Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

May 6, 2017

May, in all her green and flowered loveliness, has arrived. Finally it is safe to plant the garden or fill pots with flowers from the big box stores. It is the month so many of us excitedly wait for.

Mother’s Day is quickly approaching. None of this week’s cards has a “Mother” sentiment on them, but most are easily adapted by changing the sentiment. There is no need to limit your card sending to mothers only this month. Anyone who has played a special role in your life would love a card with an “Especially for You” sentiment.

The Celebrate release makes it easy to combine dies and stamps for just the perfect card.

Here are some I did today:

For the first layer, a floral image from the Delicate Flowers set was stamped and embossed with white and then Distress Oxide ink applied with a blender. A quick spritz of water adds some interest. All of this to make sure the sentiment from the Hope Shines set has a lovely background. The Cut Out Borders dies set is perfect for adding the stitched look to your card layers. I am thinking that the Finches will become my new butterfly for adding detail and possibly covering any smudges. Any color combination works for these sweet birds. A handmade card is an awesome gift, especially with sentiments so meaningful.

I stamped, colored and fussy cut the Grad! image and added an altered banner from the Birds and Banners set. Then I pondered what to do next. That Picket Fence die was on my desk and gave me an idea. This girl grad is busting out from school and is eager to face the world.

This pup from the Happy Times set really is eager to please! Perhaps he is spoiling the mother in the house for Mother’s Day. I love how this image captures the personality of dogs perfectly. And I am so happy to have another assortment of banners for sentiments from the Birds and Banners set. And who says you can only use the Wintertime paper pad in the winter?

You Bought a What?

Here it is, the newest addition to our home. If it isn’t used for exercise, it will be a good place to drape clothes waiting to be hung up. Don’t you just love those shoes eager to get going?

When Mr. RWS takes Cooper for his morning walk on a weekend, there is always the possibility that they will stop at the neighborhood yard sales they encounter. And there is always the possibility they will find something we “need” and like a cat bringing home a found treasure to its owner, proudly present me with their latest purchase.

About ten years ago, it was a set of service for twelve dinnerware with serving bowls and platters, water pitcher, soup tureen, salt and pepper shakers … well, you get the idea. It was three large boxes of dishes that we use to this day.

One week it was a backpack worthy of the Appalachian Trail; another time it was a weed whacker and edger. We recently donated the Conastoga Wagon lamp that never made it past the garage.

Since every yard sale includes at least one piece of exercise equipment, it was only a matter of time before one ended up in our home.

I couldn’t be too upset about the $25 purchase as it was partly my fault for once suggesting having a treadmill might be a good idea. I think that was one of those super muggy Alabama summer days when the idea of walking around the block was just too much.

So now there is a treadmill in the bedroom. I wish I could tell you that I’ve been inspired to spend thirty minutes a day on it. I wish I could tell you that it has changed my life for the better. I can tell you that Cooper is afraid of it and leaves the room when the machine is turned on (I have tried it out). I know how he feels.

Did you notice those walking shoes perched on the treadmill? They are at least 15 years old and show very little signs of wear. Does that tell you something about my walking habits? They are there to make it more convenient if the spirit should move me to jump on that machine and get moving.

Actually, I have the same theory about treadmills that some people have about fruit cakes. There really is only ONE. No one really likes fruit cake and the one fruit cake in the world that is given as a gift is perpetually regifted, keeping it circulating and forming the illusion that there are many fruit cakes in the world.

So it is with treadmills. There might be several, but certainly no more than that. I know there is more than one because if you attend multiple yard sales per weekend, you will find a treadmill at each. Treadmills may be like mall Santa Clauses; one treadmill can’t be everywhere, so there are Treadmill Helpers. And Mr. RWS purchased one. And brought it home. To our bedroom. And placed it so that it is impossible to see the TV while treadmilling.

Seriously, I intend to use it … soon.

Sunglow is the perfect name for this image. This flower is bold and beautiful and able to brighten anyone’s day. Change the sentiment and it’s a perfect Mother’s Day card. I’ve left the banner flat but there are score lines for folding if you choose. Truly, there is great variety in that Birds and Banners die set, both sizes and styles.

I blended more Distress Oxide inks on white cardstock for the under layer of this card. I ran the Stencil Cut die and white cardstock through my machine multiple times at different spots on the paper. And hooray for me, I used a piece of ribbon as the background for the sentiment banner. I purged my ribbon supply recently, but still have a drawer full! The Stencil Cut die set will be very useful for making interesting backgrounds.

