Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

February 25, 2017

main-runs-with-scissors-banner

Hello, Penny Black friends. I am delighted to welcome you to the Penny Black Blog which I happily commandeer on a weekly basis. I have taken the welcome mat literally and I just keep showing up. So far, no one has changed the locks.

I’ve had another chance to work with (play with?) the stamps and dies in the new Bliss release. The ideas came fast and furiously. This week I have done “cute”, “not so cute” and “floral”. All in all, a little something for everyone.

1

This is a “no stamping allowed” card. I’ve used three dies: Mommy & Me Owls, Nature Borders and Birthday. I blended Luxe inks on white cardstock for the blue background, after taping off the bottom of the card. I then blended Distress inks on kraft cardstock for the owls. Mama Owl’s tummy is the cut out from a second Mama Owl I cut out. The Nature Border perfectly divides the sections of the card, allowing the Happy Birthday sentiment to be featured against white cardstock. I love the contemporary font on this Happy Birthday, especially for cards for kids.

2

For my second cute card, I’ve used another of the Fairy Flutters little fairies, this time dressed in purple. The Polaroid die cut frames a portion of the Heart Drops die cut (I told you it wasn’t just for Valentine’s Day) and provides a place for the sweet fairy to hang out. That Beautiful Blossom die cut is beautiful in purple and white with a touch of green leaves. The Spiritual Snippets set is the source for the “Wonderful” sentiment.

3

I am loving the size of the feathers cut with the Light as a Feather die. I first blended a variety of Distress and Luxe inks on white cardstock and then cut the feathers from that. This “Wonderful” sentiment is from the Word Express set. The colors I have used here make this a good masculine card, but pink or blue feathers would be lovely for a more feminine look.

Love Story Part 3(continued)

Find Part 1 HERE and Part 2 HERE.

This love story continues with my return to work on Monday to face my co-workers and their questions about how the date had gone. They had all heard my statements about how this couldn’t possibly go well, but I was determined to go through with the date just to please Marsha.

I related how we had a wonderful climb on Ferry Bluff, the eagles, the fireplace at Blackhawk Ridge and how unflustered the Voice was about having to give my son a ride home from skiing. I shared my opinion that he most likely wasn’t interested in seeing me again, but that we had to pair him up with someone. I also noted he was tall and rather good looking. He was interesting, fun and easy to be with and he was looking for a long term relationship. And I also believed that was that as far as anymore dates.

Until that Wednesday when I arrived home from work to find a large kraft envelope among the mail. Inside was a sketch of a butterfly he had done and a note. Would I like to go to church with him next Sunday. He would pick me and the boys up and we would drive to the nearby town of Merrimac to attend church in a small chapel and then all of us out to breakfast to the restaurant that was formerly a jail. Obviously, he had done his homework about our area.

Since I hadn’t asked for or been given his phone number, I dashed off a note that I mailed the next day saying we would love to do church and breakfast on Sunday. He had obviously remembered my telling him how important raising my family was and how I had preferred for a long time doing things with my kids rather than dating.

I was in a state of disbelief and also a bit concerned that I hadn’t been totally honest about the size of my family! It hadn’t been an issue as long as I believed I would never see him again, but all of a sudden it became something I was going to have to talk about eventually. But that Wednesday evening it didn’t seem necessary.

Until Friday evening, when my daughter came home for a surprise visit from college. Of course I had to tell her my plans for Sunday and she generously suggested I leave her in charge of her early teen brothers (who weren’t very interested in joining me on my date) and I go off with the Voice alone.

Now it WAS necessary to contact the Voice and admit to at least one more child. I was hopeful that a daughter in college wouldn’t be too big a shock and maybe one by one I could eventually admit to all five. Dear Reader, I just wasn’t ready to be rejected again.

So that Saturday I tried reaching him by telephone. I checked with the information operator (remember those?) asking for a phone number, person’s last name Young at the address from the envelope. There was no such person, according to their records.

Oh, dear. What had I gotten myself into? Was this man using a false name? Why wasn’t he listed in Directory Assistance? Was this a scam? He had my address, had been to my house and he didn’t really exist?

It was a pretty sleepless night and I was up bright and early Sunday morning, waiting for him to arrive. The boys and my daughter were still asleep when the Voice arrived, but I was glad they were in the house in case things didn’t go well.

I cautiously opened the door when he knocked. (100 year old house, remember?) I was dressed for church in case this was somehow a misunderstanding. While he was still standing on my porch, I shared with him my concerns that there was no one with his name listed in Directory Assistance when I had tried calling him the day before. I told him I wanted to let him know we could change the plan to just the two of us for church and breakfast because my daughter was home from college. I was very concerned he wasn’t being honest with me (oh, the irony).

First, he explained to me the reason Directory Assistance had no information about him was because I was spelling “Young” wrong; he pronounced his name “Young” but it was spelled Jung. Well, that took care of that little problem. On to a bigger problem: the daughter in college part.

