Skip to content

Runs with Scissors

October 7, 2017

Hello, Penny Black friends. I am back from my sojourn to the northern part of our United States where I went to visit grandchildren and bask in the cool September temperatures of Wisconsin. Thankfully, the grandchildren did not disappoint, but the same cannot be said of the temperatures. Milwaukee experienced record breaking temperatures in the nineties while I was there. Maybe those high temps were clinging to my shoes when I left Alabama …

In spite of the heat, it was a special time with special people.

It is good to be back to the Penny Black studio where I have spent time with the Be Merry release making Christmas cards. Oh, how I missed stamping while I was away.

I needed a snowman fix this week and happily, the Be Merry release has an assortment of snowpersons, enough to satisfy any addiction. This cute snowfellow from the Under the Mistletoe clear set has taken up residence in his very own snow globe with a sweet bird for company. I colored the image with Copics, cut it out and then mounted it onto designer paper from the Festive and Frosty paper pack. I used two sizes of the Snowflake Stitched Frame dies to complete my cute and colorful card. Ahhh, that feels better!

I colored this brushstroke stamp, Red Delight, with Tombow markers directly onto the stamp. By using my MISTI stamp positioner, I can color small sections at a time and continue to recolor until “it looks right”. I wanted to keep the CAS and contemporary look so I added the Joy Joy Joy sentiment from the Joyful Wishes transparent set. And who doesn’t love polka dots? There are many ways to color those brushstroke stamps and it’s fun to try different methods.

This background was created by coloring my white cardstock with Luxe inks and my blending tool. Using the same ink, I then stamped the Parade of Squares background stamp onto the colored paper. That background was perfect for the large Feliz Navidad diecut, hosting the Joyful Ornament. The Parade of Squares cling stamp will not be packed away with my holiday stamps. One cannot have too many versatile background stamps.

Gratitude 3

Love and Grace. I had an amazing trip to Wisconsin to spend time with family, especially the two youngest grandchildren. Evelyn is four and Jack is almost three, although he states very quickly and strongly he is “two and a half”.

Both little ones spend each workday at their “school” in the corporate headquarters where their mom works. When I visit, the plan is for each child to spend a day home with Grandma for some one on one time. While Evelyn has stayed home with Grandma previously, this would be the first time for Jack standing at the window waving good-bye to big sister and mom as they leave without him. This Grandma was a bit anxious that Jack might change his mind as soon as the car was out of sight and then what? What if the promise of making pancakes with Grandma was not enough to make up for being left at home?

Thankfully, the good-byes were cheerful; the waving at the window was enthusiastic; and being home with Grandma was still a good idea.

Maybe Jack sensed Grandma’s anxiety. Maybe Jack was bursting with enthusiasm. Maybe Jack just couldn’t hold it in any longer. But as soon as the door closed behind Daddy, the last to leave for the morning, he turned to me with his delightful smile and sparkling eyes and called out loudly, “I love you Grandma!” And off we went to make pancakes, wash dishes, vacuum the living room with our “his” and “hers” vacuum cleaners, read stories, play catch in the long hallway, build puzzles, and enjoy time in the playhouse on the deck.

Over the weekend, while mom was out of town, we went to soccer practice, hung out at home and spent time at the zoo. I firmly believe Evelyn and Jack think the Milwaukee Zoo belongs to them! Mom and Dad have an annual pass and most weekends the family spends time during the pre-crowd morning at the zoo. There are animals, of course, but also pony rides, a carousel and a train ride. What joy to be included in their favorite activity!

I could write paragraphs about how delightful and fun Evelyn and Jack are. I could tell you they are thoughtful and caring. I would have to mention there is some competition over toys or activities. Jack can sometimes irritate his big sister. Evelyn’s devotion to and love for Jack is evident in the way she makes sure that Jack is given whatever she is given. That extends to hugs from Grandma to breakfast at the restaurant, where she politely asks the waitress to make sure Jack gets breakfast, too.

My gratitude item this week is “Love and Grace”. I don’t know how else to label the unconditional and undeserved love that these little ones have for me. When I arrive, it’s all about the great big hugs and smiles. We just start up where we left off from the last visit. When it is time to leave, there are tears and “I will miss you’s” and an invitation to come back.

