Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

November 12, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hey, there, Penny Black friends! I’m happy you could stop by again this week to see what I have been up to. The good news is that here in the United States the election is behind us and we can return to ordinary life. I admit to watching way too much election-related television lately.

As I mentioned last week, I have been watching Jill Foster’s how to videos that Penny Black club members received by email recently. This week I want to share with you what I learned about making gift card holders topped with various images and diecuts from the Festive Wishes and Magic of the Season releases. If you haven’t already joined the Penny Black Club, be sure to click on the “Join the Club” choice at the top of the blog (or click HERE). It’s easy, free and fun and ensures you will receive all the latest Penny Black news, technique videos and early peeks at the latest releases.

judy1

My first tag is a duplicate of the gift card holder that Jill made with one exception. After unsuccessfully trying to watercolor the adorable pup from the Snow Much Fun stamp set, I surrendered and colored the images with Copic markers. Jill makes it look easy and I’m sure I make it more difficult than it should be. But I loved the idea of making gift card holders and adding decorations. The little birdie in boots is from the same set. And the third card holder is topped with the diecut Xmas Tree, trimmed with red enamel dots. The possibilities are endless. I realized it doesn’t matter which designer paper you choose from the Holiday Trimmings paper pad, every pattern looks great as a gift card holder. I hated having to resort to giving gift cards for Christmas, but as the people in my family grew more sophisticated and the grandkids grew older, my chances of successful gift choices grew pretty slim. Better safe than sorry I say.

judy2

It took me awhile to decide how to use this great prancing reindeer from the Merry Jingles set.   I knew he needed to be airborne. I’ve placed one of the Chapels amid some snow hills for the deer to leap over. The snow bank made a great place to stamp that Merry Christmas sentiment. The white and gold color theme adds some elegance, don’t you think?

3

I must share with you, Dear Readers, that sometimes I worry that I’ve run out of stories to share with you. I’ve come close sometimes; the cockroach and carrot stories come to mind. And sometimes something happens in my life that just demands to be shared. This past week provided one of those happenings.

Now I’m sure many of you will relate when I tell you that I prefer to be the one to bring the mail in from the street side mail box. This just prevents having to explain the little packages that sometimes arrive for me. Sometimes Mr. RWS becomes puzzled when he sees more “stuff” arriving after having listened to me complain about how much “stuff” has taken over the craft room.

Well, last week Mr. RWS was watching from the door as I walked back to the house from the mailbox. As I was walking, I was trying to remember what I could possibly have ordered that would fit in the three rather small white boxes that were part of the mail that day. How could I explain that I didn’t even remember ordering anything, much less anything that would come in three small white boxes.

Mr. RWS’s face lit up when he saw the packages. “They are for you”, he exclaimed. Oh, I thought, how sweet. Last week it was flowers from the youngest son; this week who knows what fun little gifts Mr. RWS had ordered for me.

As Mr. RWS stood watching, I cut through the tape and opened the first box to find a jar of eye crème. The second box contained anti-aging crème and the third box held ageless facial serum.

There stood Mr. RWS, face beaming, an expectant expression on his face. And there I sat, speechless. This could have been a turning point in our marriage. Words matter, I remembered. I filtered out most of what first came to my mind and finally said, “Tell me about this.”

It seems Mr. RWS saw an ad on television for the eye crème offering a free jar “just pay $5.00 shipping and handling”. I can hear it now, “But wait, there is more! Act now and we will include the anti-aging crème and the ageless facial serum, just pay the extra shipping and handling.” It seems Mr. RWS, sometimes known as “darling”, remembered my mentioning (only occasionally) the bags under my eyes. He was thrilled to have been able to solve my problem for a mere $15.00.

Dear Reader, he sincerely thought he was doing a nice thing. But I put this in the same dangerous territory of answering the question “Does this outfit make me look fat?” Sometimes one should be aware of where the land mines are.

We are still married, so I think I navigated this event successfully. However, I have two concerns. First, the print on the jars is so tiny there is no way that anyone with any wrinkles can read the directions; thus I am doomed to failure. My second concern is that these free items may be the beginning of some sort of subscription and because the word “cream” has been spelled “crème”, I do believe they will be expensive.

judy3

Is anyone keeping count of the number of times I’ve mentioned the awesome assortment of sentiments that Penny Black has provided us with the new releases? This time I have taken my trusty scissors and cut the large sentiment from Holy Night in half in order to put the Manger diecut between the sentiment’s message. This card may be a bit geometrical, but I think this sentiment and the Manger diecut are a perfect pair.

