Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

November 5, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner
How can this be November, Penny Black friends? The air conditioner has only been turned off for a few days. But here we are, and tonight many of us will turn our clocks back an hour and regain the hour we lost in the spring.

Daylight Savings time is a strange phenomenon. I’ve heard it described as cutting off one end of your blanket and sewing it to the other end in order to make your blanket longer!

Well, this past week I could have used that extra hour or even several hours. Last weekend Mr. RWS and I skipped town and our responsibilities and I’ve had to scurry to catch up on obligations and chores that we left undone.

judy1If it is November, can Thanksgiving be far behind? For this card, I followed Jill’s technique video by first coloring directly on the On the Lake stamp with Tombow markers and stamping multiple times onto my cardstock using the MISTI. I then wiped the stamp clean and stamped the image again with VersaMark and clear embossed. I created the sky using my Luxe inks and blending tool. I love this technique and even Mr. RWS was amazed at the result. I think he was amazed. He said, “You did that?” I am going to count that as amazed.

judy2

Who doesn’t love penguins? These are the penguins from the Cuddly Joy set which has a matching die set. I added trees in the background using the In the Winter die set. I love having a chance to make a black and white card (with a touch of red) for the holidays.

judy3

Again, I used the technique Jill demonstrated in her video involving Tombow marker coloring overstamped with VersaMark, embossed and then adding a distressed background. It really is satisfying to use these landscaping stamps which make creating a beautiful scene so easy. I find it relaxing to try various shades of markers and discovering the effects. This Tranquil stamp can create a wintery snow scene, or summery sandy beach scene. Penny Black offers sentiments in a wide variety of fonts and I am happy with the one I chose from the Merry Jingle set: loving the contemporary look.

Thank you, Dear Readers, for putting up with my mundane story about my mundane week last Saturday. There was nothing mundane about this latest week, however. The excitement began last Tuesday when the FedEx man rang our doorbell and handed Mr. RWS a huge box from 1-800-FLOWERS. It was an ordinary October Tuesday; no birthday, anniversary or holiday. I was so sure it was a mistaken delivery that I called out to the FedEx man to come back. Thankfully, he didn’t hear me and I checked the address label. Indeed, there was my name but no information about the sender on the box.

Cooper loves packages (because once I received a package that contained a piece of taffy and I shared bits of the candy with Cooper. He still hopes with every package that candy will be in the box) and was leaping and barking; I was unsuccessfully trying to open the well sealed box; Mr. RWS was asking where are the scissors (when they’ve lived in the same kitchen drawer for 11 years!) and the excitement was building by the minute. At last! The two dozen roses were sent by my youngest son, Scott, and contained a note that said in part “How you raised five kids by yourself without I-Pads and cable television is beyond me.” There was more, but it is too precious to share. The general theme, however, was gratitude. And it made me cry. Every mom should receive such a note at least once in her lifetime. I do have several tucked away from various kids and cherished.

4

I suspected that Scott might have had a bad day being a Daddy, thus the realization of what his Mom had experienced raising him and his siblings. And I was right. I learned later my daughter in law, Sara, was out of town on business for three days, leaving Scott, sick with a respiratory infection, in charge of the two toddlers. In order to achieve some quiet time he allowed Disney TV to be on every waking hour and handed over his I-Pad to console a tantruming little one.

I have enjoyed the flowers immensely, but the note is the keeper.

The week only got better. On Wednesday I received a phone call from the Atlanta son, John, inviting us to spend the weekend and make it a mini-family reunion. What started out as a high school friend and his wife spending the weekend with John and his family in order to attend the Green Bay Packer game in Atlanta, turned into a family reunion as one by one John’s siblings added themselves to the guest list. When John realized I was the only person missing from the family lineup he called and insisted we make the trip, too.

So off we went for an amazing 24 hour visit with kids, grandkids and the kids’ high school friends who also call me Mom.

We spent most of Saturday enjoying the lovely Atlanta weather at an indoor/outdoor golf facility, playing various golf games (points for targets hit with golf balls), eating, drinking, laughing, talking, and just being together.