I absolutely love coloring images and then using dies to cut them out.   The hedgie and caterpillar are from a mini-set Just for You and they are easily cut out using the die set Critters. I stamp and color the images first, then line up the dies, tape them down (using up some Washi tape) and run them through my machine. The little flowers and birdie are included in that die set. And do you remember my telling you that I would not be putting that Heart Drops die away with my Valentine’s dies? It is the perfect background for any card you send with love. This is the biggest and boldest banner from the Bird and Banners die set and it really makes a statement.

I didn’t know Cooper had a snarky sense of humor, but I guess he couldn’t show us until we got the message board for him. He fits right in with our family. I thought he enjoyed chasing after the ball and bringing it back. Just think, all over the world there are dogs asking this question as they try to catch their breath, exhausted from all the running back and forth.

Once again, it is time to pick up, pack up and stow the scissors. I think I have a headache coming on after pondering the mysteries of fruit cakes, exercise machines and doggies chasing balls. When one is dedicated to solving world problems, one has to start somewhere. Please feel free to share with others any wisdom you may find here each week. And if you have answers to other life ponderables, I would love to hear them.

I so appreciate the time you spend with Cooper, Penny Black and me. We read every comment and enjoy what you share. Speaking of sharing, please post your Penny Black art projects in the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery. It is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, including holidays. I am heading there right now … as soon as I turn off the lights and lock the doors.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card No. 1: 30-431 Delicate Flowers, 30-432 Hope Shines, 51-345 Finches, 51-353 Cut Out Borders

Card No. 2: 30-428 Grad!, 51-327 Picket Fence, 51-392 Birds and Banners

Card No. 3: 30-422 Happy Times, 30-423 Banner Sentiments, 51-352 Birds and Banners, 51-353 Cut Out Borders, 80-012 Wintertime

Card No. 4: 1999L Letter Background, 30-423 Banner Sentiments, 40-519 Sunglow, 51-352 Birds and Banners

Card No. 5: 30-423 Banner Sentiments, 51-349 Stencil Cut, 51-352 Birds and Banners

Card No. 6: 30-424 Just For You, 30-423 Banner Sentiments, 51-298 Heart Drops, 51-352 Birds and Banners, 51-359 Critters

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

25 Comments leave one →
  1. dawnnz permalink
    May 6, 2017 1:53 am

    another set of beautiful cards Judy. How you keep coming up with so many beautiful projects is very inspiring. Thanks for making my day reading your posts.

  2. May 6, 2017 3:34 am

    Gorgeous selection of cards, great layouts, colours and sentiments. Enjoyed reading your blog again today and Cooper is so clever (and snarky lol xx). Go enjoy the treadmill LOL xx

  3. Nan permalink
    May 6, 2017 4:56 am

    Always enjoy reading your column on Saturday am! Hoping the groomer is up & about soon as Cooper needs a haircut badly! He’s so cute!

  4. May 6, 2017 5:26 am

    I love my grandmother’s fruit cake. She is of course no longer here but I make the cake every year for my Dads Christmas. At least Cooper plays. Babe just looks at a thrown ball and wonders why it is over there.
    How I love Penny Black and all of the DT’s creative show. I WON the Friend Friday Giveaway a couple of weeks ago and couldn’t be more excited. The order came in really fast and I can’t wait to give them a try.
    I have an ‘unused ‘ Nordic track if you are interested. LOL

    • Judy Jung permalink
      May 6, 2017 6:06 am

      Congratulations on winning the Giveaway! Hope you will share in the Gallery!! My treadmill might appreciate the company of your Nordic Track!!

  5. creatingincolors permalink
    May 6, 2017 5:39 am

    Yup, been there with the treadmill. I hadn’t heard that theory about the fruitcake before, but I believe you are totally right! LOL Love today’s bright and beautiful cards.

  6. May 6, 2017 5:40 am

    I look forward to Saturday just to read your stories! Thank you for sharing with us!

  7. Marliese permalink
    May 6, 2017 6:48 am

    As always, great story and great cards.

  8. May 6, 2017 7:11 am

    Cards are great. Look forward to Saturdays for the story on your blog.

  9. Kathy b permalink
    May 6, 2017 7:23 am

    I “inherited” a treadmill when a friend moved out-of-state. When we moved, I had a heck of a time giving it away. Most charities didn’t even want it. Finally found one that would take it. Guess they really that hard to get rid of!
    Love the cards, especially the little birdie because they are such a reminder that it is spring! I, too, have been purging in the craft room. Working on the ribbon, since I use it so infrequently now. Unfortunately, I have a ton of it…
    Loving Cooper’s question board. Fits his little personality. I look forward to your posts each week. Thanks for the inspiration and comic relief!

