Skip to content

Five Videos in Five Days AND Runs with Scissors

August 19, 2017

If you are here to catch up on the thoughts, talents, art and antics of our very own Mrs. Runs with Scissors, Judy Jung, don’t worry, she’s here!   But first we have an exciting announcement that we wanted to share with you today.

Want to be the first to view five brand new PB&J video tutorials? It’s easy and free… just join the Penny Black Club! Sign up before Sunday, August 20, and beginning August 21 we will email you a link to view a video for each of the cards shown above. Click HERE for more information about our club and to sign up.

Note: If you are already a club member, you do not need to sign up again, just watch your inbox on Monday for your first look at this video fun.

And now be sure to scroll down for inspiration and smiles with Judy!

Once again, hello Penny Black friends. Ahhh, August is galloping along, not to be outdone by his speedy friends June and July. I wonder where the summer months go to escape the winter months. Do you suppose they linger awhile to enjoy beautiful September and October? Perhaps they tuck themselves away behind the last page of the calendar until it is once again their turn to be a “calendar girl”.

There is no question that Penny Black’s Be Merry release is amazing! I am so enamored with the Be Merry release that I haven’t even test driven the Hello Autumn release. I promise to devote time to the Hello Autumn stamps and dies next week. It’s only fair and appropriate. For now, here is what happened in the Penny Black studio today:

There are at least five brush stroke stamps in the Be Merry release and I chose to work with the Holly Sprig first. By stamping the image on kraft paper, I did not have to worry about creating a background. I applied ink to the stamp directly from my Distress ink pads and using my MISTI just inked and stamped until I liked the look. A twine bow and a little red bird from the Joyful Ornaments die set completes my card.

The first step in making this card was blending three shades of blue Distress Oxide inks and then drying thoroughly. Again, using my MISTI I stamped the Three Kings images with VersaMark ink and heat embossed with white. The star was cut from the Adore Him die cut. This set is one I plan to use quite often for my own Christmas cards. It is versatile enough that I can make several variations even changing background colors.

There are two large background stamps in the Be Merry release and this one is the Parade of Squares cling stamp. For a tone on tone look, I stamped it with VersaMark ink on silver paper and heat embossed with clear powder. I must have been in a contemporary mood as I liked that bright green paper against the silver better than any other color I tried. Those Modern Xmas Trees are so versatile. They can be a focal point or just tucked in here and there for interest.

My Address Books

First, a disclaimer. The idea to write about my address books came from an article titled The Joys of Keeping an Address Book by Patricia Gould in the September issue of The Reader’s Digest. The premise of the article was “The contacts list in a smartphone is convenient, but it can’t hold memories the way a handwritten directory can”.

I realized after I read that article that I have saved every address book I owned. How they survived the many relocations in my life is a mystery. They were not stored together which had me searching through various stashes of memorabilia to locate them all.

The poor book without its cover is also missing the pages for A through D. It is my first address book as a young bride. As I browse through its pages I see high school classmates’ names. Over the years, as Christmas cards either went unanswered or were “returned to sender”, those names didn’t make the next address book. In this book is the address for my Dad when he served in Korea; a housemate from college; and my many aunts, uncles and cousins. Most of the young couples we spent time with are also here, a convenience when it came time to send Christmas cards. Seeing those couples’ names brings back memories of new babies, new homes, job promotions and sharing pot luck suppers and card games. My friend Dorothy’s name is in this book and reminds me of the many years we’ve enjoyed her recipe for Spam rolls.

Unfortunately, my sister’s and her Army Officer husband’s names were lost when the “B” page disappeared, but I imagine there were many addresses listed for them as their military way of life kept them on the move.

The plain beige book is titled “Names and Dates” and came next and served a dual function. Alongside each name and address was a chart that enabled you to track the sending and receiving of Christmas cards. I am assuming I purchased this book because of the decrepit condition of my first address book. As I browse its pages, I see fewer high school classmates’ names although my college roommate is still there. I see documented my sister’s last name change from a “B” to an “S” as she remarried.

The new names reflect the fact that we moved from Madison, Wisconsin to our new home in Prairie du Sac where I raised my family. Not all the friends from Madison are in the new book, perhaps proof that not all friendships are forever, no matter how much we vow they are.

I can track my brothers’ moves from their first apartments to their starter homes. This book also contains the name of my oldest son’s first teacher, Ms. Molly whose move to Des Moines Iowa is documented. Incredibly, I documented the sending and receiving of Christmas cards in this book for at least six more years.

It is easy to determine, as I added new addresses and crossed out others, that this book documents the changes that took place in my life as I ended my first marriage. Coincidentally, I no longer tracked Christmas cards; most likely I stopped sending them for a while.

