Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

June 17, 2017

Oh, hello! Sometimes Saturdays take me by surprise, and this is one of those. Has it really been seven days since I ran with my scissors? This last birthday seems to have plunked me right into the “getting older” crowd. Mealtime and bedtime are coming earlier and earlier along with rising and shining. I was at the Penny Black studio this morning as the birds were waking up and will probably need a nap when I return home.

Tomorrow is Father’s Day here in the United States. Poor dads, they don’t get the hoopla and celebration accorded to Mother’s Day. If they are anything like Mr. RWS that’s ok, though. He is content with time to watch a golf tournament, a home cooked meal and phone calls from the kids. He is excused from chores, most of which will wait until Monday anyway.

It’s time to share this Saturday’s achievements.

The Poetic leaf is as versatile as it is awesome. Once again I have lightly padded Distress inks directly onto the stamp which I mounted onto my MISTI. I use the mini pads as they are easier to control and I stamp several layers, varying the colors. All that was left to do was add a beautiful verse from the All Great Things transparent set. I even managed to wind a new bobbin for the stitching around the card.

Here the Dancing Daisies have gathered to create the setting for another beautiful sentiment, this time from the Hope Shines set. I stamped the image several times onto watercolor paper, using layers of Distress inks. This time I went over the petals and leaves with a wet paint brush, filling in the white spaces of each bloom. Of course, once the flowers were on the paper, two of the butterflies from the Butterfly Trio die set perched among the daisies. There are many ways to use these brushstroke stamps ranging from simple to more complex.

I had thank you notes to write to family and friends who generously remembered my birthday. I cut the “thank you” from white cardstock using the Thank You Squares die set and placed it over a colored note card. I added a color coordinated bird to each using the Finches die set. Easy peasy, leaving more time for writing a note inside.

Father Knows Best

This handsome man is my Dad when he was about thirty years old. For some reason, our family consisting of Mom, Dad, my sister who was about five years old, and me at the age of three went to a professional photographer and had photos taken. That was the only time our family did that and it was quite a luxury. I never asked my parents the story behind that trip to the photographer. They didn’t even have professional wedding photos taken so this was a departure from the norm.

Many years ago there was a television show titled “Father Knows Best”, starring an actor named Robert Young. The theme of each segment was everyone’s benefiting from the wisdom and guidance of the star. No matter the problem, everything was resolved within the 30 minute show.

Well, in our family it truly was “father knows best”. I don’t think anyone ever said it out loud, but we all knew who was the head of our family. My father entered the military when I was about five years old and for all the years I lived in my family, it was understood he was the decision maker. Many of those decisions were related to his career and the transfers from one duty station to the next.

As Army kids, we were taught that our behavior could affect our Dad’s military reputation. It was assumed that an Army officer would have his family life well organized and his children well behaved.

My Dad was not “warm and fuzzy”, but he worked hard, studied hard and took every opportunity to better the life he provided for our family. He expected to come home to an orderly house, orderly children and supper simmering on the stove. My Mom did not work outside the home and was a poster child for a good Army wife.

When the military issued orders for a new duty station, there was no discussion or consideration of how this might affect the children. Should someone stay behind so they could finish the school year or graduate with their class? Never even mentioned. As soon as my Dad received his orders, the purging and preparing for the move began.

We never assumed our family life was a democracy. There were parents and then there were the children. We knew the hierarchy and understood the rules.

The Army life benefited us in so many ways. We learned very early the world was a very large place. Not every state looked like Wisconsin, or Texas, or Virginia, or Washington, D.C. or Alabama or Tennessee. And when you drove cross country in an old car packed with six people, you realized how far Alabama was from Texas. You experienced the joy of jumping into a motel swimming pool after a long day traveling in a non-airconditioned car.

And Italy was not like the United States. We were privileged to travel, to meet people from all walks of life, and to experience a culture very different from our own.

I am sure my parents discussed my Dad’s decision to enlist in the Army, but I am certain my Dad made that final decision. And as it turned out, he really did know best.

