from the Bird Amidst Holly die.

6

Penny Black has offered several full-card-sized dies in their collection. This is one of the most intricate and beautiful, I think. When I am using a die this large and this intricate, I use a metal shim to make sure all the little pieces are cut through. A layer or maybe two of cardstock would do the trick, also. I always practice on a scrap sheet of cardstock to make sure I have the right combination of shims. For this card, I’ve used my last sheet of shiny red cardstock to cut out both the background and the circle for the Manger diecut. Once again, I used the little tag die from the Gift Card die set and stamped it with a tiny sentiment from the Holiday Snippet set.

7

Last, but not least, here is Snowy and this time he brought his friend along to be part of the fun. The blue background was created with Distress inks blended and then spritzed with a bit of water. The Snowies are wearing scarves and hats paper pieced with paper from Penny Black paper packs. I do love paper piecing; fool proof and fun. Those little hearts in the birch branches … could it be that love is in the air?

8

We made it to the groomer’s!! Cooper is finally fluffy and smelling gorgeous. Kind of like a batch of clean and folded laundry. I took many photos of Cooper when we got home and some show off his new hairdo better than this one, but I could not resist sharing this “Cooper with an attitude” photo. I think he enjoys being all cleaned up!

And now it is time to create order out of the chaos here in the Penny Black studio. Try as I might, I am a messy stamper. By the time I have finished with a project I have about ten square inches of space that isn’t piled high with stamps, dies, makers, tape and ink pads. I am, however, unable to leave it that way. Everything has a place and everything is put back into that place. Maybe that’s the reason I am invited back each week.

Thank you for sharing part of your day with me. I am off to the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery to admire and comment on your beautiful work.

shop

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

 Card No. 1: 30-272 Autumn Splendor, 51-037 Polaroid

Card No. 2: 30-371 Spooky Fun, 40-495 Cones and Berries, 51-245 Halloween Creatures

Card No. 3: 51-245 Halloween Creatures, 51-248 Silly Birds, 51-270 Beneath the Birches

Card No. 4: 40-137 Brick Wall, 51-174 Greetings, 51-252 Christmas Stockings, 51-260 Bird Amidst Holly

Card No. 5: 51-250 No Two are Alike, 51-254 Manger, 51-191 Gift Card, 30-307 Holiday Snippets

Card No. 6: 2521K Snowy, 51-266 Frosty/Snow Match, 51-270 Beneath the Birches, 80-009 Painted Blooms, 80-012 Wintertime
connect

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitter

28 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2016 2:19 am

    Wow! Amazing cards!!! ❤

  2. Shirley permalink
    September 10, 2016 2:28 am

    Very nice cards and great laundry story, like it :o)

  3. Dianne Crowe permalink
    September 10, 2016 3:19 am

    Ah Halloween and Christmas is in the air, does that mean our summer is over? Enjoyed your beautiful cards. Thanks for your little life stories, I enjoy them each Saturday morning while waiting for a cup of coffee. Cooper does look proud of himself all gussied up.

  4. September 10, 2016 4:01 am

    Fab cards.
    Love the story. Maybe if you had done their laundry you would have won! 🙂 There is nothing like an empty dirty clothes basket and a pile of fresh clean laundry 🙂

  5. Mary W permalink
    September 10, 2016 4:57 am

    I like the idea of stamping the pumpkins on patterned paper. Love the card. The ice cream sundaes was bribery!

  6. knurse22 permalink
    September 10, 2016 4:58 am

    Love all your cute cards, Judy! And Cooper is definitely looking fluffed and puffed—what a sweetie he is!

  7. Gail permalink
    September 10, 2016 5:49 am

    I look forward going to my email and seeing your post…

  8. creatingincolors permalink
    September 10, 2016 5:53 am

    Well, that’s a post chock full of good stuff. Love all your cards, especially Snowy, which I can’t get enough of! Can’t wait to try the shirt-folding tip, and love Cooper’s “strike the pose” look!

  9. barbara lassiter permalink
    September 10, 2016 8:28 am

    Your cards are just the best…always imaginative, beautifully created and beautiful or cute as the need may be. Today’s favorite, for me, is the “cute birds dressed as ghosts” card. 🙂 Love the stories and I was reminded of the time when my daughter was in kindergarten and had to draw a picture of Mommy, participating in her favorite hobby. The teacher was really grinning as she handed me the folder, about our family life, that my daughter had created. She drew a picture of me ironing! LOL Unlike you, I dislike laundry chores and especially ironing, but I guess I must have ironed more than I thought I did. Still don’t like it, still do it!

  10. Patricia Gasko permalink
    September 10, 2016 8:33 am

    These cards are drop dead gorgeous! You’ve outdone yourself and I know you have earned your Laundry Queen title and are so deserving of it after reading today’s blog. And such a beautiful Cooper he’s so pretty and poses so well. I used to have a very large standard white poodle, Pierre and every time I got Pierre home from being groomed he would run for our bed, get up on it so he could admire himself in my dresser mirror. He’d look straight at the mirror then turn left, then turn to the right to peek at himself from the corner of his eye.

  11. Verna Angerhofer permalink
    September 10, 2016 8:49 am

    I love all of those beautiful card creations you made. Each is so fantastic and many of the dies you used are on my wish list. And, thanks for sharing how to fold a T-shirt. I will have to remember that. Cool tip! Thanks Laundry Queen.