The book with the woman’s face on it marks the start of my new life, married to Mr. RWS. I remember the day I purchased it in a book store. I spent quite a long time considering what my new address book should look like. No more plain beige vinyl covered address book for me! I loved the “museum” look of that front cover.

As I browse these pages, I notice none of the names from my early years as a bride made it to this book. My friends from Prairie du Sac are there, co-workers and physicians from several specialties as by now we have added a family cardiologist and oncologist. By the time this book was retired, the adult children had homes of their own; the brothers were in their forever dream homes and my sister was settled here in Huntsville. This is the book that traveled with us during our full time RV days and lost its back cover in the process.

The little, purse sized address book used to have my name on the front cover, but it was worn off by the many times it was pulled from my purse while we were traveling. This book was my “Reader’s Digest condensed version” of an address book. Only the names I might need while on the move were kept here. This was in the days before cell phones and I wanted phone numbers handy if we came across a pay phone along the way.

Because I always loved the look and feel of the brown address book with the lady on the cover, I hung onto it as long as I could. When I look at the address book with the “J” on the front, I notice the date I transferred the addresses to what may be my last address book: June 25, 2010. That means we lived in this house for five years before I finally gave up and bought a new book. This one came from Target and was purely a practical purchase. No sentimental feelings toward it at all. It is a looseleaf book, which I thought was a good idea. No more messy pages of address changes with the crossing out and squeezing in of new info. But it hasn’t worked that way.

This address book is the first one that I’ve owned that contains not only addresses crossed out, but names also. Next to those crossed out names is the date of their death. How could I ever throw those pages away? There are friends and family who may have been crossed out in my book, but never in my heart.

I have never considered myself a “saver” or scrapbooker, but there is something in me that wouldn’t let me discard my life time accumulation of address books. They have become precious keepers of memories from the various stages of my life. No smartphone could ever have done that for me.

I smile to myself now, thinking of all the people who have kept my name in their address books over the years. I calculated that since my young bride days I have lived at fourteen different addresses. There are a lot of crossed off, messed up address books out there and it is all my fault.

Plaid paper and a snowman: what’s not to love? This red and green plaid designer paper is from the new Festive & Frosty paper pack. This snowman, made from the Snowman Smile die, has been moved indoors next to the Snowflake Tree just long enough for a photo. The die set doesn’t include arms, so I cut scraps in order to give him hug power!

I have used one set of stamps, three die sets and a sheet of designer paper for this happy card. The hedgy is from the Hedgy Joy mini transparent set and I used the Hedgy Joy Cut Out die set to cut him out. He has his eye on the Layered Stockings and it’s all framed up using the Snowflake Stitch Frames set. I love the size of this hedgy: large enough to be a focal point.

I am almost afraid to work with this Snow Family stamp. I have been in a support group for those of us who can’t get enough of Snowy; him, her and the little ones! But who can resist these adorable snow people? I’ve tucked a Winter Branch behind them and added a few snowflakes. This is a perfect winter stamp, not just for holidays.

I was able to get a photo of Cooper that shows his unique way of sitting. That back leg always sticks out to the side. I don’t think he always sat that way, but I am not remembering when this first started. I suspect it is more comfortable for him since he’s injured that leg twice. He is walking and running normally and gives no indication he is in pain. It just makes him more endearing and unique, I say.

Barely time to say good-bye today. I do ramble on. Just know I appreciate how much you share with me in your comments. It makes me sad so many of you as children had to sit at the table until you cleaned your plate. But I am happy that we no longer have to eat “yucky” stuff. I am off to the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery where only cookies and ice cream are served. Ooops, I almost forgot to put the scissors away!

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card No. 1: 30-434 Joyful Wishes, 40-538 Holly Sprig, 51-366 Joyful Ornaments

Card No. 2: 30-435 Three Kings, 51-379 Adore Him

Card No. 3: 40-568 Parade of Squares, 51-382 Tis the Season, 51-400 Modern Xmas Tree

Card No. 4: 51-363 Snowman Smile, 51-369 Snowflake Tree, 80-017 Festive and Frosty

Card No. 5: 30-447 Hedgy Joy, 51-370 Layered Stockings, 51-375 Snowflake Stitch Frame, 51-389 Hedgy Joy Cut Out, 80-017 Festive and Frosty

Card No. 6: 30-443 Under the Mistletoe, 51-372 Winter Branch, 51-395 Snowy Family Cut Out, 2526K Snow Family

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Roxanne M Wall permalink
    August 19, 2017 1:05 am

    I just have to tell you how much I enjoy and look forward to your Saturday morning creations and stories. I always seem to find some connection to my life. Your cards are always fabulous. Thank you for sharing each week!!