Some days I just want to “do cute”. The Celebrate release included the Especially Micey set where I found this little critter. The Stencil Cut die provided the background which reminds me of floating bubbles. Everything about this card makes me smile.

This Celebration Song card will probably be for Mr. RWS’s Father’s Day. Music is an important part of his life and the message is just right for his special day. I colored the happy little mice with watercolors, even painting the background a light grey. These cuties did not intimidate me at all and were great practice.

Simple masking. What could go wrong? The intent was to have Angelette and Charlotte side by side. By stamping the wrong one first, the result was a bit creepy! My apologies to Angela Kennedy and Penny Black.

And here they are, Angelette and Charlotte the way I intended! I enjoyed the hours I spent putting together this design and finally coloring it. The flowers from the Flower Cascade set were colored with my new Faber Castelle colored pencils. The dresses are paper pieced, with embellishment provided by the Vine Border diecut and a flower from the Flower Cascade bouquet. I confess to total intimidation by these beautiful faces but as I said last week, I did everything on a trial image first. I bought a fine line art pen for adding eyelashes and smiles. I let everything dry before going on to another area or color. I added some detail to their hair with my colored pencils. I was tempted to do a color wash for the background, but made the decision to be done while I still liked my work. It is a joy to see each person’s interpretation of these stamps. Oh how I wanted to add freckles to little Charlotte a la Jill Foster, but feared I might create a measles outbreak. Love between a mother and her daughter seemed the right message for this painting.

Here is Cooper with his “dad”, Mr. RWS enjoying a view of the Tennessee River. There is a lovely park/campground/marina a short distance from our home. Cooper loves going there for a walk, quickly going from shady spot to shady spot. Here he is taking a break under a large tree with his favorite person in the whole world. The feeling is mutual.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card No. 1: 30-409 All Great Things, 40-544 Poetic

Card No. 2: 30-432 Hope Shines, 40-546 Dancing Daisies, 51-306 Butterfly Trio

Cards No. 3: 51-346 Thank You Squares, 51-345 Finches

Card No. 4: 30-410 Especially Micey, 30-358 Happy Snippets, 51-349 Stencil Cut

Card No. 5: 40-534 Celebration Song

Card No. 6: 40-550 Angelette, 40-551 Charlotte, 40-466 Flower Cascade, 51-296 Love, 51-322 Vine Border

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

23 Comments leave one →
  1. Cynthia permalink
    June 17, 2017 4:37 am

    Happy Father’s Day Mr. RWS and by the way, Angelette and Charlotte look so pretty!

  2. Sue CD permalink
    June 17, 2017 4:45 am

    So much to love in this post. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. mjmarmo permalink
    June 17, 2017 5:22 am

    A lovely story for Father’s Day! BEautiful cards!

  4. Kay Boone permalink
    June 17, 2017 5:58 am

    I love reading your thoughts on RWS days—thanks for the pleasure.

  5. Linda permalink
    June 17, 2017 6:14 am

    I grew up as a military “brat” and can totally relate to your story-it was our life too. Your stories are special for your readers-like we are having coffee together. I often read them to my husband because I am laughing out loud. Thank you for sharing and making us smile.

  6. creatingincolors permalink
    June 17, 2017 6:24 am

    What a lovely post, full of inspiration, both in your writing and your cards.

  7. June 17, 2017 6:24 am

    Dancing daisies are really pretty and mice…..fell in love with cute mice years ago with Cinderella. Do you know Becky Dingle over at chapelofhopestories.wordpress? Her Tiger look like a twin to Cooper. Hope Mr.RWS enjoys his day. Hurry back to the studio.

