Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

April 22, 2017

Welcome, Penny Black friends! It’s a good day to play with the new Penny Black stamps and dies from the Celebrate release.   Spring has settled in over most of the country and the eggs and chocolate rabbits have been consumed.

Here’s what I’ve been up to today:

“Hello” is a good way to begin sharing the cards I made this week. I began this card by blending several shades of Distress Oxide inks on white cardstock and then I placed a dies from the Stencil Cut die set at random places on the cardstock and ran it through my machine each time. After I had created that design, I layered the cardstock over a lighter colored cardstock to create the tone on tone effect. I cut the Hello Framed diecut from gold cardstock and attached it to the front of the card. I thought I was done and was happy to have created a masculine card when I noticed the Ballerina diecut, also done in gold, lying on my desk, hoping for a home. I love the combination of dies, but this is no longer a masculine card.

When I read this sentiment, I think of the scene in “Cinderella” where the birds and creatures are helping Cinderella. I used my MISTI stamping tool to stamp the Felicity cling stamp on one half of my card, and used the embossed resist technique for color. I like the contrast between the delicate flower and the bold sentiment. This card reminds me of summer with the soft colors and delicate flowers.

I am so happy to have another new 6×6 pad of paper for the summer. This sweet print is from the Summertime paper pad, part of the Celebrate release. The hedgie and mouse from the Best Friends transparent set seem to be sharing their mail while the little ladybug observes. And oh, how I love how the Birds and Banners die set goes perfectly with the Banner Sentiments.  Once again there are more awesome fonts for more awesome sentiments.

This is a far cry from the tables for twenty or more I used to set. But a table for three is just as precious and worthy of decoration. We had our traditional turkey dinner, with no favorites eliminated. Might I add, there are leftovers? Lots of leftovers.

Silence

There is a song made popular by Simon and Garfunkel called “The Sound of Silence” that kept playing in my head when my daughter left after her Easter visit.

Mr. RWS and I live a fairly quiet life. I don’t have the television on during the day just for background noise. The stereo died a few years ago and we haven’t replaced it. The phone doesn’t ring very often. Sometimes Cooper barks when something unusual happens in front of our house (like a neighbor dog sniffing our mailbox pole). But there are a few sounds: washing machine running, microwave beeping, an occasional door opening and closing. Someone might run water. Silence, but not profound silence, such as takes over your home after your company leaves.

Our house came alive, it seemed, while Kathy was here. We had so much to talk about and catch up on. Hearing work stories that she might not remember to talk about over the phone; swapping news about her brothers or her nieces and nephews. There were phone calls from the missing family members, some Facetime with the youngest grandkids. There were the many footsteps and showers running as we prepared for church.   Coffee maker going, doors opening and closing, Cooper’s nails clicking on the hardwood floors: the sounds of family life.

And of course there was the clatter of pots and pans, the clinking of plates and platters, the jangle of the silverware drawer as we prepared meals and set the Easter table.

There was the sound the screen door made as it slid back and forth as we went in and out to enjoy time on the patio, soaking up sunshine. The scraping of the patio chairs as we got comfortable, the clicking of the dominoes as our hands were busy while we chatted. Of course, the sound of the Scrabble letters as we shook them in their container and set them on the board, carrying on the Scrabble competition that has become tradition in our family. And we flipped through the many score sheets in the box, some dating as far back as ten years, all dated and some with comments (“awful game”).

The worst sound was of the zipper as Kathy zipped her suitcase when it was time to leave for the airport.

I cannot bear to watch my company pack their bags when it is time to leave. I start blinking tears at the first sign of packing. I get sad just thinking about those last words, those last big hugs that have to last for such a long time.

I do my best to be cheerful on the thirty minute ride to the airport, acting as if this is just an ordinary errand like so many we run.

But there it is: the slamming of the trunk when the suitcase is removed, the handle pulled up and there is no stopping the process. Kathy is leaving. We went home to our very quiet house.

And the sound of silence.

Are you noticing the faux stitching around the pink square background of this card? That has been done with one of the dies included in the Cut Out Borders die set. There are two other fun patterns that you can use to create your own borders on any size base. I stamped the Flower Embrace image on white cardstock and then cut it out using a circle die.   That left just the right amount of space for stamping that awesome sentiment from the Gifts from Above transparent set.

