Skip to content

Distress Ink Coloring by Ashley Marcu

December 9, 2010
by

Ashley Marcu has a special tutorial for us today — coloring stamped images with Distress Inks.  She makes it look so easy and fun, I know you’ll love this technique and want to try your hand at it! Ashley used our new Amour 2011 Valentine Slapstick Stamp, “Hedgehog Kisses“.

by Ashley: Today I’m going to show you how fun and easy it is to color Penny Black’s hedgehog with Distress Inks. First, stamp your image with Memento Dye Ink and allow it to dry completely. Next, start applying Antique Linen Distress Ink to the fur and body of the hedgehoges. I prefer using Sponge Daubers by Tsukineko when working on smaller areas. When applying the ink I like to add it lightly, adding several layers until I get the color I want. Be sure to blot off your dauber on the side of your paper to avoid adding too much color.

Next, cut out each hedgehog and add Walnut Stain Distress Ink to the edges of the fur. I held the image and inked it off the paper so that I could ink between his fur and along the edges. To smooth out the colors go back with Antique Linen Distress Ink and blend between the colors. I also added a very light layer of Spun Sugar Distress Ink to his cheeks.

The next step is simple but it adds a great finishing touch to the project. On a different stamped image ink the hedgehogs ands and feet LIGHTLY with Antique Linen Distress Ink. I often don’t reink my dauber for this part because there is normally just enough to get a light coverage. Cut out the hands and feet and apply them to your finished image.

TIP: I run a black permanent marker along the sides of my trimmed pieces for a clean crisp look.

Finally, ink the heart balloons. First I applied Worn Lipstick Distress ink to the middle of the image. Next I added Fire Brick on the left and Spun Sugar on the right. I then went back with Worn Lipstick to blend the colors together. Cut out the images and add Glossy Accents to really make them pop.

I have one more tutorial for you tomorrow then we’re back on Monday with a full week of projects including a full Design Team showcase that you will not want to miss!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 1:43 am

    What a great idea to sponge the colors on! Thanks, Ashley–great tutorial!

  2. December 9, 2010 3:05 am

    Thanks for this informative Tutorial. Lovely image too.

  3. Denise M. permalink
    December 9, 2010 3:57 am

    Looks beautiful, Ashley! I never think to color with daubers…love the look. Great tutorial, too.

  4. December 9, 2010 5:58 am

    Love your card, design and your photography is excellent. Awesome job Ashley!!

  5. December 9, 2010 6:13 am

    Wow…I love your card,Ashley! Too cute!
    Thanks for the awesome tutorial ..

  6. Rosemary D permalink
    December 9, 2010 6:56 am

    sweet, sweet card!! love the coloring!

  7. December 9, 2010 7:18 am

    Love your gorgeous card & tutorial, Ashley!!!

  8. Cathy Pulickal permalink
    December 9, 2010 8:03 am

    Love LOVE love this! Thank you for showing your technique using Distress Inks…the coloring is FABULOUS. 🙂

  9. Virginia L. permalink
    December 9, 2010 9:31 am

    This is as DELIGHTFUL and CHARMING as can be!! You totally rock, Ashley!!

  10. Susan permalink
    December 9, 2010 10:38 am

    What a cute card!

  11. Judy Davis permalink
    December 9, 2010 11:04 am

    Thank you very much for these tutorials. Any helpful tip and example always helps me.

    JudyOR

  12. December 9, 2010 9:46 pm

    wonderful coloring on the image! such a sweet card! thanks for the tutorial!

  13. December 12, 2010 2:28 am

    Great tutorial… this stamp is now top of my wishlist!

  14. Cynthia permalink
    December 12, 2010 12:47 pm

    I’ve just started using distress inks so really enjoyed seeing how you use them. Thanks so much for sharing

Leave a comment