Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

June 10, 2017

Hello, hello! Another beautiful day in June and what better place to spend it than the Penny Black blog! I am grateful for the roominess of the studio. I’ve had the water colors out today along with the stamps and dies from the new Poetic release.   I think I will be staying late to clean up my mess.

I have spent time this week watching the helpful and inspiring videos by Jill Foster and Micheline Jourdain as they work their magic with the stamps in the Poetic release. I hope you will have time during the week to watch these artists at work on the Penny Black YouTube channel.

Here’s what I did using the Poetic release and some older Penny Black favorites:

Father’s Day is coming soon and the gorgeous leaf stamp named Poetic makes a great masculine card. The sentiment is from the So Blessed Mother’s Day cling set and is as true for a Dad as it is for a Mom. I put the Poetic stamp into my MISTI and inked it directly from my mini Distress ink pads. I discovered by trial and error that it is important to ink lightly so as not to lose the detail etched into the stamp. I used three different shades of brown, layering them from light to dark.

This card was an experiment and I am including it to demonstrate how versatile those brushstroke stamps can be. I stamped the Dancing Daisies image using white ink onto kraft cardstock. That was too plain and did not show enough detail. While the stamp was still in my MISTI, I lightly tapped my versafine Tuxedo Black ink pad onto several places on the stamp. I loved the difference that made. I added touches of bright blue to cheer things up a bit. This could be a Father’s Day card by using a different sentiment.

Who doesn’t love summer fruit? I diecut and colored the Summer Goodies fruit with Copic markers. I arranged them on the honeycomb diecut from the Thank You Squares backed with designer paper from the Summertime paper pack. I used only the top half of a sentiment from the Happy Wishes sentiment set. I love how those transparent stamps can be trimmed with no permanent harm done and very little screaming.

A Failure to Communicate

 As I mentioned last week, I recently had a birthday. While I function mostly as an adult in many areas of my life, when it comes to birthdays I revert to age 10 with my wants and expectations.   I’ve often said I am easy to shop for: I want everything!

Mr. RWS has learned over the years that jewelry is a one size fits all fairly safe gift for any occasion. In keeping with our family values, jewelry purchases are limited to good quality costume jewelry not requiring insurance appraisals or a safe for storage.

Sometimes by the time my birthday arrives, I have used up my birthday gift entitlement by some impulsive purchase or other that could only be justified as a birthday gift. This year, I made no such purchase and was anticipating a genuine gift wrapped present. Mr. RWS had even mentioned one day that he had been shopping for my birthday.

Have I mentioned that our municipal golf course has been closed for about six months, denying Mr. RWS the fun and company of his golf league? It isn’t always easy to share space with a golfer who isn’t golfing. So when a neighbor called and invited Mr. RWS to join him and a friend at a more distant golf course on my birthday, it was with enthusiasm that I encouraged him to go.   I could think of nothing better than a few hours with the car at my disposal and freedom to spend the day shopping, lunching, maybe even a haircut.

Before he left for golf, Mr. RWS presented me with two birthday cards, one lovely and one more humorous. I could barely read them fast enough, wanting to get to the gift part!   Imagine my shock when Mr. RWS handed me a 3 inch by 3 inch sheet of paper taken from the note pad by the telephone. It was labeled “Coupon” and entitled me to a gift up to $10,000, but not to include stamps, and was good until the year 2021. He was beaming. I was blinking tears.

He asked me what was wrong. I said, “I hate coupons as a gift!” He said, “How can you say that? It’s what you asked for!” “Never”, said I. I would never, ever, ever ask for a coupon for a present. I want real presents, not coupons. Since neither one of us surrenders early or easily, this exchange was repeated a few times. He was certain I had asked for a coupon; I was more certain I had not.

When Mr. RWS left for golf, you could see by the sag in his posture he was feeling pretty awful and very confused. I gave in to the tears for a bit and then squared my shoulders and got ready for my day to myself, doing whatever struck my fancy.

I admit to having a bit of concern about Mr. RWS’s memory. How could he possibly believe I asked for a coupon for a birthday gift?

Just before leaving the house, I checked inside my purse to make sure I had my wallet and credit cards and any coupons I needed for shopping.

COUPONS!! There it was: the coupon that had arrived in the mail the day before. It was a special birthday offer from our optical shop for sunglasses. If I paid for frames, the lenses were free. Last year Mr. RWS and I bought new prescription sunglasses. While Mr. RWS still has his, I lost mine within two weeks. I was more than sad. And a whole lot angry with myself that I had been so careless. I had missed my sunglasses every day.

I was so excited about the offer that I shared the news with Mr. RWS that the new sunglasses were the perfect birthday gift and I was taking my coupon the next day to order them. Mr. RWS was happy for me and looked relieved that I had found something I wanted for my birthday.

Now it made sense. When Mr. RWS was trying to convince me that I had asked for a coupon for my birthday, he was only partially remembering our conversation the day before. Which is more than I can say. I had totally forgotten about the coupon and the sunglasses. Which makes you wonder what the future holds for us!!