I could try to tell you about Evelyn’s sweet empathic soul, but I am going to share with you a story instead.

Evelyn and Jack live in a two story house, with the bedrooms up a flight of fourteen steps. Early in my visit, Evelyn and I were going upstairs to check out her new bed. Ev was zipping up the steps and looked behind to see if I was coming. I assured her I was and I said to her, “Evelyn, you are fast and Grandma is slow.”

When we were ready to return downstairs, I put my hand on the railing, stepping aside so Evelyn could zip down the stairs ahead of me. And then there it was: her little hand tucked inside mine and she looked up at me and said, “Grandma, I am slow, too.”

It was Love and Grace.

I may have gone overboard cutting out greenery and berries for this Layered Wreath. It was great fun watching it grow, layer by layer. I’ve used three layers here, each layer of greenery topped with the circle diecut, included in the set. And what would a wreath be without a pretty red bow, this one from the Bow Set. While I enjoy nontraditional colors for holiday cards, there is something about a red and green theme that clearly says “Christmas”.

This time I’ve used kraft cardstock as my base and for the hedgies from the Christmas Hugs transparent set. I love coloring with my Prismacolor pencils on kraft paper. I popped the hediges up with foam tape and made sure they were centered under that mistletoe!

The Gingerbread Cottage die is perfect for “Our Home to Yours” cards. And, if this card is coming from my home, there has to be a cute little pup, this one from the Merry Delight set. The Snowflake Tree is the perfect backdrop for my winter scene. It is so much fun to mix dies and stamps on the same card.

When Mr. RWS is gone to music practice on Thursday evenings, Cooper usually waits for him by the front door. However, Cooper wasn’t going to let me out of his sight for a few days after I returned from Wisconsin. So, last Thursday he “asked” to perch on the bed where he could keep an eye on me as I watched television. This may look like he is snoozing, but he was concentrating on keeping me close.

I admit to missing Runs with Scissors on the Penny Black blog last Saturday. Reading your comments always brightens my weekend and encourages Cooper and me to make the trip to the Penny Black studio every week. Last Saturday wasn’t the same!

Once again, it is time to stow the scissors, file away the stamps and dies and tidy the mess. It is hard to return to our quiet house and our uncomplicated routine after such a busy and fun week. It was great to feel useful, caring for little ones while mom was away. It’s been a long time since I styled pony tails and braids in a little girl’s hair. Or put a little boy in his pajamas at bedtime. It all felt so familiar and so right. Having grandchildren is like being served a second helping of all that is special about having children.

Enjoy the upcoming week of peeks at the new release, Peaceful Winter, which will be available in the shop as of lucky Friday the 13th. Now off I go to the Penny Circle Flickr Gallery where I am sure I have some catching up to do, enjoying your art and leaving comments.

Shop for today’s featured Penny Black supplies

Card No. 1: 30-443 Under the Mistletoe, 30-444 Full of Merriment, 51-375 Snowflake Stitch Frame, 51-352 Birds and Banners, 80-017 Festive and Frosty

Card No. 2: 40-573 Red Delight, 30-434 Joyful Wishes

Card No. 3: 40-568 Parade of Squares, 51-366 Joyful Ornaments, 51-380 Feliz Navidad

Card No. 4: 51-212 Bow Set, 51-362 Layered Wreath, 51-382 Tis the Season, 51-397 Antique Frame

Card No. 5: 30-441 Christmas Hugs, 51-178 Berry Branches, 51-353 Cut Out Borders

Card No. 6: 30-436 Sweetest Moments, 30-448 Merry Delight, 51-369 Snowflake Tree, 51-371 Gingerbread Cottage, 51-395 Snow Family Cut Out

facebookpinterestyoutubetwitterinstagram

36 Comments leave one →
  1. Patricia Gasko permalink
    October 7, 2017 2:05 am

    I always look forward to Runs with Scissors so much so I can hardly wait for Saturdays’ to come around. And of course you never disappoint with your cards, stories and pictures of Cooper. I just spent ten Terrific days in TN but coming home to greetings from Hubby and Bailey felt so good. And Yes my Bailey (5# Yorkie) couldn’t get enough of me either! I must add that G’ma and G’kids make a very beautiful picture while at the zoo.