judy4

People who live where the winters are fierce either learn to enjoy the cold outdoors or stay cooped up for half the year. These cute little mice from the Santa’s Helper stamp set have bundled up and gone out to play. While I did do some sledding while growing up, I never ice skated enough to become good at it. It looks like these mice are young enough to learn quickly how to sled and skate. I am having a lot of fun this year mixing and matching Penny Black stamps and dies to make little winter scenes. As you know, I love “cute”.

judy5

As promised, here is Snowy with his lovely family. At last, they are reunited after Mama Alma along with Lucas and Elsa were finally granted visas. I’m sure there is a story behind how this family came to be and I plan to check with my friend Birgit who first leaked the news about Snowy having a family in Sweden. In the meantime, this looks like a very happy snowperson family. The tree you see in the photo is from the stamp Tranquil. I was able to stamp the tree image with the help of my MISTI and my Tombow markers. Stay tuned for the rest of the story and my ongoing marathon of Snowy cards.

7

I have permission from Evelyn and Jack’s parents to share this adorable photo of them in their Halloween costumes. The family has annual passes to the zoo and it is a favorite place for Ev and Jack to visit. They each are dressed as their favorite zoo animal. Shockingly, they are now 3 and 2 years old. Forgive this grandma for believing these are among the cutest little kids ever!

8

This picture will give you some idea of the mild non autumn weather we’ve been having here in northern Alabama. This is the beautiful Tennessee River, about two miles from my home. Cooper loves it when we visit this area and he’s allowed to roam and sniff to his heart’s content. In the distant background you can see the mountains I’ve described that surround our city. The trees have barely begun to turn and the temperatures are still very warm.

Oh my, I do believe I am still feeling the effects of the change to Daylight Savings Time. I have lost track of my day and I’m worried I may have missed a meal or two in the confusion. I’d better clean up and pack up before I wear out my welcome here on the blog. And it must be time to apply my eye crème, or is it time for the anti-aging crème? Then there is the ageless facial serum … oh, my! I’m worried that the one extra hour of daylight in the morning is not going to be enough for my new beauty routine. Please, somebody, take away my scissors before I hurt myself! See you in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery. I hope you still recognize me without the baggy eyes and all the wrinkles.

shop

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

connect
facebookpinterestyoutubetwitter

38 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    November 12, 2016 6:24 am

    Love your stories-I burst out laughing while reading this morning. Had to explain to hubby-he just looked at me. I think he was relating to your DH thinking. Too funny!

  2. November 12, 2016 6:56 am

    I can totally relate to the “getting the mail” story, Judy. My husband continually says “You just have to spend money”. I love that little Snowy. I wish he weren’t a wood block stamp.

  3. Bea permalink
    November 12, 2016 7:05 am

    Such a funny story–I think it’s a “man” thing–being completely unaware. I always look forward to your stories every week—thanks for sharing!

  4. Linda S in NE permalink
    November 12, 2016 7:17 am

    I am still laughing!!

  5. November 12, 2016 7:19 am

    lol…I remember one Christmas my husband kept telling me he had a surprise..imagine my shock when I opened a huge bag of bath and body works antibacterial hand soap! Yeah..not to happy lol…needless to say he could tell by the expression on my face and we laugh about it today

  6. Judy permalink
    November 12, 2016 7:30 am

    I can relate to the mail experience. I, too, would like to go out to the main road, a quarter mile away, when I have something ordered. Mainly my husband goes out, so he usually sees there is something for me there. I would probably “cream” HIM if he ordered something like that for me, but then again, I could use it! Anyway, you made me laugh.

    Your grandkids are precious. Even had my hubby come in and look at the pictures. He agreed.

    Here in Wisconsin we have had mild weather also. Enjoying it, although we spent a lot of time cutting down trees and making firewood for next year. At least I didn’t freeze doing it!

  7. creatingincolors permalink
    November 12, 2016 7:32 am

    Love the photos of your cards, the grandchildren, and Cooper by the Tennessee River, but nothing tops a surprise gift from the heart! Gotta smile! Love your posts!

  8. Cheryl Robertson permalink
    November 12, 2016 7:44 am

    Lol! I had to laugh reading your story about the face products. This is exactly something my husband would do. But I always think, well he loves me enough to be thinking of me 😊

    Great cards as always!

  9. November 12, 2016 7:45 am

    LOL!!!! I LOOOOVE your cards Judy! AND your grandchildren too, not to mention Cooper! 😉 SUPER POST!!!