I was so happy to leave Mr. RWS a note explaining the role of the sunglasses coupon in the confusion that had taken place that morning. While we were both wrong, I think it can be said we were both right … a little.

I had a lovely day, meandering around the mall, lunch at the food court (I love food court food) and the excitement of picking out new frames for my new sunglasses.

Mr. RWS had practice with his fellow church musicians that evening, so we postponed our birthday dinner out to another time. While he was busy practicing at church, I had a supper of chocolate ice cream and potato chips! Perfect birthday dinner!

And Mr. RWS, who is really a very smart man, came home from church (which is located very near to the mall), with a darling little shopping bag holding the most perfect birthday gift!

And here it is, the perfect birthday present from Mr. RWS. The Celtic knot is a reminder of our incredible trip to Ireland. The bracelet is clean and simple and has a very sturdy closing and is from my favorite brand of costume jewelry.

Mr. RWS explained that sunglasses were a necessity, and not a birthday present.

I told you he was smart.

Birthday Hoopla is a great name for this cling stamp. While it makes a perfect birthday card on its own, I was inspired by Birgit’s card to first stamp a floral image from Stitched Flowers using lighter colored ink and then overstamping with the Birthday Hoopla stamp. I believe that helps keep your eye focused on the Happy Birthday message. I added a butterfly from the Flutters die set for some fun.

I hope someone will give me an “A” for effort on this watercolored “Lustrous” card. Jill Foster’s videos were filled with great information about watercoloring and then going back with colored pencils and water proof ink pens to add detail. I realized my Prismacolor pencils were too waxy for adding details, as they filled in the fine lines instead of accenting them. My newly ordered Faber Castelle pencils were incorrectly shipped and did not arrive in time for me to add details to these flowers. Instead of using a watercolor background wash, I masked the flowers and overstamped the image with the Dots in Space background stamp.

And here is Grace! I will share a tip with you. If you are not fully confident with painting these lovely ladies, stamp two images on separate water color card bases. I practiced everything on my first copy before using it on this image. I have more confidence using lighter tones of water colors so Grace is a pale, Irish lass. She has decorated her flowing hair with tiny stars and put a lovely Layered Flower over one ear. There are videos by Jill Foster with great information about adding detail and bringing these ladies to life.

Poor Cooper! He is wondering why I put his treat on top of my head! Bless his heart, he would wait forever until I gave it to him. Love that boy!!

I am getting pretty efficient at cleaning up messes, so all is well here at the studio. The scissors are stowed, the stamps and dies filed neatly away. Thank you for sharing your time with me and leaving your lovely comments. I am taking Cooper with me to the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery so he can enjoy your art, too. Maybe we will meet you there.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card No. 1: 40-544 Poetic, 40-132 So Blessed, 40-470 Script

Card No. 2: 40-546 Dancing Daisies, 30-432 Hope Shines

Card No. 3: 51-346 Thank You Squares, 51-356 Summer Goodies, 30-419 Happy Wishes, 80-016 Summertime

Card No. 4: 40-522 Birthday Hoopla, 51-006 Flutters, 30-418 Stitched Flowers

Card No. 5: 40-545 Lustrous, 51-204 Circle Tags, 30-404 Spiritual Snippets, 40-144 Dots in Space

Card No. 6: 40-548 Grace, 40-475 Verdure, 30-433 Be, 40-542 Flower Embrace, 51-207 Layered Flower

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

22 Comments leave one →
  1. donna mikasa permalink
    June 10, 2017 12:26 am

    Beautiful cards, as always, Judy! And I love your birthday story, but most all I love your birthday dinner. Chocolate ice cream and potato chips? I’ll be over next year…

  2. June 10, 2017 2:01 am

    Happy Birthday Judy. Love the relationship you and mr. RWS have. Beautiful bracelet and every time you wear it you can think of the little confusion over it. Gorgeous cards as always. xXx

  3. dawnnz permalink
    June 10, 2017 2:43 am

    Your cards this week are beyond beautiful Judy…. stunning in fact. I laughed at your birthday story. My birthday is mid week and for weeks hubby has been asking me what I want…. and I keeps saying “I don’t know!” then the last two weeks he hasn’t asked at all…. so waiting to see what will happen Wednesday morning – early as he has to fly out of town for the day! Might just need to treat myself to a similar birthday dinner to you.

    • Lercy permalink
      June 13, 2017 1:17 am

      We share the same birthday! I hope you have a fabulous day. I know I will… It’s my favorite holiday!

  4. Marliese permalink
    June 10, 2017 4:08 am

    Beautiful cards as always. I particularly like the coloring of the leaf. It looks real. I enjoyed your birthday story. Chocolate ice cream and potato chips, that’s a new one. Will have to try it.

  5. Trish Gutuskey permalink
    June 10, 2017 5:03 am

    Beautiful cards and bracelet, happy belated b’day.

  6. creatingincolors permalink
    June 10, 2017 5:35 am

    What a great collection of cards! I’m smiling as I read about your birthday exploring the mall, not to mention your special birthday dinner – I totally get it. And Mr. RWS is indeed smart. That’s a beautiful bracelet.