  2. October 7, 2017 2:41 am

    I am so happy for you…..visiting grandbabies, your kids, the zoo and pancakes! It sounds like you had the most wonderful time. Jack and Ev are getting so big!!! Your cards today had the really cute factor. Love, love, love the wreath card…really like how you built it up!
    I do love your column each Saturday…it just gets my weekend started nicely. Hugs to you my friend!
    p.s. I don’t think dogs really sleep. If Cooper is like my Snowy, he has one eye open and if I get up, he gets up. Too funny!!!

  3. October 7, 2017 2:54 am

    Nothing like grandchildren. I feel lucky to have mine so near to me and see them most days. Love the cards and those hedgehogs are so cute xXx

  4. Cathy P in AZ permalink
    October 7, 2017 2:54 am

    After missing you last Saturday, Judy – I must admit I thoroughly enjoy catch up time after your visits with the kids and your beautiful grandchildren! Precious stories for precious time spent with loved ones – thank you for sharing! And give Cooper some snuggles from me – such a cutie!

  5. Kathy permalink
    October 7, 2017 4:10 am

    I missed you last weekend. Strange how something so small can become a part of my Saturday morning routine. Reading about your visit with the grandchildren brought a tear to my eye as my grandkids are way past the hand-holding stage and are so busy with school and sports, there is little more than a quick hug. So happy your visit was all it should be. Sorry about the weather here tho. I’m a two hour drive north of Milwaukee and I was miserable. Fall is my favorite time of year. It has yet to be and I’m afraid it will be winter in the blink of an eye. Maybe I should start on the Christmas cards….

  6. Kathleen permalink
    October 7, 2017 4:44 am

    Love your writing. Thoroughly enjoyed your narrative regarding grandchildren. They are so special. Thanks for sharing.

  7. creatingincolors permalink
    October 7, 2017 5:18 am

    Missed you last week, but happy that you got your heart filled with love! What a special time that was for you. Love the photograph. And there was Cooper waiting for his time with you when you got home. It’s all so precious. Today’s collection of cards is inspiring. I’m partial to snow people too, so that’s my favorite. Thanks for sharing it all.

  8. October 7, 2017 5:41 am

    It was such a great lovely post, besides of the great lovely cards.

  9. LindaSPage permalink
    October 7, 2017 6:04 am

    As usual I love when it is an RWS Saturday. Today is no exception. I love your story about Love and Grace. It brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for sharing your life, family and talent with us. Hi Cooper!

  10. Betty Guthrie permalink
    October 7, 2017 6:11 am

    Lovely story to accompany your always lovely cards. My favorite this round is the Red Delight poinsettia, just gorgeous! Thank you for sharing, grandchildren are so delightful, as are our furry friends, hello sweet Cooper.

  11. Fran Gumprecht permalink
    October 7, 2017 6:19 am

    Always look forward to your beautiful creations and wonderful stories! Your grands sound so loving and sweet! Your story about your granddaughter brought tears to my eyes! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Bonnie Kasper permalink
    October 7, 2017 6:51 am

    Love that you share family experiences with us. And your variety of cards is nice. Thanks. Br

  13. mjmarmo permalink
    October 7, 2017 6:52 am

    Sounds like the perfect visit. I am heading out in 10 days for another visit with our 6 month old granddaughter! It will be the first time my daughter is leaving her alone with anyone for any length of time. I am nervous but it will be fun!

    • October 7, 2017 4:49 pm

      Time with grandkids when parents are away is the best!

  14. October 7, 2017 7:12 am

    Oh I so enjoyed reading your post. What a blessing for you and your wonderful family….savour the memories x Fun cards today, love the layouts and the colours and the mix of stamps and dies x Hope Cooper has caught up with missing you now? xx Adorable x

  15. October 7, 2017 7:32 am

    Your Love & Grace story really hit home for me this week. I have a just turned 3 year old granddaughter and a 5 month old grandson who are both just the apple of my eye! I move slower too and Addy will always ask “you ok?”, but my favorite thing is when she yells out for all to hear “I wuv you Nana!” God’s sweetest gift for sure! Missed you last week and glad you’re back!! :0) Oh and great cards too!! :0)

  16. October 7, 2017 8:32 am

    I knew this was how to start my day–thank you for sharing your grandkids with us, Judy. I’m holding back tears–what a contrast to the horror in Vegas & around the world. That picture definitely needs to be framed! Good to know Cooper really does love you, too–not just Mr RWS–haha! Inspiring collection of cards! I love the wreath, but the poinsettia is my favorite! Need to go use my cling stamps! Big hugs, Greta

  17. Mary Holshouser permalink
    October 7, 2017 8:52 am

    Love the kissing hedgehogs.
    Great cards — have to get busy deciding
    what my Christmas cards are goin ‘to be.
    thanks for sharing.

