Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

December 10, 2016

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Is it me or is December really galloping by? There is a mere two weeks before Christmas Eve and if you haven’t panicked by now, you might want to consider it.

Have you enjoyed Jill Foster’s recent week of Fantastic Folds videos as much as I have? This week I am making my cards using the special folds she demonstrated. Well, it wasn’t just the folds, it was all about some amazing art work, too. If you somehow missed the videos I’ve included a link with each card.

1

In her first video, Jill made six fantastic tags, using color as only Jill can.  The Fantastic Fold came in when she demonstrated how to attach a second tag to the back, score it and fold it so the tag can stand up. I made only one tag inspired by Jill’s tag video, but it was so much fun I would have loved to make more. I created the background by blending several colors of Memento Luxe inks. Jill used a diecut tree on her tags; I chose to stamp the tree from the Joy to All set. I just kept adding elements until I liked the look and at the very last, tried my hand at splattering snow. While that was a lot of fun I realized I’m not very good at aiming where that white Copic ink needed to land! The desk was snowier than my tag.

2

Speaking of fun, the easel card Jill demonstrated in this video is easy to make and will be fun for the recipient. I used my MISTI and colored directly onto the Tranquil stamp with Tombow markers, adding layers of color. I then stamped the image using VersaMark ink and heat embossed with clear. Next step, using my Luxe inks to create the sky, having masked off a circle for my moon. This stamp colors beautifully and when you add the easel, makes an impressive card.

3

This is probably my favorite Fantastic Fold as shown in Jill’s video HERE. I confess to struggling with “spatial relations” and having to watch the video several times to get the folded cut out part right. I used different stamps and dies than Jill used, but followed her instructions for the fold. My favorite part is the addition of some polka dots which give the background more dimension. I am happy to have a card design that features the beautiful sentiment from the Holy Night set.

4

Dear Readers, this photo may not seem special to you at first glance. As a matter of fact, you may be wondering why it is part of Runs with Scissors for today. This is no ordinary photo of an ordinary apron. This is my hard won official Kitchen Angels apron, awarded to me last month at the start of our Thanksgiving lunch preparations. The Kitchen Angels is a group of about 15 women and two men who prepare a lovely luncheon meal once a month for our church’s senior citizens, called Free Spirits. We usually serve at least 60 guests. I have been a volunteer member of the Kitchen Angels crew for a year. My duties up until November were mainly chopping, scrubbing pots prep dishes, sweeping, setting and clearing tables and drying and putting away the plates and silverware used in the table settings.

Oh, how hard I worked. The Kitchen Angels do not believe in food chopping gadgets or convenience foods. I remember at the planning meeting last summer suggesting that the church invest in a Cuisinart in order to eliminate all that hand chopping. A hush fell over the table. Someone finally let me know that sometimes those food chopping machines smash things instead of chopping. Who knew?

Well, after a year of being a helper I was finally assigned to the “team” of angels that rotate being in charge of a luncheon and our first meal was the Thanksgiving lunch.

The luncheon is always on a Thursday. The team meets early in the month to plan the menu. On Monday of the luncheon week, the team shops for groceries. The head angel has previously calculated the quantities needed of each item in the various recipes. The recipes are selected from the Kitchen Angels “Bible”, a huge notebook filled with all the recipes ever used for the Free Spirits lunches. Many of the recipes have critical information penciled in. Sadly, some of the recipes no longer have those critical tips due to one overly zealous angel who “cleaned up” the recipes a few years ago.

I was blessed to be on the team with the very top angel who has been involved in this ministry since its beginning decades ago. I look around at the people working in the kitchen to prepare the meal and I realize we all qualify as senior citizens and could be guests at the meal. Some are even older than the guests we cook for.

Anyway, after being minimally involved in the planning (the Thanksgiving luncheon is pretty much the same each year) and very much in the grocery shopping, when I showed up for the prep day on Wednesday the head angel surprised me with my very own official Kitchen Angel apron. It had been lovingly washed and ironed by its former owner who has retired from kitchen duty. Seriously, it was a special moment. I quickly took off and tossed aside the blue denim apron that had been unofficially “mine” and with great pride replaced it with the apron you see in the photo. I value it as much as any award I’ve received over the years.