  8. DebbieP permalink
    June 17, 2017 7:56 am

    oh how I love starting my morning with your post! I am always inspired by both your cards and your stories. Happy Father’s Day to Mr. RWS. See you next week…

  9. ann gorgone permalink
    June 17, 2017 7:58 am

    Dear Judy: I tried to fit these two stamps on one card base 5 x 7 and it doesn’t seem to fit. What size did you use for these two stamps plus flowers. It is beautiful. Ann Gorgone

    • June 18, 2017 1:41 pm

      Hi, Ann. Thanks so much for your kind words about my Angellette and Charlotte project. I am not at home this weekend, but will measure when I get back on Monday. Hope you can check here again for the information. I do know the paper fit within the borders of my Misti. Thanks again, Judy

      • Judy Jung permalink
        June 19, 2017 6:14 pm

        Hi, Ann. I am home. And I measured my card base and it is 6 inches by 8.5 inches. Just the right size to fi in the MISTI. Thanks for your patience.

      • ann gorgone permalink
        June 20, 2017 8:52 am

        Dear Judy: Thanks for replying about the Angelette and Charlotte card.. You said the base card is 6×8. Isn’t that an odd size for a card. What kind of envelope would you use. Or maybe you didn’t intend this to be a greeting card? Thanks. Ann I love your work.
        a.gorgone@yahoo.com

      • ann gorgone permalink
        June 20, 2017 4:12 pm

        I am confused about this comment section; I am not good at this. Did you get my comment that the card of Angelette and Charlotte would not be a card size. Was that your intention?

  10. Harriet permalink
    June 17, 2017 8:07 am

    Lovely cards, wonderful tribute to your dad and a time long gone when men ruled. Maybe it wasn’t so bad????? I really appreciate your ‘girls’ card. You softened their faces with smiles…..so creative.

  11. June 17, 2017 8:43 am

    Now that is a picture to frame–true buddies! Fritz has decided to lay on hubby’s lap every morning while he’s in his recliner–so cute! Terrific cards today, Judy–the mom & daughter are beautiful! I love the Father’s Day card–wonderful watercoloring & the stitching is the perfect element! Your CAS thank you cards are brilliant! Wonderful story about your dad & family–thanks for sharing! Enjoy the rest of your weekend–while Mr RWS watches golf you can craft–perfect Father’s Day–haha!

  12. June 17, 2017 8:53 am

    Yes indeed…Happy Father’s Day Mr. RWS – enjoy your day!!!
    Great cards Judy – you always do such lovely as well as fun cards, and give inspiration too!
    Thanks so much for sharing!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

  13. June 17, 2017 9:19 am

    Wonderful and gorgeous cards once again. You do such beautiful work. And, thanks for the story about your Dad and your life as a family unit. Good we have such wonderful memories to draw on.

  14. donna mikasa permalink
    June 17, 2017 6:51 pm

    Thanks for sharing memories of your father with us. I remember “FKB” quite fondly and always wanted to be a part of their family. I love your cards, especially the Angelette and Charlotte masterpiece! Wonderful masking and beautifully done! I really think that you should finish up the first one, too. Happy Father’s Day to Cooper’s Dad!

  15. June 18, 2017 11:32 am

    What memories and so special to you and the family..thank you for sharing x Love the cards, always so inspirational and thank you for finishing your really enjoyably post with Cooper and his favourite friend x

  16. jane harrah permalink
    June 20, 2017 4:49 am

    As always, love the cards and love the stories. Can you really say you were never rebellious? Not sure how I would have fared in a “an makes all the decisions” world, LOL

    • Judy Jung permalink
      June 20, 2017 7:16 am

      Jane, thanks for commenting and saying kind things. I was in trouble more than once for speaking my mind, that is for sure! But speaking up is as far as my rebellion ever went!!

  17. Debbie Gaetz permalink
    June 20, 2017 4:22 pm

    you’ve inspired me to do more with my leaf stamp, and to try the girl(s) stamps. And you’ve given me my weekly Bichon fix with Cooper at the end of your post. Thanks every so much.

  18. Vicky S. permalink
    June 21, 2017 7:09 pm

    I enjoy every one of your post & i really like Penny Black images.
    i don’t know how to post my cards.

Leave a Reply

