Skip to content

Welcome Heather Hoffman!

July 17, 2017

Throughout the month of July, we’ve invited some fabulous guest designers to visit here on our blog. They are sure to inspire us all to get a jumpstart on our Christmas creations. Join us over the next three weeks as these wonderful guests feature our classic Christmas stamps and dies. And just when your Christmas crafting mojo is kicking in, we will be here in August to share with you all of our NEW Christmas products!

This week we’re thrilled to be jingling all the way with the amazing Heather Hoffman!

Hello – my name is Heather Hoffman and I blog at Houses Built of Cards. I am a wife to my hardworking husband Michael, mother to two BEAUTIFUL daughters that I also homeschool, and am blessed with lots of family and friends that I love and adore. I absolutely love playing with ink, paper, and stamps – and all the other things that go along with that! The crafty world is such a wonderful community of people, and I am so thrilled to be able to do what I do every single day. I had great fun playing with Penny Black stamps and dies for this week – my poor family may have gotten tired of me singing Christmas songs in June, but I couldn’t help it! I love trying to find creative ways to use stamps and dies – and hope some of my ideas inspire you this week! Thanks Penny Black for inviting me to guest design this week!

Heather begins our week with holiday love in the shape of our Slapstick/Cling stamp, 40-482 Heart Wreath. Her unique color choice of rich, royal purple has us swooning

Notes from Heather: This card uses one of my favorite techniques – double embossing. Basically you stamp an image, then a sentiment over the top in a black pigment ink, then sprinkle embossing powder over the entire thing. When you apply distress ink (or watercolors) you end up with a layered and embossed image.

And speaking of unique colors and designs… Heather has for us a second card! Her starlit sky looks beautiful above our Creative Die, 51-169 Metropolitan.

Notes from Heather: Machine stitching is a great way to attach vellum – no need to worry about adhesive showing!

Well, Heather has certainly made Monday beautiful, fun, and inspirational. We can’t wait to see what she has for us tomorrow.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card One: 40-482 Heart Wreath, 30-381 Festive Cheer, 40-489 Elaborate

Card Two: 51-169 Metropolitan, 30-383 Holy Night

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2017 2:56 am

    Beautiful cards! Both are stunners! I have not heard of the double embossing technique before – I love it and will be trying it for sure! Thank you for the idea! xxx

  2. July 17, 2017 3:57 am

    Awesome designs .. stunning colors. Excited to see the rest of your work.

  3. July 17, 2017 5:56 am

    Oh so pretty.

  4. July 17, 2017 8:41 am

    Beautiful & unique cards, Heather!

  5. Donna Whitten permalink
    July 17, 2017 9:12 am

    Wonderful cards! Thanks for sharing.

  6. mjmarmo permalink
    July 17, 2017 11:23 am

    Gorgeous!

  7. barbara lassiter permalink
    July 17, 2017 1:55 pm

    Great and beautiful inspiration to get us going for Christmas card making!

  8. rhowell2 permalink
    July 18, 2017 3:43 am

    Loving the purple heart card, gorgeous

Leave a Reply