It has, indeed, been a learning experience. I have learned there are many ways to chop nuts, celery, onions, peppers, mushrooms, apples and anything choppable. But there is only one right way! The processes are all well honed after so many years and there is no room for ad libbing. While this may seem harsh, it does ensure that each dish is successfully prepared and is visually pleasing.

One of my earliest lessons learned was to follow instructions exactly.   If one is told to put two rings of onion to top off a salad, that does mean TWO rings.   And do not try to make up for a small ring by adding a third one; two means two. Perhaps it would help if I explained that most of these women have been married to their engineer husbands for a very long time! It must be contagious. This also explains why I express my creativity at home in my craft room and not in the kitchen with the Kitchen Angels.

This week we will be preparing the traditional Christmas feast, enjoying the Christmas music of our guest musicians and delighting in the happiness we bring to our luncheon guests. We all agree it is well worth the time and effort to make Christmas happen for our senior guests.

5

This card has no special fold, but is totally inspired by the card Jill made using the Gatefold and the Snowman Joy die. This is my version of Jill’s darling and amazing card. When I compare my card to Jill’s I realize the magic is found in the details. Next time I will distress more edges and add more shading. I always learn something from Jill’s videos.

6

Since it is this close to Christmas, I just had to make another card using the Manger die. This time I created a background using my Luxe inks, and added a layer of cardstock with the shape cut out. A little silver twine, and the Peace sentiment and I was happy with the clean and simple look.

7

Jill’s first video demonstrated the Gate Fold and I’ve used it here for my last card, the fifteenth Snowy. Instead of blending ink for backgrounds I’ve used patterned paper. Those evergreens in the background are from the Spread Cheer set and easily create a background for Snowy. I think the mix of polka dots and stripes adds a festive look. Snowy has kept his cheerful mood throughout this Christmas season and still makes me smile every time I spend time with him.

8

Look how grown up the Atlanta grandchildren have become! Lauren is a sophomore in high school, Andrew is a freshman. The occasion was Lauren’s Confirmation which we were privileged to attend. Seriously, how do these years go by so quickly? Lauren and Andrew are delightful and accomplished young people and we could not be more proud.

9

Cooper’s last stay at his home away from home included playing with another guest, Daisy. Daisy is a border collie mix and has the sweetest disposition. Cooper quickly counted her among his best doggie friends. We are so fortunate to have such an amazing place to leave Cooper when we travel. It’s a win-win situation for Cooper and for us.

Thank you, everyone, for taking time from your busy holiday preparations to visit Runs with Scissors on the Penny Black blog. I am feeling a bit sentimental about putting away the Christmas stamps and dies for this year. I know there are some that can be used for non-Christmas cards and those will stay within arm’s reach.

My feeling sentimental is spilling over into more than stamps and dies. I became so nostalgic at the store this week that I actually purchased a bundle of six cookie cutters. It’s been a few years since I baked Christmas cookies, after many years of baking multiple batches of each type for our large family. It was hard to say no to the kids who wanted to eat the cookies fresh out of the oven instead of waiting for Christmas so I had to keep baking just to keep up. So many of my Christmas memories involve Christmas cookies. I didn’t realize it at the time, but we were making more than cookies.

Now that the scissors are safely put away, the mess is cleaned up, and the place is tidy, I am off to find that easy sugar cookie recipe I used to follow. Don’t forget to post your Penny Black art in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery and be sure to visit the Gallery for inspiration, too.

shop

connect

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

32 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Lehett permalink
    December 10, 2016 4:20 am

    Thank you for delightful and creative cards and narrative! Merry Christmas!

  2. creatingincolors permalink
    December 10, 2016 4:24 am

    Oh my, I’ve probably been chopping and dicing all wrong! Seriously, what generous and rewarding work you do as a Kitchen Angel. Good for you. I enjoyed today’s beautiful pictures of your family, Cooper and cards. Now I’m inspired to go make more Christmas cards.

