Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

October 8, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Happy, happy cooler weather everyone. Finally the air conditioner is silent, the windows are open, the grass is no longer growing and we can put away the shorts and tee shirts that have been the wardrobe choice for so long. This is the time of year that we residents of the south cherish. I hope it’s a glorious day wherever you are and that you have some time set aside to play and be creative.

1

A color scheme of kraft, black and white is a good start when making Halloween cards. All you need is the Spooky Fun transparent set with its fun assortment of spooky images and you can mix and match to your heart’s content.

2

There are so many lovely sentiments, both the thought and the font, in the two latest releases, Magic of the Season and Autumn Wishes. This namesake sentiment is from the Autumn Splendor transparent set. I’ve surrounded it with diecut leaves from the Autumn Jewels die set which were cut from paper colored by blending my Luxe inks in various fall colors. And the feathered friend from the Bird Amidst Holly die set is enjoying the little perch made from a thin strip of kraft cardstock.

3

The No Two Are Alike large background die is just too special to ignore. Here I’ve used it as a background for a chapel cut from the Chapels die set. I am amazed at all the tiny detail in this die, and how perfectly it cuts out each snowflake.

 The Wedding

When we received the “Save the Date” postcard from Michael and Kaley early this year, October 1, 2016 seemed to be forever away. (Note: If you missed Judy’s first post about Michael you can catch up HERE.) But just like all the happy occasions we wait for, the day finally arrived. Mr. RWS and I worked together to make the six hour trip to Pineview, Georgia into a seven hour journey. I say worked together because it was my phobia of Atlanta traffic that persuaded him to map out an alternate route, going very south in Alabama and finally turning East into Georgia far south of Atlanta.

In the days before the trip, I had calculated that leaving home at 6:00 am would have us arriving at our hotel at 1:00 pm. This would give us time to rest and relax for a bit as well as adequate time to get dressed for the 4:00 p.m. wedding. Why he didn’t mention it earlier, but Mr. RWS chose the morning we were leaving to remind me that we lose an hour traveling east, making our arrival time 2:00 pm. It was obvious that lunch would be a quick fast food event and there was no time to make mistakes along the way.

Our fairly new car is equipped with a GPS system that we are not proficient in operating.   However, when we entered the address of our destination, the lady in the GPS system routed us through Atlanta. So, we were back to the old RV’ing days, with the trusty Atlas and me being responsible for getting us through the small towns along our route in Alabama and the by-passes around the larger cities. There was only once along the way that Mr. RWS pulled over to the side of the road to see for himself what I was telling him. “Oh, you don’t believe me?” I asked. “Sure I believe you,” he replied. “I just need to see it for myself.” Maybe he is what they call a “visual learner”.

It was a gorgeous ride, well worth the extra hour on the road: great new roads, beautiful landscaping along the highway, and acres of pecan trees planted in ram road straight rows. The temperature was in the moderate 70’s with no humidity, the sky was bright blue with the sun shining even brighter.

After the worry of possibly being late for the wedding, we were delighted to arrive with enough time to grab a cat nap (Mr. RWS), change our clothes (both) and do hair and makeup (me).

We knew immediately upon arrival at the wedding site that Michael and Kaley had chosen the perfect venue for their outdoor wedding. There was a huge barn-like building where the tables were set up for dinner. More buildings provided living accommodations for the weekend for the wedding party. Another building provided air conditioning and multiple couches placed in front of a large screen television for any guests who might want to keep up on the latest college football games (college football is BIG in the south). And yet another barn like building was the background for the ceremony.

Kaley, Michael and their families and friends had created incredible decorations that added a personal touch to the wedding site and the surrounding grounds. Mother Nature had provided a large pond, with a field of cotton blooming in the background.

Ahhh, but the wedding ceremony: finally and at last, Michael and his best man Tony entered the area in front of the huge flower festooned doors and stood waiting for the bride to appear. After the male attendants ushered the bridesmaids to their place in front of the crowd, Kaley and her father made their appearance and walked down the aisle to music very special to them.

Michael and Tony made the U.S. Marine Corps proud as they stood on their prosthetic legs, sharply dressed in their dress blues uniform. It was an act of bravery that they were able to tolerate the heat and sun after every male guest had shed their coat and tie immediately upon being seated.

4

I was predicting there would not be a dry eye in the house as Michael stood to receive his bride. But it was not a teary kind of an occasion. It was joy. It was gratitude. It was hopeful. It was optimistic. It was amazing. It was something no one would have imagined during the weeks after Michael was wounded.

Little Brayley, soon to be Michael’s daughter, showed us what unconditional love is all about. Because Michael’s amputations are above the knee, he uses a cane to help with his balance. During the ceremony, his cane fell from his hands and before he could maneuver to a position enabling him to pick it up, little Brayley, in her beautiful white princess dress, ran up to the front and picked up the cane and handed it to her new daddy. No one told her to, no one had to encourage her. She senses that Michael needs assistance sometimes and just does as much as a two year old princess can to help.