John is an avid grillmeister, and loved showing us all how his extra large Big Green Egg charcoal grill works, including the ability to adjust temperatures remotely via his Smart Phone. John even left the golfing fun to tend to the ribs that were slow cooking all day by wrapping them in foil and adding apple juice.

We enjoyed a meal fit for royalty (ribs and beef tenderloin), watched the Badger football game together and then poor Mr. RWS and I left to spend the night in a hotel as all the rooms were booked at John’s home. Imagine! No need to share a bathroom with other guests or worry about waking up too early or waiting in line for a shower.

Sunday morning we bought bagels and cream cheese and joined the family for breakfast before they all headed out to take the subway to the Packers vs. Falcons game.

5

Every loyal Packer fan invests in the proper green and gold fashion items. Tim, the kids’ friend from high school, amused us with his almost hourly change of Packer outfits, including a pretty impressive sport coat and tie.

Mr. RWS and I said (my) tearful goodbyes before the kids left for the game. We were on the road before noon and I bravely agreed to travel on the interstate which sped up our trip home. Picking up Cooper from his vacation spot was on the way. Best weekend ever, I say! It may have been only 24 hours, but it was enough family time to nourish my spirit until the next time we can gather.

judy4

Merry indeed! The smaller images in the Snow Much Fun set make great focal points for miniature cards. Here I’ve used the Dots die to create a background with a tree from the In the Winter die tucked into a snow bank. This is a quick and easy card to make in quantity and will deliver a smile along with your Christmas wishes.

judy5

This is another image from the Snow Much Fun stamp set. I made the card standard size this time, but could easily have kept it in miniature. It seems I need a red and white Christmas fix every week. And what would I do without that In the Winter tree trio die?

judy6

Well, I heard from Snowy this week. He sent this postcard with a black and white photo of his Snow Family. The message says they will be “home” soon. I am hoping next week he and the family will be available for a full color reveal. It’s hard to be specific when dealing with passports, visas and airlines. I do hope they find a way to maintain their snowy composure while traveling!

9

No need to feel sorry for Cooper having to miss the trip to Atlanta. He has his own mini vacation when we leave him at his home away from home. This time he had two other dogs to play with; Deuce, the black dog, is the resident canine. The largest dog is Bear and of course there is Cooper who has no idea he is the “littlest”. What a relief to have Cooper tug at his leash to hurry inside to play with his dog buddies when we drop him off. He doesn’t even notice when we leave.

Once again, it is time to stow the scissors, sweep up the glitter, and restore order where I’ve created chaos. I have no idea how it happens; stamping is not a combat sport but I manage to make it look like one! I hope your week includes some happy surprises, time spent with family and lots of time for being creative. I plan to stop by the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery on my way home. Will I find something you made posted there?

 

shop

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

 

connect

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitter

23 Comments leave one →
  1. mjmarmo permalink
    November 5, 2016 5:10 am

    You raised a wonderful son! Glad you got a quick mini reunion. Sounds like a wonderful time. Lovely cards as always!!

  2. Nan permalink
    November 5, 2016 5:15 am

    Always enjoy your Saturday morning post. Isn’t it wonderful to have such great kids? So proud of mine also. Cooper is adorable.

  3. November 5, 2016 5:32 am

    Love reading about you family. Your cards are true art. Thanks.

  4. mary permalink
    November 5, 2016 5:33 am

    What a blessing! Thanks for sharing a part of your life, it’s a great reminder to be thankful. Love the cards..I’m inspired 🙂

  5. born57 permalink
    November 5, 2016 6:24 am

    I was looking for a die and stumbled on your sweet post! Sounds like a wonderful family and week! My parents are both from WI so I have always been a Packer fan! Loved all your beautiful cards!

  6. Rhonda Welsh permalink
    November 5, 2016 6:50 am

    I am new to Penny Black and enjoyed your post. I have searched and haven’t been able to find the video that you referenced by Jill. Would you be so kind to link me to it? Thanks!