  3. Mary W permalink
    December 10, 2016 4:38 am

    Great interpretations of Jill’s cards. Can you tell me what the silver twine is? Where do you buy it? Thanks.

    • Judy Jung permalink
      December 10, 2016 7:22 am

      Mary, that silver twine is called “knotting cord” and I suspect I found it in the jewelry making section of the big box hobby store. The ribbon section sometimes yields narrow silver ribbon or cording. Thank you so much for visiting and commenting.

      • Mary W permalink
        December 10, 2016 12:56 pm

        Thank you!

  4. Lynn G permalink
    December 10, 2016 4:59 am

    Congratulations on your well earned Kitchen Angel apron . What a wonderful thing to do for your church seniors .
    Thank you for sharing your creative card making and also for your charming stories .
    Merry Christmas to you and yours .

  5. December 10, 2016 5:13 am

    Congrats! You know aprons went out of style for a while but maybe they will come back. I remember making some for gifts years ago,probably still have the patterns.
    Card folds are my favorites. I always give it a try even if it doesn’t turn out like the inspiration. Thanks for such a fun blog.

  6. Patricia Gasko permalink
    December 10, 2016 5:32 am

    It is good to hear you got to wear your well earned Kitchen Angel Apron. YAY for the Angels. Your cards are gorgeous as always and pictures of your family. Cooper looks content to have Daisy close by. I just received my Snowy Stamp and Dies it took a bit longer due to being out of stock but he’s here now and I’m anxious to play. I do have a question: How do you go about making and getting the various hats and scarf’s on him especially since Snowy’s die is a complete outline.

    Hope your Christmas Season is filled with Blessings, overflowing with Love and good Health.

    • Judy Jung permalink
      December 10, 2016 7:25 am

      Patricia, the various hats and scarves on Snowy are achieved by paper piecing. Just stamp Snowy onto patterned paper and cut out the scarf and hat portions .. and glue to the Snowy image you’ve originally stamped on your cardstock.. Easy and fun. Thank you so much for visiting today and leaving a comment. Happy you finally have your very own Snowy stamp.

  7. Carol Hargrave permalink
    December 10, 2016 5:34 am

    When I open my email I am so happy to see run with scissors. I do enjoy the cards but the personal stories are my favourite. You really do have a way with words.
    Hoping your holidays are memorable in many ways.

  8. Verna Angerhofer permalink
    December 10, 2016 5:40 am

    Beautiful cards and I loved reading about your Kitchen Angels experiences.

  9. Amy permalink
    December 10, 2016 6:19 am

    Love love lov snowy and family…what a great adventure…I’m still awaiting my stamp, die has arrived….any day now and i’ll be deep into snow….is there anyway you could do a special publishing of all he Snowies and his story? Seems I missed a few along the way and am not locating some….an accordian fold book would be a great gift to for a four year old….thanks and many blessings for your family….

  10. Amy Jung permalink
    December 10, 2016 6:29 am

    I can’t believe you suggested a Cuisinart! Congratulations on getting your apron, you deserve it. This whole post had me smiling, Judy. I’m always so delighted to read what you write and I’m glad you’re doing this. The cards are fabulous.

  11. kellybooth permalink
    December 10, 2016 6:40 am

    Your cards are gorgeous Judy and gorgeous always enjoy your stories! Xoxoxo

    • Judy Jung permalink
      December 10, 2016 7:29 am

      Hugs to you, Kelly!

  12. knurse22 permalink
    December 10, 2016 7:11 am

    Such beautiful cards today, Judy! Oh, to have some time to create them here. I agree, December is flying by. So happy to see your cherished apron, a reward for your wonderful way of giving to others. Wish we could give you another from all of us here that you continue to inspire each and every week!

    • Judy Jung permalink
      December 10, 2016 7:28 am

      knurse, thank you for the lovely comment. Reading the comments on my post each Saturday is all the “award” I need. I hope you are able to spend some time this season being creative. It is great therapy!