And so we saw Michael marry Kaley in front of family and friends and with the help of little Brayley. The ceremony was followed by food and fellowship and music and dancing. We watched Michael dance with his new wife, followed by a very touching dance with his Mom. Even a marine can be excused for being emotional while thanking his mother for the foundation that made him who he is. Michael’s parents and sisters left their “real” lives behind for months to be with Michael during his time at Walter Reed and the year afterward learning to use prosthetics.

2pics

I want to point out that the medal on the very left of Michael’s row of medals is the Purple Heart, awarded to Michael while he was recovering at Walter Reed.

Finally, Michael and Tony were able to change from their dress blues into clothes more suited for bodies that no longer regulate temperature they way they used to.

Mr. RWS and I danced the only slow dance played that evening. And before we knew it, it was time for this senior citizen couple to head back to the hotel. We said our farewells to the newly wedded couple, the parents, and other family members we see only occasionally. Although we did not stay until the very end, we both decided we held up pretty well for two people who were up before dawn and had a seven hour drive behind them.

“And they lived happily ever after”.

 THE END

7

Silver, pink, blue and a touch of green really is a good color combo in real life. Making it look pretty in a photo is not so good. I again prepared my cardstock by blending Luxe inks in my three chosen colors and stamped and embossed the ornament image from the transparent set Merry Jingle, followed by fussy cutting. The silver twine was on my desk and so I added a bit of sparkle with the twine and a bow.

8

Once again I wanted to feature one of the beautiful sentiments in this collection. This message from the Holy Night transparent set is so perfect for the Manger diecut. It would not be difficult to mass produce a card similar to this one.

9

The kraft, white and black color combo worked so well with my Halloween card that I chose to use it for this week’s Snowy card. This is Snowy number eight, eleven more to go.   Here Snowy is basking in a snow drift, with trees cut from the In the Winter die set. The two snow bunnies stopped by for a quick visit.

10

Cooper spent the weekend with his dog buddy Deuce while we went to Georgia for the wedding. I’ve spoken before of the beautiful view he enjoys while visiting. I am so happy you can see what I mean about the incredible beauty Cooper enjoys.

I see it is time to stow the scissors and scoot over to the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery to check out the art. Thank you for your visit and your lovely comments.

shopShop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

connect

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitter

23 Comments leave one →
  1. karenajo permalink
    October 8, 2016 5:28 am

    Beautiful story about Michael and Kaley . Could not help but get a tear in my eye reading about Braley and her thoughtful deed. Thanks for sharing this special love story ! Love your cards today – all the beautiful color combos! Snowy has a great setting today and Cooper looks like he is enjoying his surroundings as well !

  2. creatingincolors permalink
    October 8, 2016 5:49 am

    Dang, I want to visit where Cooper goes! Thanks for sharing the wedding story. What a beautiful start to their married life together. Even your drive to get there sounded beautiful. I’d much rather take more time to avoid cities and travel more peaceful roads. Of course I love your Snow card!

  3. janpufall permalink
    October 8, 2016 5:51 am

    The snowman card is adorable. It’s all so motivating! I would never have put the Kraft, white, and black combination together. Boy, does it work, though!

  4. October 8, 2016 5:58 am

    I must have the manger die cut..so so pretty and perfect for the upcoming holiday season!

  5. Connie Schulz permalink
    October 8, 2016 5:59 am

    Love your cards and really enjoy your weekly stories. Today’s was great to see that life goes on after such catastrophic life changes. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Rose Mary Smalley permalink
    October 8, 2016 7:38 am

    Judy, thank you for sharing your wonderful story about this very special wedding for this darling couple. It was heartwarming. I wish them well on their journey of married life together. My husband and I will celebrate our 50th anniversary on Aug.19,2017…and I am sending wishes to them to enjoy a long and happy life together.
    Your cards Judy were just lovely…as usual….thank you again for the great morning read…..

    • Judy Jung permalink
      October 8, 2016 7:47 am

      Rose Mary, thank you so much for commenting. I wish you and your husband a happy Golden wedding anniversary. That is a milestone to treasure.

  7. October 8, 2016 8:40 am

    Thank you so much for sharing the story of the wedding & some pictures–beautiful couple & must have been an incredible day for them! So glad you were able to avoid the Atlanta traffic, Judy–I can only imagine as I can barely handle Portland traffic now & we used to live there! Wonderful cards, as always–thanks for the tip about kraft, white & black–not sure I’ve used it & it’s wonderful for both cards! I love the manger scene cut from blue sparkle–another die for my wishlist!