    • jillianfoster82 permalink*
      November 5, 2016 7:50 am

      Thanks for stopping by and welcome to the world of Penny Black! 🙂 Our YouTube Channel can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/user/PennyBlackInc/videos And here’s a direct link to the video Judy referenced: https://youtu.be/ocRj8t9p-7A Happy stamping!

      • Rhonda W permalink
        November 5, 2016 12:18 pm

        Thank you so much for your fast reply. I am looking forward to watching the video. I love P.B. stamps. They make me look more talented than I really am.

  7. Beth permalink
    November 5, 2016 7:06 am

    Great story and fab photo attending the Packer game. We are die hard fans in Portland ….my husband being from the Greenbay area. Loved Mr 52 sitting there and that ‘sport coat’ on the other gentleman.
    I have used the Misti resist emboss technique several times since Jill created videos with background stamps. She does a great job. If it is easy for me, anyone can do it. My husband was astounded when I did my first one. The Misti makes all things possible.

  8. creatingincolors permalink
    November 5, 2016 7:13 am

    What a beautiful post, in so many ways. Precious family. Lovely cards. And Cooper truly looks like he has no idea he is the smallest; what a photo.

  9. DebbieP permalink
    November 5, 2016 7:46 am

    Woohoooooo…more Packers fans! I started watching them when I was only 5 or 6 and Vince Lombardi and Bart Starr were in their prime. Still love them! As always, your cards are lovely and have given me lots of ideas to create cards of my own. And random rose deliveries? You obviously did a great job raising your son!

  10. November 5, 2016 7:47 am

    So happy for your time with family…hold them close and create all the memories you can!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  11. November 5, 2016 9:00 am

    You warm my heart always with your stories of Cooper, family and adventures. Look forward to them each and every week.

  12. November 5, 2016 9:23 am

    Lovely story–sounds like you raised your kiddo’s right! Mine are grown, no grandkids yet, but I’m looking forward to it! Beautiful cards as well.

  13. Deb Krembs permalink
    November 5, 2016 9:39 am

    Talented. As always, i am impressed with the beautiful cards you make.

  14. Verna Angerhofer permalink
    November 5, 2016 10:06 am

    What wonderful cards you made and all are so well created and inspiring to me. And, what a wonderful son. It is amazing how when our children become parents how they realize that at times it can be a tough job and no rule book can cover all the things that will pop up. Enjoy those flowers. You did an amazing job being a parent according to this young man.

  15. alexandra s.m. permalink
    November 5, 2016 12:37 pm

    Beautiful post dear Judy!
    It’s heartwarming to read your son is as thoughtful as his Mommy!
    Love your cards and pictures!
    HUgs~

  16. Debbie Peysen permalink
    November 5, 2016 12:40 pm

    You are such an awesome woman. I so enjoy my Saturdays with you. I learn stamping from you and get to know a little more about you. What special children you and Mr. RWS have raised.

  17. jane harrah permalink
    November 5, 2016 2:16 pm

    Good mom, good children! Can’t wait to meet Snowy’s family!!

  18. Harriet permalink
    November 5, 2016 5:43 pm

    Lovely, lovely .. a surprise from one of your children–excellent. And a quick trip to visit–I think you had a remarkable week….Cooper too.

  19. November 5, 2016 7:44 pm

    I’m torn between wishing I could have been with you guys for such a fun family time or with Cooper & his buddies! You are blessed, my friend, as you clearly know. The roses are gorgeous & what a treasure from your son! I can only imagine how you feel, even though I’m not a mom. Your cards are a treasure–really love the landscape ones, but also the black & white with a bit of red–need to make one with that color combo! Thanks for all the inspiration, Judy!

  20. karenajo permalink
    November 7, 2016 8:10 am

    Thanks for sharing your great card creations and the marvelous gift from your son. It is so touching when children seem to realize and appreciate what their parents have done! What a great ‘short’ trip full of special memories !!! Cooper certainly looks content with his two friends !

  21. Virginia L. permalink
    November 10, 2016 7:41 pm

    Another glorious post, Judy! You are loved and blessed to have raise great children. Happy to hear that Scott sent you roses with a very sweet note! That’s so precious. Your PB cards are simply excellent!

Leave a Reply