  7. June 10, 2017 6:06 am

    I don’t know..a coupon with a value up to $10,000 sounds pretty nice. Isn’t it nice to be married to someone who is your best friend too. I sure miss mine.
    Yes I need to post to the flicker …maybe soon. Give Cooper a hug.

  8. Sue CD permalink
    June 10, 2017 7:27 am

    Sounds like you had a delightful birthday by the end of the day. Chocolate and chips – sweet and salty – sounds like dinner to me! I love Cooper’s facial expression. I particularly like the dancing daisies card and the way you “saved” it. Thanks for a great morning read.

  9. Judy permalink
    June 10, 2017 7:49 am

    I can totally relate. Mother’s Day and my birthday are about a month apart, so mine is coming up this coming weekend. My husband is NOT a shopper and NOT a romantic, so sometimes I get a coupon to the local stamp shop, which is fine. This year he bought me a double windmill with large colorful circles. Each piece goes in a different direction in the wind. We shopped together and bought it at a local mens’ mall. Then for my birthday, we bought a hydrangea bush. I’ve been wanting one for years and the two I had from my parents’ funerals both died. This time I’m following all of the directions, so have my fingers crossed that it will live and grow huge. Other years he’s thrown some money at my daughter, either with a suggestion of what to buy, or leaving it entirely up to her. I’ve learned to not be disappointed and just enjoy the fact that he remembers. And he usually takes me out for a dinner somewhere, so I can’t complain.
    Cooper is a sweety.

  10. DebbieP permalink
    June 10, 2017 8:26 am

    Sounds like your birthday celebration worked out just fine. For me, the $10,000 coupon would have been fine. Just wondering, since you got the bracelet, do you still get to keep the coupon too???

  11. Linda S in NE permalink
    June 10, 2017 8:35 am

    Goodness, Judy! I am very impressed with your watercolor portrait card!! I have been totally intimidated by them, even with all the helpful videos available, not to mention my more than adequate supply of watercolor mediums. Such a shame, they are truly beautiful.

  12. June 10, 2017 8:59 am

    I love all the cards you made. All are so beautifully colored. I wish I had the knack of water coloring like you do. And, thanks for sharing the birthday story. Hubby and I usually don’t exchange gifts anymore but instead take the time to have a nice dinner out. We mostly buy ourselves whatever we want. At Christmas we do exchange though.

  13. June 10, 2017 9:02 am

    Oh my goodness, Judy–what a BD story & great example of adults working something out–so often it doesn’t happen in this world! Boy did he nail it with that beautiful bracelet! Always love seeing the variety of cards you make! I keep going back to see the white flowers with the added black–amazing! Using the dots background stamp over the flowers–genius! Grace–awe-inspiring! She’s gorgeous & with just the right amount of embellishment for what I love–wowzer! Hugs, Greta

  14. jane harrah permalink
    June 10, 2017 9:11 am

    Great cards and great story as always. I have learned to never celebrate birthdays because you will always be disappointed. That way, there is no disappointment. Who is your bracelet made by? It is quite lovely.

    • Judy Jung permalink
      June 10, 2017 9:17 am

      Jane, thanks for your kind words. I have had to tone down my expectations for holidays as I am quite unrealistic! The bracelet is by Brighton.

  15. June 10, 2017 9:30 am

    Hi Judy…love your ‘Dancing Daisies’ card…have to copy you and give it a try to as I have that stamp – yours is so pretty and a very different and unique take on how to use it…thanks so much!
    Mr. RWS did a good thing with that coupon – you can now shop all year – $10,000 is a lot of shopping!!!! My Sweetie always told me to get what I wanted…after the diamonds early in our marriage I said I had all I needed or wanted, so Jim would draw a card for me by hand or on the computer and we would go out to dinner. If I wanted something, I would get it….actually a wonderful arrangement. Jim preferred to surprise me at odd times with little gifts he thought I would like rather than on expected special dates like birthday, Christmas, Anniversary…well anniversaries were usually trips he would plan for both of us. Miss him BIG time!!!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan
    P.S. Cooper certainly is well trained to sit soooooo long for his treat – LOL! Guess we are not so inclined!

    • Judy Jung permalink
      June 10, 2017 9:38 am

      Jan, Thank you for the kind words about my Dancing Daisies card! Born of desperation! Sending you big hugs!! Judy

      • June 10, 2017 12:53 pm

        Desperation is a good thing some times – LOL! Thank you for the Hug…sending some back to you on the beautiful summer day! Enjoy!!!
        Jan

  16. mjmarmo permalink
    June 10, 2017 12:51 pm

    Such beautiful cards! Love the Dancing Daisies! Gift giving can be so difficult:)

  17. June 11, 2017 11:57 am

    Love reading your blog post, fabulous and amazing cards, happy belated birthday and loving that bracelet x

  18. Ann Hefenieder permalink
    June 12, 2017 9:19 am

    Happy belated birthday! I love your new bracelet! Also love that leaf card . . .

Leave a Reply