  10. November 12, 2016 7:46 am

    Your dear sweet hubby…hug him again and again for thinking of you – even if you may now be receiving these beauty items for life! Lost my husband last month and would cherish the opportunity for a life time subscription from him. Give your hubby a HUG from me!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

    • Judy Jung permalink
      November 12, 2016 7:58 am

      Oh, Jan, I am so sorry! I really do count my blessings and realize how blessed I am. I am sending you big hugs and gratitude that you choose each week to stop by. My heart hurts for you. Much love, Judy

      • November 12, 2016 8:19 am

        Thank you so much Judy…my husband, Jim, was an amazing man and loved by all who had the privilege to meet and know him. I treasure my memories of our 32 years together.
        Thank you too for your wonderful blog…always brings smiles to my face and heart, and inspiration with your lovely art work.
        Thank you again…feeling those HUGS!
        Jan

  11. November 12, 2016 7:54 am

    Men….gotta love ’em. I would be so afraid he joined some kind of subscription with that make yourself younger creme. I love your stories each week, along with your inspirational art. Penny Black was so wise to have you join them each week. Your column is always a treat along with you sharing pictures of all your babies, human and furry! hugs, 🙂

  12. Kathy H permalink
    November 12, 2016 7:55 am

    That is the cutest and funniest story! How nice of your husband. Your grandchildren are adorable! I just love your stories.

  13. Lynn G permalink
    November 12, 2016 8:23 am

    I enjoy your cards and stories every week and don’t remember having commented before – but , today I just have to tell you , first off, how gorgeous your grandkids , are and then how much I enjoyed the postal surprise .. I am not sure how gracious I would have been in the circumstances .. still laughing .

  14. Veronica Rohm permalink
    November 12, 2016 8:24 am

    Hi there Judy! I love your blog posts!! I run to the post box first as well! My husband doesn’t understand why I need to keep buying so much stuff either ! But he tolerates it. I am guilty of being excessive I must admit but how can you not with stamps like Penny Black? ? They are all so adorable and beautiful!! IVeronica just bought some tomboy wc markers and scenery cling stamps!! I’m excited to see what I can create with that technique. Keep up the great posts Judy! Oh also. I did get caught up in the face creams scam as well!! The fine print automatically subscribes you to monthly receiving products at full price!!! And it is expensive! You must call the 1 800 number on the jars and ask to be CANCELED or they will keep sending and charging you for products. It’s a terrible scam but legal. I just wanted you to know asap so you can get out of it. Hugs Veronica in Canada (vrohm@shaw.ca)

  15. November 12, 2016 8:42 am

    Oh how hysterical! Let me know if you figure out the schedule & it works–haha! Those are 2 of the cutest kids on the planet–no question! I know you don’t miss the weather, but must be so hard to be far away from them. I love your cards, as always–the snow family, elegant gold & white–all of them!

  16. DebbieP permalink
    November 12, 2016 8:53 am

    Good morning Judy! Thanks for getting my day started with a good laugh. I can tell the creams and serums got to you…but I bet your husband thought he was doing something nice. And yes, your grandkids are adorable. Love all of today’s cards and might have to get started on some gift card holders. Thanks for the ideas…have a great week.

  17. Bonnie Kasper permalink
    November 12, 2016 9:15 am

    Hope you read these comments. Check that beauty product stuff carefully. I fell for something similar and worked with my credit card company to get it stopped. I had to send a certified letter to cancel it all. The product came in two small boxes with no billing statement, no name of the company which was in St. Petersburg, Fl. So, maybe yours is fine but I’d check it closely.

    • Judy Jung permalink
      November 12, 2016 9:18 am

      Thanks, Bonnie. The company’s phone number was on my credit card statement and I was able to call and cancel. I just had to endure a sales pitch which ended when I told them how old I was and that my wrinkles and bags were not likely to benefit from their product! Mr. RWS has become a more educated consumer. Ironically, my working life was in the area of Consumer Protection so I know better .. guess I forgot to share what I know with Mr. RWS!

  18. barbara lassiter permalink
    November 12, 2016 9:18 am

    Your cards are always wonderful and inspiring and I think the PB gift card holder die is something I should check out. Your funny story was just the needed laugh, especially this week! I have decided that it matters not in which state a man resides, he is always in the “state of oblivion” ! 🙂 But we love them anyway! Your grandchildren are beautiful!

  19. F Bond permalink
    November 12, 2016 10:29 am

    Your cards are great but your grandchildren are sooooo ADORABLE!!!! How cute are they!!!!

  20. November 12, 2016 11:20 am

    I think you have a very sweet and loving hubby, Judy. If that stuff works, I may have to order a case of it…let us know. 🙂 You are so blessed with your beautiful Grandchildren. So cute in their costumes.
    Your gift holder cards are delightful and a great idea with Christmas knocking on the door. I have lots of birthdays coming up in Dec.too, so this is a great way to take care of all of them. Never the wrong size or color.
    I love the river park you take Cooper to roam around in. I could use a lovely quiet place like that to clear my mind and find some peace and quiet within myself. I can see why he loves it there. You and your’s have a beautiful week-end and enjoy! Hugs!.