I took a page out of Jill Foster’s book by stamping the little mice from the Especially Micey transparent set on the postcard image that is made by using the woodblock stamp Postcard. I loved the little finch I created using the Finches die set and since his color fit in well with the mice image, I attached him to the front of the postcard. Love how the sentiment from the Happy Wishes set fit perfectly onto the lined front. I just might start putting sweet little finches anywhere I find a space.

This cool cat from the Happy Times set is skateboarding on the hill I created using designer paper from the new Summertime paper pad bordered with some Washi tape. Again, I used my new Distress Oxide inks to create that blue sky. Background creating has never been so fun! I have lost track of how many times I have used that Silver Linings die set to create clouds. I would be lost without it.

Cooper had a tough weekend dealing with the disruption of his quiet predictable routine because there was company in the house. That Woman was in the kitchen a lot making sounds like there might be food preparation. So there was even more begging than usual. Seriously, I lost track most days of when he had last been fed and just fed him again when we ate. This week will be hard on him getting back to his three small portions a day. The good news was the long walk around the lake on Green Mountain and two long trips in the car that did not end at the vet’s office or the groomer’s.

I am grateful that I was able to spend time at the Penny Black blog today and leave the silence that reminds me Kathy has returned to her home and her busy life in Minneapolis. I know it is a parent’s job to raise independent and hopefully successful people. I wonder if I would have aimed for a little less independence if I had realized that meant I wouldn’t see as much of them as I would like. None of them run with scissors like their mother which is a relief.

The scissors are stowed until next week. Thank you for commenting and assuring me that some of what happens in my life happens in yours also. It’s good to know none of us are in this alone!

Time for me to check out the work in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card No. 1: 51-350 Hello Framed, 51-313 Ballerina, 51-349 Stencil Cut

Card No. 2: 30-419 Happy Wishes, 40-517 Felicity, 51-006 Flutters

Card No. 3: 30-423 Banner Sentiments, 30-430 Best Friends, 51-352 Birds and Banners, 80-016 Summertime

Card No. 4: 30-429 Gifts from Above, 40-542 Flower Embrace, 51-353 Cut Out Border

Card No. 5: 1369L Postcard, 30-410 Especially Micey, 30-419 Happy Wishes, 51-345 Finches

Card No. 6: 30-422 Happy Times, 51-033 Silver Linings, 80-016 Summertime
facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

32 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2017 12:19 am

    Your cards are great. I so look forward to reading the stories you write. Thanks for sharing xXx

  2. Roxanne permalink
    April 22, 2017 3:52 am

    Judy,
    What a beautiful story this week. I too have a daughter in Minneapolis whom I do not get to see often enough. I find it unbearable to watch her pack when it is time to leave, and I have given up trying to cover up my tears.
    Love your cards and stories. Thank you!

  3. Kathy Neinas permalink
    April 22, 2017 4:16 am

    Judy~ Your story brought tears to my eyes, reminding me of all the times I had to say goodbye to a loved one. And I thought we were the only weird family that kept old Scrabble score sheets that look like art journal pages. Our lives have a common thread. Except that your cards are beautiful. Thank you for another Saturday morning sweet roll!

  4. Carol Cooney permalink
    April 22, 2017 4:33 am

    Love the card you made with the oxide inks. I am having trouble getting that wonderful effect you have. I do so look forward to your Sat. post with your cards and stories. Our empty nest house is quiet also. Wish I had a Cooper to love. You make my Saturday.

  5. Marliese permalink
    April 22, 2017 4:42 am

    As always, love your cards and stories.

  6. Linda Nesgoda permalink
    April 22, 2017 4:55 am

    Sad story this week – but love your writing – you really should write a book! Wish families could be closer for sure!

  7. knurse22 permalink
    April 22, 2017 5:12 am

    You have done such awesome things with PB stamps and dies today……and now some of them are in my cart! Thank you, Judy Enabler! LOL!
    Again, the sisters with different mothers thing—sitting here with tears in my eyes, feeling your pain as others here have today. As an east coast Mom, I have a west coast daughter, and that sound of the zipper closing yanked my heart. As did the quiet house syndrome. It is always fun to feel a connection to others, even without meeting.
    Today is Earth Day…..enjoy this glorious world that God has given to us. It’s also my birthday—-unfortunately, I came way before Earth Day. Thanks for starting off my Saturday with a smile again this week!