The Voice was obviously concerned that I had mentioned only two sons in my reply to his ad. I explained to him that I had said “two sons at home”. He didn’t seem as upset about there being a daughter as he was about my not being totally truthful. “Oh dear”, I thought, “this is only going to get worse in a few minutes.”

It didn’t even take that long as the next question came immediately, “Are there any more surprises?” he asked. “Two”, I replied. And then waited. Mentally, I was already changing my clothes and planning a day with my three kids. This wasn’t going well and wouldn’t take long.

To be continued…

4

I didn’t realize it until the card was finished, but the birds perched on a blooming branch from the Fragrant Flowers set have an Asian look when colored as I have done here. I couldn’t wait to try the Leaf Edger die so I made it a part of this card. I am anxious to use that die in other ways, so stay tuned.

5

I have said it before: I love how the brushstroke stamp images appear to be water colored, even though they may not be water colored. For this Peony image, I applied several shades of pink Luxe inks directly to the stamp. The MISTI made it possible to apply the several shades, one layer at a time. MISTI makes using the stamps in the Footnotes set easy also. I used to have trouble lining up the stamp correctly to stamp it repeatedly for a full background. Now I just moved the musical notes stamp in that set up the MISTI, using the grid until the background is complete.

6

Hooray for me! I really did watercolor the Dynamic poppy before I fussy cut it. Again, I created my background by blending Distress inks and then stamping the entire page using the book type stamp from the Footnotes set. The strip on the side is the other border die in the Nature Borders die set. I thought the touch of white brightened up the card.

7

I have a good reason for posting this photo of Cooper. It is one of many taken by Vicki who, along with her husband, takes care of Cooper when we travel. I have written many times how Cooper loves being at their home playing with their dog Deuce. We leave Cooper knowing he is having a good time while we are away and that he is safe and well cared for. Sadly, Vicki sent us and her other clients an email last week announcing they will be leaving the area for the beaches of South Carolina as soon they sell their home. Dear Readers, my heart hurt and my throat closed when I read the news. Having such an amazing place with amazing people to care for Cooper was a real blessing for us. After sending Vicki an email begging her to change her mind, I did wish them well as they follow their dream to be within walking distance of a beach. Vicki assures me they have a guest room and dogs are also welcomed. I haven’t had the heart to tell Cooper yet.

For all of you frustrated that this love story is taking a while, take heart. Things will speed up soon. I promise I won’t document every date or bump in the road. But all stories must have a beginning, a middle and an end and some tension or it wouldn’t be a story at all. I have stowed the scissors, cleaned up the puddles from the water coloring (I wonder if Jill and Mimi make puddles) and tidied up the studio. From here, I will be spending time at the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery where I hope you are posting your work using Penny Black stamps and dies.

shop

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card No. 1: 51-316 Mommy and Me Owls, 51-331 Nature Borders, 51-338 Birthday

Card No. 2: 30-4041 Spiritual Snippets, 30-408 Fairy Flutters, 51-037 Polaroid, 51-298 Heart Drops, 51-330 Beautiful Blossoms

Card No. 3: 30-106 Word Express, 51-027 Triple Banner, 51-300 Light as a Feather

Card No. 4: 30-404 Spiritual Snippets, 30-420 Fragrant Flowers, 51-325 Leaf Edger

Card No. 5: 30-238 Footnotes, 30-358 Happy Snippets, 40-537 Peony, 51-124 Flower Tags

Card No. 6: 30-238 Footnotes, 40-516 Dynamic, 51-331 Nature Borders
facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

25 Comments leave one →
  1. elaine permalink
    February 25, 2017 12:30 am

    Of course your cards are beautiful – BUT – it’s your stories I look forward to. Enjoy every one of them !!!!!

  2. Gilda permalink
    February 25, 2017 4:38 am

    I do look forward to seeing your lovely card designs and reading your stories every weekend!

  3. Marliese permalink
    February 25, 2017 4:51 am

    II agree with Elaine. Love your cards, but am waiting with bated breath for the conclusion of your courtship.

  4. Sharon Russell permalink
    February 25, 2017 5:06 am

    Love your stories and posts! I know it’s hard loosing a beloved and trusted pet sitter, but I am sure God has a plan! Praying that you will find just the right person to care for Cooper. Someone must need his love and smiles and who knows what wonderful things will come to you as a result!

  5. creatingincolors permalink
    February 25, 2017 5:33 am

    I’m loving your story. Take all the time you need to tell it. I’m also loving your cards. The new Bliss collection blew my budget, and I still want more.

  6. knurse22 permalink
    February 25, 2017 5:59 am

    Great cards again this week, Judy….and I especially love the owl birthday card. And the poppy one. And now I am going to try the peony brushstroke technique. I finally have a stamp aligning tool, and your card for inspiration.
    This love story is too sweet. Take all the time you need to tell it. Months and months, if we are all so lucky!
    Poor Cooper. So sorry to hear that you are losing your trusted dog sitter. When will people understand that rocking us older folks’ boats is so upsetting! I think you will find someone else you can trust, but it will never be the same.