  21. donna mikasa permalink
    November 12, 2016 12:36 pm

    Oh, Judy! L is so sweet to think of you! And I’m glad you followed up with a phone call to the company or you would have those beauty products in your mailbox every three months! It’s the thought that counts, right? Love the gift card holders, love the grandchildren pics and that Snowy family is the cutest! Happy weekend!

  22. Kathy permalink
    November 12, 2016 12:50 pm

    I love you Mom! Heart warming blog post and shameless, wonderful photo of Ev and Jack.

    • Judy Jung permalink
      November 12, 2016 1:07 pm

      Happy to have a visit from my very busy daughter!! Love you, too!

  23. Dianne Crowe permalink
    November 12, 2016 1:44 pm

    My you have been busy in the studio this week. Wonderful work, I do love the little mice one and I am also in love with snowmen. Cute little characters in there costumes, how time flies, my grandchildren are almost all grown up. Love pictures of Cooper. Thanks Judy for taking the time to share your work and family.

  24. knurse22 permalink
    November 12, 2016 2:55 pm

    So thoughtful and sweet of your husband, but I too worry that it’s one of those beauty product ponzi schemes. Tell him to watch the credit card bill!
    Love all those Snowy characters. I didn’t knoiw Snowy had a family! Adorable.
    I would go down and walk by that beautiful river every day! So peaceful and serene!
    Thanks for the ongoing inspiration, Judy…..lovely cards as always!
    And your grandkids are more than cute!

  25. Julie permalink
    November 12, 2016 3:25 pm

    Love the cute gift card holders. I’m still laughing about your husband’s gift–reminds me of last Christmas when one of my gifts was a Dirt Devil vac for my craft room. Uggghhhh…OK….

  26. dawnnz permalink
    November 12, 2016 11:18 pm

    Awesome post as usual Judy. Beautiful cards and love the story. Mr RWS sounds like a real keeper!

  27. November 13, 2016 9:51 am

    How much fun you must have at your home. Lol. Your grands are just too cute . We lived in Mentone for several years before moving back to Mississippi ….my youngest son is buried there. North Ala. is a beautiful place.. Love your cards and yes Penny Black is a great place to be creative.

  28. Diane permalink
    November 13, 2016 10:56 am

    Wonderful creations – just love the Snowy story. Not sure how I would have reacted if hubby sprung that on me !! I too sneak the packages into the house or better still, wait to empty the box when he is out. Cooper has a great place to wander around. Southern England is also having a mild November. We have yet to get our winter coats on.

  29. Trish permalink
    November 13, 2016 3:32 pm

    love your cards and the story of the face cremes was hilarious! reminds me of what my SO said when I came out dressed to go out to Thanksgiving Dinner last year: “That is the prettiest you have looked in a long time!” oh, well, they mean well.

  30. Patricia Gasko permalink
    November 13, 2016 5:55 pm

    Love all your cards. I simple adore Snowy and I too wish it wasn’t wood mounted but I could live with that since the price is reasonable. But. . .I want the die too and that says too much to spend right now. Cooper at the TN River really looks like he loves the great outdoors. The face “creme” had me laughing so hard. I once received a carburetor kit for Sweetest Day! Which I had to refrain from saying anything while biting my tongue! I just got back from spending Ten days in Crossville, TN and as I drove through TN and VA I noticed their leaves were gone. . . just naked trees left. Got into NC and looked at all the green and sorta yellow leaves and the balmy weather. Great I’m home! Our trees still have lots of leaves so I’m looking forward to watching them fall and our kind neighbor mulching them for us with his new toy, a Craftsman tractor/lawnmower. Looking forward to next Saturday’s saga of Runs with Scissors. Your grandkids sure are adorable. . .hmmm just like mine! LOL Out of 15 I have 2 little ones that live closeby. The rest are pretty grown up and out of state. I have two little great grandkids in Toney, AL not too far from you & hope to visit them on my next trip to TN after the spring thaw.

  31. November 14, 2016 2:43 am

    Always a morning joy to read your posts. Thank you so much for sharing your crafts and life with us!

  32. November 14, 2016 9:17 am

    Enjoyed all of your post from the awesome cards, to the funny anti-aging cream, husbands- you gotta love them- their hearts in the right place! And the adorable grandbabies. Have a great week!

  33. alexandra s.m. permalink
    November 18, 2016 11:08 am

    Hahaha…Thank for this great post Judy and your grand-children ARE absolutely adorable!
    Love your cards! Brilliant as always!!
    Hugs~

  34. Marisela Delgado permalink
    November 18, 2016 2:58 pm

    Where’s Cooper?? Your hubby was trying to help. Men just don’t know any better sometimes. ha-ha At least, he was thinking about you. =)

Leave a Reply