    • judka permalink
      April 22, 2017 5:36 am

      Thank you for spending part of your birthday reading Runs With Scissors. We are all so unique and so alike! Happy Birthday!

  8. mjmarmo permalink
    April 22, 2017 5:22 am

    I agree – I wish my kids had a little less independence too! Our house is also filled with that silence. BEautiful cards!

  9. Kay Boone permalink
    April 22, 2017 5:48 am

    your words touched my heart—-I miss the hustle and bustle of when my kids are here, which is seldom, but the silence has become “my old friend” most days Glad we have our scissors to keep us sane! Thanks for a great blog!

  10. April 22, 2017 6:03 am

    At my age the silence is golden ,but the noise that has passed never to return is what I find myself missing today and every day. Penny Blake just makes card making so easy. Thank you for sharing your take on them.

  11. DONna permalink
    April 22, 2017 6:14 am

    Oh how I can relate! I too raised two very independent busy grown kids. They both came for a visit with their families for Easter weekend and the joyous chaos that went on! Food, laundry, swimming, toys, kid movies, play, dishes and leftovers. Then the outings, park, church, egg hunt and other family visits. I was so tired Sunday night that I said I would clean up and put away on Wednesday! LOve the art!

  12. jane harrah permalink
    April 22, 2017 6:17 am

    I love the sounds of silence. I know all the sounds of our house. As we prepare to move to our last home, I say goodbye to the known and head for the unknown. New adventures, more stamping and keeping up with you! Sort of like packing family and taking them with me. Love love love your cards. Especially the little critters! Thank you so much for all you share. If you ever get lonely, drop me a note. I am good at chatter. Enjoy the silence because the noise will come back!

    • Judy Jung permalink
      April 22, 2017 6:20 am

      Best wishes in your new home! Thank you for leaving this lovely message.

  13. Nance Mehl permalink
    April 22, 2017 6:21 am

    Oh, dear, never met friend…..your wonderful stories (don’t ever stop) are always read early in the morning, sitting in between my Labradors, doling out morning biscuits! Thank you for your creativity, both with your scissors AND your words……give a big hug to Cooper (well, have Mr RWS do it, as you are “that Woman”)… I always call my husband to the computer to see his latest photo…..just love your cards and LOVE your stories……..Blessings to you all!!!

  14. kellybooth permalink
    April 22, 2017 6:36 am

    I’m so glad you had an Awesome time with Kathy. How special that she was able to. E there
    Love all of the cards today Judy! I’m trying really hard to find some Mojo and nothing is happening here. Xoxo

    • Judy Jung permalink
      April 22, 2017 6:49 am

      There is a time for everything, Kelly! Mojo will find you. Relax and just be for awhile. Big hugs.

  15. April 22, 2017 7:31 am

    Oh the sounds of silence….I am with you girl. I am lucky enough to live down the street from one of my children (I wonder if he feels lucky?), but when the youngest son comes to visit…I cry when he leaves. In the blink of an eye, the parenting was over. 😦
    Your story today was wonderful…mostly because I am not alone in my feelings! Your cards as always are just too cute. However…..that Postcard is beyond adorable!!!! Shoot…now I need some mice stamps. Hugs my friend!!!

  16. canadiancaroline permalink
    April 22, 2017 9:15 am

    We had one/three boys home for the Easter weekend, and he brought a friend and others joined them. So plenty of happy noise. I know what you mean about the silence. You get so used to it sometimes that the noise of company can be a little overwhelming. But you wouldn’t trade it for anything…
    The skateboarding cat was my favorite this week. LOVE what you are doing with the oxide inks.

  17. DebbieP permalink
    April 22, 2017 9:16 am

    Enjoyed your cards today, especially liked the mice. We have no kids, so don’t have the same experiences as others. We do have a border collie though, and when she spends the day getting a bath and haircut, we know the sound of silence. The house feels so much bigger and emptier that we can’t wait for her to come back home. However, our groomer loves her so much that they usually keep her until closing time. When I go to pick her up, she has free run of the place. Enjoy the noise and bustle and chaos while you can.