  13. Anne Dodd permalink
    December 10, 2016 8:14 am

    Love all of your cards and your fun stories! What die did you use around the Manger die? It sets it off beautifully!

    • Judy Jung permalink
      December 11, 2016 11:10 am

      Anne, I am sorry to say I did not keep the packaging from that die; I have had it for quite some time. Thank you for commenting with such kind words.

  14. Holly Saveur permalink
    December 10, 2016 8:45 am

    Gorgeous cards you made after seeing Jill’s video’s…LOVE them!
    I still need to sit down to try it all too…did see them all the video’s..and they are SUPER!
    keep them on my Pinterest board also the ones from Mimi…you all give so much inspiration..

  15. Sheryl M permalink
    December 10, 2016 11:21 am

    I loved your Manger Die Cut card, so beautiful. I always look forward to reading your posts and seeing your cards. It’s okay to be sentimental and emotional, that’s how we know we have a heart. I’m off to visit my grandchildren, James 2 and Ella 8 months. I’m sure the years will fly by fast for me also. Wishing you and your “Runs With Scissors” family the very best MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

  16. Gilda permalink
    December 10, 2016 1:05 pm

    I so enjoy reading your stories and looking at your beautiful cards. Congratulations on earning that well deserved apron and Merry Christmas.

  17. Fran Gumprecht permalink
    December 10, 2016 1:42 pm

    As always your cards are beautiful! Love your apron story, such a blessing what your group is doing for others! Hope you will continue to run with scissors! Merry Christmas!

  18. Diane permalink
    December 10, 2016 2:46 pm

    Just love your cards this week especially the easel one. Thank you for your wonderful creations and inspiration, it is much appreciated.
    Your story about your volunteer work with the Kitchen Angels is inspirational. Well done for sticking with it. Hugs and kisses to Cooper, he is very fortunate to have special friends !

  19. barbara lassiter permalink
    December 10, 2016 3:13 pm

    Thanks for your beautiful stories and your beautiful creations and inspiration.

  20. DebbieP permalink
    December 10, 2016 6:17 pm

    Congrats on the apron! I’m sure all your hard work has been very much appreciated by the seniors you feed. I love your Snowman Joy card this week, as well as Snowy. I still find myself thinking about his adventures in America and then returning to his homeland. I hope you, Mr. RWS, and Cooper have a wonderful and blessed Christmas.

  21. dawnnz permalink
    December 10, 2016 11:30 pm

    well done on getting your apron. An awesome set of cards today. I’m sure you’ll have fun making the cookies, I did today!

  22. December 12, 2016 8:34 am

    I really do enjoy reading your posts especially the off topic stories and anecdotes. Don’t ever change.

  23. December 12, 2016 11:31 am

    Happy, happy holidays, Judy! I can just imagine what getting that apron was like–truly a memory to treasure. Your cards are all beautiful & inspiring (yes, Jill is so talented I am always in awe of her work!)–you’re a great student of those videos! You’ve made me want to try the fold for the 3rd one–what a gorgeous creation, Judy! Never thought to use a shape like you did to frame the nativity–absolutely stunning card!

  24. alexandra s.m. permalink
    December 12, 2016 3:19 pm

    Congrats dear Judy! You are a true inspiration in so many different ways!
    Love your post, your beautiful cards and thank you for sharing these lovely snippets of your life and family with us!
    Hugs~

  25. jane harrah permalink
    December 13, 2016 12:01 pm

    Judy Judy Judy! Congratulations. the apron is lovely and the history is even more lovely! Your cards are beautiful and your stories are always so enjoyable. Thank you so much for sharking your love. Hugs and Merry Christmas, Jane

  26. donna mikasa permalink
    December 15, 2016 5:45 pm

    Oh, I loved this post Judy! Reading about how you earned that special apron made me smile! And your cards are all so wonderful–especially that easel card with the coloring and dimension! Hope you, Mr RWS, and Cooper all have a warm, safe holiday!

Leave a Reply