  2. Kathy Neinas permalink
    August 19, 2017 4:15 am

    I have such an address book but it stays in a drawer. So glad that info is written down since many have gotten off the landline grid, eliminating addresses in phone directories. I was also one that couldn’t leave the table until I ate. (I’d give anything to have her here now) Thank you for another wonderful shot in my Saturday morning coffee❣️

  3. knurse22 permalink
    August 19, 2017 5:13 am

    Another Saturday morning spent smiling! Although today with a little angst also as you mention time flying, and I realize that in four months we will be in Christmas week-Arggh!
    Beautiful cards today, and I must stop procrastinating and get me a Snowy stamp….and maybe that fun snowman die! Can’t wait to see your fall creations next week!

  4. Marliese permalink
    August 19, 2017 5:46 am

    I always look forward to your Saturday stories. I too have a collection of old address books. Sadly, many of the names are missing from the new books, but looking back through the books brings back happy memories.
    As always love your cards. The snowmen are on my wish list.

  5. creatingincolors permalink
    August 19, 2017 5:48 am

    All beautiful cards, but the Snow Family and snowman on plaid just rise to the top for me. How smart you were when you accumulated those address books. You are right, they hold so many beautiful and treasured memories, better than any scrapbook. Wish I had done that. An excel spreadsheet address list and cell phone contact list are nothing compared to your handwritten gems of history.

  6. August 19, 2017 6:12 am

    Such beautiful inspiration, so varied and you are so very creative. So enjoyed reading about your address books and I too have kept mine….memories and just in case x Glad Cooper is well on the mend and until next week have a lovely week x

  7. August 19, 2017 7:06 am

    Is Penny Black great or what?. Love the new release and you have done a smashing job of designing with them. I think, if I were to think about it, we could match your moves . I have often said we chased rainbows all over the South. Hello to Cooper.

  8. Eloise permalink
    August 19, 2017 7:10 am

    I have such an address book…lots of little things slipped between the pages! I never thought of it as historical but it is for sure. Love your stories, such is life for us all.
    Thanks for all the great card creations…I love the Penny Black slapstick style stamps.

  9. DebbieP permalink
    August 19, 2017 7:41 am

    Thanks for kicking my Saturday off with a smile! Enjoyed the address book story as it made me think of my mom and all her address books. I especially loved the hedgy card today. We gave our dog a stuffed dog toy hedgy for Christmas last year and she carries it everywhere – it has almost replaced all her other stuffed toys! Hmmmm….I seem to have missed the cookies and ice cream at Flickr, but I won’t let it stop me from going. have a great week…

  10. August 19, 2017 8:02 am

    Good for you….those address books hold memories without being journals. I say keep them in a safe place!!! Mine are kept on a Rolladex so I can just ‘add a card when one page gets too full’ – LOL! I definitely could not get along without my i-Phone, i-Pad, and I-Mac, but it is nice to know I have my handy dandy Rolladex to fall back on!
    Especially like your Snowy family card…you can always do another ‘Snowy’ challenge – oops, wash my mouth out with soap!!!
    Hugs Judy, and enjoy the Eclipse (on TV or in person)….it begins here in Salem, OR and we are expecting an additional 100,000 people in our town…Whew!
    Jan

    • Judy Jung permalink
      August 19, 2017 4:13 pm

      Jan, I can’t even THINK of another Snowy marathon!! At least not yet!

  11. jane harrah permalink
    August 19, 2017 8:04 am

    How very ironic that you discuss address books. I was talking with a long time friend (over 50 60 years) and we were talking about the disgraceful state of our address books. I can’t bear to start a new one because just about the time I get it done, it will all change. I love the one I have and it is stuffed with bits of paper with new people that have not made it into the book yet. I have papers with info that is already in the book. I love your cards and I never realized how much I cherish my phone book till you chatted about it and I chatted about it yesterday with Jeanne in Mass. (I am in Delaware) You are a clever card maker and a clever writer. Can’t wait for your first book!

  12. August 19, 2017 8:11 am

    Awesome cards, enjoy your Saturday adventure stories!