  18. Sandra Warthen permalink
    April 22, 2017 10:00 am

    My son only lives 1/4 of a mile from us and I too hate it when he leaves. You have a wonderful gift for writing–I look forward to your stories. Have a blessed day my friend.

  19. April 22, 2017 11:49 am

    Are you kidding Judy…I had tears in my eyes reading about Kathy getting packed up to return home – and I don’t even know Kathy – LOL! I feel these same emotions and my place seems soooo quiet now that I am in my one-bedroom apartment alone and settled. Hopefully you will not have to soon experience going to only one person in your home!!! To help offset that I DO play background music when home….it helps!
    Wonderful cards as always…love the covered bridge picture of Mr. and Cooper!!!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

    • Judy Jung permalink
      April 22, 2017 11:54 am

      Big hugs to you, Jan! Life is an unpredictable journey.

  20. Diane F permalink
    April 22, 2017 2:05 pm

    Wonderful creations again today. You are an inspiration for us crafters !

    I too had tears in my eyes when reading your Easter story. I thought I was in the minority feeling emotional when saying goodbye to family. I have gotten used to my brother being in the same country and only seeing him once or twice a year, that I can handle. My husband having just been overseas for a 2 month stint I have no problem with saying goodbye as I know the only time he will not be communicating will be when he is in the air ! Facetime makes life so much easier when he goes away these days. But when my sister who lives on the other side of the world comes to visit, that is hard as each time I wonder if it will be the last time I see her. There was a time when my siblings and I each lived on a different continent – that was hard !

    Cuddles to Cooper. I’m sure he enjoyed all the extra excitement and break in routine.

  21. April 22, 2017 3:40 pm

    Ah–got teary-eyed myself reading your post, Judy, but so glad you had a wonderful time with Kathy! I gasped when I got to the second card–so beautiful with those gorgeous colors, images & sentiment! Thanks for all the inspiration!

  22. dawnnz permalink
    April 22, 2017 6:59 pm

    Fabulous cards as usual Judy. For me today is the packing to go back home equity after 10 days at our daughter’s. I’ll miss the exuberance of a one year old keeping Nanny and Pop entertained, the noise of four big people, one tiny but noisy little person and two rambunctious dogs. Going home to us two and the cat . Know how you feel.

  23. Cath permalink
    April 22, 2017 7:00 pm

    I could not pick a favorite card this week because I love them all. What diverse creative ideas you have. The story, as are all your stories, is so touching. I’m tickled that you played Scrabble–my son and I love to play it, too. There is a special pleasure in a long, slow, quiet game. Since I only have one child, and I was the ignored youngest child growing up, I appreciate the special joy of an intimate dinner for three. I’ll bet Kathy loved having you two all to herself.

  24. Kathy H permalink
    April 22, 2017 8:32 pm

    Wonderful cards Judy!

  25. donna mikasa permalink
    April 22, 2017 9:03 pm

    Wonderful cards and such a heartwarming story! I love your Easter table, too. Hopefully, there will be happy noises in your home in the very near future 😉

  26. Linda Page permalink
    April 23, 2017 7:32 am

    Love your cards! Your ideas are always so good. Even though your home will be quiet once again, you will have wonderful memories of Kathy’s visit to fill your mind as you go about your daily routine. And I’m sure that Cooper is ready for life to be “normal” again. Love the picture with the covered bridge. I didn’t realize how many covered bridges there are in Alabama until my mom and I got waylaid in Eufaula, AL when my car broke down and we had to redesign our trip since we were in a rent car and needed to stay not too far away. We found several covered bridges in our explorations and we were delighted. I love travelling in Alabama. I might just have to look you up some time!!!

  27. April 24, 2017 6:44 am

    So loved reading your story and it made me sit and think (no bad thing x)x What an inspiring collection of cards. You are so creative and one thoughtful and caring mum x

  28. Vicky S. permalink
    May 6, 2017 5:33 am

    I can’t tell you how much that sounds like me when our daughter comes in town & leaves after a day or two. I have learned to cry after she leaves & like you said the house seems empty. Thanks for all the nice cards & ideas.

Leave a Reply