  18. October 7, 2017 9:47 am

    Evelyn’s remark to you brought tears to my eyes. Beautiful, and thanks.

  19. October 7, 2017 10:27 am

    Welcome Home Judy – Missed you!!!! So happy you had a great time with Evelyn and Jack…and of course other members of their family – grandchildren are truly a blessing! Your story about Evelyn and the staircase touched my heart, as did Jack’s delight at have Grandma all to himself for a day. What a fun time to have trips to the Zoo anytime with that Pass – good investment…what child as well as adult doesn’t love the Zoo!!!
    Loved your card using Red Delight and Joyful Wishes – both are going on my wish list!!!
    Trust your week goes well – look forward to talking with you again next Saturday!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

    • October 7, 2017 4:48 pm

      I so appreciate your kind words about my cards!! Hope all is well.

      • October 9, 2017 1:31 pm

        Doing fine…it has been a very full year with the sale of the house, move to Capital Manor, etc. and I definitely can see that God was in each step of the way. Still miss Jim terribly – will be a year on the 26th of Oct., but know I will see him again in Heaven. Thanks so much Judy for your support and kind words along the way!!!
        Paper Hugs,
        Jan

  20. October 7, 2017 1:00 pm

    What a blessing they are…grands that is. And the new release is making for a Merry season for us all.

  21. jane harrah permalink
    October 7, 2017 1:04 pm

    Love and Grace and you totally deserve it. You share your whole heart each week. that is love and you do it so gracefully! Love the cards and love the shares.

  22. Cheryl Robertson permalink
    October 7, 2017 2:50 pm

    Judy, so glad you had such a nice visit with your grandchildren. I feel so fortunate to have my grandsons living on the same property as I do. They are such a joy.
    As always your cards are fantastic! I especially love the “From Our Home to Yours” card. I cannot decide on my card design for this year and you have given me some more ideas. I need to hurry and decide though so I can get started on my cards!

  23. Christine permalink
    October 7, 2017 3:56 pm

    Judy, in the words of my incredibly wonderful grandchildren, this post ‘happied my heart’

    • October 7, 2017 4:46 pm

      Christine, I want to remember that .. beautifully said!! Thanks for sharing.

  24. donna mikasa permalink
    October 7, 2017 7:16 pm

    Oh, my! That CAN’T be Evelyn and Jack! They’re little people!! I remember them being infants. Honestly, where has the time gone? Enjoy your time with them whenever you can. It’s always wonderful to see your cards, but I so love hearing your “Grandma stories”! Welcome home!

  25. Anita permalink
    October 8, 2017 11:32 am

    You said it so well: “Grandchildren are a second helping of children!” Just like ice cream with a cherry on top! Thank you for all of your wondrous commentary..and thanks for the great card ideas, too!

  26. October 9, 2017 9:58 am

    Awesome cards, I especially love the poinsettia!

  27. Vicky S. permalink
    October 9, 2017 4:12 pm

    Your cards are always wonderful & gives me ideas. I will see my grandchildren tonight. My grandson is 15 today. I great thing about grandchildren they still like being with you even as they get older.

  28. Karenajo permalink
    October 10, 2017 12:44 am

    Beautiful cards this week, love them all! Your stories are wonderful, so touching in so many ways. So glad you were able to spend such special time with precious grandchildren. Always look forward to seeing Cooper’s sweet face!

  29. canadiancaroline permalink
    October 13, 2017 4:56 pm

    I love reading about your visits with your grandchildren! Children just lay it out so plainly, don’t they? Such wonderful senses of justice/fairness and empathy. I hope I have your energy when I get to that stage. I know I will share the joy 🙂

  30. Deborah Kaye permalink
    October 13, 2017 7:23 pm

    Welcome home! Your visit with your grandchildren sounds wonderful! Your cards are lovely!

Leave a Reply