  13. August 19, 2017 8:44 am

    We are kindred spirits, Judy–even though we’ve led very different lives. Smart phones do not at all replace address books. I have phone numbers in mine, but no mailing addresses–didn’t know you could, but wouldn’t use it anyway. I have several books, too–one thing I won’t throw out. Wonderful cards today–love the snow family, the holly, the wisemen–well, they’ve all inspired me! Pat on the head for Cooper–great shot! Hugs, Greta

  14. Patti O permalink
    August 19, 2017 10:24 am

    Thank you so much for popping in every Saturday morning to share your cards and adventures. I so look forward to your posts and they are a must before I venture down to take out my own scissors. You truly are an inspiration in so many ways. Love to Cooper!
    Patti

  15. Patricia Gasko permalink
    August 19, 2017 10:43 am

    Your cards are as beautiful as you are inside and out. I rush through the cards you make to get to “What is she going to write about today?” Then I back up to take a second look a longer look at your gorgeous cards. And of course Cooper. I got a kick about how he sits and I think to myself maybe that’s a doggie version of slouching. Paper Hugs and wishes to you.

  16. Fran Gumprecht permalink
    August 19, 2017 11:43 am

    Thanks for another Saturday of beautiful creations! I have several address books that I treasure! They have notes that remind me of things that took place many years ago! One has scribbles from grandchildren! Just so many wonderful memories! Thanks for the walk down memory lane!

  17. August 19, 2017 1:24 pm

    A lot of great inspirations to see here and I am curious about the new video’s!

  18. Karenajo permalink
    August 19, 2017 2:18 pm

    Very lovely creations today! I have to say the snow people are my favorite! I do not have as many address books as you, but I have not been able to part with the history they contain. I also have several recipe books containing hand written entries that are true keepsakes! Yes, each of our four- footed family members are unique and precious in their own way and so very lovable !

  19. dawnnz permalink
    August 19, 2017 3:41 pm

    Beautiful cards Judy. Snowy’s family I’d so sweet. Love your address book story. I still have mine, but there are only 3 for me. It is a good memory jogger to look through them . Cooper is looking well. Take care my friend. I do enjoy your posts

  20. Jean Marmo permalink
    August 19, 2017 5:30 pm

    Love your cards. I have several old address books and have a list of about 10 years worth of Christmas card mailings. It is fun to see your collection.

  21. Jill Groom permalink
    August 19, 2017 6:08 pm

    Love the cards – the Joy one is my favourite. I also love to read your ‘ramblings’. I was slightly freaked out by your address book topic – I had only this week been thinking about how much information would be lost to future generations because of contact details being stored electronically rather than on paper!!

  22. Sheila permalink
    August 19, 2017 6:44 pm

    No need to enter a support group for your addiction to the snowy stamps. I LOVE THEM and glad you can’t get enough of them. You always do them justice.

  23. Kathi K permalink
    August 19, 2017 7:31 pm

    Love to read your stories every Saturday – just wouldn’t be the weekend without you. I feel like we are sitting at a kitchen table having coffee. You need to go on the road! Oh wait, after 14 moves, you might be tired of the road. Well, happily, we can always meet here on Saturday. Keep up the stories – and the cards!

  24. samanndav permalink
    August 19, 2017 9:39 pm

    Love reading your blog. My 13 year old cat sits exactly like Cooper, she had a knee reconstruction several years ago. It looks so cute the way they sit.

  25. August 20, 2017 2:37 pm

    All these creations are very lovely and Christmassy ! Thanks for sharing !

  26. L Haff permalink
    August 20, 2017 3:54 pm

    I love your weekly spot on the Penny Black Blog. I always look forward to Saturday and reading your wonderful stories. I thought I was the only one that saved old address books. One day I decided to clean out the desk in the bill paying room, but I could not bear to part with all those “memories”. Beautiful Christmas cards, you have inspired me to purchase some of the new stamps and dies. Love the weekly pictures of Cooper. I hope some day my hubby and I can enjoy the fun of having a dog as cute as he is.

  27. August 21, 2017 3:48 am

    I was an early adopter of electronic schedulers/address keepers. My boyfriend in law school bought me my first in 1993 (before contents could be backed up on computers easily so when the batteries died, it died with all my info!). Even with that trauma, I could never go back to paper, but happily I’ve kept records of changes in my contacts in the notes section. It may not be sentimental, but it’s fun to see the long list of moves, email address changes with job changes, etc. Glad Cooper is doing better! My Bandito sits the same way, but he’s a Havanese (long bodied), and he always has even as a pup. 😆💗🐕

  28. Vicky S. permalink
    August 21, 2017 6:23 pm

    I just want you to know how much I enjoy your posts, I look forward to them.
    I also had to set a t the table till my food was gone.
    I have a collection of address books & I can’t erase an name even after they have died.
    We moved into a different house & I still had to take the books with me. Cooper is so cute. He reminds me of our first dog. Maybe some day my husband will decided we need a dog..

Leave a Reply

