Skip to content

On Top Of The World…

February 7, 2011
by

Welcome back for another inspiration-filled week at the Penny Black Blog! Designer, Denise Marzec will be here all week with Penny Black cards. Denise frequently uses ‘white space’ on her cards to set off her Penny Black images in grand style. The white space on this card is Penny Black patterned paper; EP403 “White Hearts”. How perfect for a valentine! Denise used a Penny Black stamp; 3925H “Top of the World” and she colored the image with markers.

READER CHALLENGE
This leads us to our card challenge for the week – are you ready?! Create a card using white space as a primary element. Upload your entry to our Penny Circle Gallery by Midnight, PST on Sunday night. Be sure to tag your entry with “winterwhite“. A winner will be chosen to receive their choice of 3 Penny Black stamps or stamp sets and announced the following Tuesday. Good luck!

We had so much fun viewing your entries into our sketch challenge last week — stay tuned for the winner who will be announced tomorrow!   I’ll also have another project by Denise using white space tomorrow, along with Kathy’s version of Winter White.  See ya then!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. pinky permalink
    February 7, 2011 12:34 am

    What a gorgeous card, loving the white space. I would love to enter your challenges but not sure where to find the gallery. Is it flicker?

  2. February 7, 2011 12:47 am

    very sweet. Love that hedgie on his flower pot.

  3. February 7, 2011 1:36 am

    what a simple sweet card! ^^

  4. February 7, 2011 3:26 am

    This is a brilliant challenge – White is scuh an interesting concept to work with & a style I much admire.
    This is going to be great fun. Love the shading on that flowerpot.
    Paula (PEP)

  5. February 7, 2011 4:24 am

    What a cute card!

    Marie-Anne

  6. Yvonne permalink
    February 7, 2011 5:36 am

    I just looove your beautful cards. Keep on making them
    Yvonne

  7. Cathy Pulickal permalink
    February 7, 2011 7:57 am

    Love this card! Needed some new inspiration…off to create!

  8. Cathy Pulickal permalink
    February 7, 2011 7:58 am

    Such a CUTE card! Needed some new inspiration – off to create!

  9. Laurie permalink
    February 7, 2011 8:19 am

    Love the card.
    Our local stamp store, The Stamp Garden, is featuring Penny Black Stamps this week. I am looking forward to seeing the new catalog.

  10. February 7, 2011 8:49 am

    Stunning card – adore it.

  11. February 7, 2011 4:21 pm

    This card just makes me smile Denise. Your coloring is so beautiful too 🙂

  12. February 7, 2011 11:07 pm

    awee …such a cute card!! and a wonderful challenge that I would like to enter but do not have any penny black stamp yet. Can I use any other stamp for the challenge?

  13. February 8, 2011 12:10 am

    this is darling. super cute card!

  14. February 8, 2011 5:56 am

    Hi this is so sweet, love that embossed background.. it’s gorgeous xxx

  15. February 8, 2011 7:29 am

    Denise, you do the PB images the best I’ve ever seen! I fall in love with every card!

  16. February 8, 2011 8:06 am

    So cute! Wonderful coloring, Denise!

  17. Lorraine A permalink
    February 8, 2011 10:39 am

    Very cute card Denise 🙂 the image is adorable and the papers and distressing are fab 🙂 I have just uploaded my entry ,,this is my first time so I hope I did the theme OK ,, I went with fluffy white clouds and white embellies ,,,, 🙂

    luv
    Lols x x

  18. February 9, 2011 10:52 am

    winter white challenge
    this is wonderful and the card is beautiful that is shown… love the idea of a lot of white…

  19. Virginia L. permalink
    February 10, 2011 7:15 am

    This card makes me smile!! Love it!

  20. February 11, 2011 8:26 am

    Fab challenge and i have made a card specially for it. Will try to upload to the Penny Circle but i don’t know how to tag. Anyhow my primary displaya rea for blog challenges is my blog so the link is here.
    Hugs
    Pauline x

  21. February 12, 2011 1:05 am

    Super idea for a challenge – so took me out of my comfort zone.

    I’ve just uploaded my card to the gallery and my blog

    http://whisperscards.blogspot.com/2011/02/hanging-on.html

    will try and work out also how to tag.

    Luv Sam x

  22. February 13, 2011 12:04 pm

    This is such a great challenge, thank you! I’m just confused with the gallery, it doesn’t show my card when searched with “winterwhite” 😦 Some instructions how to use the gallery would be great!

  23. February 14, 2011 3:21 am

    Ok – i’m silly i managed to tag my card ‘winter white’ not winterwhite – silly me put a space in the middle of the 2 words, sorry, Luv Sam x

  24. audrey romney permalink
    February 18, 2011 3:08 pm

    Kathy, What a Beautiful, beautiful card, the vellum dress is wonderful. Cinderella move over. But I was surprised when I saw it, I have been thinking about how to do a card using vellum and my idea was going to use my stamp with one of the girls and give her dress layers of vellum, but you beat me to it.

  25. Jean Quigley permalink
    February 20, 2011 9:05 am

    I love what you did with the velum cards, especially the flowers.

Leave a comment