  10. Ginger permalink
    May 6, 2017 8:11 am

    I look forward to Runs With Scissors-your cards and your commentary. Thank you for the idea of using ribbon as a background for a banner.

  11. mjmarmo permalink
    May 6, 2017 9:06 am

    Lovely cards! Hahah – i actually love fruitcake. My mother in law always made a fabulous one! I guess I am lucky my husband doesn’t like garage sales.

  12. May 6, 2017 9:41 am

    Congrats on your new/old treadmill!!!! You will be in ship shape in no time….LOL! They promise so many good things if you use it – unfortunately using one is beyond my capabilities! They do make a good place to hang clothes tho’ so you are on the right track Judy! I did buy a recumbent bicycle when I had a total knee replacement and DID use it everyday – for quite a while….then on from the living room to the garage. When downsizing I tried to give it away – no luck. So asked people I knew about ‘buying it’…ah ha…someone paid me $75 for it and believe it or not uses it everyday and loves it!!!! Thankfully it takes all kinds of people and I found just the right person!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  13. May 6, 2017 9:54 am

    Love starting my days with smiles from reading your post, Judy! Lovely cards–especially love the first one with the beautiful background & can’t get enough of that adorable doggy which you colored perfectly! Wish Fritz would play ball–but he has absolutely no interest in them. Hope Cooper is happy & beautiful today!

  14. Kathy H permalink
    May 6, 2017 10:30 am

    Wonderful! I so enjoy your posts and your cards!

  15. May 6, 2017 10:56 am

    Your cards are so beautiful and well designed. And I loved reading about the yard sale shopping adventures too.

  16. knurse22 permalink
    May 6, 2017 2:50 pm

    I am really loving this newest release, Judy, and you have done it proud!!!
    Cooper always makes me laugh, and today is no exception.
    Next week I expect to see a photo of you ON the treadmill!!!

    Happy NSD to all the scrappers here!

  17. Diane F permalink
    May 7, 2017 7:27 am

    The new release is just great as are your cards. I have not yet gotten my hands on Distress Oxides but seeing your creations – well, I think I am now convinced !

    Good luck with the treadmill. Been there, done that and now prefer to walk outside rather than on a boring treadmill. My volunteer work on a farm with horses makes me walk between the fields three days a week. Then on the other days I usually get a walk in as well. Who knew I would walk so much when I retired ! Now if I could just lose a bit more weight with all the walking I would be very happy !!

    Love the fluffy look Cooper. Perhaps he needs a companion so his humans do not have to throw him balls !!

    • Judy Jung permalink
      May 7, 2017 12:16 pm

      Love your exercise method, Diane. And Cooper would love a dog buddy, but one dog is all we can support! Thanks for commenting.

  18. maureenchandler permalink
    May 7, 2017 7:37 am

    Your cards are great – thanks so much! We had a very expensive and rarely used treadmill which we sold for a very low price … and that got replaced with a “free” exercise bike that weighs tons and is also getting very little use!! Why do we keep trying this?? I am one of those rare people who loves fruitcake and wish I could recreate my Great Aunt’s wonderful recipe – it was very dark and delicious!!! Thanks for your great blog!

  19. Lolita D permalink
    May 8, 2017 11:27 am

    Love the cards, very cute. I love the flowers and the leaves on the first card. I have a treadmill that I try to use everyday, and the bonus is that I can read a book i have downloaded to my iPad as I walk. So, it’s not boring and I get more books read. When I was working, I used to go outside and walk the perimeter of the parking lot and listen to a book.
    Love hearing about your life experiences and life with Cooper! Thanks for the inspiration and fun in your blog posts!

  20. Jani Howe permalink
    May 8, 2017 12:21 pm

    I have a theory that there is only so much energy to go round in the world. When someone else is using up all the energy, I don’t have any to get on my exercycle…..same theory about ‘smarts’. I do love hedgies, and your card is a great inspiration today! And congratulations to Cooper, who is fast becoming a real ‘fur ball’! He gives me a laugh, always!!

  21. donna mikasa permalink
    May 8, 2017 8:02 pm

    LOVE your cards and all the Distress Oxide goodness! And what a great deal you found with a treadmill for $25! Maybe Cooper can join you on a rainy day 😉

  22. jane harrah permalink
    May 9, 2017 5:41 am

    Love the cards! Love the stories. Love the china!!!! Never find a bargain like that. Treadmill, meh….Cooper —hugs!

Leave a Reply