  8. Dianne Crowe permalink
    October 8, 2016 8:47 am

    What a wonderful story, the fellows must have gone through a lot to receive there medals. Congratulations to the bride and groom, sounds like a wonderful place for a wedding.
    Love your cards Judy, Cooper and your stories into parts of your life. Thanks for sharing.

  9. October 8, 2016 9:02 am

    Well, there weren’t any dry eyes here in front of the PC this morning while I read your story of the wedding…I’m a complete mess at any wedding we attend, this one included. Felt like I was there. You really know how to tell and write a story. Anyway, was very impressed with your lovely cards even the spooky one. Since I now own Snowy and his accompanying die, I was interested to see how he was dressed this week…I was not disappointed. What a terrific color combo.

  10. October 8, 2016 9:09 am

    Once again, Judy, I am beginning my Saturday morning with tears streaming… the good kind! There is so much joy and love in this”happily ever after” story and the way you have written it. Surely a treasure for the couple to cherish as well. As always, love all of your cards this week; this is my favorite Snowy yet with his lovely tweed hat and scarf, and of course the bunnies, too! What a lucky boy Cooper is! Wish I could stay there with him.

  11. October 8, 2016 11:24 am

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful wedding with us Judy! Congratulations to the Bride and Groom and wishing them a life filled with happiness and joy!

    Love your very pretty cards and really like how you created the Snowy card today! I have that cute guy on order and can’t wait to get him. I don’t know why I didn’t order him when he was first released. I have some of the other snowmen from PB.

    That photo of Cooper is adorable as usual! He is such a cutie! Take care Judy, and you and your’s have a beautiful week-end! Hugs to all!

  12. DebbieP permalink
    October 8, 2016 12:08 pm

    Another Saturday morning crying in front of my computer! But in a good way. So happy for Michael and Kaley. Thank you for sharing their story with us. This weeks cards are all very beautiful and I will be trying the kraft – black- white combo soon, as I really like the look you created with it. In that picture of Cooper, you can see he is really enjoying his wonderful view. No wonder he doesn’t mind when you go travelling without him!!!

  13. Cath permalink
    October 8, 2016 12:58 pm

    Sweet story. Much happiness to them. Loving this week’s snowman–patterned paper a great idea. Also choosing the bird as a favorite card.

  14. dawnnz permalink
    October 8, 2016 1:09 pm

    Beautiful cards and a beautiful story about your nephew. What a wonderful outcome and I wish him and his wife all the very best.

  15. Virginia L. permalink
    October 8, 2016 2:55 pm

    Thanks for sharing a piece of Americana with us here. So glad that you made it to the wedding smoothly. Wish the bride and groom live happily ever after! I adore all the cards, especially that snowman with the matching scarf/hat and clouds. Of course, Cooper looks as dapper as always!

  16. rdhhall permalink
    October 8, 2016 3:20 pm

    I was hoping that you would share wedding pictures with us. Thank you. Your cards are great as usual. I am particularly interested to check what you have done with Snowy for the blog each week. I wish you were closer so that we could arrange a play date with our completely spoiled pup and Cooper. I think they would have fun.

  17. jane harrah permalink
    October 8, 2016 5:38 pm

    Love the cards, that Haunted is great and that snowman is ALWAYS my fave!!

  18. mjmarmo permalink
    October 9, 2016 1:03 pm

    Sounds like the perfect wedding! Lovely cards!

  19. Donna Sue permalink
    October 9, 2016 5:14 pm

    Loving the snowman card – adorable!

  20. October 10, 2016 3:44 am

    Thank you for sharing not only your beautiful cards but also the wonderful wedding story. It is such a heartwarming story, and it was a great way to start the day. Hugs, Kristina

  21. Marisela Delgado permalink
    October 11, 2016 2:58 pm

    Hi, Judy! What a beautiful tale that Michael and Kaley have lived out. What a journey! I’ve been on my own painful journey these past 3 years and 4 months. It all started because I cut a varicose vein while shaving my legs and had it turn life-threatening. My life spiraled downward after that and I am still trying to get better. I’m almost there, though. The Lord has seen me through and has promised me a beautiful “ending” also. Congrats to the newly married couple! =) Your dark blue snowflake card reminds me of Mexican “papel picado.” It’s so pretty. Your lavender ornament card is so pretty card, but then again, I am a purple person. ha-ha As always, my absolute favorite part of your blog is Cooper. What a prince! I see him and I want to hug him and squeeze him. He’s so sweet. I was in Michael’s and saw a “Life is Better with a Brishon Frise” magnet with a picture of the dog. (I HOPE I GOT THE NAME RIGHT.) I thought to myself,”Cooper is much cuter.” GIVE HIM A HUG FOR ME all the way from San Antonio, Texas.

  22. October 11, 2016 8:00 pm

    Joyous occasion to be sure…thanks for sharing it with us, as well as your creations!
    Paper hugs,
    Jan

Leave a Reply