  7. DebbieP permalink
    February 25, 2017 6:50 am

    Lovely cards this week and great storytelling. Even though I know it all worked out in the end, I can’t wait to read more. Of course, as doggie parents, we are way more concerned about where we leave our pets than they will ever be. Cooper seems like the dog that can make friends anywhere so I don’t think he will have a problem. have a great week!

  8. mjmarmo permalink
    February 25, 2017 6:58 am

    LOVE that feather card! Can’t wait to hear more of the story!

  9. karenajo permalink
    February 25, 2017 7:30 am

    Super cards – the Bliss release has so many great stamps and dies ! Thanks for sharing your cards and your journey – look forward to the continuation ! I know it will be hard to try to find another great dog sitter for Cooper – probably harder on you than on Cooper ! Things have a way of working out !

  10. jane harrah permalink
    February 25, 2017 7:40 am

    Waiting with baited breath for the next chapter! Love the cards and dies. Love the story! Thank you so much for the wonderful entertainment and inspiration!

  11. Verna Angerhofer permalink
    February 25, 2017 7:43 am

    Your cards are all so gorgeous and beautiful! And, I am so thrilled to read a bit more about your romance. I truly think you need to write this into a romance novel. I can hardly wait for the next chapter.

  12. February 25, 2017 8:33 am

    Oh no–how can they leave?! I would be crying & I’d be trying to buy their house as the pictures you’ve shown are gorgeous! I’m totally loving your story of meeting Mr RWS–so glad you’re sharing it with us, Judy! Beautiful cards, as always–love the leaf border (on my wishlist) & the fairy card is stunning! Now I’m also adding that heart die you used in the background! This was one of my favorite PB releases–so many goodies I love!

  13. val jones permalink
    February 25, 2017 8:47 am

    Oh no where else are you going to find a home from home for Cooper when you’re on your travels? Anxiously looking forward to next week to find out and also to read some , more of your romance.
    Lovely cards as always Judy.
    Love Val in Spain xxx

  14. judy G permalink
    February 25, 2017 10:21 am

    I love that you are sharing your life with us. I’m sorry to hear about Vicky but I’m sure you will find another loving family to leave Cooper with. Love your cards too.
    Judy

  15. Ginger permalink
    February 25, 2017 10:28 am

    So happy to see you back again this week. Enjoy reading your stories and seeing your work. Love your poppy and peony since I have hope that I can copy them (after a fashion). I’ll stay tuned for more, but wish you could visit more often. My door is always open.

  16. February 25, 2017 11:32 am

    You posts are always a wonderful way to wake up on a Sunday Judy. Lovely cards and great entertainment. Can’t wait for the next installment of your romance. Hope you can find Cooper a new home away from home when you travel.

    • Judy Jung permalink
      February 25, 2017 1:14 pm

      Dawn, I knew our seasons were not the same, but I didn’t realize you are a day ahead of us! Runs with Scissors is a Saturday event here .. and Sunday for you! Thanks for being such a faithful follower. Hugs.

  17. Diane F permalink
    February 25, 2017 3:18 pm

    Stunning cards this week, so difficult to choose a favourite. Looking forward to the next instalment of your love story.

    What a pity Cooper is going to lose his holiday lodgings. Here’s hoping you can find a suitable replacement. Before we relocated countries we always got a friend to look after the dogs in our home. She was delighted for the break away from her family and the dogs kept their routine. It also gave us peace of mind someone was taking care of the house.

  18. February 25, 2017 4:09 pm

    Wonderful collection of cards…you are right – something for everyone! Good job Judy!!!
    Praying Cooper will have a home away from home to go to with great playmates as well….OR, someone to come into your home to stay with him there. Cooper is such a big part of your lives, I know you want him to be happy too when you are away!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  19. cmt permalink
    February 25, 2017 7:07 pm

    Great cards. I particularly love the peonies and poppy. Always love your stories, no matter how detailed they are. Something about them that always pulls me in, as if we were best friends and you’re sitting here with me telling me stories on my sofa. Hope you never run out of stories for us.

  20. donna mikasa permalink
    February 25, 2017 9:31 pm

    First of all, I love your cards–that Leaf Edger is a nice finishing touch on that card–and I’m so looking forward to the next chapter! And I do hope you find another Vicky for Cooper!

  21. February 26, 2017 11:57 am

    Your cards re awesome ,but your stories are just as grand. Thanks for sharing.

  22. alexandra s.m. permalink
    February 26, 2017 10:20 pm

    Love your beautiful cards Judy and oh no…I want more of your story NOW!!
    I hope you find someone for Cooper!
    Hugs~

  23. February 27, 2017 3:22 am

    Another wonderful installment. I’m hooked! 😆 Sorry about Cooper’s puppy sitters deciding to move away. Sweet cards!

  24. Vicky S. permalink
    February 27, 2017 6:57 pm

    Your cards are great. I really like the flowers. Your story is great. Looking forward to the next chapter. Sorry about Vicki Hope you find another great setter.

Leave a Reply