  12. September 10, 2016 8:58 am

    Lovely cards, beautiful ‘do on Cooper, he looks so proud! I too am a laundry Queen with a magic laundry chute!

  13. September 10, 2016 9:33 am

    Great cards and stories…will have to try your folded T-Shirt technique – awesome! I have been rolling mine – yours looks SOOOOO NEAT!
    Cooper is quite the gentlemen in this picture!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  14. September 10, 2016 10:15 am

    Like you, I to enjoy doing laundry. Even like ironing, making everything look nice and almost new again! When I was growing up my Mother made all of us iron our own clothes so we would be able to stay clean and neat looking, even the boys.My Mom married a man that had 7 children and 5 of them were still at home, So we all had to pitch in and do dishes and any other household chores to keep everything done up around the house, boys too! My Mom ran an equal opportunity household! lol
    Cooper is really looking good.with his new haircut and shampoo! Very spiffy! Got to get our Scooby cleaned up too!
    Your cards are beautiful and love those little snowmen and the Halloween cards. Thanks for another enjoyable Sat. morning, Judy! You are a gem and I love getting together with you and having coffee. Take care and hugs!

  15. September 10, 2016 10:32 am

    Queen of the Laundry…to me, that is a dubious honor similar to Duchess of the Iron. As you have a large family, it’s certainly good that you mastered the task, however. This weeks cards look like you are well on your way to completely your Holiday card list. The recipients are going to be thrilled to get these little masterpieces.
    Cooper does look as though he is posing with his best and most debonair attitude. And I love his new style.

  16. Julie permalink
    September 10, 2016 10:40 am

    Love the Halloween cards, esp the gingham and polka dots–I’ll have to give it a try.
    Laundry is my favorite chore, too. I always appreciate the convenience of a spacious laundry room and my efficient front loader, esp when I look at a photo of my great-grandma and her “wringer” machine and the iron she heated on the stove! No wonder whole days were set aside for laundry!

  17. DebbieP permalink
    September 10, 2016 2:00 pm

    Happy Saturday Judy. Love your cards today, especially the snowmen! I didn’t see the birds as ghosts until you pointed it out…now they will always be ghosts to me! I won’t ever be given the title of Laundry Queen as it ranks right up there with cleaning the toilet and washing windows….just don’t like it. If everything went on a hanger, I guess it would be okay, but folding underwear and rolling socks is just not my thing! I may try your t-shirt folding just to see if it might be faster then my way…never to old to learn a new trick or two. Today is our 33rd wedding anniversary, so no laundry today! Thanks for getting my morning started…

  18. mjmarmo permalink
    September 10, 2016 2:47 pm

    Gorgeous cards! I am happy to say my husband loves doing laundry and now does all ours.

  19. karenajo permalink
    September 10, 2016 7:14 pm

    Love the pumpkins on the patterned paper ! All your cards are amazing today – the snowy friends are adorable. I, too love a freshly folded stack of sweet smelling laundry – loved your story ! Cooper is adorable with his bit of an attitude pose ! Thanks for sharing !

  20. jillianfoster82 permalink*
    September 11, 2016 4:14 am

    Another wonderful week of smiles and inspiration, Judy. Thank you!

    • Judy Jung permalink
      September 11, 2016 1:33 pm

      Thank you for slipping me the key to the blog!!

  21. BeverlyBL permalink
    September 11, 2016 8:16 am

    Many cute cards. I love the gingham and polka dots, the shirt folding tip, the precious Snowy and friend and of course, Cooper, the cutie.

  22. Chrissy Vieman permalink
    September 11, 2016 8:49 am

    Oh my goodness you crack me up with your love of laundry! I am just like that too! Also I love washing dishes. I say it’s like a bath for my hands! What if one day they make affordable domestic robots? What will become of us?

  23. donna mikasa permalink
    September 11, 2016 10:23 am

    Oh, I was wondering what the “….and laundry” was referring to! And it looks like a lot of us are closet “Laundry Queens”! Love all your cards–so many wonderful dies!

  24. lisa KELLY permalink
    September 12, 2016 11:44 am

    Sent from my Samsung device

  25. September 27, 2016 9:11 am

    Good thing I didn’t delete my PB e-mail notice of this post–somehow I missed it when I was catching up after my trip. Your stories are always wonderful & today is no exception! I would love to have been in your college class–haha! That has got to be one of the cutest pictures of Cooper–frame worthy for sure! Maybe you could use it in a card for the groomer. Gotta say–I love each & every card, Judy–so much creativity! The stamping & coloring on pp is fabulous & the silly birds card & your explanation gave me a good laugh! Hugs, Greta

  26. Marisela Delgado permalink
    September 28, 2016 4:08 pm

    No offense, but I think Cooper is the best part of your blog. Your cards are beautiful, but I love seeing Cooper. He makes me want to hug him. I miss my beagle named Monster. He was my baby and we had to put him to sleep last year. He’s buried in our backyard and I talk to him every day. =) Cooper is stylin’ with his new “do.” I love that attitude. He’s cute and he knows it.

  27. Deb Hammond permalink
    October 11, 2016 9:59 am

    Judy, can you share with me how you create Snowy’s many different styles of scarfs and hat ‘s. Thank you Deb

Leave a Reply

